Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 23rd October 2018, 19:04   #53381  |  Link
whitestar999
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 39
That's my plan,waiting for prices to drop to get another 4gb ram later.This system I will build,I am planning on win 8.1 on a ssd & obviously nothing memory intensive will be running in the background while watching videos(except maybe utorrent). I am already used to running win 7 on 4gb ram with an ancient 2nd gen pentium dual core & I believe win 8.1 is a bit more memory efficient compared to win 7. Only reason I am upgrading system is because my processor regularly hits 90% usage while playing high bit rate 1080p 10bit h264 videos for which there is no hardware acceleration.
whitestar999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2018, 19:32   #53382  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitestar999 View Post
obviously nothing memory intensive will be running in the background while watching videos(except maybe utorrent)
utorrent is pretty I/O intensive especially when downloading at high rates. I would close it before watching a movie if you want to minimize dropped frames, even on an SSD and a multi-core CPU.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1809, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2018, 19:44   #53383  |  Link
schnief
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 2
Hi everyone. Just wanted to say thank you very much to madshi for madVR. I'm currently trying out the tone mapping for HDR content on my LG B7 OLED and it's fantastic. I have always used the Active HDR mode of this TV to improve HDR10 and madVR gives me a similar experience, but better.

Compared to Active HDR madVR is better at preserving details in bright spots of movies. For example in the clouds at the beginning of Sicario some small details are lost with Active HDR but stay visible with madVR, even with highlight recovery set to none (but even better when activated). The overall image looks very much the same apart from that at target peak nits of 600 to 700.

Even more important, madVR doesn't suffer from brightness pumping like Active HDR. When white subtitles appear on the screen Active HDR reduced the overall brightness of the display noticably. I hated it. Solved with madVR.

Most of the time Active HDR and madVR tone mapping look very much the same, and better than standard HDR10. They seem to agree a lot on how the picture is supposed to look like, which is a good sign I think.

One thing I noticed: There is a big brightness difference between target peak nits 500 and 501. I don't know why, but there seems to be a magical threshold. 501 is the brightest setting, 500 is much darker, comparable to setting it to 800-900 but with more need for highlight recovery. I don't know if this has to do with the TV or madVR. It's not important anyway, just interesting.

So, thank you again!
schnief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2018, 19:48   #53384  |  Link
mytbyte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 198
@schnief: careful with those subtitles in HDR mode...if the subs come from an srt, I'd make them medium gray or even darker...
mytbyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2018, 19:55   #53385  |  Link
whitestar999
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by el Filou View Post
utorrent is pretty I/O intensive especially when downloading at high rates. I would close it before watching a movie if you want to minimize dropped frames, even on an SSD and a multi-core CPU.
Actually not downloading but seeding at ~4-5MB/s(a 50mbps connection),will it still be an issue with a ssd & ryzen 1200.
whitestar999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2018, 20:03   #53386  |  Link
schnief
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 2
@mytbyte: Mostly PGS, unfortunately. I don't think those can be dimmed.
schnief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2018, 20:38   #53387  |  Link
mytbyte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by schnief View Post
@mytbyte: Mostly PGS, unfortunately. I don't think those can be dimmed.
I imagine then that PGS subtitles on HDR movies would already be somewhat dimmed by the authoring facility...if they know what they're (should be) doing, that is....
mytbyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2018, 20:48   #53388  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitestar999 View Post
Actually not downloading but seeding at ~4-5MB/s(a 50mbps connection),will it still be an issue with a ssd & ryzen 1200.
I'd rather suspect utorrent's stupid ads, perhaps try qbittorrent.
You can also give the processes different I/O priority, e.g. with Process Hacker nightly.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2018, 20:58   #53389  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,975
i'm pretty confident to say that an I/O operation an HDD can do is nothing for an SSD.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2018, 22:00   #53390  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,171
the HDR measurement tool included in the latest test build doesnt seem to work for me. no file is being created and gpu load stays at 0% all the time. could this issue with my rather old GTX760M be related to the one with b&w picture when using "highlight recovery strength" other than none, which has been fixed in the meantime? that some GPU functions are used which are not already included in case of my NVIDIA GPU?
__________________
Laptop Acer Aspire V3-772g: i7-4202MQ, 8GB Ram, NVIDIA GTX 760M (+ Intel HD 4600), Windows 8.1 x64, madVR (x64), MPC-HC (x64), LAV Filter (x64), XySubfilter (x64)
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2018, 22:35   #53391  |  Link
whitestar999
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
I'd rather suspect utorrent's stupid ads, perhaps try qbittorrent.
You can also give the processes different I/O priority, e.g. with Process Hacker nightly.
I use the old utorrent version without ads.As far as I can see in task manager it is the cpu usage which is of main concern(~10-15%) which can make a difference when playing a file requires 75-85% cpu usage.

Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
i'm pretty confident to say that an I/O operation an HDD can do is nothing for an SSD.
I agree & for extra safety I can always copy the video files to ssd first to play them from there separate from hdd from which seeding takes place.
whitestar999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2018, 00:04   #53392  |  Link
KoKlusz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
the HDR measurement tool included in the latest test build doesnt seem to work for me. no file is being created and gpu load stays at 0% all the time. could this issue with my rather old GTX760M be related to the one with b&w picture when using "highlight recovery strength" other than none, which has been fixed in the meantime? that some GPU functions are used which are not already included in case of my NVIDIA GPU?
You need to have both 64 and 32 bits LAV filters installed.
KoKlusz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2018, 20:26   #53393  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by KoKlusz View Post
You need to have both 64 and 32 bits LAV filters installed.
hm not sure whether its related to that.

I got it to work twice now. but the conditions for that seem to be somewhat random. once a measurement file was created, another time even with the percentage display running. but most of the time no file is created at all.

perhaps the issue is related to optimus stuff or maybe LAVfilters.
__________________
Laptop Acer Aspire V3-772g: i7-4202MQ, 8GB Ram, NVIDIA GTX 760M (+ Intel HD 4600), Windows 8.1 x64, madVR (x64), MPC-HC (x64), LAV Filter (x64), XySubfilter (x64)
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2018, 10:03   #53394  |  Link
Betroz
Is this for real?
 
Betroz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 160
Have anyone here done any MadVr CPU frequency scaling testing recently? Like is it any benefit to run a CPU at 3.5 Ghz vs 4.5 Ghz?
__________________
My HTPC : i7 6900K @ 4.2 | nVidia GTX 1080Ti | TV : Samsung 75Q9FN QLED
Betroz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2018, 10:11   #53395  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,964
The more madVR can utilize the GPU, the less important the CPU should be... but a fast CPU will be important for decoding complex and high-res videos.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2018, 10:21   #53396  |  Link
Betroz
Is this for real?
 
Betroz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
The more madVR can utilize the GPU, the less important the CPU should be... but a fast CPU will be important for decoding complex and high-res videos.
Yes, but I am wondering if the added heat and noise with running my i5 6600K at 4.5 Ghz is really worth it for MadVr use.
__________________
My HTPC : i7 6900K @ 4.2 | nVidia GTX 1080Ti | TV : Samsung 75Q9FN QLED
Betroz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2018, 10:48   #53397  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,975
a CPU is not very important for madVR.
it doesn't scale with the CPU either you have the CPU power that is needed or you don't.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2018, 12:19   #53398  |  Link
Ver Greeneyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 445
I have noticed that running a background process that uses a lot of CPU causes problems filling the present and render queues, even if the process is running at idle priority and not using all cores. I don't know if this is fundamental / bad thread scheduling from Windows or if madVR uses more CPU than it used to (maybe another function started taking way longer to complete since Windows 10 r1803, or maybe the Spectre mitigations are causing a bottleneck), but it's something to keep in mind. That's on an AMD Ryzen running at 3.75GHz.

Last edited by Ver Greeneyes; 26th October 2018 at 12:21.
Ver Greeneyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2018, 13:07   #53399  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 412
Is using a dvi-d cable makes some sort of additional processing, cause in nvidia control panel I can only choose "desktop color depth 32-bit", the other options are not available etc. "output color depth", "output color format" and "output dynamic range".
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2018, 15:13   #53400  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,127
It is locked at 8-bit RGB Full.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.