Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th February 2020, 23:07   #58641  |  Link
Yog_Sothoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
when you click on the mhz number it self you change the logging of this field the max gives me a better idea of what is really happening.


here is an example:
https://abload.de/img/hd40007yk0q.png

your video shows serious issue with DXVA processing.
this 50i file that you are playing there is far far harder to handle then a 1080p23 file.

this is BTW. a totally normal file just a standard pal DVD.
Here: https://imgur.com/1H6SG1G
__________________
System: i5 3570k; 8 Gb ddr3; SW: Windows 10 x64, latest updates; k-lite codec pack mega, latest updates; Monitor: HP x2301, Receiver: YAMAHA RX-V371
Yog_Sothoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2020, 23:42   #58642  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,229
now it getting strange the rendertimes are totally fine now that you are using yadif. your iGPU even boost to it proper boost clock for a very short time now.

i test my HD 4000 tomorrow i have to connect it first.
huhn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2020, 08:33   #58643  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 238
But its also not deinterlacing now and its 50 FPS both.
__________________
Windows 10-1909 | i5-3570k | GTX 1070 Windforce OC Rev2 8GB : 430.64 | Yamaha RX-V377 | Philips 65PUS6703 - 65"
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2020, 09:35   #58644  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,229
yadif deinterlaced the source to 50 FPS so everything is correct.
huhn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2020, 16:54   #58645  |  Link
Mike-uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Dorset
Posts: 90
Hi, hoping someone can help, ive just upgraded from a gtx1060 to a rtx 2070 super, but now when playing a UHD movie it stutters every 1 or 2 seconds, never had this with the 1060 it ran smooth, the gpu usage of the 2070 is showing 28% ive tried turning everything to low in madvr, render time is 6ms, thanks

hmm ok so I have 3 displays connected same as when I had the 1060, movies don't stutter on the other 2 displays only on the TV, the tv is connected via hdmi and the other 2 display port

Last edited by Mike-uk; 16th February 2020 at 17:28.
Mike-uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2020, 17:43   #58646  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,229
can you make a screen of the OSD sounds like a composition mismatch.

@Yog_Sothoth
didn't forget you i just had less time then expected i will test my hd4000 soon.

edit:my HD 4000 goes crazy when d3d11 is used for presentation.
i fixed it by doing this:
rendering -> general -> uncheck "use direct3d 11..."
rendering -> general -> check "enable windowed overlay..."

make sure everything else is not checked on this page.
leave the GPU and CPU queue sizes at default.
windows installed driver version 10.18.10.4358 from 2015 i just took it and didn't put it into question.

Last edited by huhn; 16th February 2020 at 17:54.
huhn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2020, 21:03   #58647  |  Link
Mike-uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Dorset
Posts: 90
Hi heres a screen shot of the stats

https://ibb.co/3v0dpcJ
Mike-uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2020, 21:36   #58648  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,229
is this screen with the other screen on or off?
d3d9 overlay could fix this too this could be the RTX bug too try present at advanced at 3 or lower.
other things.
DXVA2 native is no recommended use a different decoder.
the refreshrate is not correct this file needs 23p.
huhn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2020, 22:08   #58649  |  Link
Mike-uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Dorset
Posts: 90
ok cheers, ill have a look later, yes I changed from 23 to 24 cos I thought it was that but haven't changed the forced modes back,

Update

Thanks huhn your a life saver

all 3 screens are on

D3D9 just made the screen strobe like mad

exclusive mode "frames shall be presented in advance" set to 1 any higher and I get the stuttering

im now using LAV

and now back to 23 fps

Last edited by Mike-uk; 16th February 2020 at 23:24.
Mike-uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2020, 23:50   #58650  |  Link
Yog_Sothoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
my HD 4000 goes crazy when d3d11 is used for presentation.
i fixed it by doing this:
rendering -> general -> uncheck "use direct3d 11..."
rendering -> general -> check "enable windowed overlay..."

make sure everything else is not checked on this page.
leave the GPU and CPU queue sizes at default.
windows installed driver version 10.18.10.4358 from 2015 i just took it and didn't put it into question.
Wow! I can't believe it actually works! After so much pain! And I thought I had tried every possible option, but, of course, it would have been difficult to determine that exact combination. Thank you so much! Do you have any idea why this happens?
__________________
System: i5 3570k; 8 Gb ddr3; SW: Windows 10 x64, latest updates; k-lite codec pack mega, latest updates; Monitor: HP x2301, Receiver: YAMAHA RX-V371
Yog_Sothoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2020, 02:45   #58651  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,229
i guess very bad d3d11 support from intel and how overlay works it ignores everything related to the OS so it's still the "same" since windows 7 and not as much affected by the changes in windows 10.

it's not like overlay is perfect you shouldn't be able to make screenshoots anymore.
huhn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2020, 09:13   #58652  |  Link
Yog_Sothoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
i guess very bad d3d11 support from intel and how overlay works it ignores everything related to the OS so it's still the "same" since windows 7 and not as much affected by the changes in windows 10.

it's not like overlay is perfect you shouldn't be able to make screenshoots anymore.
I see. Now I remember that I wasn't able to make screenshots with madvr before, until I could at some point. I guess that's when it all started. Not a big loss.
__________________
System: i5 3570k; 8 Gb ddr3; SW: Windows 10 x64, latest updates; k-lite codec pack mega, latest updates; Monitor: HP x2301, Receiver: YAMAHA RX-V371
Yog_Sothoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2020, 11:25   #58653  |  Link
zeus0r
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 5
hey there,

i have a pretty weird phenomenon lately... i'm not 100% sure but i think it started with the latest nvidia driver update.

following setup:

- win 10
- gtx 980
- latest mpc-hc / lavfilters / madvr
- philips 55pos901 oled

i've been using this setup for quite some time without any problems but i recently noticed wrong black levels for HDR content while SDR content is fine. (madvr hdr passthrough enabled)

rgb full range (0-255) is enabled in madvr settings and it currently gives me correct black levels for SDR content but i need to change it to 16-235 in order to get correct black levels for HDR content. (otherwise blacks are grey)

i checked this with some black level test files where 0-16 should be black and 17-25 flash.

0-255: correct SDR black levels but greyish blacks for HDR content
16-235: correct HDR black levels but bad black crush for SDR content

could this be a nvidia bug? or is there someting i am missing here?

Last edited by zeus0r; 17th February 2020 at 11:40.
zeus0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2020, 15:53   #58654  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,109
when you say the colour space is wrong, is it too Dark which is why you have to set it 16-235, and do you set this in MADVR?

Does your TV envoke a seperate preset for HDR, if it does it may have somehow got changed to LOW instead of HIGH where it should be if you running a FULL RGB 444 chain.
__________________
OLED 4k HDR EF950-YAM RX-V685-RYZEN 3600 - 16GBRAM - WIN10 1909 444 RGB -MD RX 5700 8GB 20.1.3 KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.17+ 113 beta - 0.74.1 - 3D MVC / FSE:off / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2020, 16:22   #58655  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 868
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike-uk View Post
exclusive mode "frames shall be presented in advance" set to 1 any higher and I get the stuttering
See also the dedicated driver thread here on doom9
AMD, Intel and Nvidia driver issues and last recommended version
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2020, 23:25   #58656  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 495
Guys did they recently change how the Highlight recovery works in the new beta versions.

I think i was on build 86 before updating today to 113, and toggling the highlight recovery doesn't seem to do anything now.
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2020, 20:50   #58657  |  Link
SirMaster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
Guys did they recently change how the Highlight recovery works in the new beta versions.

I think i was on build 86 before updating today to 113, and toggling the highlight recovery doesn't seem to do anything now.
Madshi hasn't mentioned any change to it.

It's working the same for me in 113.
SirMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2020, 22:25   #58658  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
Guys did they recently change how the Highlight recovery works .

it still works very well for me on 113, perfect scene to test it on is harry potter goblet of fire and the end when he's fighting Voldemort, on my 400 nit OLED there is virtually no detail in the ghost faces without using this.

https://1drv.ms/u/s!AgvFafeelEBij8k4...EE_-Q?e=HGjBrV
__________________
OLED 4k HDR EF950-YAM RX-V685-RYZEN 3600 - 16GBRAM - WIN10 1909 444 RGB -MD RX 5700 8GB 20.1.3 KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.17+ 113 beta - 0.74.1 - 3D MVC / FSE:off / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2020, 23:30   #58659  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 495
Thanks guys, i rebooted the pc and it seems to be working now.
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2020, 07:57   #58660  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 238
I guess it is still quite hard to do at the moment, although we are at 113 revision wise.

But it would be nice to have an LCD/OLED section on what settings people are using. I as many probably use Neo-XPs settings.


I know like everything madVR a lot boils down to personal taste, but even at this late stage the settings for HDR are mind boggling and they always have been.

I am still not sure if I prefer HDR to tone mapping, I feel a bit stupid saying that as I should be able to tell, and from what I have read unless you have a really good HDR set which I do not have, the tone mapping will always be better.

@mclingo

Don't think thats 113 mate. this is

https://imgur.com/a/wQjETu3
__________________
Windows 10-1909 | i5-3570k | GTX 1070 Windforce OC Rev2 8GB : 430.64 | Yamaha RX-V377 | Philips 65PUS6703 - 65"

Last edited by madjock; 19th February 2020 at 08:23.
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.