Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 5th May 2019, 02:03   #14821  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,527
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vicio View Post
Where it recommends using the Megui for this purpose, the doubt is even with the Megui still need to convert the audio to .w64 and do the Sound Forge step to get the RMS value?
MeGUI, or other free software, can't encode to Dolby Digital.
The best AC3 free encoder (ffmpeg) used with MeGUI or BeHappy is not a Dolby Digital encoder.

The recommended Dialog Normalization and Dynamic Range Compression with this encoder is the default (-31 dB and None), then is not necesary know the RMS value of center channel in Sound Forge (or with other method).

Take in mind than you are recoding a previous track, not encoding material recorded by you. Many encoder options in commercial encoders (filters, phase shift, etc.) are now unnecesary.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2019, 04:15   #14822  |  Link
Vicio
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
MeGUI, or other free software, can't encode to Dolby Digital.
The best AC3 free encoder (ffmpeg) used with MeGUI or BeHappy is not a Dolby Digital encoder.
Yes, I'm aware of this, Megui is just a GUI, I just wanted to ask the question straight to the point without dwelling on technical terms.

Quote:
The recommended Dialog Normalization and Dynamic Range Compression with this encoder is the default (-31 dB and None), then is not necesary know the RMS value of center channel in Sound Forge (or with other method).
Okay, that's what I wanted to hear.

Quote:
Take in mind than you are recoding a previous track, not encoding material recorded by you. Many encoder options in commercial encoders (filters, phase shift, etc.) are now unnecesary.
Understood, noted here.
And thank you very much for the help, I read more half of the pages of this topic and I observed that you are a helpful person.
Greetings from Brazil.
Vicio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2019, 01:32   #14823  |  Link
zeropc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 100
Guys, can eac3to no longer slowdown videos in h265?
I get the following error message

Code:
C:\Users\zeropc>"\\Mac\Home\Desktop\eac3to more gui\eac3to\eac3to.exe" "X:\evil2mkv"
 1: "\\Mac\Home\Desktop\dead2\hdr.h264" 2: "\\Mac\Home\Desktop\dead2\dv.h264" -slowdown
MKV, 2 video tracks, 2 audio tracks, 1 subtitle track, 1:24:32, 24p
1: h265/HEVC, 2160p24 (16:9), 10 bits
2: h265/HEVC, 1080p24 (16:9), 10 bits - Dolby Vision Enhancement Layer
3: DTS Master Audio, English, 1.0 channels, 16 bits, 48kHz
   (core: DTS, 1.0 channels, 768kbps, 48kHz)
4: DTS Master Audio, English, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 48kHz
   (core: DTS, 5.1 channels, 1509kbps, 48kHz)
5: Subtitle (PGS), English
v01 The video framerate is correct, but rather unusual.
v02 The video framerate is correct, but rather unusual.
This video conversion is not supported.

Last edited by tebasuna51; 6th May 2019 at 09:23.
zeropc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2019, 09:41   #14824  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,527
eac3to can't edit h265 (slowdown), but you want also recode to h264, for that the message is:
"This video conversion is not supported."
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2019, 13:36   #14825  |  Link
zeropc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
eac3to can't edit h265 (slowdown), but you want also recode to h264, for that the message is:
"This video conversion is not supported."
AHHH!!!

Would be sweet if madshi can add this option for h265
zeropc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2019, 13:50   #14826  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,418
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
eac3to can't edit h265 (slowdown), but you want also recode to h264, for that the message is:
"This video conversion is not supported."
Out of interest... Has anybody created a tool that can change some of the attributes of h265 elementary streams?
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2019, 14:01   #14827  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,733
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Out of interest... Has anybody created a tool that can change some of the attributes of h265 elementary streams?
Depending on what partciular properties you are talking about, the h265_metadata bitstream filter in ffmpeg can change a bunch of them.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2019, 14:30   #14828  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,383
* hevc_metadata
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2019, 14:37   #14829  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,418
Marvellous...

Thank-you Mr sneaker or is it Mr ger
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2019, 14:37   #14830  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,733
How misleading, the file was called h265_metadata_bsf.c
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2019, 19:37   #14831  |  Link
an3k
Registered User
 
an3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 164
I noticed a bug with eac3to v3.34 and Surcode DTS Encoder. When you convert a multichannel AC3 or WAV (for FLAC, etc.) to DTS it works fine. If you however want to convert a singlechannel (1.0 aka. mono) to DTS eac3to - or better Surcode throws an error. The very same file eac3to doesn't handle correctly is perfectly working if used directly inside the Surcode DTS Encoder software.

The error is:
Quote:
C:\Program Files (x86)\MeGUI\tools\eac3to>eac3to.exe "D:\Encode\Movie (2008)\title_t03_track2_[ger]_DELAY 0ms.wav" "D:\Encode\Movie (2008)\title_t03_track2_[ger]_DELAY 0ms.dts"
WAV, 1.0 channels, 2:32:13, 24 bits, 1152kbps, 48kHz
Reading WAV...
Writing WAVs...
Creating file "D:\Encode\Movie (2008)\title_t03_track2_[ger]_DELAY 0ms.C.wav"...
The original audio track has a constant bit depth of 24 bits.
Encoding DTS <768kbps> with Surcode...
Found Surcode DTS Encoder version 1.0.29.0.
Surcode says/asks: "Invalid Wave File D:\Encode\Movie (2008)\title_t03_track2_[ger]_DELAY 0ms.dts.".
Surcode says/asks: "At least one valid source file must be specified to encode.".
Pressing the Surcode "Encode" button didn't seem to work...
Closing Surcode...
Somehow eac3to pushes the destination filename to Surcode as the source filename.

Another bug is that if your source file is named eg. "foobar.C.wav" and you want to convert it to AC3 or DTS eac3to wants to convert that file to "foobar.C.wav" to make it compatible with the format AC3 or DTS expects. However, it throws an error because it just overwrote the source audio file with the temporary one
an3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2019, 23:28   #14832  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,527
@an3k
Encode a monowav to standard DTS 768 Kb/s with Surcode is usseless, you obtain a file with the same size and less quality than the PCM 16 bits (WAV).

eac3to don't need manage that conversion.

I can't reproduce the name problem encoding to AC3.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2019, 23:48   #14833  |  Link
an3k
Registered User
 
an3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
@an3k
Encode a monowav to standard DTS 768 Kb/s with Surcode is usseless, you obtain a file with the same size and less quality than the PCM 16 bits (WAV).

eac3to don't need manage that conversion.

I can't reproduce the name problem encoding to AC3.
The sense may be non-existend. I agree with you on that point but non-the-less it is a bug in eac3to.

Using the same file directly in Surcode works (even though the resulting DTS file is 5.1 channels). Because of that I went and created a DTS-HD MA using the DTS Master Audio Suite which created a mono file.

Yeah, if the target is AC3 it works without issues.
an3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2019, 12:54   #14834  |  Link
an3k
Registered User
 
an3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 164
I noticed another weird behavior and don't know if eac3to is doing something wrong or me not understanding it.

Code:
eac3to v3.34
command line: eac3to.exe  "D:\Encode\Movie (2008)\title_t03_track2_[ger]_DELAY 0ms.ac3" "D:\Encode\Movie (2008)\title_t03_track2_[ger]_DELAY 0ms.wavs"
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
AC3, 5.1 channels, 2:32:13, 448kbps, 48kHz
Decoding with libav/ffmpeg...
Reducing depth from 64 to 24 bits...
Writing WAVs...
Creating file "D:\Encode\Movie (2008)\title_t03_track2_[ger]_DELAY 0ms.L.wav"...
Creating file "D:\Encode\Movie (2008)\title_t03_track2_[ger]_DELAY 0ms.SL.wav"...
Creating file "D:\Encode\Movie (2008)\title_t03_track2_[ger]_DELAY 0ms.C.wav"...
Creating file "D:\Encode\Movie (2008)\title_t03_track2_[ger]_DELAY 0ms.SR.wav"...
Creating file "D:\Encode\Movie (2008)\title_t03_track2_[ger]_DELAY 0ms.LFE.wav"...
Creating file "D:\Encode\Movie (2008)\title_t03_track2_[ger]_DELAY 0ms.R.wav"...
Clipping detected, a 2nd pass will be necessary.  <WARNING>
Starting 2nd pass...
Decoding with libav/ffmpeg...
Reducing depth from 64 to 24 bits...
Writing WAVs...
Applying -0.55dB gain...
Creating file "D:\Encode\Movie (2008)\title_t03_track2_[ger]_DELAY 0ms.L.wav"...
Creating file "D:\Encode\Movie (2008)\title_t03_track2_[ger]_DELAY 0ms.LFE.wav"...
Creating file "D:\Encode\Movie (2008)\title_t03_track2_[ger]_DELAY 0ms.R.wav"...
Creating file "D:\Encode\Movie (2008)\title_t03_track2_[ger]_DELAY 0ms.C.wav"...
Creating file "D:\Encode\Movie (2008)\title_t03_track2_[ger]_DELAY 0ms.SL.wav"...
Creating file "D:\Encode\Movie (2008)\title_t03_track2_[ger]_DELAY 0ms.SR.wav"...
eac3to processing took 5 minutes, 17 seconds.
Done.
eac3to says
Code:
Reducing depth from 64 to 24 bits...
but MediaInfo says the ac3 is 16 bits. The second audio stream is TrueHD (MediaInfo says it's 16 bits too) and if I transcode that into individual wavs eac3to correctly use 16 bits.
an3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2019, 14:01   #14835  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,383
AC3 and other lossy codecs don't have any inherent bitdepth despite what MediaInfo might suggest. The decoder can decode at 64 bits but it would be to wasteful to store 64 bit PCM/WAV so eac3to reduces the depth.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2019, 14:35   #14836  |  Link
an3k
Registered User
 
an3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 164
Oh, I see. Thank you for the information.

What about Dolby TrueHD? MediaInfo says 24 bits but eac3to says 16 bits and is reducing from 24 to 16 bits.

I want to keep as much quality as possible and the size of the intermediate wav files isn't a thing I have to worry about since I'm going to encode to a different format.
an3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2019, 14:52   #14837  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,383
Lossless codecs do have "inherent" bitdepths. In your case it was encoded as 24 bits. But eac3to detects that throughout the complete file all of the respective 8 minor bits are 0s. So it decides to encode to 16 bit instead. This has absolutely no influence on quality.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2019, 16:30   #14838  |  Link
MeteorRain
結城有紀
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NJ; OR; Shanghai
Posts: 528
Is there any way to stop eac3to from adding DELAY to output file name?

I'm writing script to batch extract eac3 from files and convert them to wav for further processing.

eac3to x.mkv x.wav tells me This audio conversion is not supported..

eac3to x.mkv x.eac3 then eac3to x.eac3 x.wav works.
However eac3to will add DELAY XYZ ms to the file name so it's kinda hard to script that into a makefile.
Since this delay is usually less than 1 frame, I really don't care if it's applied correctly.
MeteorRain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2019, 21:13   #14839  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,383
I would recommend using ffmpeg. It seems better at reading from mkv and also has a more feature-complete eac3 decoder IIRC.
Code:
ffmpeg -i "x.mkv" -map 0:a:0 "x.wav"
It can correct delays, too. Hope this is correct:
Code:
ffmpeg -i "x.mkv" -map 0:a:0 -af aresample=first_pts=0 "x.wav"
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2019, 05:56   #14840  |  Link
MeteorRain
結城有紀
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NJ; OR; Shanghai
Posts: 528
Thanks. I'm aware of ffmpeg but still prefer eac3to if possible.
MeteorRain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.