Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th September 2018, 22:19   #52701  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 549
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Old - | - New - | - Dumb - | - Sony Camp Demo
Maybe a stupid question, but I remember reading on this very forum that we shouldn't use the Sony Camp demo because its mastering metadata was rubbish.
Is there another, correctly encoded, source? Or does that not matter anymore with the newer madVR versions and it can handle material with incorrect metadata?
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1809, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2018, 22:41   #52702  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 911
Quote:
Originally Posted by j82k View Post
To anyone who has an LG Oled:
I.......
not sure that would make any difference on my first gen 4k OLED EF9500 as SDR and HDR peaks are almost identical - see here.

https://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/lg/ef9500
__________________
OLED 4k HDR EF950-YAM RX-V685-WIN10 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX 580 19.12.2 KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.17/0.74.1 - 3D MVC / FSE:On / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2018, 23:45   #52703  |  Link
j82k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 147
Yeah I probably should have said 2016 or newer LG Oled...
j82k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2018, 01:30   #52704  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,329
No other way to get into the service menu? My 2018 C8 definitely treats SDR brightness different than HDR.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2018, 01:54   #52705  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by el Filou View Post
Maybe a stupid question, but I remember reading on this very forum that we shouldn't use the Sony Camp demo because its mastering metadata was rubbish.
I think the point is here that it clearly is far better than the other modes regardless of the source issues.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2018, 01:56   #52706  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,837
Speaking about SDR brightness, how do you guys manage the different brightness between HDR converted to SDR, and actual SDR? Surely one doesn't want the same brightness levels there. Manually? TVs certainly don't have much automation to speak of.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2018, 01:59   #52707  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,978
2 hdmi connection into the TV.

i'm not aware of a TV that doesn't 2 have different settings per HDMI
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2018, 06:02   #52708  |  Link
j82k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
No other way to get into the service menu? My 2018 C8 definitely treats SDR brightness different than HDR.
I have a C8 too.
As far as I know you'll need a service remote or a phone which has an IR blaster to access the service menu.
For an android phones the app is called AnyMote not sure about iphone.

I can understand why LG limited the brightness for SDR. There are more and more cases with burn-in and if people could watch CNN or whatever all day with 500+ nits they probably would...

Last edited by j82k; 25th September 2018 at 06:04.
j82k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2018, 06:19   #52709  |  Link
PirateIce
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by iakoboss7 View Post
just installed v0.92.16 and for the first time ever in full screen i can see the windows taskbar. this has never ever happened before in the 3 years i use madvr with mpc-hc.

anyone facing the same problem?
Hey I get this happening sometimes as well, on earlier versions as well, its explorer.
if you have this happen again all you have to do is open task manager and restart explorer and it is usually fixed immediately, media player can remain open during this.
you can look up otherways to restart explorer more conveniently, i recommend NOT using any of the "gracefull" commands as it sometimes stalls on closing.
PirateIce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2018, 07:15   #52710  |  Link
suanm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post

I'm a bit confused. What does cropping bars have to do with selecting v0.92.16 vs v0.92.14? And how can you be "back to v0.92.16", if that's the newest build?

Not sure about your image quality question, either. Why would 60Hz contain a Bicubic downscaling step while 30Hz does not? What does refresh rate have to do with resolution or with up/downscalin?
Master,The cropping bars feature in madVR 0.92.14 seems not to work perfectly,i think so at least in my opinion.However the madVR0.92.16 works perfectly on my pc.So i gotta choose madVR 0.92.16 although the feature of process HDR by using pixel shader math can't work correctly on my quantum dot tv set.
Another reason why i ask masters here about 30hz and 60hz.
In 3840*2160,60hz standard
and luma>soft(high),chroma>soft(high) mode,the playback of 1080p moves drops frames.However,when i choose 3839*2160 60hz and luma>soft(high),chroma>soft(high) mode,No frames drop.
I looks up the madVR list,it displays the 3839*2160,60hz mode has been optimized by madVR.But 3840*2160,60hz is a standard mode,it's not been optimized by madVR yet.
So i guess this is why no frames drop in 3839*2160,60hz mode.Unfortunatedly,when madVR runs,luma value goes >soft(high)<Biscius 150 AR,not simplex soft(high).
When i switch to 3840*2160,30hz,chroma soft(high) and luma soft(high) mode,no frames drop yet.
So now i can't be sure which image quality is better between 3839*2160,60hz, luma>soft(high)<Biscuis 150 AR and 3840*2160,30hz,luma>soft(high).
Because i don't know if madVR makes 4:2:0 convert into 4:4:4 in 30hz mode,furthermore if luma quadrupling upscaling works correctly in the same 30hz mode.
Thank you,master,for reading my endless remarks
suanm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2018, 08:49   #52711  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,230
Suanm, please post screenshots of the OSD in both instances.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2018, 11:45   #52712  |  Link
Sunset1982
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by j82k View Post
I have a C8 too.
As far as I know you'll need a service remote or a phone which has an IR blaster to access the service menu.
For an android phones the app is called AnyMote not sure about iphone.

I can understand why LG limited the brightness for SDR. There are more and more cases with burn-in and if people could watch CNN or whatever all day with 500+ nits they probably would...
Another way is too use a logitech harmony remote if you got one...
__________________
Intel i5 6600, 16 GB DDR4, AMD Vega RX56 8 GB, Windows 10 x64, Kodi DS Player 17.6, MadVR (x64), LAV Filters (x64), XySubfilter .746 (x64)
LG 4K OLED (65C8D), Denon X-4200 AVR, Dali Zensor 5.1 Set
Sunset1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2018, 12:54   #52713  |  Link
blu3wh0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
That sounds like something I should automatically do in madVR.
That would be great. May I also suggest putting the option to send BT.2020 metadata under the HDR options, as probably 99% of videos in this range would be in HDR. I'm sure there are people with use for it in calibration as well, but that means if I want to use it I would also need to create a profile to seperate rec 709 and BT.2020. I would think most TVs would handle calibrations for both.

At least for the LG OLED, there are two ISF calibration modes (bright and dark) for SDR that actually perform the same, so one could calibration one for HDR to SDR and the other for normal SDR, all on the same HDMI connection.

I don't have anything that would get me to the service menu right now, so I can't take measurements with the option suggested set. However, I would be careful so that this actually isn't setting HDR mode for SDR, meaning all the tone-mapping and processing that comes with it, instead of just increasing brightness. If someone gets a chance to measure the peak brightness, please check the gamma and luminance curves as well. It would be great if it was just peak brightness used to protect against burn-in, but I have my doubts.

Last edited by blu3wh0; 25th September 2018 at 13:07.
blu3wh0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2018, 14:49   #52714  |  Link
jokerb47
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Russia, Tula
Posts: 11
Hello. I have a following bug. When I wake up my monitor by typing account password to unlock my system (win10x64 1709), and try to resume the playback of a video that was paused, I get only the sound playing, but the video plays for a second and freezes. And only reopening the file helps. I use madVR v0.92.16, but I experienced same bug with v0.92.14.
I have a script that puts my monitors to sleep when I lock the system. But this problem doesn't manifest if I unlock the system right away, only when I leave it locked for some time.
jokerb47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2018, 15:07   #52715  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,329
Quote:
Originally Posted by j82k View Post
I have a C8 too.
As far as I know you'll need a service remote or a phone which has an IR blaster to access the service menu.
For an android phones the app is called AnyMote not sure about iphone.

I can understand why LG limited the brightness for SDR. There are more and more cases with burn-in and if people could watch CNN or whatever all day with 500+ nits they probably would...
Thanks for the info. And yes, the burn-in issues are real so it's not too surprising that SDR brightness is limited. However, I can attest to the quality of the work that madshi has been doing in this area and it would be worth the risk IMO.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2018, 15:34   #52716  |  Link
creativeopinion
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
Thanks for the info. And yes, the burn-in issues are real so it's not too surprising that SDR brightness is limited. However, I can attest to the quality of the work that madshi has been doing in this area and it would be worth the risk IMO.
There is no doubt that madshi is doing outstanding work and we all have been using madVR for quite some time but saying this is worth risking burn-in issues is too much in my opinion, unless you have warranty that covers such issues and you can be sure you can replace your screen without any problems or unless you simply have too much money and can afford replacing your TV any minute.

Also, my understanding is that changing this HDR module from normal to 'ON' is permanent. Not permanent like there is no option to go back but this would have an effect on all content including 'non HDR' content which then means you would have to to swtich this ON and OFF all the time depending on the content you want to watch. Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong but this doesn't sound like something I would want to do every single time between watching SDR/HDR content in order to make sure I can have the best quality available.

I don't know what other OLED users experienced using 'convert HDR to SDR' option so it's hard to tell if we can really take advantage from using this. I know one other person except me that experienced the same so going anything above 120 nits produces the picture that is just too dark and at the same time using 120 nits means you are watching content that is way too bright than intended.

Now everyone can decide for themselves. Personally I think I will stick to passthrough for the time being. But like I say, advising someone to risk burn-in issues is IMO too much and not a good advise. You can test it but if that can cause real damage to your screen I would say let it go.
creativeopinion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2018, 15:41   #52717  |  Link
suanm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Suanm, please post screenshots of the OSD in both instances.
Three snapshots are pasted to the message board.
Attached Images
   
suanm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2018, 15:45   #52718  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,014
Use external image host:
http://tinypic.com/
https://imgur.com/
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2018, 16:18   #52719  |  Link
suanm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
Use external image host:
http://tinypic.com/
https://imgur.com/
http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=2u5r...9#.W6pC_5MSHb0
http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=fxwld1&s=9#.W6pEHJMSHb0

Last edited by suanm; 25th September 2018 at 16:21.
suanm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2018, 16:30   #52720  |  Link
suanm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 121
Hello masters here
Two snapshots are uploaded to external image host.
link:

http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=2u5r...9#.W6pM9JMSHb1
http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=fxwld1&s=9#.W6pEHJMSHb0
What do you guys think of my questions?
I mean which image quality is better between 3839*2160 60hz mode and 3840*2160 30hz mode? I worry that madVR can't make 4:2:0 convert to 4:4:4 in 3840*2160 30hz mode,and can't make luma quadrupling upscalling work realling in the same 30hz mode,either

Last edited by suanm; 25th September 2018 at 17:00.
suanm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.