Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 1st September 2003, 04:05   #1  |  Link
numlock
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 171
Using C3D with interlaced material

I have just captured some video tapes (regualar movies) and I'd like to use C3D to remove the noise. The original tapes were brand new so the picture is crystal clear. I will be encoding it to SVCD format and I want to keep it interlaced, because I want to view it ona TV set.

My first question is, should I expect any improvement in the quality since as I already mentioned the original material was excellent. Or should I just not bother with C3D at all ?

I assume I should use Convolution3d (preset="movieHQ").

My other question is, do I have to use

SeparateFields
Convolution3d (preset="movieHQ")
Weave

or just

Convolution3d (preset="movieHQ")

TIA
numlock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2003, 04:21   #2  |  Link
stickboy
AviSynth Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: California, U.S.
Posts: 1,268
If you don't use SeparateFields, the spatial component to Convolution 3D will smooth scanlines from different fields together.

If you do use SeparateFields, the temporal component will smooth scanlines from different fields together.

Tooting my own horn, I recommend using UnfoldFieldsVertical/FoldFieldsVertical when using spatial-temporal smoothers on interlaced material:
Code:
UnfoldFieldsVertical(true)
Convolution3D(preset="movieHQ")
FoldFieldsVertical(true)

Last edited by stickboy; 1st September 2003 at 04:23.
stickboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2003, 15:05   #3  |  Link
numlock
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 171
Thanks, I appreciate it.
One more question.

Shold I resize it to 480x480 before or after I apply C3D ?

Also, what resize function should I use there are like 4 of them ?
My source is Huffyuv 720x480

TIA
numlock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2003, 16:21   #4  |  Link
paddycook
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 13
SetParity

What does the Setparity part of the UnfoldFieldsVertical function do, and when should you use it?
paddycook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2003, 19:05   #5  |  Link
stickboy
AviSynth Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: California, U.S.
Posts: 1,268
SetParity sets the field-order of a clip; it's a complement to the internal GetParity function.

You shouldn't need to use SetParity yourself. It's just a function that UnfoldFieldsVertical/FoldFieldsVertical use.

numLock:
Resize afterward. I personally like LanczosResize, but BilinearResize will give you a more compressible (but blurrier) video.
stickboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2003, 19:24   #6  |  Link
numlock
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 171
stickyboy:

Somebody here me mentioned that by putting the odd and even fields apart from one another in the same frame, any information from motion which is shared between fields (which is very common) will be lost.

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=60369

Is this going to be a problem in my case when using C3D ?
numlock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2003, 20:46   #7  |  Link
stickboy
AviSynth Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: California, U.S.
Posts: 1,268
Yup, that's true; motion between fields is lost. Unless a filter is written to handle field-based material (like Lindsey's filters; I'm not sure about Convolution3D), I don't think there's really anything you can do about it without smoothing even/odd scanlines together. (Depending on the strength of the temporal filtering, though, using SeparateFields() ... Weave() might be good enough.)
stickboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2003, 21:18   #8  |  Link
numlock
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 171
So are there any other noise removing filters you can recommend that can handle field based material ?
numlock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2003, 12:50   #9  |  Link
bairradino
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: po
Posts: 90
It seems that Convolution3D for Avisynth 2.5 doesn't work with YUY2 colorspaces.
Am I right?
bairradino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2003, 15:36   #10  |  Link
stickboy
AviSynth Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: California, U.S.
Posts: 1,268
There's a YUY2 version for AviSynth 2.5 available from WarpEnterprises's filter page.
stickboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2003, 19:58   #11  |  Link
JuanC
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 220
Quote:
Originally posted by numlock
So are there any other noise removing filters you can recommend that can handle field based material ?
PeachSmoother is great and very fast! It is aware of the field/frame based flags and will process your clip accordingly. Look at this post for recommendations from the author on how to use it. And this thread to download the avisynth 2.5 version of the filter.

BTW, it's more accurate to call it noise reduction. If you prefer, you can get the original version (with the help files) for avisynth 1.x/2.0.x here

Last edited by JuanC; 2nd September 2003 at 20:05.
JuanC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2003, 20:32   #12  |  Link
vmesquita
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 126
This is what I use to do Convolution3D on interlaced material:

a=AVISource("1.avi")
a=a.Converttoyuy2()

a.SeparateFields()
even=SelectEven(a).Convolution3d(0, 10, 17, 10, 13, 2.8, 0)
odd=SelectOdd(a).Convolution3d(0, 10, 17, 10, 13, 2.8, 0)
a=Interleave(even,odd).weave()
return(a)

I use it mainly for my satellite captures. PeachSmoother is good for analog material, like VHS.

[]'s
Vmesquita
vmesquita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2003, 00:45   #13  |  Link
ADLANCAS
Registered User
 
ADLANCAS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Brazil
Posts: 247
@Vmesquita,

I used to do what you described, but now I use:
AviSource("D:\Teste\IUvcr\capture.avi")
dgbob(1)
##########
#Filter
##########
separatefields()
selectevery(4,0,3)
Weave()

Itīs slower, but quality is much better.

Alexandre
ADLANCAS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2003, 18:58   #14  |  Link
Piper
Registered User
 
Piper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 196
I'm curious, was running C3D on interlaced material meant to improve quality before deinterlacing or are you not deinterlacing at all?

The reason I ask is, I'm also looking for an optimal way of using C3D on my sources, but I deinterlace my source almost 100% of the time.

I had been using
SeparateFields()
Convolution3D(preset="movieHQ")
Weave()

KernelDeint (etc)

After reading this thread, I'm reconsidering my script.
Piper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2003, 18:47   #15  |  Link
bb
Moderator
 
bb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,665
Piper,

if you deinterlace your video, there's no need to separate the fields. Just deinterlace first, then apply Convolution3D.

bb
bb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.