Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 ASP

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 17th May 2005, 01:01   #201  |  Link
Flashmeister
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
codec of file that won't open with MPEG4 Modifier

According to GSpot and VirtualDubMod, the files are XviD. See attached screenshot from VDM. I didn't see a convenient way to log or screenshot the info from GSpot.

So, MPEG4 Modifier should open it, no?

Thanks,

Greg
Attached Images
 
Flashmeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2005, 12:02   #202  |  Link
bond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,779
Quote:
Originally posted by Flashmeister
So, MPEG4 Modifier should open it, no?
if its really xvid than yes
__________________
Between the weak and the strong one it is the freedom which oppresses and the law that liberates (Jean Jacques Rousseau)
I know, that I know nothing (Socrates)

MPEG-4 ASP FAQ | AVC/H.264 FAQ | AAC FAQ | MP4 FAQ | MP4Menu stores DVD Menus in MP4 (guide)
Ogg Theora | Ogg Vorbis
use WM9 today and get Micro$oft controlling the A/V market tomorrow for free
bond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2005, 12:43   #203  |  Link
Leak
ffdshow/AviSynth wrangler
 
Leak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Austria
Posts: 2,441
Quote:
Originally posted by bond
if its really xvid than yes
...unless the file is an OpenDML AVI, which is currently biting me in the rectum...

np: Metamatics - Rapala Shad (From Death To Passwords Where You're A Paper Aeroplane)
Leak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2005, 12:36   #204  |  Link
Infirmus
Registered User
 
Infirmus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 20
My player (Zensonic Z330) just got a firware upgrade that allows it to play packed bitstream! Yay! Dont need to use MPEG4 Modifier anymore..! Thanks for the very usefull tool while I still needed it Moitah.
Infirmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2005, 15:59   #205  |  Link
BigJim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1
Can someoe tell me how the use this prog?
I have an AVI standalone player (yamada DVX 6600) and the XVID support isn't that good.The XVID movies are played back jerky.
This programm could fix the jerky playback except I don't know excactly what to change or modify.Should I just unpack the film?
Is there a tutorial somewhere??

Sincerely

Simon
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2005, 21:08   #206  |  Link
Birdy1
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 15
Quote:
Can someoe tell me how the use this prog?
[Browse...] for the file, check the [unpack] checkbox, [save...] the file
Birdy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2005, 17:53   #207  |  Link
derevo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 37
i tried to modify xvid's aspect ratio, but it does not change. when i modified file by this program and i open this file in mpeg4 midifier and see video info there aspect ratio is changed, but when i watch it in any player aspect ratio is same that it was in non modified file. where is problem??
derevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2005, 18:04   #208  |  Link
Birdy1
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 15
The only player I know of that supports the aspect ratio is VLC media player
Birdy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2005, 18:05   #209  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in HD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,177
Quote:
Originally Posted by derevo
... but when i watch it in any player aspect ratio is same that it was in non modified file. where is problem??
What "direct-show" decoder filter are you using with your software media player?

If you can try these 16:9 AR Signalling Test Encodes and these 4:3 AR Signalling Test Encodes please!

EDIT:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Birdy1
The only player I know of that supports the aspect ratio is VLC media player
So does Nero's ShowTime 2 Player. And so do 3ivx's, XviD (newest beta) and DivX's (5.3.0.1461) DSdec filters...


Cheers
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |

Last edited by SeeMoreDigital; 31st May 2005 at 18:10.
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2005, 18:20   #210  |  Link
derevo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 37
Quote:
What "direct-show" decoder filter are you using with your software media player?
i don't know what is direct-show decoder filter.
where i can look it and change??
derevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2005, 19:10   #211  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in HD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,177
Quote:
Originally Posted by derevo
i don't know what is direct-show decoder filter.
where i can look it and change??
If you are using say, Windows Media Player, it's stated under: "Files" then "Properties"... And you should see it here: -




Cheers
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2005, 19:30   #212  |  Link
derevo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 37
in my file it is also "XviD MPEG-4 Video Decoder".

in file wich come from satellite resolution is 720x576 and aspect ratio is 3:4,
but when i compress it in xvid aspect ratio becomes to 5:4.
here is screenshots:
http://www.saunalahti.fi/isos/5.4.gif
http://www.saunalahti.fi/isos/4.3.gif

mpeg4 modifier does not change it.
derevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2005, 20:15   #213  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in HD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,177
Quote:
Originally Posted by derevo
in my file it is also "XviD MPEG-4 Video Decoder".
When you visit XviD's "Configure Decoder" settings, does the GUI look similar this one?




Cheers
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2005, 20:50   #214  |  Link
derevo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 37
not, it is an other.
here is screenshot:
derevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2005, 21:04   #215  |  Link
ChronoCross
Does it really matter?
 
ChronoCross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,542
That's the encoder screen. you can access the decoder config in Start Menu -> Programs -> Xvid -> Configure Decoder.
ChronoCross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2005, 21:05   #216  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in HD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,177
That's XviD's "decoder" panel, which is available via the "encoder"!

The "decoder" GUI I'm talking about is accessable via the "Start" button... Then, Programs/XviD/Configure Decoder (or something similar)


Cheers
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2005, 22:01   #217  |  Link
derevo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 37
yes, encoder is same as that on your screenshot.
derevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2005, 22:08   #218  |  Link
derevo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 37
i tried to change options in there windows and now aspect ratio is right
thanks for answer.
it is very difficult to use computers.
derevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2005, 02:53   #219  |  Link
Vladdy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 35
Will we see a version that supports the openDML format?
I have some 2+ gb avi's that have an embedded AR and can't use this app
Vladdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2005, 10:27   #220  |  Link
dimitrik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 75
OpenDML DML support would be greatly appreciated.

I also have a lot of older files that I would like to convert. I guess openDML was very popular at one time

for the great tool!
dimitrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.