Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > Advanced authoring

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th March 2004, 18:13   #41  |  Link
TRILIGHT
Registered User
 
TRILIGHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,215
Quote:
Originally posted by n1ck0s
I was always wondering if the seamless-non seamless option was set correctly for the cells. It seems that cells always have the default setting (e.g. the first cell of each tile is always non-seamless).

Is there any rule of thumb when to change this settings? What do you mean by "all the ones i can"?

Sorry if the answer is obvious, I'm very confused w/ this SM, NSM staff.
If I remember correctly, the Scenarist manual mentions only being able to set SM on contiguous video data. In other words, one scene or cell that followed another could be set SM but you could not do the same with a jump from one video asset to another or back witin the same, etc. Basically, you can't use SM very often but it should be set when you are able to do so. I've noticed this glitch with ScenAid myself.

PS. For those wondering... I wasn't really here. You didn't see me. hehe Seriously though, I'm like Lestadt in "Interview with a Vampire". I'm practically dead but still struggling to make it out. I hope to rejoin the land of the living again soon.
__________________
Das UberGuide lives! Check it out! --> HTTP://DVDGUIDES.TRILIGHT.NET
TRILIGHT is offline  
Old 10th March 2004, 18:17   #42  |  Link
influenza
Dutch strain
 
influenza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,039
hehe. Nice to have not seen you trilight
__________________
What can I do to protect myself against the flu?

By far, the single best way to prevent the flu is for individuals, especially persons at high risk for serious complications from the flu, to get a flu shot each fall.
influenza is offline  
Old 10th March 2004, 18:38   #43  |  Link
D3s7
ScenAid
 
D3s7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,623
Well I'll have to definitely take a look at that then

If anyone can shoot me an IFO and screenshots that might be helpful

Trilight: nice not seeing you
__________________
ScenAid
May just replace the dog as man's best friend
http://www.scenaid.com
D3s7 is offline  
Old 10th March 2004, 18:53   #44  |  Link
TRILIGHT
Registered User
 
TRILIGHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,215
Nice to not be seen.

By the way... DAMN fine work on ScenAid, D3s7! I've seen a number of anomalies when doing VOBID stuff but perhaps you're still working on that part? For instance, I remember seeing some form of error reported during the mux that stated a particular VOB was not the expected size or something like that. I recreated that portion manually and even replaced it with a nothing dummy asset but I still couldn't get it to compile. Not sure if that is a script error or what but it appears to be. I'll try to get you more info if you aren't familiar with the error.
__________________
Das UberGuide lives! Check it out! --> HTTP://DVDGUIDES.TRILIGHT.NET
TRILIGHT is offline  
Old 10th March 2004, 20:09   #45  |  Link
D3s7
ScenAid
 
D3s7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,623
Oooh thanky..

There are a few problems I know of still that have to do w/ audio durations causing muxing issues. Others I'm still working out as I find them. Die Another Day has been a headache but unfortunatly I haven't been able to get enough time to take a good long look at it.

Work in progress though...

Now that the foundation is there building the house hopefully won't be as difficult. It be easier too if Scenarist would stop tossing hurricanes and floods at me

BTW: keep sucking on them rats to keep yourself alive.... you'll be jumping on the roof of a reports car real soon
__________________
ScenAid
May just replace the dog as man's best friend
http://www.scenaid.com
D3s7 is offline  
Old 10th March 2004, 23:48   #46  |  Link
n1ck0s
... goes to Hollywood
 
n1ck0s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 88
Quote:
PS. For those wondering... I wasn't really here. You didn't see me. hehe Seriously though, I'm like Lestadt in "Interview with a Vampire". I'm practically dead but still struggling to make it out. I hope to rejoin the land of the living again soon.
Back from the dead to help me out? Flattered...
n1ck0s is offline  
Old 11th March 2004, 04:44   #47  |  Link
Trahald
Wewkiee
 
Trahald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: kashyyyk
Posts: 2,270
As Trilight said.. it must be continuous (ivlu/angle is considered continous) data to be seamless (which automatically rules out the first cell so it must be NSM). you can apply logic to only choose which ones will allow the seamless[SM] tag to be set but really its quicker to just try all the ones listed as NSM.. if scenarist gives you a choice for seamless pick it.. if not goto the next

and W*sorta*B Trilight
__________________
...yeah...but...why on earth would I compare apples with apples?
Trahald is offline  
Old 11th March 2004, 13:34   #48  |  Link
walkistalki
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 41
I found another strange issue with dif4u-scenaid. The Mission, region 2 pal has 5 pgcs, of which the last 3 are stills. When scenaid creates the script it imports the first of the 3 as a movie, the 2 others correctly as encoded stills.

D3s7, i can send you all the log files/created script if you want (70kb zip)

thanks very much for the program!
walkistalki is offline  
Old 11th March 2004, 14:17   #49  |  Link
D3s7
ScenAid
 
D3s7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,623
Yep.... shoot me the ScenAid.scp/.log and the .ifo for the VTS in question
__________________
ScenAid
May just replace the dog as man's best friend
http://www.scenaid.com
D3s7 is offline  
Old 11th March 2004, 15:47   #50  |  Link
n1ck0s
... goes to Hollywood
 
n1ck0s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally posted by Trahald
As Trilight said.. it must be continuous (ivlu/angle is considered continous) data to be seamless (which automatically rules out the first cell so it must be NSM). you can apply logic to only choose which ones will allow the seamless[SM] tag to be set but really its quicker to just try all the ones listed as NSM.. if scenarist gives you a choice for seamless pick it.. if not goto the next

and W*sorta*B Trilight
It sounds easy enough thx. Is this only a "demux by vobid" thing? I had playback issues w/ "THE MATRIX" on a standalone (pauses every two minutes or so at the second part of the movie). This wasn't a "by vobid" project and it plays fine w/ PowerDVD.
n1ck0s is offline  
Old 12th March 2004, 09:36   #51  |  Link
wmansir
Moderator
 
wmansir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 1,920
I have notices a problem with some Scenaid scripts, but it is due to my tinkering, so I'm not going to call it a bug or anything.

The problem is when I override DIF4U's suggested method for handling NTSC material. Specifically, when DIF4U determines something is Hybrid or Interlaced But I manually use IVTC on it. So instead of encoding it at 29.97fps I add IVTC in the .avs script, encode at 23.976fps and then manually run pulldown.

When this happens the Scenaid script miscalculates the length of the video (I guess it must be going by frames instead of timecodes) and the resulting layout cuts off the last 1/5th of the video. I don't know if this also affects chapter points because I have only done this with a few short extras that do not contain chapters.
wmansir is offline  
Old 12th March 2004, 13:25   #52  |  Link
D3s7
ScenAid
 
D3s7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,623
If the AVS reports back 23.976 or the equiv then it should be ok.
Only other thing it does detect is the "no-pull" in the file names. You could try taking that out (if it exists) and see if it helps
__________________
ScenAid
May just replace the dog as man's best friend
http://www.scenaid.com
D3s7 is offline  
Old 12th March 2004, 16:29   #53  |  Link
TuRiSOft
DVD-RB Pro Addict !!!
 
TuRiSOft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Italy
Posts: 191
@D3s7
thx for the good work.

I found something , don't know if it is a bug.

I use to keep only Italian Language for audio but with "The Lion King ES" Pal - Disc1 - VTS20 it is located on stream 0x82 and scenaid 0.9.0.5 doesn't create the Dummies needed for 0x80 and 0x81.
Is it a bug or is something not needed?
ReAuthorist usually creates those dummies , I think for correct mapping of streams.
Also I had an issue when muxing the Angle VobId (006-007) but this not due to scenaid , but to the lenght of the demuxed Audio Stream.
I fixed it importng all manually and then using the ACM mode of IfoUpdate.
TuRiSOft is offline  
Old 12th March 2004, 16:47   #54  |  Link
D3s7
ScenAid
 
D3s7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,623
Did you demux this by PGC or VOBID?

VOBID can't dummy audio - it sucks but you have to update the resulting ifo to point to the correct channels

if it was demuxed by PGC, yeah it should have dummied them correctly..

If it was PGC if you can send me your ScenAid.SCP, ScenAid.LOG files and the original IFO for the VTS set in question

Thanks
__________________
ScenAid
May just replace the dog as man's best friend
http://www.scenaid.com
D3s7 is offline  
Old 12th March 2004, 17:07   #55  |  Link
TuRiSOft
DVD-RB Pro Addict !!!
 
TuRiSOft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Italy
Posts: 191
I did it by VOBID!

I created all Dummies by myself with besplit!
TuRiSOft is offline  
Old 12th March 2004, 17:46   #56  |  Link
D3s7
ScenAid
 
D3s7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,623
you created full length dummies?

might as well have left the originals in
__________________
ScenAid
May just replace the dog as man's best friend
http://www.scenaid.com
D3s7 is offline  
Old 12th March 2004, 18:45   #57  |  Link
TuRiSOft
DVD-RB Pro Addict !!!
 
TuRiSOft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Italy
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally posted by D3s7
you created full length dummies?

might as well have left the originals in
I am a newbie (perhaps little more than, I think....) not a mad!

I made a Dummy AC3 of about 1 second from 1 of the existing AC3 streams and used it to fill the needed streams.

I wanna state: i used the same Dummy stream for all missing streams!
TuRiSOft is offline  
Old 12th March 2004, 18:52   #58  |  Link
wmansir
Moderator
 
wmansir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 1,920
Quote:
Originally posted by D3s7
If the AVS reports back 23.976 or the equiv then it should be ok.
Only other thing it does detect is the "no-pull" in the file names. You could try taking that out (if it exists) and see if it helps
Thanks for the quick response. The .avs does report the correct fps, so I think it must be due to the "nopull" file name because I don't change that. I'll change it the next time I encounter this type of situation and post the results.
wmansir is offline  
Old 12th March 2004, 19:26   #59  |  Link
TRILIGHT
Registered User
 
TRILIGHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,215
If you go to the "Tips and Tricks" section in the link in my signature, I have a number of different dummy files for download.
__________________
Das UberGuide lives! Check it out! --> HTTP://DVDGUIDES.TRILIGHT.NET
TRILIGHT is offline  
Old 12th March 2004, 19:44   #60  |  Link
D3s7
ScenAid
 
D3s7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,623
Yeah but you can't dummy audio in a vobid demux
__________________
ScenAid
May just replace the dog as man's best friend
http://www.scenaid.com
D3s7 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.