Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 25th November 2017, 17:58   #14521  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by pstn View Post
I just tried it on a DTS HD file made with DTS Master Suite:

File ........: C:\Users\pstn\Desktop\track2_eng.dts
You need use a .dtshd just encoded with DTS Master Suite, after mixed in a container the global header DTSHDHDR disapear.

EDIT:
MkvMerge and tsMuxer remove the global header (and end Extrachunks) of a .dtshd just created with DTS Master Suite, but don't apply the delay.
You can't know if you need apply the -21ms or not.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.

Last edited by tebasuna51; 25th November 2017 at 18:19.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2017, 19:23   #14522  |  Link
pstn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
You need use a .dtshd just encoded with DTS Master Suite, after mixed in a container the global header DTSHDHDR disapear.

EDIT:
MkvMerge and tsMuxer remove the global header (and end Extrachunks) of a .dtshd just created with DTS Master Suite, but don't apply the delay.
You can't know if you need apply the -21ms or not.
I see, thank you
pstn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2017, 14:19   #14523  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Your example seems corrupted.
As FFMPEG seems more resilient, a flag to ignore corrupted frames would be ok.
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2017, 22:21   #14524  |  Link
hubblec4
Matroska Dev-Helper
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 881
Hi madshi

eac3to don't find the correct mpls for the Bluray Spider Man Homecoming


mpls 00420 with 16 chapters is missing.

Code:
eac3to v3.33
command line: "D:\eac3to.exe" "K:\" -log="E:\Spider Man - Homecoming\title.txt"
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1) 00421.mpls, 00001.m2ts, 2:13:28
   - Chapters, 83 chapters
   - h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
   - DTS Master Audio, English, multi-channel, 48kHz
   - DTS Master Audio, German, multi-channel, 48kHz
   - AC3, Turkish, multi-channel, 48kHz

2) 00422.mpls, 0:32:00
   [334+342+343+344+345+346+347+348+349+350+351+352+353+354+355+356+357+335+338].m2ts
   - Chapters, 17 chapters
   - h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
   - AC3, English, stereo, 48kHz

3) 00353.mpls, 0:16:17
   [342+343+344+345+346+347+348+349+350+351+352].m2ts
   - Chapters, 10 chapters
   - h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
   - AC3, English, stereo, 48kHz
hubblec4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2017, 00:54   #14525  |  Link
mtamimi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 43
I have a problem with a movie, the movie plays well w/o issues...However when I tried to convert the audio track I've had some issues...

Quote:
eac3to v3.34
command line: eac3to.exe L:\Movie.REMUX.BluRay.AVC.DD.2.0.mkv -progressnumbers -log=log.1.txt
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MKV, 1 video track, 1 audio track, 1:38:49, 24p /1.001
1: h264/AVC, English, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
2: AC3, English, 2.0 channels, 192kbps, 48kHz
"Stereo"
As you see, it is AC3 2.0 and its 1:38:49...This is correct...Now, extracting...

Quote:
eac3to v3.34
command line: eac3to.exe L:\Movie.REMUX.BluRay.AVC.DD.2.0.mkv 2:Audio.ac3 -progressnumbers -log=log.2.txt
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MKV, 1 video track, 1 audio track, 1:38:49, 24p /1.001
1: h264/AVC, English, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
2: AC3, English, 2.0 channels, 192kbps, 48kHz
"Stereo"
[a02] Extracting audio track number 2...
[a02] Creating file "Audio.ac3"...
Video track 1 contains 284321 frames.
eac3to processing took 3 minutes, 48 seconds.
Done.
Now, check this
Quote:
eac3to v3.34
command line: eac3to.exe Audio.ac3 -progressnumbers -log=log.3.txt
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
AC3, 2.0 channels, 3:50:24, 192kbps, 48kHz
it reports the file as 3:50:24. If I converted the file to anything, I will have a 3:50:24 long audio track, and it sounds as if it was slowed down...

Can you guys investiate this?

The extracted audio track is here
https://mega.nz/#!9uYFmQJb!Mk3i3QY0G...EQGnNjA8GFv8Sw
mtamimi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2017, 03:47   #14526  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtamimi View Post
Can you guys investiate this?
The first 8 seconds are 2.0 the rest is:

AC3, 5.1 channels, 1:38:41, 448kbps, 48kHz
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2017, 07:35   #14527  |  Link
XadoX
Registered User
 
XadoX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 191
@madshi Thx for the Update now I can use PowerShell without probs.
XadoX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2017, 12:16   #14528  |  Link
mtamimi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
The first 8 seconds are 2.0 the rest is:

AC3, 5.1 channels, 1:38:41, 448kbps, 48kHz
Great, how did you figure this out? And what is the proper/precise way to trim the audio track ?

thnx


*edit*
I tried to use your utility LaaAudBi4, Avira reported a threat and blocked it...

Last edited by mtamimi; 1st December 2017 at 12:25.
mtamimi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2017, 13:05   #14529  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,602
Heuristic warnings are usually false alarms, report them to your AV company.

Regarding automatic splitting of AC3 related to a changing channel layout, I am not sure what to do these days; I remember that ProjectX was able to detect channel layout changes, but only in SD TS with MPEG-2 video, it can't handle MKV. HeadAC3he was able to extract time ranges from AC3 files frame-wise, but you would have to know the exact timecodes.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2017, 14:10   #14530  |  Link
mtamimi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
Heuristic warnings are usually false alarms, report them to your AV company.

Regarding automatic splitting of AC3 related to a changing channel layout, I am not sure what to do these days; I remember that ProjectX was able to detect channel layout changes, but only in SD TS with MPEG-2 video, it can't handle MKV. HeadAC3he was able to extract time ranges from AC3 files frame-wise, but you would have to know the exact timecodes.
He was able to detect when the change started, so perhaps he uses a utility that will help in splitting the 2.0 track from the 5.1...?
mtamimi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2017, 14:26   #14531  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,092
Too lazy to test now but maybe you can use delay in this simple case. Something like:
eac3to input.ac3 temp.ac3 -8000ms
eac3to temp.ac3 output.ac3 +8000ms

Or with edit function. I'm sure tebasuna51 will post a proper solution(*) if this doesn't work. (If there is sound then maybe recode the first 8 seconds to 5.1)


(* if you want to regard this as a problem to begin with)
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2017, 14:36   #14532  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtamimi View Post
He was able to detect when the change started, so perhaps he uses a utility that will help in splitting the 2.0 track from the 5.1...?
Try SplitAc3 from https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...95#post1447695

EDIT: The sneaker_ger solution work fine because the first 8 sec are silence.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.

Last edited by tebasuna51; 1st December 2017 at 14:45.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2017, 19:28   #14533  |  Link
mtamimi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Try SplitAc3 from https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...95#post1447695

EDIT: The sneaker_ger solution work fine because the first 8 sec are silence.
a lot

*edit*
Anyone aware of a utility that helps me to trim the 1st 8000ms of the h264 video. If eac3to is capable of doing that, would someone show me an example?!

Last edited by mtamimi; 1st December 2017 at 21:55.
mtamimi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2017, 21:59   #14534  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,092
mkvtoolnix can trim video but it is problematic because of the keyframe limitation. Might need better tool like SolveigMM Video Splitter, VideoReDo or similar. Easiest to just leave the 8s.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2017, 22:06   #14535  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,602
Well, the optimal tool to split audio streams is one that doesn't care about video frames because it handles the audio only.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2017, 22:08   #14536  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,092
He wants to cut the 8s away altogether (video and audio).
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2017, 22:23   #14537  |  Link
mtamimi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneaker_ger View Post
He wants to cut the 8s away altogether (video and audio).
I did add +8000ms to the trimmed 5.1 auido track, and remuxed with the original untouched video and everything is in sync w/o issues. This is also good since I don't need to modify the chapters also...

I am only curious if I decided to trim the video by -8000ms instead of adding +8000ms of silence to the audio track...how can I do that easily?

mtamimi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2017, 22:30   #14538  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,602
But Dolby Digital AC-3 has 32 ms frames (at 48 kHz, with 1536 samples). Fortunately, 8000 ms are an integer multiple of its frame duration. But what if not? Will the duration be rounded up or down to the next audio frame border? It may be (generally) more reliable to split audio streams at the frame boundary between different channel layouts, no matter which duration they have written in seconds and milliseconds.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2017, 22:46   #14539  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,092
Depends on the software. With mkvtoolnix you can just do "--split parts:00:08-" and it will cut all tracks accordingly and also set delays in container to make precision <=1 ms if cuts aren't exactly on frame boundaries (which - like you said - seldomly align). It's not really a problem anyone should lose sleep about.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2017, 12:56   #14540  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,400
Cut all tracks of a container without recode (VideoReDo or similar can recode only boundaries) at a exact point need:

- The time point is a exact multiple of audio framelength. Here, with AC3 48 Khz, 8000 ms are 250 x 32 ms, then cut the first 250 frames.

- The time point is a exact multiple of video framelength. If video have 25 fps you can cut the first 8000 / 25 = 320 frames, but you need than the 321 frame was a Keyframe.
With other fps or without a Keyframe at exact point you can't cut exactly without recode.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.