Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > New and alternative video codecs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 5th December 2009, 23:15   #61  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,351
Thanks. I spent all day trying to crack this bug. I was not able to get it to crash after making that change. Of course, albain didn't commit his latest changes to SVN last I checked so my version doesn't have his DTS-HD fix, but, anyway it still works. Watching Monsters Inc with my son right now. We never got to finish it the other night.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 11, AMD 5900X, RTX 3080, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG G2 77" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2009, 23:25   #62  |  Link
whurlston
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 207
I let my compile finish and tested it anyway and this works. TaudioParser block starting at line 437 (addition in bold):

Code:
            if (useDTSHDPassthrough && newsrcBuffer->size() > 0)
            {
              if (backupbuf.size()!=0)
                  backupbuf.append(&newsrcBuffer->begin(), newsrcBuffer->size());
              newsrcBuffer->clear();
              audioParserData.frames.clear();
            }
I'm going to remove the line and test your change now.
whurlston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2009, 23:27   #63  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,351
Ok. When I checked the size on backupbuf even during working runs it was 0, so, I didn't think that was a viable option. Basically your code is never going to fill that backupbuf. And I'm not sure what it even does. It's no different than commenting out the line, though.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 11, AMD 5900X, RTX 3080, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG G2 77" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2009, 23:32   #64  |  Link
whurlston
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 207
That's what I was thinking which is why I deleted my previous post. Your change works for me as well so I say go with yours unless albain shoots us both down.

Code:
            if (useDTSHDPassthrough && newsrcBuffer->size() > 0)
            {
              backupbuf.append(&*newsrcBuffer->begin(), newsrcBuffer->size());
              newsrcBuffer->clear();
              audioParserData.frames.clear();
            }
whurlston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2009, 23:34   #65  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,351
Sweet. That was fun. LOL
__________________
HTPC: Windows 11, AMD 5900X, RTX 3080, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG G2 77" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2009, 23:39   #66  |  Link
albain
Media Control author
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 1,014
Hi, sorry for the delay

You found the solution actually : this &* thing is the solution, it is reproduced elsewhere in the code. I think this is a matter of cast to get the right address.

This block of code line 437 corresponds to that case :
in the previous parsing loop I detected a DTS core block and added it to the output buffer (newsrcbuffer).
But after that I detected a DTS HD block : so the stream format is not DTS but DTS HD.
And I cannot let this DTS block into the output buffer if I don't have a full DTS HD block because DTS HD bitstream are pairs of 1 DTS core and 1 DTS HD block

So I have to remove it, back it up and get it back once I have my full HD block.

Great job, I wouldn't have suspected this. When you're looking for errors, you don't look after missing stars between & and a variable ! :-)

Would you join the developers team ?

EDIT : by the way there is a similar mistake line 748, it concerns DD+ (and it would explain crashes with this format a few weeks ago)

THANKS AGAIN !

EDIT2 : also the last build should work better I hope with non working DTS HD samples. I am committing the sources so that you get the last fixes

Last edited by albain; 5th December 2009 at 23:44.
albain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2009, 23:41   #67  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,351
Awesome. That was a tough little bug to find and fix! But I'm glad that solution works. Very nice.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 11, AMD 5900X, RTX 3080, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG G2 77" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2009, 23:52   #68  |  Link
albain
Media Control author
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 1,014
Yes, awesome buddy !

Fixes committed in revision 3145

And here comes a new build too

So now can we say that TrueHD and DTS HD are fully functional on the ATI 5xxx series ?
albain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2009, 23:55   #69  |  Link
whurlston
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by albain View Post
So now can we say that TrueHD and DTS HD are fully functional on the ATI 5xxx series ?
Seconded.
whurlston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2009, 23:56   #70  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,351
Mostly I would agree with that, yes. WaveOut does not work on DTS-HD MA for me. The receiver never locks...keeps searching for an audio signal. But all the other renderers work for me. (Well, arcsoft doesn't but that's never done anything for me.) DirectShow both default and ATI, MPC, etc. All working now. Thanks so much for your work on this!!!!!!
__________________
HTPC: Windows 11, AMD 5900X, RTX 3080, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG G2 77" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2009, 00:06   #71  |  Link
albain
Media Control author
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 1,014
Thanks to you on this one fellows

Man, if I knew that I would have built 47 betas to get this working (compared to the 23 betas for the initial implementation of the audio parser for Truehd and DD+ decoding, also with madshi's contribution).
albain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2009, 00:09   #72  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,351
It probably would have been easier on you had I set up a dev environment on that machine earlier. sigh. I was just afraid of breaking my only working player at the time. And indeed, if VS is running, TMT3 refuses to start. However, it's ok as long as VS isn't running, so at least now I know I can have both on the same machine. If you need help with anything else, just yell.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 11, AMD 5900X, RTX 3080, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG G2 77" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2009, 00:12   #73  |  Link
sub24ox7
Audiophile
 
sub24ox7's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: United States of America
Posts: 58
Okay with build 49 and my xonar and arcsoft renderer DTS-HD movies that crashed (well all dts-hd movies crashed before) now don't crash in fact i can't find any movies that will crash it i think you fixed it 100% as for as the bug you were looking for.
I can also skip anywhere in the movie and voila the audio doesn't miss a beat. This build is close to perfection for the xonar with arcsoft renderer, I am sure you would like to get the xonar to work with direct sound or waveout because you can't incorporate arcsoft renderer into ffdshow, and it would be nice if the same renderer worked with both the xonar and the ati 5*** series cards. Anyway I thought I would share the xonar side of your success. And by the way awesome job Samurihl in finding the reason for the app crash.

Cheers
__________________
never give up or at least die trying

Last edited by sub24ox7; 6th December 2009 at 00:15.
sub24ox7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2009, 00:17   #74  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,351
That's really good news that it's not crashing for you on the Xonar, as well! Sweet!! It took WAY longer to find this bug than it should have. I was stubborn and was looking for a way to trace into the code directly. I finally gave up on that and started adding dprintf's all over the place. That helped me narrow it down, but, even then I got it wrong a couple times. Java is so much easier. I used to be very good at C++ but I haven't really done much with it in a few years. It's coming back to me now, though. I'm just glad I was able to find this as it was driving me insane. Working with one renderer, not with another, then working on one run but not the next. BLAH! I'm putting together a list of renderers that don't work with the ATI card now.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 11, AMD 5900X, RTX 3080, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG G2 77" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2009, 00:25   #75  |  Link
albain
Media Control author
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 1,014
I have updated the first post according to the last (good) results

I hope now that DD+ is working too and that I'll figure out a solution for the xonar.

Last step after that LPCM support and we are done!

I will continue tomorrow.

Thanks again SamuriHl for your hard work
albain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2009, 00:27   #76  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,351
DTS-HD MA (Monsters Inc which was crashing until the new build):
ATI HDMI Output - Doesn't lock and continues to search for the audio track
Default WaveOut Device - see above, same as ATI HDMI Output
Cyberlink Audio Renderer - LPCM as always
MPC - Working
Default DirectSound - Working
DirectSound: ATI HDMI Output - Working
ArcSoft - No audio, doesn't even try to find an audio stream

TrueHD (Mounted ISO rebuilt with tsMuxer):
ATI HDMI Output - Working
Default WaveOut Device - Working
Cyberlink Audio Renderer - LPCM as always, INSANELY SLOW playback...audio really messed up
MPC - Working
Default DirectSound - Working
DirectSound: ATI HDMI Output - Working
ArcSoft - No audio, doesn't even try to find an audio stream

As you can see there are differences between TrueHD and DTS-HD MA. albain, let me know if you need anything from me.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 11, AMD 5900X, RTX 3080, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG G2 77" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2009, 00:28   #77  |  Link
sub24ox7
Audiophile
 
sub24ox7's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: United States of America
Posts: 58
I am trying this very minute the TrondheimSolistene divertimenti blu-ray on my hdd and i am having complete success with it on both the dts-hd 192,000hz 24bit 5.1 channel and the true-hd 192,000hz 24bit 5.1 channel track. so it seems to work with the 192,000hz tracks of both perfectly!!! this with the same setup as my previous post! beta 49. I even had trouble getting the dts-hd track of this one with the official totalmedia theatre 3 from arcsoft, but not with ffdshow I can get both the lpcm(obviously most likely molested) which never worked and the dolby-true hd and dts-hd bitperfect to receiver awesome!
__________________
never give up or at least die trying

Last edited by sub24ox7; 6th December 2009 at 00:48.
sub24ox7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2009, 00:30   #78  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,351
DD+ still not working for me either from an m2ts or mkv. It gives me LPCM.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 11, AMD 5900X, RTX 3080, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG G2 77" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2009, 00:30   #79  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
47 and 49 trials:

Vista 32/SP2:

THD gives core ac3
DTSHD-MA gives core ac3
rica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2009, 00:33   #80  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,351
Quote:
Originally Posted by sub24ox7 View Post
I am trying this very minute the divermenti blu-ray on my hdd and i am having complete success with it on both the dts-hd 192,000hz 24bit 5.1 channel and the true-hd 192,000hz 24bit 5.1 channel track. so it seems to work with the 192,000hz tracks of both perfectly!!! this with the same setup as my previous post! beta 49
Most impressive! This is awesome!! I just watched all of Monsters Inc with my son using this. I could have used PDVD9, but, it's SO nice to just throw the disc in, open MPC-HC, file Open DVD, and it brings you right to the main movie and bitstreams the audio flawlessly. YEY!!!!
__________________
HTPC: Windows 11, AMD 5900X, RTX 3080, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG G2 77" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.