Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th February 2016, 20:42   #36461  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,712
Quote:
Originally Posted by baii View Post
Quick question for profile rule using display, does active display mean where the player window is in, or the displays that are connected?
It is the display the player window is on.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2016, 20:50   #36462  |  Link
MokrySedeS
I am the one who knocks
 
MokrySedeS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 103
@Manni, fix your 2nd link since it's the same as the 1st one.
Are you sure that you have mpc-be set to 100%? madVR clearly thinks it's set to touch window from inside.
It could be misdetecting I guess, but that would be a bug. Can you also post a screenshot of relevant settings in mpc-be?
MokrySedeS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2016, 20:59   #36463  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Georgel View Post
Thanks for pointing that out.

I edited it and added a few words about those segments of the review, please help me improve, if you feel that it is not quite there.
You highlighted RGB settings in LAV Video -- this is not important as madVR handles these conversions.

Using image enhancements and upscaling refinement together is a bad idea. You mention you like a sharp image, and you can achieve a sharp image with upscaling refinement alone; it is simply a matter of increasing the sharpening dial. There is a difference in how precise sharpening is when it is applied and how natural it looks as a result. Upscaling refinement is superior in this case.

Outside of that, you should provide more definitions to backup your personal preferences. And the language is a little less clear than what you started with -- it looks like it needs an edit.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2016, 21:01   #36464  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by MokrySedeS View Post
@Manni, fix your 2nd link since it's the same as the 1st one.
Are you sure that you have mpc-be set to 100%? madVR clearly thinks it's set to touch window from inside.
It could be misdetecting I guess, but that would be a bug. Can you also post a screenshot of relevant settings in mpc-be?
Thanks, I fixed the link.

Video frame is set to touch window from the inside and keep aspect ratio. That's the way it should be.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1903 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 436.48 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2016, 21:23   #36465  |  Link
SweetLow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by baii View Post
Quick question for profile rule using display, does active display mean where the player window is in, or the displays that are connected?
Shall be the first, but full functioning of this option with multimonitor config still in madshi "to do" list.
SweetLow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2016, 23:08   #36466  |  Link
Uoppi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 99
(Double post)

Last edited by Uoppi; 25th February 2016 at 08:02.
Uoppi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2016, 23:13   #36467  |  Link
Uoppi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
My player is always set to 100% / no zoom. The issue goes away if I deselect the black bar detection in MadVR
I think I'm also having this issue (if it's the same issue or an issue at all?) in Kodi (DSplayer) when "crop black bars" is enabled. I thought it was supposed to be that way, i.e. "crop black bars" may result in some "extra" scaling that otherwise wouldn't happen?

I have 100% picture with no zooming selected in Kodi and madVR's zoom factor set to "which doesn't lose any image content". I don't have "disable scaling if image size changes only by" option enabled though - does that matter? Manni seems to have it at "50 lines or less".

EDIT: Hmm, does LAV filter's AR setting affect this in some way? I have set it to detect AR from the stream.

Last edited by Uoppi; 24th February 2016 at 23:27.
Uoppi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2016, 23:15   #36468  |  Link
baii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by SweetLow View Post
Shall be the first, but full functioning of this option with multimonitor config still in madshi "to do" list.
Thanks, that what I figured as I have multi monitor, I workaround by using display mode x since my displays have different resolution.

Sent from my 306SH
baii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2016, 00:01   #36469  |  Link
leandronb
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Ok, thanks, will have a look when I find some time. Might have to wait until next weekend.
Thanks for the support.
leandronb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2016, 00:42   #36470  |  Link
XMonarchY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 489
What does
Quote:
* added support for native 10bit 4:2:0 DXVA decoding (+ scaling)
mean? I recall I could play 10bit 4:2:0 videos with "DXVA2 Copy-Back" enabled in LAV Filters and it was just fine...

"Processing done by GPU Video Logic" - is this what madshi meant?

BTW, LAV Filters does show hardware support for HEVC on my GTX 980 through DXVA2 Copy-Back acceleration. I guess its only for 8bit content then. If 8bit is enough, why would HEVC rips start using 10bit anyway? Using 10bit would increase file size, wouldn't it?

Is NVidia CUVID still an inferior option to DXVA2 Copy-Back? Does it still produce artifacts after all the driver updates, LAV updates, and madVR updates?
__________________
8700K @ 5Ghz | ASUS Z370 Hero X | Corsair 16GB @ 3200Mhz | RTX 2080 Ti @ 2100Mhz | Samsung 970 NVMe 250GB | WD Black 2TB | Corsair AX 850W | LG 32GK850G-B @ 165Hz | Xonar DGX | Windows 10 LTSC 1809

Last edited by XMonarchY; 25th February 2016 at 00:45.
XMonarchY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2016, 00:53   #36471  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by XMonarchY View Post
What does

mean? I recall I could play 10bit 4:2:0 videos with "DXVA2 Copy-Back" enabled in LAV Filters and it was just fine...

"Processing done by GPU Video Logic" - is this what madshi meant?

BTW, LAV Filters does show hardware support for HEVC on my GTX 980 through DXVA2 Copy-Back acceleration. I guess its only for 8bit content then. If 8bit is enough, why would HEVC rips start using 10bit anyway? Using 10bit would increase file size, wouldn't it?

Is NVidia CUVID still an inferior option to DXVA2 Copy-Back? Does it still produce artifacts after all the driver updates, LAV updates, and madVR updates?
You need at least 10bits for the wider gamut and HDR. In fact, 12bits is the minimum according to Dolby (Vision).
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1903 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 436.48 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2016, 00:58   #36472  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
You need at least 10bits for the wider gamut and HDR. In fact, 12bits is the minimum according to Dolby (Vision).
No, I'm pretty sure all of the sources are 10-bit. I have seen the official UHD Blu-ray specs. 12-bit sources are listed as a (possible) future upgrade but are not part of the current standard.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2016, 01:00   #36473  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,013
That changelog entry only concerns the "native" variant of DXVA2. That requires special handling from the video renderer. Copy-back acts as a normal decoder as far as renderers (and other downstream filters) are concerned.

Your GTX 980 provides partial acceleration. That means it does not have a dedicated decoder unit for HEVC, but uses generic GPU and CPU resources to do the decoding. That is much less efficient and slower compared to full acceleration.

10bit does not necessarily make things bigger. In fact, it can sometimes even provide similar quality at lower size.

CUVID is inferior due to broken NVIDIA drivers. LAV and madVR are NOT at fault.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2016, 01:00   #36474  |  Link
XMonarchY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
You need at least 10bits for the wider gamut and HDR. In fact, 12bits is the minimum according to Dolby (Vision).
I have neither HDR nor 3D and only normal sRGB/Rec.709 colorspace, but my TV has 12bit output. I guess it makes no difference for anyone without HDR and wide colorspace? I thought no 4K TV could reproduce UHD colorspace yet...
__________________
8700K @ 5Ghz | ASUS Z370 Hero X | Corsair 16GB @ 3200Mhz | RTX 2080 Ti @ 2100Mhz | Samsung 970 NVMe 250GB | WD Black 2TB | Corsair AX 850W | LG 32GK850G-B @ 165Hz | Xonar DGX | Windows 10 LTSC 1809
XMonarchY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2016, 01:02   #36475  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by XMonarchY View Post
What does

mean? I recall I could play 10bit 4:2:0 videos with "DXVA2 Copy-Back" enabled in LAV Filters and it was just fine...

"Processing done by GPU Video Logic" - is this what madshi meant?

BTW, LAV Filters does show hardware support for HEVC on my GTX 980 through DXVA2 Copy-Back acceleration. I guess its only for 8bit content then. If 8bit is enough, why would HEVC rips start using 10bit anyway? Using 10bit would increase file size, wouldn't it?

Is NVidia CUVID still an inferior option to DXVA2 Copy-Back? Does it still produce artifacts after all the driver updates, LAV updates, and madVR updates?
I don't think you are getting actual fixed-function hardware decoding but hybrid decoding instead, where part of the GPU is used to decode the HEVC content. But this impacts the performance of the GPU and will not do much of anything to improve the speed of HEVC decoding.

The only fixed-function HEVC decoders are found in the new Intel iGPU (which are 8-bit) and the Nvidia GTX 950/960, which are 10-bit.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2016, 01:11   #36476  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,494
Quote:
Originally Posted by XMonarchY View Post
I have neither HDR nor 3D and only normal sRGB/Rec.709 colorspace, but my TV has 12bit output. I guess it makes no difference for anyone without HDR and wide colorspace? I thought no 4K TV could reproduce UHD colorspace yet...
Even if your display does not have HDR your PC still has to be fast enough to decode the 10 bit HEVC video. 4k can bring fast CPUs to its limits.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2016, 01:47   #36477  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,977
[QUOTE=XMonarchY;1758464]What does

Quote:
* added support for native 10bit 4:2:0 DXVA decoding (+ scaling)
that madVR can accept p010 from DXVA native and it can scale these using DXVA.
Quote:
BTW, LAV Filters does show hardware support for HEVC on my GTX 980 through DXVA2 Copy-Back acceleration. I guess its only for 8bit content then. If 8bit is enough, why would HEVC rips start using 10bit anyway? Using 10bit would increase file size, wouldn't it?
this is hybrid decoding which is pretty much a waste of time. the performence gain from CPU only is very little. 10 bit encoding lowers needed bitrate.
Quote:
Is NVidia CUVID still an inferior option to DXVA2 Copy-Back? Does it still produce artifacts after all the driver updates, LAV updates, and madVR updates?
it's just buggy and 10 bit isn't supported.
Quote:
I have neither HDR nor 3D and only normal sRGB/Rec.709 colorspace, but my TV has 12bit output. I guess it makes no difference for anyone without HDR and wide colorspace? I thought no 4K TV could reproduce UHD colorspace yet...
it doesn't matter if they can't reproduce the color space 100%. and i wouldn't be shocked if it will take 5+ year before we reach 100% BT 2020 on a payable display.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2016, 01:52   #36478  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
The only fixed-function HEVC decoders are found in the new Intel iGPU (which are 8-bit) and the Nvidia GTX 950/960, which are 10-bit.
AMD's Fury cards and Carrizo also have HEVC fixed function 8 bit decoder afaik.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2016, 01:54   #36479  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,977
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
AMD's Fury cards and Carrizo also have HEVC fixed function 8 bit decoder afaik.
that's correct. the 3xx series has this decoder.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2016, 02:13   #36480  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,716
It's a bit more complex (or confusing):
AMD 3xx series also consists of rebranded GCN GPUs (even GCN 1.0).
Afaik GCN 1.2 Tonga GPUs (r9 380 and r9 380X) have a hybrid 8 bit HEVC decoder.
Only very recent Fiji cards (Fury X, Fury, Fury Nano) and Carrizo SoC have fixed function 8 bit HEVC decoder (but no 10 bit capability either).
All other GCN GPUs don't have HEVC decoding capabilities.

Last edited by aufkrawall; 25th February 2016 at 02:19.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.