Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 15th October 2017, 14:50   #14401  |  Link
stax76
staxrip & mpv.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,239
There is also hvc due to most file extensions being 3 characters in Windows.

264 h264 avc
265 h265 hvc hevc
__________________
StaxRip - use pastebin for log files and imgbox for screenshots
mpv.net player
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2017, 16:16   #14402  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,223
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax76 View Post
Last major feature megui implemented is x264 released 2004...
??

Here we are talking about eac3to GUI's.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2017, 21:10   #14403  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,223
The .h265 extracted with eac3to v3.32 from this sample don't play fine.

Extracted with MkvExtract is ok.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2017, 21:30   #14404  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in HD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
The .h265 extracted with eac3to v3.32 from this sample don't play fine.
Just-so-you-know...

I downloaded your sample, transferred it to an USB pen-drive and can confirm that it plays fine in my LG television.


Cheers
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2017, 01:02   #14405  |  Link
Megalith
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
HdBrStreamExtractor is updated in MeGUI -> Tools -> HD Streams Extractor



Or UsEac3to v1.2.7

All other GUI's are abandoned.
Thank you, MeGUI seems to be working great. It looks like I can finally move away from Clown_BD.

I am still confused about how eac3to handles Atmos tracks, though. Is an Atmos track the same thing as a TrueHD track, or is eac3to converting Atmos to a TrueHD track for compatibility reasons? Dolby's naming convention isn't helping me understand it any better.
Megalith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2017, 01:12   #14406  |  Link
Megalith
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 60
Well, looks like eac3to and MeGUI has failed, too. This is what an UHD HEVC file looks like when muxed to MKV. Only MKVToolNix appears to do it correctly. (Actually, maybe the problem lies with MKVToolNix in not handling separate/extracted files correctly...)


Last edited by Megalith; 16th October 2017 at 01:27.
Megalith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2017, 01:38   #14407  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,223
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
I downloaded your sample, transferred it to an USB pen-drive and can confirm that it plays fine in my LG television.
The uploaded sample work fine, but if you extract the .h265 with eac3to and play it, even re-remuxed to mkv, fails (like the Megalith image).
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2017, 01:46   #14408  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,223
Quote:
Originally Posted by Megalith View Post
I am still confused about how eac3to handles Atmos tracks, though. Is an Atmos track the same thing as a TrueHD track, or is eac3to converting Atmos to a TrueHD track for compatibility reasons?
A Atmos track is a TrueHD track with extra metadata than only a receiver with Atmos support (and ceiling speakers) can understand.

The metadata remain in thd extracted by eac3to/mkvextract.
Standard receivers ignore that metadata.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2017, 02:24   #14409  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,223
Another sample with problems.

Remark the different size of extracted .h265
Code:
15/10/2017  22:03       177.693.906 Arrival UHD Sample.mkv_ 0.h265  (mkvextract)
15/10/2017  21:59       157.722.039 Arrival UHD Sample.mkv_1eng.h265 (eac3to)
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2017, 14:09   #14410  |  Link
VAMET
UTAVATU
 
VAMET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Gdynia, Poland
Posts: 25
Dear madshi

I have used eac3to to identify my .mkv files and I have got such results:

Quote:
MKV, 2 video tracks, 1 audio track, 2:15:58, 24p /1.001
1: h265/HEVC, English, 2160p24 /1.001 (16:9), 10 bits
2: h265/HEVC, English, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9), 10 bits - Dolby Vision Enhancement Layer
3: DTS Master Audio, English, 7.1 channels, 24 bits, 48kHz (core: DTS, 5.1 channels, 1509kbps, 48kHz)
Source disk has got DTS:X audio track, why it's not identified as DTS:X, but DTS Master Audio? The next .mkv file, which I show results below, has got in source disk Dolby Atmos and in the .mkv file it's Dolby Atmos too, which is correctly identified.

Quote:
MKV, 2 video tracks, 1 audio track, 2:34:39, 24p /1.001
1: h265/HEVC, English, 2160p24 /1.001 (16:9), 10 bits
2: h265/HEVC, English, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9), 10 bits - Dolby Vision Enhancement Layer
3: TrueHD (Atmos), English, 7.1 channels, 48kHz, 32ms
My second question, why there is not core embedded in track 3 TrueHD (Atmos) like in first .mkv file for DTS Master Audio (core: DTS, 5.1 channels, 1509kbps, 48kHz)?

Thank you in advance for your support.

Sincerely
__________________
VAMET

ALLEGRO BLOG FACEBOOK
VAMET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2017, 17:26   #14411  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,223
Quote:
Originally Posted by VAMET View Post
why it's not identified as DTS:X, but DTS Master Audio?
Because eac3to can't detect DTS:X, maybe can be a feature request (not important for me, because can be extracted preserving DTS:X info, and can be decoded like standard DTS-MA)

Quote:
why there is not core embedded in track 3 TrueHD (Atmos)
Because TrueHD don't have any 'core', like DTS-HD have.
The AC3 track interleaved with TrueHD track is only possible in m2ts container, in mkv must be a different track.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.

Last edited by tebasuna51; 22nd October 2017 at 17:34. Reason: add info
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.