Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th November 2014, 18:44   #1  |  Link
papcom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Southwest Germany
Posts: 169
64bit Windows and Avisynth/Vdub

64Bit or 32Bit - Which platform is the right one if I want to work with avisynth (film- and video restoring) and Virtual Dub with more render power?

What about the filters and plugins? Will they still work with 64 Bit… I am especially into these plugins : despot, degrain, depan, remove dirt, remove grain, warpsharp, mvtools, etc….
__________________
Lenovo Intel i7Quad/WIN8 - Virtual Dub 1.10.4/Avisinth 2.6MT- MacMini I7 QuadCore
papcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2014, 22:42   #2  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,704
64 Bit.

32 bit software works fine in 64 bit Windows and you have access to a lot more memory. The 32 bit apps will not, they get up to 4 GB with large address aware, but the rest of the OS can.
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2014, 22:59   #3  |  Link
Groucho2004
Cantankerous Fossil
 
Groucho2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: A wretched hive of scum and villainy
Posts: 4,470
Quote:
Originally Posted by papcom View Post
What about the filters and plugins? Will they still work with 64 Bit… I am especially into these plugins : despot, degrain, depan, remove dirt, remove grain, warpsharp, mvtools, etc….
32 Bit plugins only load with 32 Bit Avisynth, 64 Bit plugins only load with 64 Bit Avisynth.
There are not many plugins which were ported to 64 Bit, looking at your list it seems that you have to stick with 32 Bit.
However, on a 64 Bit OS, you can utilize almost 4 GB for Avisynth32 alone which should be sufficient in most cases.
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2014, 01:02   #4  |  Link
creaothceann
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 360
Well, maybe you could pipe video data from 32-bit to 64-bit and vice versa, but it'd probably a lot of work (if it works at all).
creaothceann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2014, 02:07   #5  |  Link
Groucho2004
Cantankerous Fossil
 
Groucho2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: A wretched hive of scum and villainy
Posts: 4,470
Quote:
Originally Posted by creaothceann View Post
Well, maybe you could pipe video data from 32-bit to 64-bit and vice versa, but it'd probably a lot of work (if it works at all).
I pipe my scripts from 32 bit avisynth to 64 bit x264 all the time, avs2yuv and a simple batch file is all that's needed.
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2014, 11:10   #6  |  Link
papcom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Southwest Germany
Posts: 169
thank You for Your input. But I still don't know… shall I go for 32bit OS or 64Bit?
  1. Do my 32 bit Scripts work on the 64 bit Windows8 Platform?
  2. Do I have to install 23-bit Avisynth on the 64bit PC?
  3. What means: "may be you could pipe video data from 32-bit to 64-bit ?"
  4. What means: "32 bit software works fine in 64 bit Windows …the 32 bit apps will not"?
__________________
Lenovo Intel i7Quad/WIN8 - Virtual Dub 1.10.4/Avisinth 2.6MT- MacMini I7 QuadCore

Last edited by papcom; 14th November 2014 at 12:19.
papcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2014, 11:30   #7  |  Link
colours
Registered User
 
colours's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 312
You should always choose to install the x86-64 version of an OS over the x86 version unless you have very special requirements and know what you're doing.

1: Scripts are plain text files, and if you have the appropriate plugins for the appropriate architecture installed, they'll work just as well on 32-bit as on 64-bit. The only problem is that many older plugins do not have 64-bit binary releases, so it's generally less painful to stick to using 32-bit Avisynth.

2: The Avisynth+ installer installs both 32-bit and 64-bit DLLs by default.
__________________
Say no to AviSynth 2.5.8 and DirectShowSource!
colours is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2014, 18:20   #8  |  Link
creaothceann
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by Groucho2004 View Post
I pipe my scripts from 32 bit avisynth to 64 bit x264 all the time, avs2yuv and a simple batch file is all that's needed.
I meant 32-bit Avisynth ↔ 64-bit Avisynth.
creaothceann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2014, 18:58   #9  |  Link
Groucho2004
Cantankerous Fossil
 
Groucho2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: A wretched hive of scum and villainy
Posts: 4,470
Quote:
Originally Posted by creaothceann View Post
I meant 32-bit Avisynth ↔ 64-bit Avisynth.
Can you elaborate?
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2014, 19:28   #10  |  Link
creaothceann
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 360
Running a 32-bit program that has 32-bit Avisynth and 32-bit plugins loaded, and passing the video to a program that has 64-bit Avisynth and 64-bit plugins loaded. Or vice versa.
creaothceann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2014, 05:15   #11  |  Link
Sparktank
47.952fps@71.928Hz
 
Sparktank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 908
Quote:
Originally Posted by creaothceann View Post
Running a 32-bit program that has 32-bit Avisynth and 32-bit plugins loaded, and passing the video to a program that has 64-bit Avisynth and 64-bit plugins loaded. Or vice versa.
Have you looked at MP_Pipeline?
It can pass 32/64 back and forth.
Requires quite a bit of reading to understand how it works and some testing to get it right.

I've not used it (enough to give any help). Just to pass the source indexed as x64 DGdecNV.

MP_Pipeline 0.18 - run parts of avisynth script in external processes [2014-04-06]
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?p=1542161

the little work i did was not beneficial to my simple editing needs.
but more complex scripts requiring x64 plugins would be better suited to actually use something like MP_Pipeline.

The documentation provided in the archive provides much more reading material and examples.
__________________
Win10 (x64) build 18362| GPU Caps Viewer 1.42.4.0
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB (GP106) 3071MB/GDDR5 | (r435_95-4)
NTSC | DVD: R1 | BD: A
Intel Xeon X5660 @2.80GHz
Sparktank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2014, 02:12   #12  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,704
Quote:
Originally Posted by papcom View Post
64Bit or 32Bit - Which platform is the right one if I want to work with avisynth (film- and video restoring) and Virtual Dub with more render power?

What about the filters and plugins? Will they still work with 64 Bit… I am especially into these plugins : despot, degrain, depan, remove dirt, remove grain, warpsharp, mvtools, etc….
To elaborate on the original question:

OS: Use 64 bit. No reason to use a 32 bit OS for Avisynth & VirtualDub.

Avisynth: 32 bit, it is more stable and generally works better. There is little advantage to >4GB of memory for even the most demanding of scripts (may change if using 4K) and the ecosystem is much more robust with 32 bit Avisynth. 32 bit Avisynth runs better in a 64 bit OS than it does in a 32 bit OS.

VirtualDub: 32 bit, you need to use the same bitdepth as Avisynth. You probably still don't need more than 4GB of RAM so this is ok.

x264: I like piping to 64 bit, 64bit x264 is faster. Piping has gotten pretty easy now and there are some good GUIs and guides for it. 32 bit x264 works as well if you wish to avoid piping.

Last edited by Asmodian; 17th November 2014 at 02:15.
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2014, 02:29   #13  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,704
Quote:
Originally Posted by papcom View Post
thank You for Your input. But I still don't know… shall I go for 32bit OS or 64Bit?
  1. Do my 32 bit Scripts work on the 64 bit Windows8 Platform?
  2. Do I have to install 23-bit Avisynth on the 64bit PC?
  3. What means: "may be you could pipe video data from 32-bit to 64-bit ?"
  4. What means: "32 bit software works fine in 64 bit Windows …the 32 bit apps will not"?
  1. Yes, 32 bit Scripts actually work better in 64 bit Win8 than they do in 32 bit Win8.
  2. Yes you install 32-bit Avisynth on the 64 bit PC with 64 bit Windows.
  3. There is a way to transfer data from 32 bit programs to 64 bit programs called "piping". It passes it though a "pipe" which allows 64 bit and 32 bit software to communicate. This is not related to the OS, only software running within it, and you probably do not need to use it.
  4. I don't think anyone said the "...the 32 apps will not" part? 32 bit software works well in 64 bit Windows. It is only that 32 bit software can only directly use 32 bit software. For example: 32 bit VirtualDub can only use 32 bit Avisynth using 32 bit plugins but all of them can run on 64 bit Windows.

Edit: I see my "The 32 apps will not"; that was referring to the "accesses to a lot more memory" not weather or not they ran in 64-bit OS. I can see how it would be confusing for a non-native speaker.

Rewritten to be more specific, maybe it is less confusing (maybe more confusing?).
"32 bit software works fine in 64 bit Windows and you have access to a lot more memory. The 32 bit apps will not have access to a lot more memory, they only get up to 4 GB with large address aware, but the rest of the OS can access more memory so each 32 bit application can get the full 32 bit limit."

Last edited by Asmodian; 17th November 2014 at 02:46.
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2014, 14:15   #14  |  Link
papcom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Southwest Germany
Posts: 169
thanks a lot for Your detailed explanations. I have bought a Win8 Pro 64Bit OS and I will setup my 64Bit PC asap. Will report my experience when I am ready.
__________________
Lenovo Intel i7Quad/WIN8 - Virtual Dub 1.10.4/Avisinth 2.6MT- MacMini I7 QuadCore
papcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2014, 21:18   #15  |  Link
SEt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 374
Actually under 64-bit Windows 32-bit programs can use 64-bit code. I've even halfway written wrapper for 32-bit Avisynth to load 64-bit plugins but that died due to lack of time and interest.
Though that is of course very advanced topic and for newbies it's definitely better to explain "everything must have the same bitness in one process".

As for original question: always go with 64-bit OS if not sure.
SEt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2014, 01:41   #16  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by SEt View Post
Actually under 64-bit Windows 32-bit programs can use 64-bit code. I've even halfway written wrapper for 32-bit Avisynth to load 64-bit plugins but that died due to lack of time and interest.
Though that is of course very advanced topic and for newbies it's definitely better to explain "everything must have the same bitness in one process".

As for original question: always go with 64-bit OS if not sure.
I was considering sketching out an x64 wrapper for MadVR, but I definitely don't have the dedication to keep that current. It's too bad the commercial wrappers are all pretty pricey.
__________________
There are four boxes to be used in defense of liberty: soap, ballot, jury, and ammo. Please use in that order.
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2014, 19:27   #17  |  Link
papcom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Southwest Germany
Posts: 169
which Versions of Avisynth and VirtualDub would You suggest for safest and effective Operation?
Lately I have used Vdub 1.10.4 and Avisynth 2.6MT on my WIN7 32-bit PC, and as an Editor AvsPMod 2.5.1
__________________
Lenovo Intel i7Quad/WIN8 - Virtual Dub 1.10.4/Avisinth 2.6MT- MacMini I7 QuadCore
papcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2014, 21:41   #18  |  Link
creaothceann
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 360
I'm using this:

- Win7 (64-bit)
- AvsPmod
- doing everything via GUI: VirtualDubMod (lets you save the "fast recompress" video option) + x264vfw + lame MP3 codec (ACM version)
- doing everything via CLI: cmd.exe + x264.exe + lame.exe + batch files (Notepad2 / Notepad++ for editing)

If you want the safest option, use 32-bit Avisynth without multithreading and split the video encoding into several parts that run concurrently (dunno if 2.6 is more stable than 2.58).
creaothceann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2014, 23:10   #19  |  Link
papcom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Southwest Germany
Posts: 169
i searched for virtualdubmod, but i did only find Releases from 2003. Which Version is the correct one and from where do I get VirtualDubMod?
__________________
Lenovo Intel i7Quad/WIN8 - Virtual Dub 1.10.4/Avisinth 2.6MT- MacMini I7 QuadCore
papcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2014, 23:13   #20  |  Link
creaothceann
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 360
http://virtualdubmod.sourceforge.net/

Yup it's old, but since it's only used for connecting data streams with encoders...
creaothceann is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.