Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th October 2015, 09:46   #19801  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen R. Savage View Post
Have you been able to look into the issue I reported earlier (http://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php?...ostcount=19772)? Is there a bug tracker where I should report these issues?
Works fine here, after dropping the avi file into mkvtoolnix and simply remuxing it to mkv. Playing the avi: No subs. Playing the mkv: Subs work fine with both ISR and XySubFilter. Which means it's probably the avi splitter dropping the ball here.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2015, 13:05   #19802  |  Link
ibius
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
Its not intended as such, but just how it is for now. Its a known limitation and will be addressed in the future. A sample file might help.
Here you go: Sample

thx
ibius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2015, 19:47   #19803  |  Link
hubblec4
Matroska find' ich toll
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 958
hi nevcairiel

sorry for delay, but i have no time for uploading the whole dvd.

I get a new DVD - Homeland season 3 disk 1. Riped to disk with anydvd(no special settings) and the same behavior like Aliens DVD.

No buttons on the screen visible.

With Arcsoft TMT5 play fine.
hubblec4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2015, 20:16   #19804  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,865
You can upload the DVD without the big VOB files. It does not matter that you can't play it anymore. Nevcairiel can use dummy files if needed.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2015, 20:39   #19805  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,534
The menu should still be functional without the big VOBs, if its not its a weird DVD, and not sure I can do anything about it.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2015, 20:53   #19806  |  Link
hubblec4
Matroska find' ich toll
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 958
Homeland and Aliens DVD's without big vobs

Homleland
Homeland S3D1

Aliens

Last edited by hubblec4; 14th October 2015 at 20:58.
hubblec4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2015, 12:58   #19807  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
@nevcariel
Is there a ffmpeg build existing with nvdec (cuvid) support ?

your cuda decoder in lav decoder is already 0 copy right ?

http://www.qtav.org/blog/cuda_0_copy.html
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 15th October 2015 at 13:13.
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2015, 13:08   #19808  |  Link
Neeto
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 77
@nevcariel
Any chance of getting a 3.1 down mix in the mixer? The 4.0 down mix seems to be for a quad system, not a 3.1 system or am I missing something?
__________________
ASUS H97 Plus, Intel i5-4690 2.50Ghz, 16GB DD3 1600, XFX R9 270X 2GB DDR5, LynxTwo B
Win 8.1 Pro with WMC 64Bit, Kodi, MPC-HC 1.7.8, LAV 0.65.0, Reclock 1.8.8.5, HD AnyDVD
Neeto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2015, 13:19   #19809  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,755
Somewhere before (possibly in madVR?) I read that CUVID is obsolete because it won't support 10 bit depth etc.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2015, 13:26   #19810  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
NVCUVID was more the name for the Shader decoder part that surely is obsolete with the SIP Block NVCUVENC became NVENC but not sure.
I never understood that they renamed the Encoder part but left the Decoder part named NVCUVID and not NVDEC only guess is because of the so close to the CUDA part of the Decoder.

Under Windows 10 i would guess Microsoft want's the monopoly with DXVA2 also because of secure path considerations in the trusted zone of it and easier managing you dont make Secure Boot mandatory for nothing

So i guess IHVs own HW APIs under Windows 10 will come to an end.
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 15th October 2015 at 13:53.
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2015, 13:48   #19811  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,534
Quote:
Originally Posted by CruNcher View Post
Is there a ffmpeg build existing with nvdec (cuvid) support ?
I don't distribute ffmpeg builds outside of the libraries I use for LAV, so clearly this is the wrong place to ask anything like that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CruNcher View Post
your cuda decoder in lav decoder is already 0 copy right ?
If you want zero copy, use DXVA2-Native, its the only way to do that with DirectShow.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CruNcher View Post
Under Windows 10 i would guess Microsoft want's the monopoly with DXVA2, something platform independent is surely nothing they want
You have no idea what you are talking about.
Having a standardized interface for accelerated decoding that works with all vendors is just pure awesome. Make it work on DXVA2, and it works for NVIDIA, AMD and Intel. Talk to any Linux developer where they have to implement one API for every GPU vendor, its absolute pain.
On top of that, DXVA2 is actually documented quite well - not something you can say for about all the Linux things.

A "cross platform" interface would only ever go so far anyway, on Windows you want D3D, on Linux you obviously can't use D3D, so you end up with something different anyway.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders

Last edited by nevcairiel; 15th October 2015 at 13:54.
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2015, 14:06   #19812  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
Of course nevcariel that's convenient Sauron thought the same way

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zp7xHW-JcKk

With Low Level APIs this could change and Vulkan runs on Windows as well it doesn't need D3D except for the presentation
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 15th October 2015 at 14:20.
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2015, 14:17   #19813  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
Somewhere before (possibly in madVR?) I read that CUVID is obsolete because it won't support 10 bit depth etc.
there are more reasons. CUVID forces the GPU in the highest powerstate. that's pretty bad when one point of hardware decoding is lower power consumption...

it's the same decoder as DXVA and DXVA native is just faster.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2015, 14:23   #19814  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
Then try to lower the power output yourself on Video Playback and be surprised
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 15th October 2015 at 14:25.
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2015, 14:32   #19815  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,253
or i just use DXVA and have nothing to do...
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2015, 14:39   #19816  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
if you think its always efficient

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...84#post1741284
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2015, 14:52   #19817  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,253
what should i see there? the GM204 doesn't even have a fixed function HEVC decoder.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2015, 14:57   #19818  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,534
Quote:
Originally Posted by CruNcher View Post
Small spikes like that have no impact on the video playback. The renderer will buffer a couple video frames and present them using VSYNC, that way small "glitches" just vanish.
If a renderer would need a 100% smooth video stream, 90% of all video would look terribly stuttery.

If you think boosting your GPU to P0 for video playback helps smoothness, then by all means, there are easier ways to do that than force usage of CUVID.

In any case, CUVID is dead, and I might even remove it from LAV at some point. At the very least I'll likely disable it on Windows 10, because NVIDIA broke half of its functionality anyway and the remaining parts can easily bug out - not to mention lack of 10-bit support.

Thats not Microsoft promoting DXVA2, thats NVIDIA not fixing their API. NVIDIA has superb DXVA2 support though, full 10-bit and everything.

PS:
CUVID just used DXVA2 on the driver side anyway, it was just another API to plug CUDA interoperability on top of the DXVA video decoder.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders

Last edited by nevcairiel; 15th October 2015 at 15:00.
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2015, 15:25   #19819  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
I can fully understand that decision though these frequency shift "glitches" can be not only small but they can become freaking huge with DXVA Native

13 ms



0.4 ms

__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 15th October 2015 at 15:44.
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2015, 15:27   #19820  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,534
You are testing a hybrid decoder though, due to their high CPU usage they behave a bit more unusual than actual hardware decoders.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
decoders, directshow, filters, splitter

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.