Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th December 2008, 02:15   #7341  |  Link
yonta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 136
If you want to cut out the last 50MBytes

Code:
tail.exe infile outfile 50000000
yonta is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 02:16   #7342  |  Link
digitlman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 12
i dunno which place to post this as i am not sure which program is the problem but i will start here...

i have tried this with 2 different mkv+flac files and neither flac file is recognized by eac3to. is there an option with eac3to i need to change or is it something wrong with my mkvextract options?

mediainfo recognizes the flac files just fine, says they are 6channel 24bit 48000hz. i also tried using the --no-ogg option with same results

i am just trying to convert the flac file to lpcm.


C:\Program Files\MKVtoolnix>mkvextract tracks "f:\Pirates Of The Caribbean 1 AVC
LPCM24.mkv" 1:d:\p1.h264 2:d:\p1.flac
Extracting track 1 with the CodecID 'V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC' to the file 'd:\p1.h264'.
Container format: AVC/h.264 elementary stream
Extracting track 2 with the CodecID 'A_FLAC' to the file 'd:\p2.flac'. Container
format: Ogg (FLAC in Ogg)
progress: 100%

C:\Program Files\MKVtoolnix>

C:\eac3to>eac3to d:\p1.flac
The format of the source file could not be detected.

C:\eac3to>

C:\eac3to>eac3to d:\cars.flac h:\cars3.pcm
The format of the source file could not be detected.
digitlman is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 02:58   #7343  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by yonta View Post
If you want to cut out the last 50MBytes

Code:
tail.exe infile outfile 50000000
Thanks, i'd like to have a sample CMD line of clip.exe as well?

"start offset" ?

Last edited by rica; 14th December 2008 at 03:07.
rica is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 06:08   #7344  |  Link
yonta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 136
You can cut out 1920000 bytes from a file starting from the 193rd byte.
Code:
clip infile outfile 193 1920000
yonta is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 09:49   #7345  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by telmoMRC View Post
i try that and doesn´t work what can i do ?
First of all configure your OS correctly. Letting the OS hide known extensions is the best way to confuse yourself.

Quote:
Originally Posted by asarian View Post
I just like to know one eac3to thing; when I do this:

eac3to 20000.m2ts 4: wall-e.pcm -down2

eac3to lowers the bitrate to about 2Mbps. Any way I can keep the original bitrate for the two channels?
The bitrate for PCM is a simple calculation:

bitrate = bitDepth * channels * sampleRate

So if you go from 6 to 2 channels, obviously the bitrate decreases. There's nothing you can do about that, and there's no reason to do anything about it. Bitrate doesn't matter with PCM, it only matters for lossy compression.

Quote:
Originally Posted by digitlman View Post
i dunno which place to post this as i am not sure which program is the problem but i will start here...

i have tried this with 2 different mkv+flac files and neither flac file is recognized by eac3to. is there an option with eac3to i need to change or is it something wrong with my mkvextract options?

mediainfo recognizes the flac files just fine, says they are 6channel 24bit 48000hz. i also tried using the --no-ogg option with same results
You do have to use the "no ogg" option, because eac3to doesn't support the OGG container. My best guess is that you put the option at the wrong place in the mkvextract command line. That has happened before...

Quote:
Originally Posted by rica View Post
Can you please give me a command line sample for tail.exe and clip.exe?
I hope that you are asking these questions because you want to make a sample for me? Because if not you're once again very much out of topic here...
madshi is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 12:55   #7346  |  Link
asarian
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post

The bitrate for PCM is a simple calculation:

bitrate = bitDepth * channels * sampleRate

So if you go from 6 to 2 channels, obviously the bitrate decreases. There's nothing you can do about that, and there's no reason to do anything about it.
The reason to keep the high bitrate was to use the Dolby Prologic II trick, so as to use the full 6.9Mbps for the 2 channels.

Anyway, looks like I'll have to buy the Marantz SR-8002 soon, and do things properly.

Quote:
Bitrate doesn't matter with PCM, it only matters for lossy compression.
? I thought bitrate always matters. I mean, isn't a 8Mbps LPCM stream better than a 640kpbs one?
__________________
Gorgeous, delicious, deculture!
asarian is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 13:16   #7347  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by asarian View Post
? I thought bitrate always matters. I mean, isn't a 8Mbps LPCM stream better than a 640kpbs one?
Have you tried to understand the LPCM bitrate formula I gave you? If so, you would have understood by now that the bitrate you got is lower because you decreased the number of channels. The only way to increase the bitrate again is to either increase the samplerate or the bitdepth. Both of which would not improve audio quality in your case. That's the last thing I'll say on this topic.
madshi is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 13:59   #7348  |  Link
kurt
sidekick
 
kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: old Europe
Posts: 610
how to demux mpeg2 video properly?

eac3to xxx.m2ts video.m2v does not work (audio conversion not supported). neither than mpeg2, mpeg, mpg.....

(I know there is the -demux switch)
__________________
greets, kurt.
Pioneer PDP-427 XA | Popcorn Hour NMT C-200 | Sony STR-DB 840 QS | Canton Ergo 91 DC

Last edited by kurt; 14th December 2008 at 14:02.
kurt is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 14:02   #7349  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,518
Well, use the track number format. Something like:

Code:
eac3to xxx.m2ts 2: video.m2v
nautilus7 is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 14:10   #7350  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by kurt View Post
how to demux mpeg2 video properly?

eac3to xxx.m2ts video.m2v does not work (audio conversion not supported). neither than mpeg2, mpeg, mpg.....
It should work the way you did it. Please post the full eac3to log (between [ code ][ / code ]).
madshi is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 14:30   #7351  |  Link
kurt
sidekick
 
kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: old Europe
Posts: 610
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
It should work the way you did it. Please post the full eac3to log (between [ code ][ / code ]).
sorry, my fault. it works with *.m2v as destination file. I think my problem was a space character in destination folder. thx, madshi!

@ nautilus: jap, Í know. just forgot to write the number above
__________________
greets, kurt.
Pioneer PDP-427 XA | Popcorn Hour NMT C-200 | Sony STR-DB 840 QS | Canton Ergo 91 DC

Last edited by kurt; 14th December 2008 at 14:33.
kurt is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 15:06   #7352  |  Link
LessThanJake
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 31
Hello,

eac3to can handle whole BD and HD DVD structures.
are there plans to add full DVD-structure with chapter support too?

greets
LTJ
LessThanJake is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 15:17   #7353  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
I hope that you are asking these questions because you want to make a sample for me? Because if not you're once again very much out of topic here...
I'm out of the topic at neuron2's thread i suppose

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...02#post1224102

_ _ _ _
rica is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 18:12   #7354  |  Link
crazydane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 24
Basic Instinct Haali Muxer issue

Madshi,

A while back the user itsancho had an issue with Basic Instinct, where you told him to use the -seekToIFrames option to overcome a known bug in Haali's muxer. Using that flag worked like a charm for him.

However, when I try doing the same thing, I still get the same error.

Here's my log:

eac3to v2.80
command line: eac3to BASIC_INSTINCT 1) 1: chapters.txt 2: video.mkv 3: audio.flac -seekToIFrames
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
M2TS, 1 video track, 4 audio tracks, 2 subtitle tracks, 2:08:15
1: Chapters, 17 chapters
2: h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
3: DTS Hi-Res, English, 6.1 channels, 24 bits, 3039kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -4dB
(core: DTS-ES, 6.1 channels, 24 bits, 1509kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -4dB)
4: AC3 EX, English, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
5: AC3 Surround, English, 2.0 channels, 192kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
6: AC3 Surround, English, 2.0 channels, 192kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
7: Subtitle (PGS), English
8: Subtitle (PGS), Spanish
Creating file "chapters.txt"...
[v02] Extracting video track number 2...
[a03] Extracting audio track number 3...
[v02] Muxing video to Matroska...
[a03] Remapping channels...
[a03] Decoding with ArcSoft DTS Decoder...
[a03] Removing DTS dialog normalization...
[a03] Encoding FLAC with libFlac...
[a03] Creating file "audio.flac"...
Unfortunately the Haali Muxer cannot handle this source file.
It doesn't contain enough seek/recovery points.
The "-seekToIFrames" option may work around that.
However, using this option may result in artifacts when seeking.
Aborted at file position 147783680.

Any ideas?

Btw, my issue with running eac3to directly from the DVD drive dissappeared for no reason. Strange...
crazydane is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 18:16   #7355  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,197
its a known probelem, use the switch -seektoIframes here.

edit: misread the beginning :S
actually it should work, at least it did some versions ago for me (probably around 2.70)
Thunderbolt8 is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 18:28   #7356  |  Link
deathlord
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
That's weird. Especially the PTS break before the muxing failure report. My best guess is that your source is corrupt and that the corruption is responsible for the problems. Can you please rerip the disk? Please rip to harddisk first and then run eac3to on the folder on harddisk. This is known to be the most stable way if you have problems with corruption.
You were right, madshi. Reripping helped.
Thanks for your continued support!
deathlord is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 22:37   #7357  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by LessThanJake View Post
are there plans to add full DVD-structure with chapter support too?
Plans, yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazydane View Post
command line: eac3to BASIC_INSTINCT 1) 1: chapters.txt 2: video.mkv 3: audio.flac -seekToIFrames
You're asking eac3to to apply the "-seekToIFrames" option on the audio track 3.
madshi is offline  
Old 15th December 2008, 01:45   #7358  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,140
eac3to v2.81 released

http://madshi.net/eac3to.zip

Code:
* audio gap/overlap fixing is now automatically done in a 2nd pass
* option "-normalize" maximizes the volume of the audio data, needs 2 passes
* audio clipping is detected and automatically removed in a 2nd pass
* "-2pass" activates 2 pass mode (can speedup seamless branching processing)
* superfluous zero bytes are now automatically removed in 2nd pass
* "-phaseShift" shifts surround channel phase by 90° for DPL II downmixing
* spike removal post processing filter now always produces 16bit samples
* empty channels are now reported by the bitdepth analyzer as "no audio data"
* option "-shutdown" shuts the PC down automatically after processing is done
* the HD DVD XPL with the longest title is now loaded instead of VPLST000.XPL
* eac3to can now open specific XPL files (e.g. "eac3to ADV_OBJ\VPLS002.XPL")
* eac3to can now open specific mpls files (e.g. "eac3to PLAYLIST\00002.mpls")
* fixed: TrueHD streams starting with a non-major header failed to decode
* fixed: WAV files created by eac3to with empty channels had incorrect header
* fixed: RAW/PCM gap/overlap remover sometimes didn't work correctly
This is quite a big release. Especially the automated 2 pass processing is a change which goes quite deep. Because of that there might be new bugs. As a backup plan I've added the previous v2.80 version into the v2.81 zip file, so if all else fails you can use v2.80 instead.

"Gaps" files don't exist for audio tracks, anymore, now. However, for video tracks there may still be "gaps" files. And if gaps/overlaps are detected for video tracks, you'll still need to manually restart processing to fix them. I've decided to not automate gap/overlap fixing for video tracks because (1) video gaps/overlaps are extremely rare and (2) even if there are gaps/overlaps detected for video tracks, sometimes it's better not to fix them. But audio gaps/overlaps are now automatically fixed. If possible, this is done without reading the big movie source file again. Also the video track is only ever written once, regardless of whether there are audio gaps/overlaps or not.
madshi is offline  
Old 15th December 2008, 01:46   #7359  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,197
thanks!

which might be the situations itll be better not to correct video gaps? (apart from those that I can spot a quite a delay on a first glance of course)

Last edited by Thunderbolt8; 15th December 2008 at 01:53.
Thunderbolt8 is offline  
Old 15th December 2008, 02:06   #7360  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,518
Thanks! Now I need a seamless branching blu-ray to test the changes.
nautilus7 is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.