Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th September 2012, 13:19   #12181  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,229
Nev, with the mixer enabled duplicating stereo to 7 channels drops the volume down, can I have LAV retain the volume?
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2012, 13:27   #12182  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,837
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Nev, with the mixer enabled duplicating stereo to 7 channels drops the volume down, can I have LAV retain the volume?
LAV does not support upmixing at this time.
If you play stereo and have 7 channels selected, you just get stereo in the two front channels, and a lot of silent channels. The stereo signal should be untouched.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2012, 13:36   #12183  |  Link
jq963152
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 691
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
Only Ivy Bridge does 4K decoding, if you're running it on your 2500k from your signature, no 4K for you.

NVIDIA (via CUVID) only supports it with VP5 (VDPAU Feature Set D). AMD claims to support it with the 7xxx series, but in my tests, it just failed miserably.
Not sure if it has been posted in here already (?), but just came across the following article:

Quote:
Originally Posted by anandtech.com/show/6270/ivy-bridge-gets-4k-display-support-in-october

http://www.anandtech.com/show/6270/i...ort-in-october

[...]

This October Intel will be providing a driver update for Ivy Bridge that will enable 4K x 2K resolution support as well as hardware accelerated 4K video decode.

[...]
jq963152 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2012, 13:40   #12184  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
The stereo signal should be untouched.
Ah, it's the receiver doing that then.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
LAV does not support upmixing at this time.
Possible implementation soonish?
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2012, 13:43   #12185  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,837
Quote:
Originally Posted by jq963152 View Post
Not sure if it has been posted in here already (?), but just came across the following article:
4k decoding already works just fine on Ivy Bridge, and has for a few month already.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2012, 14:06   #12186  |  Link
jq963152
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 691
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
4k decoding already works just fine on Ivy Bridge, and has for a few month already.
And what could the driver update they mentioned for next month be for then ?

As you wrote it would already work: could you possibly report about the performance?

Are maxed out AVC HP@L5.2 "4K" videos with 5 reference frames and 300 Mbps at 60 fps working?

Last edited by jq963152; 14th September 2012 at 14:09.
jq963152 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2012, 14:55   #12187  |  Link
andyvt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by jq963152 View Post
And what could the driver update they mentioned for next month be for then ?
The driver adds 4K output, current drivers are limited to 1080p when not using DP. Unfortunately IVB will require two DP outs to do this, so the feature is more about press than usefulness.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jq963152 View Post
As you wrote it would already work: could you possibly report about the performance?
What metrics are you interested in? CPU utilization is ~4% on an i7-3770K.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jq963152 View Post
Are maxed out AVC HP@L5.2 "4K" videos with 5 reference frames and 300 Mbps at 60 fps working?
Got a sample?
__________________
babgvant.com
Missing Remote
andyvt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2012, 15:18   #12188  |  Link
jq963152
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 691
Thanks for your reply.

Quote:
Originally Posted by andyvt View Post
What metrics are you interested in? CPU utilization is ~4% on an i7-3770K.
With what kind of sample did you test?

Also came across the following post:

http://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php?...&postcount=133

Would "GPU Load" be the same as "VPU Load" in that case?

Quote:
Originally Posted by andyvt View Post
Got a sample?
Only came across the following sample:

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=163825&page=2

But MediaInfo apparently says the following about that video:

Quote:
Code:
Format                                   : AVC
Format/Info                              : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile                           : High@L5.1
Format settings, CABAC                   : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames                : 4 frames
Codec ID                                 : avc1
Codec ID/Info                            : Advanced Video Coding
Duration                                 : 51s 50ms
Bit rate                                 : 150 Mbps
Maximum bit rate                         : 204 Mbps
Width                                    : 3 840 pixels
Height                                   : 2 160 pixels
Display aspect ratio                     : 16:9
Frame rate mode                          : Constant
Frame rate                               : 59.940 fps
Color space                              : YUV
Chroma subsampling                       : 4:2:0
Bit depth                                : 8 bits
Scan type                                : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame)                       : 0.302
Stream size                              : 919 MiB (100%)
Writing library                          : x264 core 120 r2120 0c7dab9
Encoding settings                        : cabac=1 / ref=3 / deblock=1:0:0 / analyse=0x3:0x113 / me=hex / subme=7 / psy=1 / psy_rd=1.00:0.00 / mixed_ref=1 / me_range=16 / chroma_me=1 / trellis=1 / 8x8dct=1 / cqm=0 / deadzone=21,11 / fast_pskip=1 / chroma_qp_offset=-2 / threads=6 / sliced_threads=0 / nr=0 / decimate=1 / interlaced=0 / bluray_compat=0 / constrained_intra=0 / bframes=3 / b_pyramid=2 / b_adapt=1 / b_bias=0 / direct=1 / weightb=1 / open_gop=0 / weightp=2 / keyint=250 / keyint_min=25 / scenecut=40 / intra_refresh=0 / rc_lookahead=10 / rc=abr / mbtree=1 / bitrate=150000 / ratetol=1.0 / qcomp=0.60 / qpmin=0 / qpmax=69 / qpstep=4 / ip_ratio=1.40 / aq=1:1.00
So at least according to MediaInfo and according to the following Wikipedia page:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/H.264/MPEG-4_AVC#Levels

this sample does not appear to be "fully maxed out" AVC spec wise.

With "fully maxed out", the following would be meant:

Code:
--level 5.2 --preset placebo --bitrate 300000 --vbv-bufsize 300000 --vbv-maxrate 300000


Or would:

Code:
--level 5.2 --preset placebo --crf 0 --vbv-bufsize 300000 --vbv-maxrate 300000
be better ?

And for framesize/framerate the maximum AVC specs would allow appears to be 3840x2160@60fps or 4096x2160@60fs according to the following Wikipedia page:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/H.264/MPEG-4_AVC#Levels

?

4096x2304@60fps apparently is out of AVC specs and only "allowed" up to around 56 fps?

So is there any 3840x2160@60fps or 4096x2160@60fps sample out there which is encoded with:

Code:
--level 5.2 --preset placebo --bitrate 300000 --vbv-bufsize 300000 --vbv-maxrate 300000
or with:

Code:
--level 5.2 --preset placebo --crf 0 --vbv-bufsize 300000 --vbv-maxrate 300000
?

jq963152 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2012, 15:19   #12189  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,837
crf 0 is lossless, the hardware cannot decode that.
Anyway, please keep stuff about hardware performance and whatnot out of the LAV thread, it adds way too much noise.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders

Last edited by nevcairiel; 14th September 2012 at 15:21.
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2012, 15:26   #12190  |  Link
jq963152
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 691
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
crf 0 is lossless, the hardware cannot decode that.
But what about this part:

Code:
--vbv-bufsize 300000 --vbv-maxrate 300000
?

Wouldn't that automatically take care about bitrate not exceeding HP@L5.2 constraints?

And if not, then what about the following command line:

Code:
--level 5.2 --preset placebo --bitrate 300000 --vbv-bufsize 300000 --vbv-maxrate 300000
?

Any sample encoded with that out there ?

Or have you maybe even tried if that would work ?
jq963152 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2012, 15:30   #12191  |  Link
jq963152
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 691
PS:

Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
Anyway, please keep stuff about hardware performance and whatnot out of the LAV thread, it adds way too much noise.
Oh, apparently you edited your post.

Posted it in a more appropriate (?) thread then, see:

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...53#post1591353

jq963152 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2012, 17:24   #12192  |  Link
Pat357
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 435
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
4k decoding already works just fine on Ivy Bridge, and has for a few month already.
The article is not about decoding, but about getting the decoded frames on a real 4K display.
It seems we still need 2 HDMI or 2 Display Port cables to "drive"a 4k display (IvyB).
Haswell should be able to do this with only 1 HDMI cable or 1 DP cable. (something about fully supporting the HDMI v1.4a spec).
Pat357 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2012, 17:28   #12193  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,837
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pat357 View Post
The article is not about decoding, but about getting the decoded frames on a real 4K display.
It seems we still need 2 HDMI or 2 Display Port cables to "drive"a 4k display (IvyB).
Haswell should be able to do this with only 1 HDMI cable or 1 DP cable. (something about fully supporting the HDMI v1.4a spec).
I know that, i just corrected his mis-interpretation of the article.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2012, 17:39   #12194  |  Link
jq963152
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 691
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
I know that, i just corrected his mis-interpretation of the article.
How can you call this a "mis-interpretation" if they apparently are writing the following (especially see the highlighted (big/bolded/italic) part):

Quote:
Originally Posted by anandtech.com/show/6270/ivy-bridge-gets-4k-display-support-in-october

http://www.anandtech.com/show/6270/i...ort-in-october

[...]

This October Intel will be providing a driver update for Ivy Bridge that will enable 4K x 2K resolution support as well as hardware accelerated 4K video decode.

[...]
?


Last edited by jq963152; 14th September 2012 at 17:42.
jq963152 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2012, 09:34   #12195  |  Link
pie
Registered User
 
pie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 17
One thing about using lavfilters that is a real show stopper for me is that the splitter simply stops playback of audio when the cpu is under high load - I use a pretty old laptop so this becomes annoyingly obvious whenever I'm simultaneously web browsing (or doing anything else that moderately taxes the cpu) and watching a video.

What this equates to is jerky audio (stops and starts), making the video absolutely unwatchable - in this case the Haali splitter handles this much better as the audio generally does not stop at all (although it may lag behind the video; this is actually ok and much more watchable as it is less noticeable; it usually also catches up when the cpu is under less load too)
pie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2012, 11:55   #12196  |  Link
cyberbeing
Broadband Junkie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,859
Quote:
Originally Posted by pie View Post
One thing about using lavfilters that is a real show stopper for me is that the splitter simply stops playback of audio when the cpu is under high load
...
in this case the Haali splitter handles this much better...
LAV Splitter uses a Base Priority of 7 (Below Normal) for the Audio Decoder.

Web Browsers normally would have a Base Priority of 8 (Normal).

Haali Splitter uses a Base Priority of 9 (Above Normal) for the Audio Decoder.


If you boost the priority of everything through your media player (MPC-HC has a check-box for this), I suspect it would resolve your audio dropouts with LAV Splitter.
cyberbeing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2012, 12:01   #12197  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,837
Note that thread priorities are always relative to the process, not the system. If you have performance issues, you might as well try to increase the priority of the whole player.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2012, 12:47   #12198  |  Link
cyberbeing
Broadband Junkie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,859
Was there a particular reason why LAV Splitter lowers the priority of the audio decoder thread while Haali Splitter, MPC-HC's Splitter, AV Splitter, and others all raise the priority?

Last edited by cyberbeing; 15th September 2012 at 12:50.
cyberbeing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2012, 12:51   #12199  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,837
A 20 year old PC could decode audio, so i simply gave priority to video. Once you don't have enough performance to do both, something bad will happen, no matter how its setup.
I could probably remove that code and make it have all the same priority.

PS:
Everyone else doing something in this DirectShow world most likely just means they copied from each other, not that there is a real reason to it.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders

Last edited by nevcairiel; 15th September 2012 at 12:55.
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2012, 14:13   #12200  |  Link
pie
Registered User
 
pie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
A 20 year old PC could decode audio, so i simply gave priority to video. Once you don't have enough performance to do both, something bad will happen, no matter how its setup.
While it's true that pretty much any PC can decode audio, when you combine it with video and you prioritise audio below video, you're going to notice audio dropping first (when starved of resources) which is arguably bad because audio dropping is more noticeable than video lagging.

It would be good if you did remove the difference in priority ^^
pie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
decoders, directshow, filters, splitter

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.