Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th August 2019, 18:08   #57221  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,625
Both, core is very important but a memory overclock has a big impact too.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2019, 18:25   #57222  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Both, core is very important but a memory overclock has a big impact too.
Thank you, sir!
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2019, 18:48   #57223  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 801
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgermo View Post
Thats the thing. OS HDR works as intended, AMD HDR is crushed. On tv (hdr settings) and gpu its on high, full, also madvr and lan video decoder. Dont know where else to set it.
p.s. Basicly it seems d3d11 is to blame, but dont know what i can do about it.
there are no known black crush issues with AMD HDR with or without d3d11 i am aware of, still think you've got something not set right on your setup.

Mine:

windows - 444 full RGB 8 bit
MADVR - 0-255 / 10 bit / FSE & use DIRECT3D ticked -
LG OLED EF950v TV - black level - high - brightness 50 / gamma 2.2
__________________
OLED EF950-YAMAHA RX-V685-Win101809-4K 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX580 198.1
KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.14/0.72.2 - FSE / 3D / DIRECT3D11 / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2019, 19:33   #57224  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 395
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
there are no known black crush issues with AMD HDR with or without d3d11 i am aware of, still think you've got something not set right on your setup.

Mine:

windows - 444 full RGB 8 bit
MADVR - 0-255 / 10 bit / FSE & use DIRECT3D ticked -
LG OLED EF950v TV - black level - high - brightness 50 / gamma 2.2

He might be using a displayport to Hdmi2.0 converter. These often cause gamma crush on TVs.
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2019, 19:39   #57225  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
there are no known black crush issues with AMD HDR with or without d3d11 i am aware of, still think you've got something not set right on your setup.

Mine:

windows - 444 full RGB 8 bit
MADVR - 0-255 / 10 bit / FSE & use DIRECT3D ticked -
LG OLED EF950v TV - black level - high - brightness 50 / gamma 2.2
Shouldn't you have madVR set to 8bit matching your other 8bit config?
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 @Matched Refresh Rates 8,10,12bit
KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD19 DVDFab 3 & 5
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2019, 20:19   #57226  |  Link
mgermo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 8
I have same settings. Windows default is 12bit, changed to 8bit for testing, no difference.
Discovered that you dont need to have hdr passthrough enabled, even if you have it on let madvr decide it decides on hdr mode (if you have d3d). And you dont need 10bit, if you put it on auto it goes to 10bit anyway. Unfortunately picture ramains way too dark aka i cant see anything (probably more than just black crush). If you need any more info...
p.s. Before I was on old 19.2 drivers, updated to new 19.8.1, same difference.
p.s.2. No hdmi-displayport converters
mgermo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2019, 20:23   #57227  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,625
Quote:
Originally Posted by brazen1 View Post
Shouldn't you have madVR set to 8bit matching your other 8bit config?
With AMD you have to send it 10 bit data or you cannot enable HDR. It is less than ideal.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2019, 21:44   #57228  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by skydreamer888 View Post

It is possible to implement an automatic switch of combinations of resolution, refresh rate, bit depth and color format in madVR?
I asked this a long time ago. Answer is no to bit depth and color format, I'm sure nothing has changed since.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2019, 23:36   #57229  |  Link
okc_smoker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 53
So my 5700 went back to Best Buy today. I'm using my RX 560 until the non-reference 5700 XT's become available. I just got a new receiver and I'm having issues passing through 4k @ 60Hz, so I've got that mess to keep me busy until then.
okc_smoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2019, 05:22   #57230  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 395
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgermo View Post
I have same settings. Windows default is 12bit, changed to 8bit for testing, no difference.
Discovered that you dont need to have hdr passthrough enabled, even if you have it on let madvr decide it decides on hdr mode (if you have d3d). And you dont need 10bit, if you put it on auto it goes to 10bit anyway. Unfortunately picture ramains way too dark aka i cant see anything (probably more than just black crush). If you need any more info...
p.s. Before I was on old 19.2 drivers, updated to new 19.8.1, same difference.
p.s.2. No hdmi-displayport converters
what tv is this.
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2019, 05:23   #57231  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 395
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
I asked this a long time ago. Answer is no to bit depth and color format, I'm sure nothing has changed since.
Gave up on all'o'dat auto switch nonsense. I just built a dedicated madvr box,

12bit 23.976hz 444 no more fiddling.

It's just easier.
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2019, 08:35   #57232  |  Link
mgermo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
what tv is this.
LG c8 oled
mgermo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2019, 15:17   #57233  |  Link
mgermo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 8
Ok guys, did some more testing, sth is messed up.
More info, sorry for long post.
Connection: pc (amd, rgb full) - denon avr (enahnced hdmi for hdr on) - lg c8 (deep color for hdr on, settings for sdr and hdr per rtings recommendations, hdmi high). Madvr set up according to various guides - they are pretty much standard options.
In sdr mode when I put black clipping video via pc it shows only 21-25 (it should be 17 onwards), happens in low low, high high hdmi. If I make it low (pc) high (tv) it shows 17 onwards but reference black is gray. This is via mp - hc + madvr and vlc. p.s.: Just checked tv youtube clipping test and again it shows only 21-25. So I guess tv settings are to blame but what? I reset settings but no change. Seriously?
Lets move to hdr.
With OS HDR activated black clipping video works perfectly. Colors are vibrant. Picture is brighter. BUT even though in clipping video reference black is black in movies blacks are elevated (Star wars intro for example).
And then there's AMD HDR, with d3d11 it passes hdr through or does it? TV shows hdr badge but picture is no different than non hdr win mode vlc - too dark.
Sounds like i'm a noob that screwed up all settings but I did everything that i'm supposed to, but still there's some mistake in there. Where?
Any help is appreciated.
mgermo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2019, 16:40   #57234  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 801
ok, sounds like a mess, i'd start from scratch and leave MADVR and HDR out of it for now, just get SDR working correctly first. Set 8bit 444 full RGB, set your TV black level to HIGH, set brightness and OLED to 50. Set gamma to 2.2 also on TV. Play the black clipping pattern using MPC-BE with standard EVR renderer, how does it look now?
__________________
OLED EF950-YAMAHA RX-V685-Win101809-4K 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX580 198.1
KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.14/0.72.2 - FSE / 3D / DIRECT3D11 / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2019, 18:24   #57235  |  Link
mgermo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 8
Same, only 21-25 visible. But it seems with so many settings i forgot the obvious one - brightness. If I put it to 60 i see lines from 17. But 234 white clips. If i set gamma 1.9 i can get perfect white and blacks at 56 brightness and 90 contrast (as opposed to 85 which i had per rtings settings). So I keep 1.9 gamma, I guess?
mgermo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2019, 18:58   #57236  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 801
thats a workaround for now but something isnt set right somewhere on your PC or TV, if you state your black level is definately set to HIGH and you are in 444 FULL RGB then i'm lost, could be your GFX card is pumping out the wrong colour space, maybe try a full driver wipe and reinstall, what card is it?
__________________
OLED EF950-YAMAHA RX-V685-Win101809-4K 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX580 198.1
KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.14/0.72.2 - FSE / 3D / DIRECT3D11 / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2019, 20:16   #57237  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,436
He said it's the same with the built-in player as well. Lg screwed up the gamma in recent firmwares.
Which fw do you have?
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2019, 20:57   #57238  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,254
The 5.10.3 firmware fixes that issue for the most part.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2019, 21:24   #57239  |  Link
j82k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgermo View Post
Same, only 21-25 visible. But it seems with so many settings i forgot the obvious one - brightness. If I put it to 60 i see lines from 17. But 234 white clips. If i set gamma 1.9 i can get perfect white and blacks at 56 brightness and 90 contrast (as opposed to 85 which i had per rtings settings). So I keep 1.9 gamma, I guess?
Panel variance...

Just quoting Ted here:
Quote:
Some LG OLED's have passed the factory QC (Quality Control) with near black clipping issues and shipped to stores, for these panels it will be required to adjust the Brightness to 55-56 or up to 60-61 (in worst case scenario) from the default 50 value for the near black clipping issue to be resolved.
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-d...l#post58376964

I know people don't want to believe that there can be such a huge panel variance with LG Oleds and but I've experienced this with my own C8. The original panel had a very bright low-end and then I got a replacement panel (due to vertical banding) which had an extremely dark/crushed low-end at default settings.
j82k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2019, 22:03   #57240  |  Link
toki
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 55
so, I overclocked the graphics card and now it skips more during playback?
toki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.