Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th October 2011, 08:42   #10101  |  Link
golagoda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by JarrettH View Post
Does the 'Use D3D11 for presentation' need a DirectX 11 card? I enabled it and assumed it wouldn't operate, but seems to play normally.

Also, I think the 'overshoot max...' option has zeroed my presentation glitches. I thought I had it sorted before, but I noticed them cropping up again

My settings now would be:

5/8 for windowed and exclusive buffers with 'overshoot max frame latency' tweak
Pretty sure D3D stands for Direct3D
golagoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2011, 10:12   #10102  |  Link
Nicola
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 29
I'm experiencing a strange thing, which I think may be a bug.
I installed madvr and try to use it with mpc-hc, xp sp3 here. My monitor is native 1920x1080.
now, what happens is a bit strange: if I play a 1920x1080 h264 encoded video, if I'm in fullscreen it's smooth, no tearing, best quality I ever seen, but if I play a smaller resolution, like 1280x720, it looks good only if I'm not in fullscreen; if I go fullscreen, every 3 seconds or so it stutters. Now, I noticed it stutters when I play a 1920x1080 video windowed, so I suppose it has to do with scaling the video up or down. I tried vith various options/combination of decoders, but I can't figure out what may cause it. Oh, my cpu doesn't go more than say 20% on FullHD from a BR, so it's not the reason... Can someone please help me getting around this issue?
Nicola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2011, 11:01   #10103  |  Link
Hypernova
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicola View Post
I'm experiencing a strange thing, which I think may be a bug.
I installed madvr and try to use it with mpc-hc, xp sp3 here. My monitor is native 1920x1080.
now, what happens is a bit strange: if I play a 1920x1080 h264 encoded video, if I'm in fullscreen it's smooth, no tearing, best quality I ever seen, but if I play a smaller resolution, like 1280x720, it looks good only if I'm not in fullscreen; if I go fullscreen, every 3 seconds or so it stutters. Now, I noticed it stutters when I play a 1920x1080 video windowed, so I suppose it has to do with scaling the video up or down. I tried vith various options/combination of decoders, but I can't figure out what may cause it. Oh, my cpu doesn't go more than say 20% on FullHD from a BR, so it's not the reason... Can someone please help me getting around this issue?
Sounds like it's scaling, as you has guessed. madVR depends on GPU for scaling. If you want to verify it, use some kind of GPU monitor to see the GPU usage. Your only choice looks like it would be changing the scaling algorithm to something lighter.
__________________
Spec: Intel Core i5-3570K, 8g ram, Intel HD4000, Samsung U28D590 4k monitor+1080p Projector, Windows 10.

Last edited by Hypernova; 14th October 2011 at 11:04.
Hypernova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2011, 11:30   #10104  |  Link
MokrySedeS
I am the one who knocks
 
MokrySedeS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 103
What about the options in madVR settings --> rendering --> trade quality for performance ? He could try some of those.
MokrySedeS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2011, 12:02   #10105  |  Link
nlnl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 176
@ 6233638
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6233638 View Post
Reference gamma is 2.40, period. If you want to see the content as it was created and intended to be viewed, that is what's required on your display.
So if my display (Pio plazma) is calibrated to 2.2 gamma, should I set madvr to "gamma processing on\ curve 2.4" for dark room viewing?
nlnl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2011, 12:04   #10106  |  Link
Nicola
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 29
I'll see about the gpu usage when scaling
Thanks for now.
Nicola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2011, 14:17   #10107  |  Link
Nicola
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 29
Indeed it was the gpu not having enough juice for the selected scaling.
I changed scaling algorithm for up/down scaling of luma only and now it's around 75%.
No stuttering. Thanks a lot.
Nicola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2011, 14:20   #10108  |  Link
THX-UltraII
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 850
Quote:
What I recommend doing is going into your madVR options, check “enable gamma processing”, select “pure power curve” and choose something like 2.4 or 2.5. You'll probably have to play with the value somewhat, but this should result in a more optimal result for playback in a very dark environment. I personally use 2.5 at night, 2.4 in the evening and 2.3 during the day.

Then, go to your calibration settings and choose “the display is already calibrated”, select “BT.709” for the primaries, “pure power curve” for the curve and 2.30 for the setting.
thxz for your reply.

Why not choose the option to disable calibration settings in madVR?
THX-UltraII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2011, 14:45   #10109  |  Link
nand chan
( ≖‿≖)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: BW, Germany
Posts: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by THX-UltraII View Post
thxz for your reply.

Why not choose the option to disable calibration settings in madVR?
Because then the gamma option doesn't do anything.
__________________
Forget about my old .3dlut stuff, just use mpv if you want accurate color management
nand chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2011, 15:23   #10110  |  Link
THX-UltraII
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by nand chan View Post
Because then the gamma option doesn't do anything.
but for who is the option to turn it off then?

Last edited by THX-UltraII; 14th October 2011 at 16:43.
THX-UltraII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2011, 16:29   #10111  |  Link
6233638
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,019
Quote:
Originally Posted by nlnl View Post
@ 6233638


So if my display (Pio plazma) is calibrated to 2.2 gamma, should I set madvr to "gamma processing on\ curve 2.4" for dark room viewing?
Yes, tell madVR that your display is calibrated to BT.709, pure power curve 2.20 in the calibration section and then set the target gamma as pure power curve 2.40 in the color & gamma section. You should notice a nice bump in image contrast and increased richness in colours.

In a perfect world this would be done at the display, but I don't believe Pioneer's controls offer enough flexibility to attain a flat 2.4 anyway—their displays seem built for 2.2.

This may actually be best for you, if you use the PC for other things such as games when connected to your TV. It would mean a 2.2 calibration for them—which is ideal—and 2.4 with film—also ideal.
6233638 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2011, 18:11   #10112  |  Link
XRyche
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6233638 View Post
Yes, tell madVR that your display is calibrated to BT.709, pure power curve 2.20 in the calibration section and then set the target gamma as pure power curve 2.40 in the color & gamma section. You should notice a nice bump in image contrast and increased richness in colours.

In a perfect world this would be done at the display, but I don't believe Pioneer's controls offer enough flexibility to attain a flat 2.4 anyway—their displays seem built for 2.2.

This may actually be best for you, if you use the PC for other things such as games when connected to your TV. It would mean a 2.2 calibration for them—which is ideal—and 2.4 with film—also ideal.
Thank You very, very much. Even though this wasn't specifically for my benefit, it was a tremendous help to me. I'm a total novice as far as HTPC related problems go and this was a very simple and concise explanation. Now I can continue using madVR and LAV without the drop in colour quality because of madVR's lack of colour controls similiar to MPC-HC's EVR-CP and such renderers. madVR is so much better, I was starting to use MPC-HC tester builds for internal renderer fixes which is very good in it's own right (at least to a novice like me) but not quite up to par with madVR.
XRyche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2011, 21:00   #10113  |  Link
THX-UltraII
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 850
I m on 55% cpu usage with madVR and my system is

Core2Quad Q9550, 4GB DDR3, ATI5450
W7 X64, MPC-HC x86, LAV Video and Audio decoder.

Is this normal?

The reason I ask is because I want to do software Frame Interpolation with Avisynth but I don t have that much CPU left
THX-UltraII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2011, 21:29   #10114  |  Link
JarrettH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by golagoda View Post
Pretty sure D3D stands for Direct3D
So it's not hardware related? thanks
JarrettH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2011, 07:30   #10115  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,214
No that's not normal THX, surely there must be something else causing that high CPU usage. I have the same CPU and decoding H.264 720P material on MadVR uses some 7-15%
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2011, 09:33   #10116  |  Link
Nicola
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 29
I don't know if it's the right place, but I'd like to ask for advice anyway.
Considering I'm not a gamer, but I really want to use madvr with better resizing algorithms, I think it's time to go for something newer than my 8500GT.
So my choice is between the GT440 or 430 (which is cheaper and uses less energy).
Is this ok or those are too much/too low?
Nicola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2011, 13:56   #10117  |  Link
THX-UltraII
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
No that's not normal THX, surely there must be something else causing that high CPU usage. I have the same CPU and decoding H.264 720P material on MadVR uses some 7-15%
Remember that I run 1080p, this is a big difference from 720p I think. Also I m only running a ATI HD5450 AND I do software decoding, no hardware decoding.

Does GPU hardware decoding (a NVIDIA card) better (higher PQ?) to use with madVR btw?
THX-UltraII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2011, 14:11   #10118  |  Link
nand chan
( ≖‿≖)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: BW, Germany
Posts: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by THX-UltraII View Post
I m on 55% cpu usage with madVR and my system is

Core2Quad Q9550, 4GB DDR3, ATI5450
W7 X64, MPC-HC x86, LAV Video and Audio decoder.

Is this normal?

The reason I ask is because I want to do software Frame Interpolation with Avisynth but I don t have that much CPU left
I have the same CPU - when playing the Toru no Uta long version, I get about 20% CPU usage without subtitles and 50% CPU usage with subtitles (because of the crazy animated softsubs).

Which test file are you using?

The highschool of the dead Hi10P test clip gives me about 20%-30%. When using EVR-CP instead of madVR, I get around 10%-20%.
__________________
Forget about my old .3dlut stuff, just use mpv if you want accurate color management
nand chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2011, 14:54   #10119  |  Link
THX-UltraII
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by nand chan View Post
I have the same CPU - when playing the Toru no Uta long version, I get about 20% CPU usage without subtitles and 50% CPU usage with subtitles (because of the crazy animated softsubs).

Which test file are you using?

The highschool of the dead Hi10P test clip gives me about 20%-30%. When using EVR-CP instead of madVR, I get around 10%-20%.
I m using regular full BR +-30-50gb rips (.m2ts) @1080p23,976

Did some good testing again and I m @45-50 cpu usage, with or without my dutch .srt subtitles enable (this does not make any difference).

Is there a way to see my CPU usage in Exclusive Mode? Because I check my CPU usage by CTRL+ALT+DEL, Taksmanager, Performance and this way madVR autoswitches to Windowed Mode.
THX-UltraII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2011, 15:36   #10120  |  Link
golagoda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicola View Post
I don't know if it's the right place, but I'd like to ask for advice anyway.
Considering I'm not a gamer, but I really want to use madvr with better resizing algorithms, I think it's time to go for something newer than my 8500GT.
So my choice is between the GT440 or 430 (which is cheaper and uses less energy).
Is this ok or those are too much/too low?
I'd personally go with the GT430, it has OpenGL 4.1, whereas the GT440 has OpenGL4.0, and the default clock speeds/memory of the cards are relatively the same, not to mention it's the cheaper one.

You can always overclock it a bit as well, they're not like GTX590's where your house will literally burn down at the default speeds.
golagoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.