Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 27th October 2020, 14:21   #61  |  Link
SaurusX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 89
Fantastic work on this. The results speak for themselves. Definitely improved quality when compared to SuperResXBR.
SaurusX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2020, 19:21   #62  |  Link
Alexkral
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 245
Thanks! I have managed to improve the VDSR models considerably, I will make a new release in the next few days.
__________________
AviSynth AiUpscale
Alexkral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th October 2020, 10:23   #63  |  Link
ReinerSchweinlin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 345
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexkral View Post
Thanks! I have managed to improve the VDSR models considerably, I will make a new release in the next few days.
Nice Thanx for your efforts !
ReinerSchweinlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2020, 04:47   #64  |  Link
Alexkral
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 245
AviSynth AiUpscale v1.1.0

Changes:
- Improved the VDSR models.
- Added new parameter to set the output bit depth.
- When the output is less than 16 bit, the conversion is now done on the GPU with ordered dithering.
- Alpha planes are now upscaled with Lanczos instead of being removed.

The VDSR models have been substantially improved for all scale factors after adjusting some training options. About the dithering, I honestly don't remember what I read that made me think that it wasn't good for this, but after doing some tests it is clear that this is not the case. So doing the conversion now on the GPU should mean a nice speed-up, more noticeable for the faster models.

Also, I have found that at least on my system there is a benefit when using four threads, so try using Prefetch(4) at the end of your scripts.
__________________
AviSynth AiUpscale
Alexkral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2020, 07:36   #65  |  Link
gmail123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 23
vdsr model:
AiUpscale1.01--SSIM Mean Y:0.9707451 (15.338db)
--PSNR Mean Y:40.994 U:49.153 V:49.248 Avg:42.249

AiUpscale1.10-- SSIM Mean Y:0.9709488 (15.368db)
--PSNR Mean Y:40.976 U:49.103 V:49.290 Avg:42.233
gmail123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2020, 11:43   #66  |  Link
Alexkral
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 245
Set5 - Photo

Code:
1.5x

       Model              PSNR                SSIM       
    ____________    ________________    _________________

    'VDSR-1.1.0'     40.303107806444    0.977076850531857
    'VDSR-1.0.1'    40.0231705258812    0.976284959358199

2x

       Model              PSNR                SSIM       
    ____________    ________________    _________________

    'VDSR-1.1.0'    37.0541978031766    0.957678515410715
    'VDSR-1.0.1'    36.6700956028294    0.955898000384579

2.5x

       Model              PSNR                SSIM       
    ____________    ________________    _________________

    'VDSR-1.1.0'    34.7290845636078    0.936933199722221
    'VDSR-1.0.1'    34.3833689195523    0.933502938036026

3x
       Model              PSNR                SSIM       
    ____________    ________________    _________________

    'VDSR-1.1.0'    33.0708644076159    0.914888194061316
    'VDSR-1.0.1'    32.7252438666527    0.910143847730622

3.5x

       Model              PSNR                SSIM       
    ____________    ________________    _________________

    'VDSR-1.1.0'    31.7451881124588    0.891913536377046
    'VDSR-1.0.1'    31.4385026528417    0.885549575366799

4x

       Model              PSNR                SSIM       
    ____________    ________________    _________________

    'VDSR-1.1.0'    30.6333993713215    0.868059737258679
    'VDSR-1.0.1'    30.3843028542906    0.861332075381644
Set5 - Illustration

Code:
1.5x

       Model              PSNR                SSIM       
    ____________    ________________    _________________

    'VDSR-1.1.0'    40.3110321290525    0.976887220812664
    'VDSR-1.0.1'    40.1070682034134    0.976346287794712

2x

       Model              PSNR                SSIM       
    ____________    ________________    _________________

    'VDSR-1.1.0'    36.9362257004149    0.956827635790212
    'VDSR-1.0.1'     36.631527053702     0.95544423942317

2.5x

       Model              PSNR                SSIM       
    ____________    ________________    _________________

    'VDSR-1.1.0'    34.3816642584093    0.933170040816044
    'VDSR-1.0.1'    34.1517733908771    0.931394422143814

3x

       Model              PSNR                SSIM       
    ____________    ________________    _________________

    'VDSR-1.1.0'    32.8355848241999    0.911281952451763
    'VDSR-1.0.1'    32.5152354802607    0.907160504583839

3.5x

       Model              PSNR                SSIM       
    ____________    ________________    _________________

    'VDSR-1.1.0'    31.4385026528417    0.885549575366799
    'VDSR-1.0.1'    31.1604700679502    0.881199445944243

4x

       Model              PSNR                SSIM       
    ____________    ________________    _________________

    'VDSR-1.1.0'    30.3683034245151    0.861417745548344
    'VDSR-1.0.1'    30.1770642431373    0.857356189888384
__________________
AviSynth AiUpscale
Alexkral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2021, 16:51   #67  |  Link
Shinkiro
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 22
Quote:
ConvertBits(16)
AiUpscale(Factor=4, Luma="HQ", Chroma="Lanczos", Width = 1920, Height = 1080, Double=0, Mode="Illustration", CPlace="MPEG2", OutDepth=16)

does not accept yuv420p16 as input I cannot understand why
__________________
Ryzen 2700x | ASUS ROG Strix GTX 1080 Ti | 16 Gb DDR4
Windows 10 x64 20H2
KD-55XE9005 | Edifier R2800
Shinkiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2021, 23:45   #68  |  Link
Alexkral
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 245
Neither do I, it works fine here. That should only show up if the input is YV411 or 32 bits.
__________________
AviSynth AiUpscale
Alexkral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2021, 09:01   #69  |  Link
kopmjj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 42
Hi this looks like an interesting upscale feature
But I'm having trouble making this work, I put the avs and the other folder in plugins 64 but I dont know the basic script.

I'm trying to upscale DVD to 4k
Can someone show me a sample script to enter in my avspmod?
Just cant get my head round it. Thanks.
kopmjj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2021, 00:42   #70  |  Link
Alexkral
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 245
Which problem you have? You just need to use a factor equal to 4, and then use some interpolation method to get to 4K, something like this:

Code:
AiUpscale(Factor = 4)
LanczosResize(3840, 2160)
Note however that this will change the aspect ratio.
__________________
AviSynth AiUpscale
Alexkral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2021, 02:40   #71  |  Link
kopmjj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexkral View Post
Which problem you have? You just need to use a factor equal to 4, and then use some interpolation method to get to 4K, something like this:

Code:
AiUpscale(Factor = 4)
LanczosResize(3840, 2160)
Note however that this will change the aspect ratio.
hi thanks im getting the following error image attached.

what am i missing?
Attached Images
 
kopmjj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2021, 20:06   #72  |  Link
kopmjj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 42
ok looks like the photo upload doesnt work heres my script below, the error i get is there is no function named convertToshader
and the following error in aiupscale avsi in lines
341
217
228
239

DirectShowSource("C:\Users\king\Desktop\VID-20210125-WA0012.mp4")


Import("C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins64+\AiUpscale.avsi")
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins64\AddGrainC.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins64\mvtools2.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins64\mt_masktools.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins64\RgTools.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins64\dfttest.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins64\aWarpsharpMT.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins64\nnedi3.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins64\TDeint.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins64\FFT3dGPU.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins64\FFT3dGPU.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins64\fft3dfilter.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins64\gradfun2db.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins64\flash3kyuu_deband.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins64\Deblock-x64.dll")

Import("C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins64\AiUpscale.avsi")

Converttorgb()

AiUpscale(Factor = 4)
LanczosResize(3840, 2160)
kopmjj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2021, 21:25   #73  |  Link
poisondeathray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by kopmjj View Post
the error i get is there is no function named convertToshader
You need AviSynthShader, the .dll and .avsi

It's listed under the requirements
https://github.com/Alexkral/AviSynthAiUpscale
https://github.com/mysteryx93/AviSynthShader/releases
poisondeathray is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2021, 22:38   #74  |  Link
kopmjj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by poisondeathray View Post
You need AviSynthShader, the .dll and .avsi

It's listed under the requirements
https://github.com/Alexkral/AviSynthAiUpscale
https://github.com/mysteryx93/AviSynthShader/releases
thank you this worked.
now need to find out whats the best way to upscale dvd to 4k need to see what settings i need to enter.

is there anything else i need besides AiUpscale(Factor = 4) i will do the denoising and sharpening before ai upscale.
kopmjj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2021, 01:07   #75  |  Link
Alexkral
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 245
You will probably find the result too sharp if you use the HQ Sharp model after sharpening the image, you could also try it instead. There are some performance results in the first post of this thread, and everything else is explained in the Github readme.
__________________
AviSynth AiUpscale
Alexkral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2021, 16:24   #76  |  Link
kopmjj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexkral View Post
You will probably find the result too sharp if you use the HQ Sharp model after sharpening the image, you could also try it instead. There are some performance results in the first post of this thread, and everything else is explained in the Github readme.
hi thanks for this, but no matter what i try my video is getting to sharp, doesnt look natural all i done was deinterlace the dvd, before using ai upscale, is there a setting to tone down the sharpness? tried fast setting but not much difference, also tried vdsr but no luck.
kopmjj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2021, 21:21   #77  |  Link
Alexkral
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 245
Try a factor = 3 or 2 and then some interpolation.
__________________
AviSynth AiUpscale
Alexkral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2021, 12:09   #78  |  Link
ReinerSchweinlin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 345
Quote:
Originally Posted by kopmjj View Post
hi thanks for this, but no matter what i try my video is getting to sharp, doesnt look natural all i done was deinterlace the dvd, before using ai upscale, is there a setting to tone down the sharpness? tried fast setting but not much difference, also tried vdsr but no luck.
You could try a slight blurring afterwards, as well as adding some random noise - it helps to get a more natural look sometimes.
ReinerSchweinlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2021, 03:09   #79  |  Link
Alexkral
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 245
AviSynth AiUpscale v1.2.0

Changes:
- Changed/Improved all models.
- Removed the VDSR models.
- Added Sharp versions of the Fast and Medium models.
- Removed the Double, Width and Height parameters.
- Added mpv user shaders of all models.
- Renamed the Illustration models to LineArt.
- Fixed: the mpv shaders didn't work properly with vs-placebo.

Now all models are based on FSRCNNX, with Global Residual Learning using Lanczos interpolation, and more layers and Local Residual Learning for the HQ models. I also trained some VDSR models with the processing done in the low-resolution space, obtaining the same results as the previous ones, but even those are outperformed by the new Medium models, so there's no reason to keep them. Also, the processing on the new HQ models is done entirely in the low-resolution space, so the arbitrary resize feature has been removed. I think it was handy, and I was using it myself for some things, but the traditional fractional upscaling method should give better results.

At this point, I think that considering the limitations of AviSynth Shader, there's not much room for improvement for the main application. The mpv shaders could still be greatly improved for use with some of the latest GPUs, but these are not yet available where I live, so that will have to wait.
__________________
AviSynth AiUpscale
Alexkral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2021, 12:19   #80  |  Link
ReinerSchweinlin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 345
Thanx !
ReinerSchweinlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.