Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 5th February 2018, 19:02   #48861  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSeries View Post
Change the device in LAV filter properties to specify your GPU when using D3D11, this should enable D3D11 copyback (which will make zoom control work)
Thanks, it does make zoom control work but I do have to scale chroma upscaling down to NGU Low (few drops) or Super XBR (no drops). NGU Medium drops too many frames to be usable in D3D11 copy-back.

With D3D11 native I have NGU upscaling on high without any problem.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1903 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 436.48 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2018, 19:07   #48862  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 420
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
Billy Lynn is one of the titles in 4K60p, but I do have quite a lot of demo test files in 60p.
Yup, was aware of Billy Lynn, you made me wonder if I was missing anything else. Thanks.
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2018, 19:16   #48863  |  Link
iSeries
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 607
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
Thanks, it does make zoom control work but I do have to scale chroma upscaling down to NGU Low (few drops) or Super XBR (no drops). NGU Medium drops too many frames to be usable in D3D11 copy-back.

With D3D11 native I have NGU upscaling on high without any problem.
But that's just with 4k60p right? Almost all content is of course 24p (bar one film that I can think of) and that isn't likely to change any time soon, so I don't think it'd be much of a problem. Either way, super-xbr seems to be a perfectly decent chroma scaler.
iSeries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2018, 19:20   #48864  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,964
If "inclusive artifact removal" is only used in "NGU Sharp" resampling, then I can't use it for luma upscaling, at most for chroma upscaling only. Too weak GPU, I guess.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2018, 19:44   #48865  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSeries View Post
But that's just with 4k60p right? Almost all content is of course 24p (bar one film that I can think of) and that isn't likely to change any time soon, so I don't think it'd be much of a problem. Either way, super-xbr seems to be a perfectly decent chroma scaler.
I can't change the chroma upscaler just for 4K60p content because I already have profiles according to resolution.

Anyway, as I said it's not a big deal, I'll just use manual zoom control until D3D11 native works with zoom control.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1903 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 436.48 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2018, 23:06   #48866  |  Link
arrgh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Intel GPU drivers are pretty bad, unfortunately. Haven't had a chance to look at your PMs yet. There's some hope that things might improve for Intel GPUs when I finally switch madVR over to D3D11 rendering. But I don't know when that will happen exactly. Could be a while, I'm not sure.
ok, but at least midterm progress can be expected.

meanwhile, to bridge the gap in time : the side-by-side trick... does it send 2 Full-HD Pictures to the TV, so that in principle the PQ remains the same? Or is there a downscaling involved to 2 half-resolution pictures ?
arrgh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2018, 03:06   #48867  |  Link
Clown shoes
King of the Jungle
 
Clown shoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Shoreditch, London
Posts: 429
Hey guys, what's the easiest way to update my madVR install? Is there a way of doing it and not having to re input all my settings manually? Cheers
Clown shoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2018, 03:59   #48868  |  Link
Emulgator
Big Bit Savings Now !
 
Emulgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: close to the wall
Posts: 735
Don't overwrite your settings.bin in madVR's program folder.
__________________
"To bypass shortcuts and find suffering...is called QUALity" (Die toten Augen von Friedrichshain)
"Data reduction ? Yep, Sir. We're working on that issue. Synce invntoin uf lingöage..."
Emulgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2018, 07:02   #48869  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,229
Yeah copy paste over that's it, you won't need to redo your settings unless something happens to the settings.bin or registry, I just have a send to -> madVR in my right click Explorer context menu cos I'm lazy.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2018, 07:13   #48870  |  Link
omarank
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Code:
* added 3dlut information to OSD (only if active)
This is very useful info added to the OSD. There is one minor thing though. If I use keyboard shortcut to disable the 3DLUT, the OSD still lists it indicating an active 3DLUT.
omarank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2018, 08:01   #48871  |  Link
Axelpowa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 16
New HDR to SDR

Hi Madshi!

I've been following the thread in Avsforum about the mapping from hdr to sdr2020 feature of madvr.

I have no knowledge about all this science that is behind the software, but the movie they have chosen, Mad Max, I find it the worst of all HDR examples they could take.

First time I saw it I also noticed weird things like blue colors within fires or gunshots or the shift from the color in explosions to red saturation and white highlights (already solved).

I tested it yesterday night and I changed my settings from 200 peak nits, 25% luminance reduction and 75% ssturation to 200 nits, 30% - 70% and diffuse white to 50 nits spline.

To my eyes I loose some general light, but not at all the frame like if I increase the peak nits value.

I'm a JVC user too.

Every other movie I've watched looks great with the sdr conversion and it even allows me to use my proyector in low lamp mode with a 120" screen.

Perhaps there is place to improve, but I'm very happy with madvr at the moment.

Regards!
Axelpowa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2018, 09:56   #48872  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axelpowa View Post
Hi Madshi!

I've been following the thread in Avsforum about the mapping from hdr to sdr2020 feature of madvr.

I have no knowledge about all this science that is behind the software, but the movie they have chosen, Mad Max, I find it the worst of all HDR examples they could take.

First time I saw it I also noticed weird things like blue colors within fires or gunshots or the shift from the color in explosions to red saturation and white highlights (already solved).

I tested it yesterday night and I changed my settings from 200 peak nits, 25% luminance reduction and 75% ssturation to 200 nits, 30% - 70% and diffuse white to 50 nits spline.

To my eyes I loose some general light, but not at all the frame like if I increase the peak nits value.

I'm a JVC user too.

Every other movie I've watched looks great with the sdr conversion and it even allows me to use my proyector in low lamp mode with a 120" screen.

Perhaps there is place to improve, but I'm very happy with madvr at the moment.

Regards!
We chose this movie because it's one of the titles that actually have content near 4000nits. You can try other titles with content significantly above 2000nits, such as Batman vs Superman and you'll see such issues as well. Mad Max is not "worse", it's a demanding title to do right on a projector.

If you only watch films with content up to 1100nits, MadVR's conversion does a great job and there is very little to say, it's near perfect. Initially I had watched a few 1100nits films and I thought MadVR did a fantastic job (and I said so). It significantly improves the low end of the content for these titles. It's only when I started watching movies with more content in the highlights that I noticed some issues.

MadVR's conversion simply compresses highlights too much with projectors, which causes the issues some of us are reporting.

Feel free to post in the thread where Madshi has decided he preferred discussing this. It's open to everyone. Only MadVR fans are posting there (that includes me). It's not a MadVR bashing thread.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1903 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 436.48 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2018, 10:55   #48873  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
that's not what my point is it's the line "as part of NGU".

changing it to NGU sharp and it may help.
Ah yes, that makes sense! I'll change that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
If "inclusive artifact removal" is only used in "NGU Sharp" resampling, then I can't use it for luma upscaling, at most for chroma upscaling only. Too weak GPU, I guess.
You can't do NGU Sharp luma upscaling at all, not even Medium quality? FWIW, "reduce compression artifacts" currently only works for free if you use NGU Sharp in High or Very High quality, but I plan to make it work for Medium, too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by arrgh View Post
meanwhile, to bridge the gap in time : the side-by-side trick... does it send 2 Full-HD Pictures to the TV, so that in principle the PQ remains the same? Or is there a downscaling involved to 2 half-resolution pictures ?
Yes, it's half resolution, unfortunately.

Quote:
Originally Posted by omarank View Post
This is very useful info added to the OSD. There is one minor thing though. If I use keyboard shortcut to disable the 3DLUT, the OSD still lists it indicating an active 3DLUT.
Ok, thanks, will get that fixed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
I can't change the chroma upscaler just for 4K60p content because I already have profiles according to resolution.
It should still be possible. If your profiles already include the chroma upscaling tab, then simple prepend another "if (srcWidth > 3000) and (fps > 40) "extraLowQualitySettings"" before all the other "if"s. If you don't have the chroma upscaling tab in your profiles yet, you can create another profile set just for chroma upscaling, in addition to the profiles you already have. madVR supports multiple different profile groups in each "folder".
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2018, 11:02   #48874  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
It should still be possible. If your profiles already include the chroma upscaling tab, then simple prepend another "if (srcWidth > 3000) and (fps > 40) "extraLowQualitySettings"" before all the other "if"s. If you don't have the chroma upscaling tab in your profiles yet, you can create another profile set just for chroma upscaling, in addition to the profiles you already have. madVR supports multiple different profile groups in each "folder".
This is brilliant, thanks! I just added a test with fps > 30 for a UHD_LOW profile before testing for my UHD profile and that works great.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1903 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 436.48 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2018, 11:05   #48875  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
I'd still recommend to add a check for resolution in addition to "fps > 30", too, otherwise playing 1080p60 content will also trigger the UHD_LOW profile. Also, I'd at least use "fps > 31", because "fps" is a floating point variable, and there might be a movie which is flagged as 30.000000000001fps.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2018, 11:12   #48876  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 412
Madshi, regarding the 3DLUT, is it possible to shorten or make the 3DLUT name show in 2 rows, Displaycal generates pretty long 3DLUT names in example - madVR 2017-10-26 18-51 S XYZLUT.Rec709.bb0.8,2.4Gawt65.3dlut

It takes a lot of space in the OSD...
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2018, 11:13   #48877  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
You can manually rename the 3dlut file name...
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2018, 11:27   #48878  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
I'd still recommend to add a check for resolution in addition to "fps > 30", too, otherwise playing 1080p60 content will also trigger the UHD_LOW profile. Also, I'd at least use "fps > 31", because "fps" is a floating point variable, and there might be a movie which is flagged as 30.000000000001fps.
As I said, there's a test for UHD resolution already, I only added a specific profile for a less demanding chroma algo when the UHD content is above 30p:

if (3D) "3D"
else if (srcWidth <= 720) and (srcHeight <= 576) "SD"
else if (srcWidth <= 1280) and (srcHeight <= 720) "HD"
else if (srcWidth <= 1920) and (srcHeight <= 1080) "FHD"
else if (srcWidth <= 3840) and (srcHeight <= 2160) and (fps > 30) "UHD_LOW"
else if (srcWidth <= 3840) and (srcHeight <= 2160) "UHD"
else "4K"

I will use 31 though, thanks for the FP info.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1903 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 436.48 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000

Last edited by Manni; 6th February 2018 at 11:32.
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2018, 11:54   #48879  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,707
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siso View Post
Madshi, regarding the 3DLUT, is it possible to shorten or make the 3DLUT name show in 2 rows, Displaycal generates pretty long 3DLUT names in example - madVR 2017-10-26 18-51 S XYZLUT.Rec709.bb0.8,2.4Gawt65.3dlut

It takes a lot of space in the OSD...
No! Now that we have the 3DLUT name in the OSD we don't want to mess with it, there can be no confusion if it displays the exact name. As madshi said, rename your 3DLUT.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2018, 12:48   #48880  |  Link
Axelpowa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
We chose this movie because it's one of the titles that actually have content near 4000nits. You can try other titles with content significantly above 2000nits, such as Batman vs Superman and you'll see such issues as well. Mad Max is not "worse", it's a demanding title to do right on a projector.

If you only watch films with content up to 1100nits, MadVR's conversion does a great job and there is very little to say, it's near perfect. Initially I had watched a few 1100nits films and I thought MadVR did a fantastic job (and I said so). It significantly improves the low end of the content for these titles. It's only when I started watching movies with more content in the highlights that I noticed some issues.

MadVR's conversion simply compresses highlights too much with projectors, which causes the issues some of us are reporting.

Feel free to post in the thread where Madshi has decided he preferred discussing this. It's open to everyone. Only MadVR fans are posting there (that includes me). It's not a MadVR bashing thread.

Hi Manni!

I know its not a bashing thread, I just dont have account in avsforums. Also I dont have the knowledge to speak about the issues, so cant contribute much besides a personal opinion if I like what I see although it could be wrong displayed.

Everywhere I read about HDR the Mad Max movie comes into topic as being a pain in the ass for proyectors, therefore my connents.

I had the hope you and Madshi could work together because this software is incredible and could get even better. Sad it's not happening.

Sorry for my english, I'm from Spain.

Regards!
Axelpowa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.