Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 28th January 2009, 12:36   #8041  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amefurashi View Post
I was trying to convert a 6.1ch DTS-MA track in a AAC-MP4 one using eac3to 3.05, keeping the original channels.

IIRC NeroAACEnc manages to encode streams up to 8 channels. Am I doing something wrong?
AFAIK Nero can encode 5.1 and 7.1, but not 6.1. So eac3to converts your 6.1 track to 7.1 to make it encodable with Nero.

Quote:
Originally Posted by shambles View Post
isn't the bluray truehd spec limited to 24bit?
Huh? TrueHD is *always* 24bit. Never lower, never higher. But it's possible that only some of those 24 bits are filled with actual data, with the remaining bits being zeroed out.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 12:52   #8042  |  Link
shambles
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 132
oh right. but then why is this happening:

Code:
eac3to v3.05
command line: eac3to E:\D181716D1V2 1) 3: f:\terror.flac
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
M2TS, 1 video track, 6 audio tracks, 2 subtitle tracks, 1:45:33, 24p /1.001
1: Chapters, 31 chapters
2: h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
3: TrueHD/AC3, English, 5.1 channels, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
   (embedded: AC3, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB)
4: AC3, English, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
5: AC3, Spanish, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
6: AC3, French, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
7: AC3, English, 2.0 channels, 224kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
8: AC3, English, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
9: Subtitle (PGS), English
10: Subtitle (PGS), Spanish
[a03] Extracting audio track number 3...
[a03] Extracting TrueHD stream...
[a03] Removing TrueHD dialog normalization...
[a03] Decoding with libav/ffmpeg...
[a03] Encoding FLAC with libFlac...
[a03] Creating file "f:\terror.flac"...
[a03] The original audio track has a constant bit depth of 24 bits.
[a03] Superfluous zero bytes detected, will be stripped in 2nd pass.
[a03] Starting 2nd pass...
[a03] Decoding FLAC...
[a03] Encoding FLAC with libFlac...
[a03] Creating file "f:\terror.flac"...
Video track 2 contains 151849 frames.
eac3to processing took 26 minutes, 35 seconds.
Done.
shambles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 14:46   #8043  |  Link
bigdog660
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 61
Demuxing report for v3.05

I had the chance to demux 3 BD movies last night, and I have attached their logs.

Code:
eac3to v3.05
command line: "D:\HDDVDTL\eac3to.exe" "E:\" 1) 2: "D:\DISASTER_MOVIE\feature.mkv" 1: "D:\DISASTER_MOVIE\chapters.txt" 4: "D:\DISASTER_MOVIE\feature.ac3" -core
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
M2TS, 2 video tracks, 2 audio tracks, 3 subtitle tracks, 1:28:28, 24p /1.001
1: Chapters, 17 chapters
2: h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
3: h264/AVC, 480p24 /1.001 (20:11)
4: DTS Master Audio, English, 7.1 channels, 24 bits, 48khz
   (core: DTS, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 1509kbps, 48khz)
5: AC3, English, 2.0 channels, 192kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
6: Subtitle (PGS), English
7: Subtitle (PGS), English
8: Subtitle (PGS), Spanish
Creating file "D:\DISASTER_MOVIE\chapters.txt"...
[v02] Extracting video track number 2...
[a04] Extracting audio track number 4...
[a04] Extracting DTS core...
[v02] Muxing video to Matroska...
[a04] Decoding with ArcSoft DTS Decoder...
[a04] Encoding AC3 <640kbps> with libAften...
[a04] Creating file "D:\DISASTER_MOVIE\feature.ac3"...
[a04] The original audio track has a constant bit depth of 24 bits.
Added fps value to MKV header.
Video track 2 contains 127258 frames.
Video track 3 contains 127258 frames.
eac3to processing took 1 hour, 44 minutes.
Done.
Code:
eac3to v3.05
command line: "D:\HDDVDTL\eac3to.exe" "E:\" 1) 2: "D:\PRIDE_AND_GLORY\feature.mkv" -stripPulldown 1: "D:\PRIDE_AND_GLORY\chapters.txt" 3: "D:\PRIDE_AND_GLORY\feature.ac3"
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
M2TS, 1 video track, 2 audio tracks, 2 subtitle tracks, 2:10:09, 24p /1.001
1: Chapters, 33 chapters
2: VC-1, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
3: AC3, English, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
4: TrueHD/AC3, English, 5.1 channels, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
   (embedded: AC3, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB)
5: Subtitle (PGS), English
6: Subtitle (PGS), Spanish
Creating file "D:\PRIDE_AND_GLORY\chapters.txt"...
[v02] Extracting video track number 2...
[a03] Extracting audio track number 3...
[a03] Removing AC3 dialog normalization...
[v02] Muxing video to Matroska...
[a03] Creating file "D:\PRIDE_AND_GLORY\feature.ac3"...
Added fps value to MKV header.
Video track 2 contains 187239 frames.
eac3to processing took 1 hour, 3 minutes.
Done.
Code:
eac3to v3.05
command line: "D:\HDDVDTL\eac3to.exe" "E:\" 1) 2: "D:\THE_LOVE_GURU\feature.mkv" 1: "D:\THE_LOVE_GURU\chapters.txt" 3: "D:\THE_LOVE_GURU\feature.ac3" -core
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
M2TS, 1 video track, 3 audio tracks, 5 subtitle tracks, 1:26:41, 24p /1.001
1: Chapters, 20 chapters
2: h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
3: TrueHD/AC3, English, 5.1 channels, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
   (embedded: AC3, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB)
4: AC3, French, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
5: AC3, Spanish, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
6: Subtitle (PGS), English
7: Subtitle (PGS), English
8: Subtitle (PGS), French
9: Subtitle (PGS), Spanish
10: Subtitle (PGS), Portuguese
Creating file "D:\THE_LOVE_GURU\chapters.txt"...
[v02] Extracting video track number 2...
[a03] Extracting audio track number 3...
[a03] Extracting AC3 stream...
[v02] Muxing video to Matroska...
[a03] Removing AC3 dialog normalization...
[a03] Creating file "D:\THE_LOVE_GURU\feature.ac3"...
Added fps value to MKV header.
Video track 2 contains 124704 frames.
eac3to processing took 1 hour, 22 minutes.
Done.
As you can see the processing took anywhere from 1:03:00 to 1:44:00 which is much better than v3.04, but not as good a v2.87. As previously discussed via email, v2.87 performance was fast enough demux a 1:45 hour movie in 27 minutes.

What size blocks did you use in v2.87? Was it 4K blocks? Maybe it's better to go back to that size or even try 8K blocks?

One of the areas v3.05 really shines is reading disc structure ["E:\" and "E:\" 1)]! Much faster than v2.87 or v3.04.

As always, you work is really appreciated!
bigdog660 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 18:06   #8044  |  Link
Amefurashi
Registered User
 
Amefurashi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
AFAIK Nero can encode 5.1 and 7.1, but not 6.1. So eac3to converts your 6.1 track to 7.1 to make it encodable with Nero.
I didn't know that.

Changelog of version 2.51 says:

Code:
Release Date: Jul 1, 2008
    * added (undocum.) option "-no7doubling" to disable 6.1 -> 7.1 channel doubling
This option doesn't exist anymore: may I ask what did it "technically" do?


BTW thanks for this awesome tool, keep up the good work!
Amefurashi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 19:41   #8045  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by shambles View Post
oh right. but then why is this happening:
This is exactly what madshi explained to you, and because i can't tell in a better way, read it again from him.

Last edited by nautilus7; 28th January 2009 at 19:44.
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 19:44   #8046  |  Link
Blue_MiSfit
Derek Prestegard IRL
 
Blue_MiSfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,572
@Madshi:

The clipping MP2 is uploading. I re-verified that both MPG -> MP2 -> AC3 and MPG -> AC3 both produce clipping, but MPG -> MP2 -> 32float WAV (with Foobar) > AC3 (with eac3to) works fine.

I'll update this post with the link when it's done uploading.

[edit]
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=NNYU3RBX
[/edit]

~MiSfit

Last edited by Blue_MiSfit; 28th January 2009 at 19:53.
Blue_MiSfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 20:34   #8047  |  Link
shambles
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by nautilus7 View Post
This is exactly what madshi explained to you, and because i can't tell in a better way, read it again from him.
but the log shows that the track has a constant bit depth of 24bits, so why is eac3to detecting zero-bytes and performing the 2nd pass? this is happening with all truehd tracks, i've done like 15 of them in the last couple days
shambles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 20:55   #8048  |  Link
lexor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by shambles View Post
but the log shows that the track has a constant bit depth of 24bits, so why is eac3to detecting zero-bytes and performing the 2nd pass? this is happening with all truehd tracks, i've done like 15 of them in the last couple days
Consider numbers: 1 , 01, 001, 0001 etc.

They are all the same, they are all 1. Prefixing a number with zeroes does not alter the value. TrueHD tracks are padded to 24 bits. So if source was 16bit PCM it would be padded to 24bits with zeroes by the TrueHD encoder. What eac3to is doing is detecting that padding and removes it on the second pass.
__________________
Geforce GTX 260
Windows 7, 64bit, Core i7
MPC-HC, Foobar2000
lexor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 21:02   #8049  |  Link
Blue_MiSfit
Derek Prestegard IRL
 
Blue_MiSfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,572
I ran into another MP2 source that had the same clipping issue today, and the same fix worked. If you need it, let me know.

~MiSfit

Last edited by Blue_MiSfit; 28th January 2009 at 21:20.
Blue_MiSfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 21:29   #8050  |  Link
shambles
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by lexor View Post
Consider numbers: 1 , 01, 001, 0001 etc.

They are all the same, they are all 1. Prefixing a number with zeroes does not alter the value. TrueHD tracks are padded to 24 bits. So if source was 16bit PCM it would be padded to 24bits with zeroes by the TrueHD encoder. What eac3to is doing is detecting that padding and removes it on the second pass.
there's no padding! the resultant flac tracks are 24bit. i know eac3to removes zero-bytes if there's only 16bits of valid information but these are all tracks that have full 24 valid bits
shambles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 21:40   #8051  |  Link
lchiu7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 279
Been trying to use a program tonmt which is a wrapper to transform BD and HD-DVD titles into a format that can be played by the Popcorn Hour. A critical component is eac3to. I am new to this so bear with me. Running tonmt on the HD-DVD title Shooter, it seems to fail on eac3to and since there are no java errors I wonder it it's a problem with either my configuration (Vista 32 SP1) or with eac3to (or something else). The HD-DVD was ripped to my local HD with AnyDVD. No errors occurred in the rip and all previous steps including merging the EVO and pulldown seemed to complete okay

This is my eac3to status log

eac3to (v3.05) is up to date
Nero Audio Decoder (Nero 7) works fine
ArcSoft DTS Decoder doesn't seem to be installed
http://www.arcsoft.com/products/totalmediatheatre
Sonic Audio Decoder (3.5.0.0) doesn't seem to be installed
Haali Matroska Muxer (2007-06-03) is installed
There's a new version (2009-01-11) available
http://haali.net/mkv
Nero AAC Encoder could not be located
http://www.nero.com/eng/nero-aac-codec.html
Copy NeroAacEnc.exe to the eac3to or to the Windows folder.
Surcode DTS Encoder doesn't seem to be installed
http://www.surcode.com
MkvToolnix (2.2.0.0, 2008-03-04) is installed
There's a new release version (2.4.1.0) available
http://www.bunkus.org/videotools/mkvtoolnix
There's a new beta version (2.4.2.0, 2009-01-18) available
http://www.bunkus.org/videotools/mkvtoolnix/win32/pre

However when eac3to runs on the eac3 file created by tonmt the following error occurs

eac3to v3.05
command line: C:\apps\ToNMT_5.1.0\eac3to\eac3to.exe C:\Temp\HDDVD_c0.eac3 C:\Temp\HDDVD.AC3
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
E-AC3, 5.1 channels, 2:05:44, 1536kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
Disabling DRC for Nero (E-)AC3 decoding...
Removing E-AC3 dialog normalization...
Decoding with DirectShow (Nero Audio Decoder 2)...
Aborted at file position 1448429568. <ERROR>

Out of interest tried running an earlier version of eac3to. Not sure which version since -test doesn't provide version information but dated Jan 2008

This runs to completion but produces no output file

No idea what to do next? Any assistance appreciated

Thanks
lchiu7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 21:41   #8052  |  Link
lexor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by shambles View Post
there's no padding! the resultant flac tracks are 24bit. i know eac3to removes zero-bytes if there's only 16bits of valid information but these are all tracks that have full 24 valid bits
You should've mentioned that, seeing how the log does not.

If you did, it would've sounded like a bug report and not like you asking for someone to explain to you the meaning of those lines.
__________________
Geforce GTX 260
Windows 7, 64bit, Core i7
MPC-HC, Foobar2000
lexor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 21:51   #8053  |  Link
shambles
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 132
i should've phrased the first post better, yes, but the log in the second post does clearly show that the audio track has a constant bit depth of 24 bits
shambles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 21:57   #8054  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,509
When I use -speedup it seems that eac3to always assumes 23.976fps for the audio source.
How can I speedup 24.0000 fps (film) => 25 fps?
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 21:58   #8055  |  Link
lexor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by shambles View Post
i should've phrased the first post better, yes, but the log in the second post does clearly show that the audio track has a constant bit depth of 24 bits
huh? no it does not. It shows that original track (TrueHD, 3: selection) has 24bits. Which as madshi explained and I elaborated it always would. The log says nothing about output bitdepth of the flac file.
__________________
Geforce GTX 260
Windows 7, 64bit, Core i7
MPC-HC, Foobar2000
lexor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 22:07   #8056  |  Link
shambles
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 132
when eac3to reports "original audio track has" this or that bit depth after processing an audio track, it shows the result of the bit depth analysation. it's always the number of valid bits.

for example, a 16bit truehd track:

Code:
eac3to v3.05
command line: eac3to G:\BDROM 1) 3: f:\amelie.flac
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
M2TS, 1 video track, 3 audio tracks, 4 subtitle tracks, 2:01:35, 24p /1.001
1: Chapters, 12 chapters
2: h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
3: TrueHD/AC3, French, 5.1 channels, 48khz
   (embedded: AC3, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz)
4: RAW/PCM, Japanese, 2.0 channels, 16 bits, 48khz
5: AC3, French, 2.0 channels, 192kbps, 48khz
6: Subtitle (PGS), Japanese
7: Subtitle (PGS), French
8: Subtitle (PGS), Japanese
9: Subtitle (PGS), Japanese
[a03] Extracting audio track number 3...
[a03] Extracting TrueHD stream...
[a03] Decoding with libav/ffmpeg...
[a03] Encoding FLAC with libFlac...
[a03] Creating file "f:\amelie.flac"...
[a03] The original audio track has a constant bit depth of 16 bits.
[a03] Superfluous zero bytes detected, will be stripped in 2nd pass.
[a03] Starting 2nd pass...
[a03] Decoding FLAC...
[a03] Reducing depth from 24 to 16 bits...
[a03] Encoding FLAC with libFlac...
[a03] Creating file "f:\amelie.flac"...
[a03] The processed audio track has a constant bit depth of 16 bits.
Video track 2 contains 174912 frames.
eac3to processing took 20 minutes, 49 seconds.
Done.
shambles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 22:14   #8057  |  Link
lexor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 849
hmm, does sound like something is wrong, so we'll have to wait for madshi to look into it. It could still be the case that the second pass is unrelated to the bitdepth stuff (maybe it's one of those branching or other special structures on the disk) that require second pass to get the timings right.

so it could be just bug in logging.
__________________
Geforce GTX 260
Windows 7, 64bit, Core i7
MPC-HC, Foobar2000
lexor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 22:14   #8058  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by shambles View Post
oh right. but then why is this happening:

Code:
[a03] The original audio track has a constant bit depth of 24 bits.
[a03] Superfluous zero bytes detected, will be stripped in 2nd pass.
Yeah, that is weird. The track can either have a constant bit depth of 24 bits or there can be zero bytes, but not both at the same time. Will have to check that...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdog660 View Post
I had the chance to demux 3 BD movies last night, and I have attached their logs.

As you can see the processing took anywhere from 1:03:00 to 1:44:00 which is much better than v3.04, but not as good a v2.87. As previously discussed via email, v2.87 performance was fast enough demux a 1:45 hour movie in 27 minutes.

What size blocks did you use in v2.87? Was it 4K blocks? Maybe it's better to go back to that size or even try 8K blocks?
I've tested the best speed with my specific Blu-Ray drive and it was with 2K blocks. v2.87 used 64K blocks, IIRC, but it performed noticably worse on my PC. So maybe the optimal block read size depends on the drive model? Uh, that's ugly. Will have to think about how to solve that.

Have you done that other test I asked you to do: Namely ripping the movie to harddisk first and then comparing v2.87 vs. v3.05 when running on the harddisk folder? I think v3.05 should be noticably faster in that situation...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amefurashi View Post
This option doesn't exist anymore: may I ask what did it "technically" do?
Why would you want to know what an old option did, which doesn't even exist, anymore?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue_MiSfit View Post
The clipping MP2 is uploading. I re-verified that both MPG -> MP2 -> AC3 and MPG -> AC3 both produce clipping, but MPG -> MP2 -> 32float WAV (with Foobar) > AC3 (with eac3to) works fine.
Thanks, I'll check this out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lchiu7 View Post
Been trying to use a program tonmt which is a wrapper to transform BD and HD-DVD titles into a format that can be played by the Popcorn Hour. A critical component is eac3to. I am new to this so bear with me. Running tonmt on the HD-DVD title Shooter, it seems to fail on eac3to and since there are no java errors I wonder it it's a problem with either my configuration (Vista 32 SP1) or with eac3to (or something else). The HD-DVD was ripped to my local HD with AnyDVD. No errors occurred in the rip and all previous steps including merging the EVO and pulldown seemed to complete okay

Out of interest tried running an earlier version of eac3to. Not sure which version since -test doesn't provide version information but dated Jan 2008

This runs to completion but produces no output file

No idea what to do next? Any assistance appreciated
Please try using "-libav" to use the libav decoder instead of Nero. Maybe that helps? How big is that E-AC3 track? Can you reproduce the problem with a small sample of the track? If so, it would be nice if you could upload it for me to test...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharc View Post
When I use -speedup it seems that eac3to always assumes 23.976fps for the audio source.
How can I speedup 24.0000 fps (film) => 25 fps?
When the audio is in a container eac3to automatically applies 24.000 -> 25.000 speedup. When the audio is demuxed, eac3to cannot possibly know which FPS the audio has, so it assumes the usual case of 23.976 -> 25.000. You can tell eac3to which FPS the demuxed audio file has by using the parameter "-24.000". So the command line would be: "eac3to source.whatever dest.whatever -24.000 -speedup".
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 22:17   #8059  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,509
All clear now. Thanks madshi.
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 22:39   #8060  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,517
TrueHD sample that shows same behavior. Maybe it happens with all real 24 bit tracks...

Code:
eac3to aaa.thd aaa.flac
TrueHD, 5.1 channels, 48khz
Decoding with libav/ffmpeg...
Encoding FLAC with libFlac...
Creating file "aaa.flac"...
The original audio track has a constant bit depth of 24 bits.
Superfluous zero bytes detected, will be stripped in 2nd pass.
Starting 2nd pass...
Decoding FLAC...
Encoding FLAC with libFlac...
Creating file "aaa.flac"...
eac3to processing took 9 seconds.
Done.

eac3to aaa.flac
FLAC, 5.1 channels, 0:00:36, 24 bits, 2051kbps, 48khz
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.