Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 29th May 2019, 20:04   #56381  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,626
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisssj2 View Post
So which version should I be using?
430.86 has been working very well for me. 430.53 fixed that bug.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2019, 04:44   #56382  |  Link
ka
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 4
Hey guys on my laptop when I use madvr and MPC-HC some videos (not all of them, but most of the mkv's) became colors washed out in fullscreen. (btw this does not happen on my external monitor)
ka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2019, 07:40   #56383  |  Link
Charky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 57
Washed out colors (or crushed blacks) usually come from a wrong 0-255/16-235 setup.

Check your driver and/or monitor settings.
__________________
Charky

"Rule #1 : If it works, don't change anything."
Charky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2019, 08:32   #56384  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,626
On your laptop madVR should be set to output full range 0-255, but it only happens in fullscreen? If that was the issue it should not be only when fullscreen. Any more details, like OS, GPU, driver, laptop model, etc?
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2019, 13:14   #56385  |  Link
baker99uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 16
I'm wondering if there is any disadvantage to using CUVID in the LAV video filter? Is D3D11 better quality? The reaaon I ask is that D3D11 drops lots of frames at default settings in madVR, if I reduce everything I can just about get it working but then I get random artifacts, madVR doesn't report any presentation glitches though. With CUVID everything is perfect even with higher settings in madVR. I also noice huge cpu usage using D3D11 , I get similar results with dxva2 native or copy back to D3D11.

I'm trying to watch 4K HDR content in 3840 × 2160 resolution, 23Hz, RGB Full, 12 bit, using a 6GB Nvidia 1060, CPU is i5 6400, 16 GB of RAM, latest Nvidia drivers, I've tried both the standard LAV filters and the nightly builds. This is on MPC-HC. TV is LG C6.

If there's no negative effect to using CUVID I'll carry on using it, I just can't seem to find the answer searching around.
baker99uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2019, 13:24   #56386  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 507
CUVID puts the GPU into higher performance state. Maybe that's why you get fewer dropped frames than with DXVA but it shouldn't happen.
Check that the power saving mode in NVIDIA control panel is on Adaptive.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1809, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2019, 13:27   #56387  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,778
Quote:
Originally Posted by garson View Post
Hello everyone.
Occasionally I am experiencing stuttering in moving scenes, but no dropped frames or presentation glitches.
How can I track what is causing this?

I enabled full screen exclusive mode, looks like it is helping a bit but still I see it.
Does FSE still makes sense?

I am using madVR v0.92.17 with latest MPC-HC on Windows 10 64 bit.

maybe start with a screen of the OSD.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2019, 13:35   #56388  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,983
CUVID puts your GPU in high performance mode (always highest clock speed). This is the only 'disadvantage', but only if your care about power consumption. Quality is identical to other decoders.

Adjust your NVIDIA settings to use "Adaptive" power mode. By default it uses "Optimal" which give bad performance.

If to other hardware decoders give high CPU, then they are probably not working correctly. Perhaps you have multiple GPUs? In that case, DXVA2/D3D11 have option to select the correct GPU.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2019, 13:41   #56389  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisssj2 View Post
Already using those ssettings.
Though I dont see a prefer nvidia on optimus setting.

Anyway these settings make 0 difference appearently.
The NVIDIA control panel doesn't show all options. The tool in the my download link does show it. That specific option is only relevant for Optimus laptops.

The included profile applies specifically to MPC and doesn't touch the global settings.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2019, 14:56   #56390  |  Link
baker99uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 16
After a bit more digging it seems external LAV filters are only using video accelleration when CUVID is enabled, the internal filters with MPC-HC do all use video acceleration but of course there's no D3D 11 option. I'm guessing this is a question for the LAV forum rather than here.
baker99uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2019, 15:52   #56391  |  Link
baker99uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 16
For anyone else with the same issue - Using LAV 0.71 allows D3D11 hardware acceleration for me, any newer versions break it, also the adaptive power setting helps too as suggested above.
baker99uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2019, 17:42   #56392  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by baker99uk View Post
For anyone else with the same issue - Using LAV 0.71 allows D3D11 hardware acceleration for me, any newer versions break it, also the adaptive power setting helps too as suggested above.
Which OS are you on? There is no reason D3D11 should not work, it works for many other users just fine.

Would you report this in the LAV thread with all hardware, OS and video details?
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2019, 18:02   #56393  |  Link
Daicon
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daicon View Post
The only option in Kodi to use MADVR with HDR goes through Kodi DSPlayer ???

There is no other?
anyy?
Daicon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2019, 18:04   #56394  |  Link
baker99uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
Which OS are you on? There is no reason D3D11 should not work, it works for many other users just fine.

Would you report this in the LAV thread with all hardware, OS and video details?
Will do, have been doing various tests all day so will try to do a thorough report in a bit
baker99uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2019, 20:57   #56395  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 802
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daicon View Post
anyy?
the only other way to do it is use kodi with a madvr supported external player like mpc-be, might as well just use kodi ds, its old but it still works fine.
__________________
OLED EF950-YAMAHA RX-V685-Win101809-4K 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX580 198.1
KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.14/0.72.2 - FSE / 3D / DIRECT3D11 / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2019, 23:39   #56396  |  Link
ka
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
On your laptop madVR should be set to output full range 0-255, but it only happens in fullscreen? If that was the issue it should not be only when fullscreen. Any more details, like OS, GPU, driver, laptop model, etc?
Intel HD 630, RTX 2080, GE75 Raider 8SG, Windows 10 1809.

Only some mkvs does that on laptop monitor when fullscreen. Everything is fine on external monitor.
ka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 00:17   #56397  |  Link
garson
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
maybe start with a screen of the OSD.
Sure, here it is. I think watching full hd (on full hd screen) I don't see this issue, but HD and SD I occasionaly see this.
Screenshot is 720p movie.


Last edited by garson; 31st May 2019 at 00:23.
garson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 01:37   #56398  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,190
Asmodian, how does HD upscaled to 1440P @ 120hz Smooth Motion look? Also is 4K worth downscaling with SSIM 2D to that res for 120hz SM? Just curious..
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 02:00   #56399  |  Link
grendelrt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 13
I have a weird issue. I used the report 2020 to display option to do some testing, and now even when I am on the desktop and in SDR on 709 material, my display is still getting reported BT2020. If I switch sources to my Oppo player it clears, but no matter what I do now on my computer it is stuck sending the BT2020 flag. Is there any way to clear this?

Edit: A full DDU uninstall of the drivers seemed to have fixed it. Isnt that option supposed to work as a toggle though? If I uncheck it, shouldnt it turn that flag off that nvidia is sending?

Last edited by grendelrt; 31st May 2019 at 02:43.
grendelrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 04:00   #56400  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,778
Quote:
Originally Posted by garson View Post
Sure, here it is. I think watching full hd (on full hd screen) I don't see this issue, but HD and SD I occasionaly see this.
Screenshot is 720p movie.
is this screen pause? the OSD show very odd numbers.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.