Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 16th February 2018, 11:55   #27041  |  Link
staina
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 16
Windows 10 not use DirectshoeSource for frame serving

In Windows 10 don't go choose item

Use DirectshoeSource for frame serving

where make mistakes? Help thank you Staina
Attached Images
 
staina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2018, 15:21   #27042  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,023
Quote:
Originally Posted by staina View Post
In Windows 10 don't go choose item

Use DirectshoeSource for frame serving

where make mistakes? Help thank you Staina
You have to install LAV Filters for Directshow to be available. See step 2A in the first post of this thread.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2018, 18:32   #27043  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,023
Update: I believe I've gotten past the sync issues on UHD-BD backups. I'll know after a couple of full encodes (10-18 hours each). It turns out it was poor attention to detail on my part. I went back and started over, testing every type of encoding sequence -- only to be perplexed when an AVISYNTH encode was in-sync. Apparently I'd done something in my first go-around that made me think it was out of sync also. That pointed to FFMPEG -- and I discovered it was an error in the way I used "-r " in the command line. It looks like a lot of time was wasted on this one due to my own mistakes... but I'll know for certain after this next round of encodes is done.

With a little luck I will be able to post a UHD-BD test version some time this week.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 18th February 2018 at 18:34.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2018, 20:44   #27044  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 819
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Update: I believe I've gotten past the sync issues on UHD-BD backups. I'll know after a couple of full encodes (10-18 hours each). It turns out it was poor attention to detail on my part. I went back and started over, testing every type of encoding sequence -- only to be perplexed when an AVISYNTH encode was in-sync. Apparently I'd done something in my first go-around that made me think it was out of sync also. That pointed to FFMPEG -- and I discovered it was an error in the way I used "-r " in the command line. It looks like a lot of time was wasted on this one due to my own mistakes... but I'll know for certain after this next round of encodes is done.

With a little luck I will be able to post a UHD-BD test version some time this week.
Thanks Boss!
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2018, 21:50   #27045  |  Link
kufo
Registered User
 
kufo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 52
Glad to her this. Little mistake, big impact. I really want to know, what your new encode will bring.
kufo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2018, 21:52   #27046  |  Link
Ch3vr0n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,201
I'd love to see NVEnc support Hardware decoding and encoding for 3D discs ^^
Ch3vr0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2018, 22:01   #27047  |  Link
drmih
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 588
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Update: I believe I've gotten past the sync issues on UHD-BD backups. I'll know after a couple of full encodes (10-18 hours each). It turns out it was poor attention to detail on my part. I went back and started over, testing every type of encoding sequence -- only to be perplexed when an AVISYNTH encode was in-sync. Apparently I'd done something in my first go-around that made me think it was out of sync also. That pointed to FFMPEG -- and I discovered it was an error in the way I used "-r " in the command line. It looks like a lot of time was wasted on this one due to my own mistakes... but I'll know for certain after this next round of encodes is done.

With a little luck I will be able to post a UHD-BD test version some time this week.
If using LAV will it be possible to get the CUDA acceleration using GPU as I'm not sure I want to go back to 1 day encodes?
drmih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2018, 23:03   #27048  |  Link
kufo
Registered User
 
kufo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by drmih View Post
If using LAV will it be possible to get the CUDA acceleration using GPU as I'm not sure I want to go back to 1 day encodes?
A one day encode is even better, than a fault. We all have to do some testing when the new version will ne introduced.
kufo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2018, 02:55   #27049  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,023
Quote:
Originally Posted by drmih View Post
If using LAV will it be possible to get the CUDA acceleration using GPU as I'm not sure I want to go back to 1 day encodes?
Yes, for frame serving. You can tell LAV to use it in the Video Configuration dialog.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 19th February 2018 at 03:00.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2018, 02:57   #27050  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,023
Quote:
Originally Posted by kufo View Post
A one day encode is even better, than a fault. We all have to do some testing when the new version will ne introduced.
I added a test mode that limits any M2TS to the first 10 minutes so testing can be done without the huge time investment.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2018, 03:09   #27051  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,023
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch3vr0n View Post
I'd love to see NVEnc support Hardware decoding and encoding for 3D discs ^^
I haven't been following NVEnc, since my NVIDIA video card is older. How do you use it now? Via FFMPEG?
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2018, 03:44   #27052  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Scarborough, Canada
Posts: 773
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I haven't been following NVEnc, since my NVIDIA video card is older. How do you use it now? Via FFMPEG?
I believe it can be used thru ffmpeg or by NVEncC, a command line app by rigaya
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2018, 12:04   #27053  |  Link
Ch3vr0n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,201
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I haven't been following NVEnc, since my NVIDIA video card is older. How do you use it now? Via FFMPEG?
Via CloneBD from elby for my 2d discs. Bdrb is still my go-to for 3d ones but with software encoding it still takes up to half a day. HW enc would cut that down significantly

For comparison

On my new current rig a BD50 to bd25 2d takes around 4-6hrs with bdrb. NVenc with CloneBD does that in 15min's with my GTX 1080.

Sent from my Nexus 6P with Tapatalk
Ch3vr0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2018, 12:55   #27054  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Scarborough, Canada
Posts: 773
@Ch3vr0n
Doesn't CloneBD use FFMPEG in the background?
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2018, 14:56   #27055  |  Link
DrinkLyeAndDie
Registered User
 
DrinkLyeAndDie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
@Ch3vr0n
Doesn't CloneBD use FFMPEG in the background?
Depending on where you look you'll see it stated that CloneBD is powered by libav or ffmpeg. Elaborate Bytes' page on the product says libav. RedFox's page say ffmpeg. Looking in the application forlder you'll see "drone" files related to both.

Last edited by DrinkLyeAndDie; 19th February 2018 at 14:59.
DrinkLyeAndDie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2018, 15:00   #27056  |  Link
Ch3vr0n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,201
Oh I know, it's just that under video settings encoding and decoding is done by hardware (though I believe it says 'cuda' in settings instead of the newer NVEnc) .

Sent from my Nexus 6P with Tapatalk
Ch3vr0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2018, 15:05   #27057  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,023
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch3vr0n View Post
Via CloneBD from elby for my 2d discs. Bdrb is still my go-to for 3d ones but with software encoding it still takes up to half a day. HW enc would cut that down significantly

For comparison

On my new current rig a BD50 to bd25 2d takes around 4-6hrs with bdrb. NVenc with CloneBD does that in 15min's with my GTX 1080.

Sent from my Nexus 6P with Tapatalk
Is the GTX 1080 a Maxwell GPU? The NVEnc writeup I saw says you need Maxwell for H.265 encoding.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2018, 15:13   #27058  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Scarborough, Canada
Posts: 773
GTX 10-series cards are Pascal GPUs, so they are good for 10 bit HEVC encoding
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2018, 15:56   #27059  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,023
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
GTX 10-series cards are Pascal GPUs, so they are good for 10 bit HEVC encoding
Ahhh... I wasn't thinking. I guess I misread and it is a minimum of maxwell (I just haven't been keeping up on this stuff). Has anyone tested a GTX 1050? Is it good enough for HEVC encoding? Any minimum amount of memory? I'm thinking about upgrading -- but I need to keep my cost down.

Does the 10 series encodes support B frames when HEVC encoding? Some reading I saw seems to imply it doesn't.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 19th February 2018 at 16:16.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2018, 16:54   #27060  |  Link
Ch3vr0n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,201
Plenty people use the 1050 in combination with clbd. Though I'd recommend perhaps posting on the RedFox forum section for clbd and tag Pete for the b-frames. He's pretty knowledgeable in that area.

The memory doesn't matter that much I believe, it's the 'cuda/NVEnc' cores that matter that determines the speed.

So if I could wish for 1 thing with bdrb it's HW accelerated de-/encoding.

Sent from my Nexus 6P with Tapatalk
Ch3vr0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.