Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 4th January 2018, 23:42   #48061  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 843
Quote:
Originally Posted by xabregas View Post
Is the rx 550 you have able to decode 4k hevc 10 bits UHDBlurays without stressing the cpu??

What chroma algo can it handle while playing a 4k movie? Bicubic only or it can go to jinc?

Maybe the RX 560 thats 20$ more will handle a bit more??

I can have a rx560 for about $125 nearby... And then when nvidia volta cards comes i might upgrade or not. Rx 560 must be better than rx550 right?
Here is my setup

3rd gen I7
8 gig ram DDR3
250 gig SSD
RX 550
LG OLED EF950 4k
MADVR:
image upscale - NGU sharp medium
chroma upscale - Lanzos
I upscale everything to 2160p on PC.
PC:
desktop 3840x2160p
10 bit 4:2:0


Everything plays fine, no real tax on CPU, I could possibly push it harder with more tweaking but I decided I like the picture quality i'm getting.

I agree the 560 is a better choice, money was super tight at the time I bought this, I could use my GTX 1050 instead but I find my RX for stable on my particular setup, others would disagree and do frequently .

What I would say is that if you arent really into 3D then there really is no point getting an AMD card as it still requires FSE, if you are only playing 2D 4K movies go green.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2018, 01:27   #48062  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by xabregas View Post
Baffin what?? It doesnt say. Its the MSI RADEON RX 560 AERO ITX 4G OC model.
that the reason why this is issue is criminal in my eyes. a normal user can't see the difference on the name.

the MSI RADEON RX 560 AERO ITX is PCIe 16 with only 8 lanes.
but i don't see a msi version with buffin XT chip.
think about a 1050 ti if you want to use NGU about 2x speed for NGU.

@mclingo

i just used d3d11 FSE and 3D without any problem on windows fall update.

Last edited by huhn; 5th January 2018 at 01:31. Reason: it's an XT not XL the naming is killing me...
huhn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2018, 01:30   #48063  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by xabregas View Post
Baffin what?? It doesnt say. Its the MSI RADEON RX 560 AERO ITX 4G OC model.
There are two 560s out there, one is the original one with 16 CUs and recently some have 14 CUs. There seems to be no difference between the two based on the box while one is 12.5% slower.

Based on the newegg page for it the MSI RADEON RX 560 AERO ITX 4G OC has the full 16 CUs for 1024 stream processors (instead of the lower 896) but it is hard to verify.

edit: I agree with huhn, NGU doesn't run well on polaris.
__________________
madVR options explained

Last edited by Asmodian; 5th January 2018 at 07:18.
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2018, 09:26   #48064  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,890
PCI Express x16 (Uses x8) this should already disqualify this RX 560
huhn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2018, 11:01   #48065  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,683
True, but you have to be careful for more than just that when selecting RX 560s, they are hard cards to shop for today.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2018, 11:42   #48066  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 843
well I found that NGU iage upscale was almost identical for me on my RX550 vs 1050, neither card could do more than NGU sharp medium without glitchy playback kon 4k and 3d MVC stuff, 2D 1080p stuff was fine, I could ramp that up to NGU high on both cards, there must be large difference in processing requirments between medium and high which neither card can meet.

@huhn - 3D works for me fine when I drop my PC into 1080p mode before starting KODI DS or MPC, ive created a script to do this. 3D always plays fine with D3D/FSE, the problem occurs when you stop the movie, one of three things will happen, it will either:

1. crash my PC (this happens far less with 17.10.2 ATI driver).
2. drop my HDMI connection completely, i have to turn my TV and reciever off to renegotiate, devcon reset doesnt always work so this is a pain.
3. It works fine.

There is a new ATI drivers coming soon, mainly has DX9 fixes but I'll see how stable that is with 3D.

As my system currently stands I have zero issues, it hasnt crashed for ages and all my movies play and stop fine with the above caveats, I can live with this for now.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2018, 11:44   #48067  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by d3rd3vil View Post
Still no Dolby Vision passthrough
I've reported you. This is annoying to the extreme. Everybody here would love to have DV support but it's already been explained multiple times why that currently is not possible. Deal with it.
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2018, 11:44   #48068  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 843
do we not think full blown gaming cards are a bit of an overkilll for a HTPC, obviously if you are gaming as well then you need it but if you are running a 24/7 HTPC server on a budget the 1030/RX550 are the best options if your content is already mainly bluray and 4k quality.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2018, 12:23   #48069  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,890
because you should have 4GB vram for 4K playbacl(netflix needs 3 GB) so a card is already close to 100 bucks and the 550 is not worth it money it cost basicly the same as a 560.

idle power consumption is pretty much the same any way so no there is no reason to get a 550 ever.
huhn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2018, 12:31   #48070  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,890
[QUOTE=mclingo;1829380]well I found that NGU iage upscale was almost identical for me on my RX550 vs 1050, neither card could do more than NGU sharp medium without glitchy playback kon 4k and 3d MVC stuff, 2D 1080p stuff was fine, I could ramp that up to NGU high on both cards, there must be large difference in processing requirments between medium and high which neither card can meet.

Quote:
@huhn - 3D works for me fine when I drop my PC into 1080p mode before starting KODI DS or MPC, ive created a script to do this. 3D always plays fine with D3D/FSE, the problem occurs when you stop the movie, one of three things will happen, it will either:

1. crash my PC (this happens far less with 17.10.2 ATI driver).
2. drop my HDMI connection completely, i have to turn my TV and reciever off to renegotiate, devcon reset doesnt always work so this is a pain.
3. It works fine.

There is a new ATI drivers coming soon, mainly has DX9 fixes but I'll see how stable that is with 3D.

As my system currently stands I have zero issues, it hasnt crashed for ages and all my movies play and stop fine with the above caveats, I can live with this for now.
i don't have to do anything to get anything running correctly what so ever. so don't assume this is a general issue.

1. so your system is again solid crashes and you change your option every couple days about this topic sorry but what?
2. had the problem to switching to nvidia fixed the problem and unlike other people i contacted AMD about this.

and i was talking about a 1050 TI. the 1050 is a 2 GB card.

Last edited by huhn; 5th January 2018 at 13:28.
huhn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2018, 12:48   #48071  |  Link
d3rd3vil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 82
NOTHING is more important than having the first software solution for DV worldwide, nothing! Especially not these extremely small improvements to the filters.
d3rd3vil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2018, 12:57   #48072  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 843
Quote:
Originally Posted by d3rd3vil View Post
NOTHING is more important than having the first software solution for DV worldwide, nothing! Especially not these extremely small improvements to the filters.
what is your problem exactly?, you've been told its not coming any time soon, if at all, deal with it.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2018, 13:23   #48073  |  Link
v0lt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,192
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
the 1060 is a 2 GB card.
GTX 1060 has 3 or 6 GB of video memory.
v0lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2018, 13:28   #48074  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,890
should have been 1050 my mistake will fix it.
huhn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2018, 13:34   #48075  |  Link
strumf666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by d3rd3vil View Post
NOTHING is more important than having the first software solution for DV worldwide, nothing! Especially not these extremely small improvements to the filters.
Feel free to develop it...
strumf666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2018, 13:35   #48076  |  Link
Neo-XP
Registered User
 
Neo-XP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by d3rd3vil View Post
NOTHING is more important than having the first software solution for DV worldwide, nothing! Especially not these extremely small improvements to the filters.
Reported for spam.
Neo-XP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2018, 14:02   #48077  |  Link
d3rd3vil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by strumf666 View Post
Feel free to develop it...
Well thats going to be difficult unfortunately
d3rd3vil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2018, 14:09   #48078  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 843
[QUOTE=huhn;1829388]
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
well I found that NGU iage upscale was almost identical for me on my RX550 vs 1050, neither card could do more than NGU sharp medium without glitchy playback kon 4k and 3d MVC stuff, 2D 1080p stuff was fine, I could ramp that up to NGU high on both cards, there must be large difference in processing requirments between medium and high which neither card can meet.



i don't have to do anything to get anything running correctly what so ever. so don't assume this is a general issue.

1. so your system is again solid crashes and you change your option every couple days about this topic sorry but what?
2. had the problem to switching to nvidia fixed the problem and unlike other people i contacted AMD about this.

and i was talking about a 1050 TI. the 1050 is a 2 GB card.
Have you got nothing better to do than pick apart everything I say??, just let it go for goodness sake.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2018, 14:15   #48079  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,890
so you post stuff in the hope it get's ignored?
huhn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2018, 14:26   #48080  |  Link
xabregas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
that the reason why this is issue is criminal in my eyes. a normal user can't see the difference on the name.

the MSI RADEON RX 560 AERO ITX is PCIe 16 with only 8 lanes.
but i don't see a msi version with buffin XT chip.
think about a 1050 ti if you want to use NGU about 2x speed for NGU.
Anything i should know about different models of 1050 ti or thats just a rx 560 thing??
xabregas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.