Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 21st October 2016, 18:39   #39801  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post
I don't think you can use FLOPS to compare across hardware generations.
I don't know for sure but it seems like you can, it is not super precise but significantly higher FLOPS gives higher performance. FLOPS seems to be a better indicator for madVR performance than for most other types of loads.

Like we were discussing earlier, FLOPS doesn't give a 1:1 performance boost, but for NNEDI3 the card with more FLOPS runs NNEDI3 faster.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2016, 18:41   #39802  |  Link
Georgel
Visual Novel Dev.
 
Georgel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
I can't see any difference either...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shiandow View Post
Yeah. most are the result of not using the full luma information. As far as I can tell Superxbr isn't doing much better. I managed to beef things up a bit and get this which is somewhat better, but I need to check if I can raise the strength that much without making other images worse.
SuperXBR has a bit of jagged edges, but still, those results do show a bit too...

At that point NNEDI, bilateral or reconstruction or even Jinc look better. At least if you're alergic to jagged edges.


By the way, anyone knows if there is a big difference in image downscaling between SSIM 2D and 1D, or rather what is the difference?
Georgel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2016, 19:32   #39803  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by Georgel View Post
SSIM 2D and 1D (..) what is the difference?
jinc/bicubic
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2016, 21:31   #39804  |  Link
har3inger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 139
I'm a big fan of bilateral with some superchromares, so I'm looking forward to your new scaler, shiandow. Generally, every other non-reconstruction chroma scaler will look thick and fuzzy due having half the resolution, but bilateral cleans things up nicely, as it basically works with built in line thinning. Artifacts are cleaned up a bit with SR at the cost of chroma cleanliness.
har3inger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2016, 23:57   #39805  |  Link
Stereodude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Region 0
Posts: 1,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
I don't know for sure but it seems like you can, it is not super precise but significantly higher FLOPS gives higher performance. FLOPS seems to be a better indicator for madVR performance than for most other types of loads.

Like we were discussing earlier, FLOPS doesn't give a 1:1 performance boost, but for NNEDI3 the card with more FLOPS runs NNEDI3 faster.
The data seems to suggest that's very much not true. The GTX 1060 outperforms the RX480 (just barely) in the madVR data posted despite having 33% less FLOPS. The same data shows the GTX 1060 outperforming the GTX 970 by >20% despite having only a 10% FLOPS advantage.

I wish we had data comparing an R9 card with basically the same FLOPS as the RX 480. I'm fairly confident it would show the RX 480 inferior despite comparable FLOPS.
Stereodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2016, 04:56   #39806  |  Link
seiyafan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 161
Two years I had a 270x and GTX 770 and they were about the same in madVR even though the 770 had more FLOPS. So now it seems the opposite is true.
seiyafan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2016, 10:16   #39807  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,977
the 1060 has less gflops at the stock boost clock but every 1060 clocks way hjigher than the "max" boost clock that makes normal Gflop calculation pretty much worthless.

than we have openCL efficiency in the past AMD was way way better at this than nvidia even with copyback bug.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2016, 11:18   #39808  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Sorry guys, my new algo needs some more tweaking time. Maybe 1-2 weeks more, I don't know. Quality is constantly improving, though. Performance seems ok, but will require a decent GPU.

Will be back to answer all open questions/comments when the new algo is completed.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2016, 12:49   #39809  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Will be back to answer all open questions/comments when the new algo is completed.
At least this.. upscaler or post processing?
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2016, 12:54   #39810  |  Link
jerryleungwh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Sorry guys, my new algo needs some more tweaking time. Maybe 1-2 weeks more, I don't know. Quality is constantly improving, though. Performance seems ok, but will require a decent GPU.

Will be back to answer all open questions/comments when the new algo is completed.
Really looking forward to the next update, but how decent is "decent"? Sadly I only have a 960m GPU so do I get any benefit from the update?
jerryleungwh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2016, 13:14   #39811  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryleungwh View Post
Really looking forward to the next update, but how decent is "decent"? Sadly I only have a 960m GPU so do I get any benefit from the update?
A 960 is considered decent. But it all comes down to what exactly it is. If it's post processing then you'll be adding it on if it's an upscaler then you'll be replacing what you're already running (I would assume) so it's hard to know. You may just need to dial things back a tad, it's all just wild speculation at this point, just wait I'm sure he'll comment on the performance of it on release.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2016, 14:25   #39812  |  Link
CarlosCaco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Brasil, SP, São Paulo
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryleungwh View Post
Really looking forward to the next update, but how decent is "decent"? Sadly I only have a 960m GPU so do I get any benefit from the update?
I have two systems one laptop with a 930m and a desktop with a GTX 570 overclocked from factory
By what I see in brnchmarks the 960m is similar to my GTX 570, a little bit slower...
I think it's pretty decent on resolutions up to 1080, with some limitations... even with 930m that's a lot weaker I can use sxbr and refinements...
Sadly almost all maxwell mobile versions are stacked to optimus that bottleneck a lot perfomance... but still can do a lot of things...
But if you think in upgrade your system with the money you can buy a gamer laptop you can build a much better desktop rig
__________________
Desktop, i5 2500, 8GB, N570 GTX TF III PE/OC
Asus X555LF, i7-5500U, 6GB Ram, Nvidia 930m/HD 5500
Windows 8.1 Pro x64
CarlosCaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2016, 18:08   #39813  |  Link
Ignus2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 249
I'm looking for 16-bit RGB fccs, and I also looked inside the madVR.ax binaries to learn something, and I noticed something odd. The order of FCCs and later their namings(?) are as they appear in the file:
Code:
FCC  - Meaning(?)
-----+--------
RGB0 - RGB48LE
0RGB - RGB48BE
b48r - b48r
RBA@ - RGB64BE
@RBA - RGB64LE
b64a - b48a
Aren't RGB64BE/RGB64LE mixed up for their fccs?

Just thought I'd report, I might be totally wrong, so if this is a false alarm, just ignore my post.

Greets,
I.
__________________
http://magicyuv.com - MagicYUV: a new fast lossless video codec for the 4K and multi-core era...
Ignus2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2016, 21:08   #39814  |  Link
bcec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 81
I am getting ~8ms hit when using latest nvidia drivers in Windows 10 x64 with anniversary update (nvidia driver version 375.57). 368.81 is the latest driver I've found that doesn't have that extra hit. Is this a known issue? I downloaded the drivers from nVidia's site.

Last edited by bcec; 22nd October 2016 at 21:11.
bcec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2016, 22:31   #39815  |  Link
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcec View Post
I am getting ~8ms hit when using latest nvidia drivers in Windows 10 x64 with anniversary update (nvidia driver version 375.57). 368.81 is the latest driver I've found that doesn't have that extra hit. Is this a known issue? I downloaded the drivers from nVidia's site.
Change from Optimal to Adaptive for Power Management.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2016, 22:51   #39816  |  Link
bcec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 81
^ that did it, thank you!
bcec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2016, 01:09   #39817  |  Link
TimAhKin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 1
Anyone has memory leaks when going full screen? I'm using PotPlayer.

I have a 390x GPU with 16.10.2 driver version.
TimAhKin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2016, 04:00   #39818  |  Link
Georgel
Visual Novel Dev.
 
Georgel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 196
I started getting jagged and aliased edges... no idea why...

I'm not sure what I updated, did an entire windows reinstall. Nvi drivers official, and latest windows. Some edges are jagged / there is a ton of image error that wasn't there before the reinstall and it's persistent with all madVR settings (even though some settings seem to alleviate it).

Should I install the nvidia driver from official manufacturer, or what would solve this?
Georgel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2016, 08:40   #39819  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Georgel View Post
I started getting jagged and aliased edges... no idea why...
I probably wouldn't use the very latest nvidia drivers. Try one or two versions back using a clean install. Reset madVR to defaults if you must.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2016, 09:25   #39820  |  Link
Betroz
Is this for real?
 
Betroz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by Georgel View Post
Should I install the nvidia driver from official manufacturer, or what would solve this?
The 368.81 drivers from nVidia are good.
__________________
My HTPC : i7 6900K @ 4.2 | nVidia GTX 1080Ti | TV : Samsung 75Q9FN QLED
Betroz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.