Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 16th May 2013, 06:48   #15181  |  Link
wanezhiling
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleksoid1978 View Post
http://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php?...ostcount=13609
wanezhiling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2013, 07:09   #15182  |  Link
Aleksoid1978
Registered User
 
Aleksoid1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Russia, Vladivostok
Posts: 2,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanezhiling View Post
Ok - i see.
__________________
I7 2600K@4.2 /Asrock P67 Extreme4 Gen 3 /Kingston HyperX 8Gb 1866 (4x2) Kit /OCZ Vertex 3 256Gb /Gigabyte GTX 960 /BenQ EW2430 /LG 47LM620T /Yamaha RX-V471 + NS-555 + NS-C444 + NS-333 + YST-SW215
Aleksoid1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2013, 20:23   #15183  |  Link
vinnytx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 46
Cuvid WMV3 decoding

Hi, Greetings to all forum members


Any chance to have Cuvid WMV3 decoding?
vinnytx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2013, 22:53   #15184  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,837
Cannot be done, the driver doesn't support it. Use DXVA2 instead.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2013, 04:28   #15185  |  Link
bbboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
NVidia CUVID with DirectVobSub

Hi

Great program, thanks for writing it! It works really well for me except for subtitles.

I've used MKVMerge (header editor) to flag the forced subtitle tracks but they still don't show up in Windows Media Center. So I loaded up directvobsub 2.41.7036 and the subtitles show up!

But... CPU usage goes through the roof! It would appear that DirectVobSub breaks CUVID acceleration...

Am I doing something wrong? I'd love to have working forced subtitles in Windows Media Center (native player) with CUVID working.

Thanks
bbboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2013, 08:56   #15186  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,494
DirectVobSub does not break CUVID, but it does break DXVA2 native. Are you sure that LAV Video with CUVID is actually being used instead of the Windows DXVA decoder?
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2013, 09:02   #15187  |  Link
bbboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneaker_ger View Post
DirectVobSub does not break CUVID, but it does break DXVA2 native. Are you sure that LAV Video with CUVID is actually being used instead of the Windows DXVA decoder?
How would I tell?

I certainly have set hardware decoder to CUVID in the LAV Video settings and when directvobsub isn't installed CPU usage drops to <5% for the most part.

The HTPC uses an 8600GTS and the desktop (which most of the testing is done on) a GTX 260

The HTPC is about to get an upgrade, probably to a GT 640 though
bbboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2013, 10:08   #15188  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,982
you can see with decoder is used while playing the file by simply open die lav video configuration. look at video decoder.

styled ass subtitle can easily kill a weak cpu try xy vobsub.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2013, 10:20   #15189  |  Link
bbboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
you can see with decoder is used while playing the file by simply open die lav video configuration. look at video decoder.

styled ass subtitle can easily kill a weak cpu try xy vobsub.
An interesting fact. The LAV Video decoder icon doesn't appear down in the system tray when I run the file... I have it set to enable system tray icon too.

I ran graph studio (attached) and it seems to be using Microsoft DTV-DVD video decoder...

If I go to: Filters-> Manage Favourites -> Add Filters -> LAV Video Decoder -> Insert after deleting "Microsoft DTV-DVD Video Decoder" I can then arrange the video stream to go through LAV.

It plays fine through GraphStudio but then how do I save this so it is default behaviour?

The merit for Microsoft DTV-DVD is 0x005fffff

The merit for LAV Video Decoder is 0x00800003

Hope this helps someone to help me!

I tried XY Vobsub... Didn't make any difference unfortunately
Attached Images
 
bbboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2013, 10:36   #15190  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,982
you can try this but there should be a better way

http://www.videohelp.com/tools/Codec-Tweak-Tool
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2013, 11:02   #15191  |  Link
bbboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
you can try this but there should be a better way

http://www.videohelp.com/tools/Codec-Tweak-Tool
I'm a bit worried about breaking Live TV playback on the HTPC...

Any other suggestions?
bbboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2013, 11:04   #15192  |  Link
hoborg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 454
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbboy View Post
I'm a bit worried about breaking Live TV playback on the HTPC...

Any other suggestions?
Hi.
On what HTPC software is you HTPC based on?
__________________
Working machine: Win10x64 + Intel Skull Canyon
My HTPC.

How to start with Bitcoin
hoborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2013, 11:05   #15193  |  Link
bbboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoborg View Post
Hi.
On what HTPC software is you HTPC based on?
Both systems are running Windows 7 Pro 64x

I use the built in media center and like to keep things as native and minimal as possible.
bbboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2013, 11:13   #15194  |  Link
bbboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbboy View Post
Both systems are running Windows 7 Pro 64x

I use the built in media center and like to keep things as native and minimal as possible.
As an aside, I'd like to use Enhanced Video Renderer as well (first I'd like to get LAV Video Decoder working though!)
bbboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2013, 11:37   #15195  |  Link
hoborg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 454
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbboy View Post
As an aside, I'd like to use Enhanced Video Renderer as well (first I'd like to get LAV Video Decoder working though!)
MS MCE doesn't use it?
Last time i tryed MS MCE i was really surprised how can someone even use it...
I ended on NextPVR, small, stable, fast and easy to use.
__________________
Working machine: Win10x64 + Intel Skull Canyon
My HTPC.

How to start with Bitcoin
hoborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2013, 11:49   #15196  |  Link
bbboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
I've gone against my own advice and installed Win7DSFilterTweaker: http://codecguide.com/windows7_preferred_filter_tweaker.htm

I managed to get LAV Video Decoder loading by simply changing the preference for H264, VC-1 and a few others.

But now DirectVobSub doesn't load! It was on autoload so I changed it to 'always load'. It still doesn't load!

What on earth am I doing wrong here? I feel like I'm one step away from the setup I want but by god it seems to be a giant leap!

EDIT: Also despite the fact when I launch the mkv in media center and the red LAV Video Decoder icon appearing in the system tray (and it showing "Active" beside Nvidia CUVID hardware decoding in the config page), graphstudio still claims Microsoft DTV-DVD decoder to be active.

Graphstudio error?

This is a clean windows 7 install too, this is quite annoying!
bbboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2013, 12:17   #15197  |  Link
bbboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
Problem solved. My background is that I've been lumbering along trying to learn bits and pieces about computers, culminating in me assembling a desktop in 2006 and then a HTPC in 2007. I discovered quite early on for the HTPC the codec pack known as Shark007. It's been very good to me though I haven't been very good to it (haven't updated it for an AGE). When I decided I was going to put together a nice 7.1 setup, I got to researching lossless bitstreaming.

I also found out there was something called LAV Filters and they were considered the bee's knees. I thought that sounds good and here we are.

Out of frustration, I've turned back to Shark007 as a lot of my searching on this problem took me to his forums etc. So I thought "What the hell?" and just installed the latest packs. I went through and made sure I'm using LAV Filters for pretty much everything. A picture is worth a thousand words... Note the beautiful 3 LAV icons with the one green arrow icon down in the bottom right corner...

THANKS SHARK007 AND THANKS NEVCAIRIEL! Guys like you are what make technology a pleasure to tinker with! Time to install Shark's packs on my HTPC (utilising the LAV decoders of course)!

Graphstudio still can't work it out though, hahaha
bbboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2013, 17:02   #15198  |  Link
mindbomb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 578
are there issues with the quicksync decoder and 1080i H264?
mindbomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2013, 06:56   #15199  |  Link
Tornado15550
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 12
Hey guys,
I'm having a little trouble playing MKV files on Windows Media Center. I recently removed Haali, and am only running LAV (installed 32 and 64bit video, audio, and splitter) and xy-VS Filter. I also set LAV as default for playing H.264 using Win7DSFilterTweaker. Whenever I open an MKV file with WMC, it will simply open WMC and do nothing. Just takes me to the main screen. Any reason as to why it isn't using LAV to open/play the MKV? My OS is Windows 7 64bit.
Tornado15550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2013, 11:00   #15200  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,837
Hey guys,

here is a release candidate for the next release:

32-bit: http://files.1f0.de/lavf/LAVFilters-...3-gc9509c5.zip
64-bit: http://files.1f0.de/lavf/LAVFilters-...9509c5-x64.zip

The big points since 0.56:
- Popup Menu on LAV Splitter's tray icon (Stream/Edition/Chapter switching)
- Performance improvements opening MKVs with linked segments
- Support for RGB48 output and proper dithering RGB48 to RGB32 (useful for 16-bit PNGs/TIFFs or JPEG2000 DCinema files)

The schedule says that it'll be released this weekend, once i'm done testing.
So any testing any of you want to to would be welcome as well
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders

Last edited by nevcairiel; 18th May 2013 at 11:03.
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
decoders, directshow, filters, splitter

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.