Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > New and alternative video codecs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 4th September 2018, 23:28   #701  |  Link
poisondeathray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by preludium975 View Post
I tried DNxHR HQX and GoPro CineForm. All of them, after exporting, at 30 seconds-1 minute intervals duplicate frames. Like fps drop, but not fps drop, its just sometimes duplicate frames.

Here is a test encode for example, at 00:43-00:47. here

Who has an idea?

Did you check at what stage of the process that it occurred ? e.g. is it in your source, in resolve after decoding , after export, or after decoding the export then encoding to your final format ?

What about other export formats ? eg. uncompressed . If that has problem too then that suggests problem with your settings (maybe fps mismatch) or problem with source decoding in resolve

Maybe a mod should move these last few posts , because they have nothing to do with magicyuv
poisondeathray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2018, 01:26   #702  |  Link
WorBry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Here, there and everywhere
Posts: 1,134
The 'test encode' is a 720x302, 23.976, AVC.mkv file - there's no way it came out of Resolve.

Quote:
Originally Posted by poisondeathray View Post
Maybe a mod should move these last few posts , because they have nothing to do with magicyuv
True.

@Preludium975. I see you registered on the Blackmagic Forum:

https://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/v...it=HDR#p434386

Probably best to address all of your Resolve-related issues there. I'd suggest you give more contextual information though, if you want answers.
__________________
Nostalgia's not what it used to be

Last edited by WorBry; 5th September 2018 at 05:41.
WorBry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2018, 07:08   #703  |  Link
preludium975
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by WorBry View Post
The 'test encode' is a 720x302, 23.976, AVC.mkv file - there's no way it came out of Resolve.
Yes, i encoded it with x264. But in the source file also there is the lag. I just don't want to send a 500GiB file.
preludium975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2018, 07:24   #704  |  Link
WorBry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Here, there and everywhere
Posts: 1,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by preludium975 View Post
Yes, i encoded it with x264. But in the source file also there is the lag. I just don't want to send a 500GiB file.
I'm assuming by that you mean the Resolve export (DNxHR, Cineform) that you used as source for the x264 encoding, not the original (HDR) source? If so then it would point to some FPS-mismatch (likely settings related) going on in Resolve.

Quite honestly if that is your target x264 format and you are only using Resolve for the HDR>SDR conversion, why jump through these hoops, generating large intermediate files in the process - you could do it all with AVISynth(+) or VapourSynth, like Kolak suggested?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kolak View Post
Is Resolve HDR to SDR conversion any decent? I think you may get as good results natively in avs or vs and avoid whole Resolve route.
__________________
Nostalgia's not what it used to be

Last edited by WorBry; 5th September 2018 at 07:35.
WorBry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2018, 14:28   #705  |  Link
preludium975
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by WorBry View Post
I'm assuming by that you mean the Resolve export (DNxHR, Cineform) that you used as source for the x264 encoding, not the original (HDR) source? If so then it would point to some FPS-mismatch (likely settings related) going on in Resolve.

Quite honestly if that is your target x264 format and you are only using Resolve for the HDR>SDR conversion, why jump through these hoops, generating large intermediate files in the process - you could do it all with AVISynth(+) or VapourSynth, like Kolak suggested?
The best Tone Mapper for now the DaVinci Resolve. Yes, I tone mapped HDR->SDR, then I exported it to DNxHR HQX.
I need the Resolve, because this is the best solution.

The last thing, what need to be works, the DNxHR HQX. Because this is a visually lossless encoder. Cineform are great too, but this is also duplicating frames...
preludium975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2018, 16:44   #706  |  Link
WorBry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Here, there and everywhere
Posts: 1,134
Well if there's a FPS mismatch going on it will appear in the Resolve export whatever the format. Like Poisondeathray said, to pin-point where that is occurring means going through your Resolve project set-up. Really this is not the place for that, but if it brings closure on this issue (and this segment of the thread gets moved anyway):

1. What is the format and FPS of your original HDR source, as declared (Clip Details or Clip Attributes) by Resolve on import ?

2. What is the declared project timeline frame-rate after you have loaded your clips on the timeline. Check in Project Settings > Master Settings > Timeline Format. Resolve defaults to 24FPS. If your source frame-rate is different, when you import the first clip you will be given the option to change the project frame-rate to match the source or leave at default 24FPS, in which case it will be 'locked' at 24FPS - can't be changed subsequently. Otherwise you should set-up the project Timeline Format beforehand. Your problem could be right there. 23.976p source in 24p project maybe ?

3. I'm assuming you didn't mess with Clip Speed/Duration/Retime on the timeline ?

4. What was the render (Delivery) frame-rate setting on export to Cineform, DNxHD ?. Default is the project frame-rate, but there may be other options. A 24 FPS project timeline for example will give the option of exporting at 24, 23.976 or 30 (3:2) FPS. Potential for FPS discontinuity there also.

With that advice you should be able to figure out where FPS discontinuity occurred, if it did. Don't bring it back here though. If you still have issues, address it on the Blackmagic Forum.

Quote:
Originally Posted by preludium975 View Post
The best Tone Mapper for now the DaVinci Resolve.
Based on what ? Again though, not a point for discussion in this thread.

Edit: Incidentally where exactly (frame sequence position) are the duplicate frames occurring in your 'Test.mkv' file ? Started manually frame stepping through the file with VDub2 but got fed up about a third of the way .
__________________
Nostalgia's not what it used to be

Last edited by WorBry; 5th September 2018 at 22:28.
WorBry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.