Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD burning

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th September 2002, 19:12   #1  |  Link
hoops10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 398
Pioneer dvd burner owners read!

I just saw this on The Screen Savers and it concerns those of us who own a pioneer dvd burner. You should update the firmware because of a possible firmware bug that could damage the drive when used with high speed media. I don't know if 2x would be considered high speed media or not. I also don't know if people have been having problems making stand alone compatible dvds once they've upgraded to the newest firmware. Please post any results or abnormalities that you've had since upgrading to the newest firmware.
hoops10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2002, 19:30   #2  |  Link
padre
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 399
hoops,

I think if you search the forum, you'll see that there are various posts where people have had issues with the upgrade.

I've upgraded my A03 from v1.80 to v1.90 and had no problems. But some others have had some.

No, the 2x media is not the 'high speed' they were talking about. They were talking about 4x media. So, if you're not intending on using 4x media, you should be okay to forgo the upgrade. The only other thin the upgrade does is support additional media at 2x. Well, since RitekG3 isn't supported at 2x with the A03 v1.90, it really hasn't impacted me.

Some users with A04 have reported success burning RitekG3 at 2x after the upgrade to v1.31 (different version for A04 vs.A03). Then, Pioneer added another upgrade, v1.32, which takes RitekG3/2x burning support away. I don't know what else v1.32 did over v1.31. Anyone?

Padre
padre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2002, 19:53   #3  |  Link
alexnoe
Banned
 
alexnoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,737
Quote:
I don't know if 2x would be considered high speed media or not.
???

You need nothing more than read one of the official Pioneer statements to see that 4x dvd-r and 2x dvd-rw media (and only these) are highspeed media.
alexnoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2002, 21:15   #4  |  Link
hoops10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 398
The Pioneer 104 can only burn dvd-r at 2x max. So if 2x media is not considered high speed, then what is? Unless the new firmware will allow people who own the 104/a04 to burn at 4x.
hoops10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2002, 21:21   #5  |  Link
padre
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 399
To owners of the A03 and A04, 4x IS high speed - we're just not able to burn at that rate with our drives.

The issue, apparently, is that using 4x dvd-r media (and 2x DVD-RW) in the A03 or A04 without the firmware upgrade may cause problems. It's not saying you'll burn the stuff at 4x. You just won't have problems (which they've described) if you've upgraded.
padre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2002, 21:28   #6  |  Link
alexnoe
Banned
 
alexnoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,737
padre, you won't even burn that stuff at 2x...the pioneer statement explicitely says that 4x dvd-r media will only be written at 1x with 1.90/1.32 (no statement as to if this is going to be fixed)

hoops: *inserting* 4x dvd-r or 2x dvd-rw media into a dvr-a03/4 with an obsolete firmware is enough to risk damaging the drive.

Last edited by alexnoe; 24th September 2002 at 21:32.
alexnoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2002, 22:24   #7  |  Link
Commander XJL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 483
I read on a web site that 4x media will burn at 2x with the 1.90 firmware update. Doesn't make sense it would backtrack to 1x
Commander XJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2002, 22:40   #8  |  Link
alexnoe
Banned
 
alexnoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,737
I don't know what funny websites you visit Of course does it make sense to limit speed to 1x.

These 4x media are made according to specifications the dvr-a03/a04 are not built for. Even worse, there are no 2x writing specs for dvr-a03/a04 at all. It's done individually for each media based on the 1x writing specs.

It possible that highspeed media cannot be written at 2x with dvr-a03/04, or that this process needs some optimization/tuning and that only later firmwares will allow 2x on highspeed media.

Look here and here.
alexnoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.