Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 6th December 2008, 04:30   #781  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by vucloutr View Post
problem solved, thanks anyway.
I don't get the "anyway" part.
Guest is offline  
Old 6th December 2008, 04:40   #782  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by rack04 View Post
Is a 10 mb sample cut using dgsplit sufficient?
Obviously not! I can't duplicate the issue, because when I do a preview that stream doesn't show up.

Please give me enough to actually duplicate your issue. Thank you.
Guest is offline  
Old 6th December 2008, 15:21   #783  |  Link
rack04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
Obviously not! I can't duplicate the issue, because when I do a preview that stream doesn't show up.

Please give me enough to actually duplicate your issue. Thank you.
Well the video showed for me. Anyways I'll work on it and get back to you.
rack04 is offline  
Old 6th December 2008, 16:11   #784  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by rack04 View Post
Well the video showed for me. Anyways I'll work on it and get back to you.
I did not say the video does not display!

Your report is that a DTS stream shows up different in the Audio Demux menu and the Information display. But when I preview, the DTS stream never shows up in the Information display. The sample is too small and doesn't include the start of that audio stream.
Guest is offline  
Old 6th December 2008, 23:49   #785  |  Link
rack04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
I did not say the video does not display!

Your report is that a DTS stream shows up different in the Audio Demux menu and the Information display. But when I preview, the DTS stream never shows up in the Information display. The sample is too small and doesn't include the start of that audio stream.
Does this serve you any better?

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=QOFWY2M6
rack04 is offline  
Old 7th December 2008, 01:01   #786  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
Well, sort of.

Um, are you even trying to duplicate the issue with the streams you give me? Because again, pid 1100 doesn't show up in the Info dialog. But that in itself is a problem, though it is not the same one you reported. I'll work on that and if you give me a stream that lets me duplicate your reported issue, I can work on that too.
Guest is offline  
Old 7th December 2008, 01:15   #787  |  Link
rack04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
Well, sort of.

Um, are you even trying to duplicate the issue with the streams you give me? Because again, pid 1100 doesn't show up in the Info dialog. But that in itself is a problem, though it is not the same one you reported. I'll work on that and if you give me a stream that lets me duplicate your reported issue, I can work on that too.
No, I'm purposely submitting files that doesn't exhibit the bug that I reported. Come on!

Each file that I have uploaded shows the 1100 stream as DTS L+R in the Audio Demux and C+L+R+SL+SR 48 1536 in the information panel.
rack04 is offline  
Old 7th December 2008, 01:45   #788  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
What version of DGAVCDecNV are you using?

I've tried again with 1.0.8 and if I "Preview" I don't see the stream in the Info dialog. If I "Save Project" I see it and it doesn't match the Audio/Demux screen. So I can duplicate your issue. Don't get mad at me, I specifically said "preview", and you never mentioned that you were Saving Project.

Last edited by Guest; 7th December 2008 at 01:54.
Guest is offline  
Old 7th December 2008, 01:57   #789  |  Link
rack04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
What version of DGAVCDecNV are you using?

I've tried again with 1.0.8 and if I "Preview" I don't see the stream in the Info dialog. If I "Save Project" I see it and it doesn't match the Audio/Demux screen. So I can duplicate your issue. Don't get mad at me, I specifically said "preview", and you never mentioned that you were Saving Project.
I'm using 1.0.8. Yes, I was saving project. I only mentioned the "bug" because using eac3to I knew that the first audio stream was DTS-HD (MA) 7.1 and DGAVCIndexNV was reporting DTS 2.0.

Last edited by rack04; 7th December 2008 at 02:25.
rack04 is offline  
Old 7th December 2008, 02:25   #790  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
OK, thank you. Investigating...
Guest is offline  
Old 7th December 2008, 10:03   #791  |  Link
Clumpco
Registered User
 
Clumpco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 82
Hmm I am still having problems here, but I do not know if it DGAVC or MeGui that is at fault (or me?).
The CUVIDServer becomes unresponsive and encoding stops.
This happened when I was encoding two vids at once (by mistake, but I left it running to see what happpened).
The first pass on video1 terminated OK but the second pass stalled immediately (not even a % finished).
The first pass on video2 carried on but then hung 1 hour later at 97%.

The CUVID server icon became unresponsive and had to be killed.
MeGui managed to shut itself down when asked.
x264 was still in the process list.
A reboot was required to get the CUVID server running again.

I have also managed to hang the server by doing this:
Start Megui, load an avs, close the video screen because it was the wrong avs, load another avs.
This seems to hang megui and the server.

(using latest DGAVCNV version)

TIA
Clumpco is offline  
Old 7th December 2008, 11:11   #792  |  Link
Audionut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clumpco View Post
Start Megui, load an avs, close the video screen because it was the wrong avs, load another avs.
This seems to hang megui and the server.
That's a Megui problem. I'm having the same issue regardless of source.
Audionut is offline  
Old 7th December 2008, 11:19   #793  |  Link
Clumpco
Registered User
 
Clumpco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Audionut View Post
That's a Megui problem.
I suspected as much.
Thanks fir the confirmation.
Clumpco is offline  
Old 7th December 2008, 15:04   #794  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clumpco View Post
This happened when I was encoding two vids at once
Don't do that.
Guest is offline  
Old 7th December 2008, 16:37   #795  |  Link
Clumpco
Registered User
 
Clumpco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
Don't do that.
Yes, I have seen the result :-(
Great if you want to watch two programmes at once.
Clumpco is offline  
Old 7th December 2008, 20:25   #796  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
DGAVCDecNV is not for watching.
Guest is offline  
Old 8th December 2008, 14:26   #797  |  Link
HymnToLife
Ubuntu French Roast
 
HymnToLife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bordeaux, France
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
My results for a 1920x1080 PAFF stream from the Hauppauge HD PVR with display disabled are:

Frame rate: 46 fps
CPU utilization: 2%

My machine is Intel E8500 dual core @ 3.8GHz on ASUS Rampage Formula. Graphics card is eVGA 8500GT.
Just so I can compare my results, how did you calculate this? By opening an AVS with only the AVCSource() line in VDub (AVC stream from a Blu-Ray) and running a "video analysis pass", I get ~40fps (Athlon 64 FX-62 dual core @ 2,8 GHz, GeForce 8600GT, Vista x64).

I guess it makes sense since we have about the same graphics card that we get about the same results though your CPU is much better than mine. However, CPU usage gets very high too. Is there a way to make sur it is actually using the GPU?

And by the way, loading the AVS in a player works perfectly well for watching, and should be more widely supported that loaging the M2TS directly (and would allow for some light filtering in AVS too).
__________________
Code:
Copy Protection:  A clever method of preventing incompetent pirates from
		   stealing software and legitimate customers from using it.
From http://www.gnu.org/fun/jokes/software.terms.html

Last edited by HymnToLife; 8th December 2008 at 14:38.
HymnToLife is offline  
Old 8th December 2008, 14:36   #798  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by HymnToLife View Post
Just so I can compare my results, how did you calculate this?
Preview in DGAVCIndexNV with the Disable Display option enabled. The FPS shows at the bottom of the Info dialog.

Quote:
However, CPU usage gets very high too.
Try it again with the method above.

Quote:
Is there a way to make sure it is actually using the GPU?
There is no code in there to use anything else!
Guest is offline  
Old 8th December 2008, 14:53   #799  |  Link
Clumpco
Registered User
 
Clumpco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
DGAVCDecNV is not for watching.
Donald, please credit me with a little more intelligence than that.

If you run two parallel encodes in MeGui, both using DGAVCDecNV as a frame server, you get a mixture of bands from both files. Hence my quip about it being useful if you want to watch two at once.

However, and on a more serious note, I have noticed that running h264ts_cutter at the same time as your frameserver results in artefacts in the cut .ts. This I find astonishing because AFAIK h264ts_cutter only does any rendering except while you are searching through the video for cut points. But there must be a link because h264ts_cutter will also cause a BSOD in some cases (which it never does if your frameserver isn't working).

It would also appear that playing any video while frameserving can have catastrophic results.

Is it possible to index another .ts while frameserving to x264? I suspect not either.

Your code should have some check of whether there is already an instance serving frames when it is called.

All this makes capturing/encoding a very linear process and reduces the benefit of the high framerates obtained.
I cannot capture from a sat card while indexing/encoding.
I cannot index another file while encoding or capturing.
I cannot edit a .ts while indexing/encoding.
Clumpco is offline  
Old 9th December 2008, 22:58   #800  |  Link
HymnToLife
Ubuntu French Roast
 
HymnToLife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bordeaux, France
Posts: 191
Reporting since I don't think it's normal: if I have this:

Code:
AVCSource("tokikake.dga")
Trim(42972, 43000)
and open it in VDub or feed it to x264, I have blocking, but not if I remove the Trim() and just seek to the frame. Blocking also does not happen if I use DGAVCDec (non-NV) and, even more funny, adding an FFT3DGPU() to my script gets rid of the blocking as well but only if it is placed before Trim().

Source sample needed?
__________________
Code:
Copy Protection:  A clever method of preventing incompetent pirates from
		   stealing software and legitimate customers from using it.
From http://www.gnu.org/fun/jokes/software.terms.html

Last edited by HymnToLife; 9th December 2008 at 23:04.
HymnToLife is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.