Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 26th October 2009, 09:30   #1221  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 3,911
There is a known problem with that function if you save to a Matroska file created by any other program than mkvmerge (e.g. Haali's muxer). This partially destroys the file structure. I don't have an ETA for a fix.
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v51.0.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is offline  
Old 4th November 2009, 18:12   #1222  |  Link
colinhunt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,022
Mosu, how come I can't mux a Dolby Digital Plus 7.1ch audio file with a x264 video file? mkvmerge thinks the audio file is another video file, and the muxed .mkv plays without audio. MediaInfo says the audio file's format is "E-AC-3".
colinhunt is offline  
Old 4th November 2009, 18:33   #1223  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 3,911
Probably defective file. There are invalid EAC3 files out there whose headers contain wrong information. mkvmerge is pretty picky about what it accepts.

You can upload the first 1 MB of the EAC3 file to my FTP server, but I don't have much/no time at the moment to spend on debugging such things, so it might take a while until I get around to it.
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v51.0.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is offline  
Old 5th November 2009, 19:46   #1224  |  Link
Egh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 630
@Mosu: just confirming previously reported bug.

I see it 100% of times in 174 build. All works, mmg saved, then reopened -- input files and obviously tracks info are missing. Global settings like timecodes for splitting are present still.
Egh is offline  
Old 6th November 2009, 15:09   #1225  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 3,911
Egh & Palikrovol: Can you please test whether or not this happens with older versions of mkvtoolnix, too? I'm especially interested in 2.9.7 (release) and earlier test builds of 2.9.8 (164 or earlier). Here are direct links to both versions:

http://www.bunkus.org/videotools/mkv....9.7-setup.exe
http://www.bunkus.org/videotools/mkv...-164-setup.exe

Please always make sure that you save the .mmg file and load it with the same version, e.g. don't try to load a .mmg with 2.9.7 that was saved with 2.9.8-174.

Thanks for the feedback.
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v51.0.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is offline  
Old 6th November 2009, 15:38   #1226  |  Link
Egh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mosu View Post
Egh & Palikrovol: Can you please test whether or not this happens with older versions of mkvtoolnix, too? I'm especially interested in 2.9.7 (release) and earlier test builds of 2.9.8 (164 or earlier). Here are direct links to both versions:
Just tried on 164 (confirmed to be August build).

Well probably little wonder btw the newer files that do not load :P

compare (fragment of MMGs saved after absolutely same sequence of actions in 164 and 174)

Code:
before: [164]
container=1
appending=0
number_of_tracks=1
number_of_attached_files=0


after: [174]
container=9810203520270337
appending=9810203520270336
number_of_tracks=9810203520270337
number_of_attached_files=9810203520270336
Overflow problem? )

But muxing itself seems to be fine by 174 build, most likely the bug is in .mmg export routine.
Egh is offline  
Old 6th November 2009, 18:01   #1227  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 3,911
Quote:
Originally Posted by Egh View Post
Just tried on 164 (confirmed to be August build).
...
Overflow problem? )

But muxing itself seems to be fine by 174 build, most likely the bug is in .mmg export routine.
Thanks for the analysis. The problem is actually worse. Technical explanation:

With releases and builds up to and including 2.9.8-168 I was using the mingw cross-compiler v3.3.5 on Linux in order to produce Windows binaries. Afterwards I had to switch to mingw v4.2.1 because I started using wstring in my source code, and mingw 3.3.5 didn't support the Unicode features of the C++ standard template library. 4.2.1 does, so that's why I switched. Unfortunately the GUI toolkit I'm using (wxWidgets) now has a problem. The "wxLong" class that should provide object oriented access to the native "long" type was working correctly with 3.3.5 but fails with 4.2.1. To be more precise "wxLong" thinks that the underlying native data type "long" was 64bit wide and not 32bit. For cross compilation purposes this is simply wrong; "long" is still only 32bit wide on the Windows side.

I've had another problem due to this regarding the attachment selection (should be somewhere in this thread as well), and this particular problem should be fixable as well, but it's a major PITA.
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v51.0.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is offline  
Old 10th November 2009, 21:52   #1228  |  Link
Vincent Vega
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: the tiny bubble of Creation
Posts: 185
just reporting a minor issue (noticed in 2.9.8-174): appending together several h264 ES files and setting FPS for first fragment, still results in mmg warning about "FPS not set" for each of the remaining segments after pressing start muxing.
Vincent Vega is offline  
Old 11th November 2009, 14:16   #1229  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 3,911
Should be fixed in http://www.bunkus.org/videotools/mkv...-179-setup.exe
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v51.0.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is offline  
Old 11th November 2009, 17:28   #1230  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,178
what I noticed is that apparently since a few versions the job queuing is broken, each time I want to run the batch I get the message "the file does not seem to be a valid mkvmerge gui settings file" even though I only added this one item 5 seconds ago.
Thunderbolt8 is offline  
Old 11th November 2009, 17:36   #1231  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 3,911
Known issue; don't use anything past 2.9.8 release.
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v51.0.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is offline  
Old 11th November 2009, 21:38   #1232  |  Link
LeMoi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Posts: 360
When I add an avi file (video only) + a mp3 file, i uncheck the mp3 file in the GUI but it still is muxed in the final file
LeMoi is offline  
Old 11th November 2009, 22:41   #1233  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 3,911
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeMoi View Post
When I add an avi file (video only) + a mp3 file, i uncheck the mp3 file in the GUI but it still is muxed in the final file
Known issue that will never be changed/fixed. Track selection is not implemented for all raw container types (e.g. MP3, AAC, AC3, AVC ES etc).
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v51.0.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is offline  
Old 12th November 2009, 11:37   #1234  |  Link
LeXXuz
17 years and counting...
 
LeXXuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 295
Is there a command switch for mkvextract to show the tracks of a Matroska file?
LeXXuz is offline  
Old 12th November 2009, 11:47   #1235  |  Link
SledgeHammer_999
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeXXuz View Post
Is there a command switch for mkvextract to show the tracks of a Matroska file?
use mkvinfo for that.
SledgeHammer_999 is offline  
Old 12th November 2009, 13:30   #1236  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 3,911
No, use mkvmerge, not mkvinfo: "mkvmerge -i yourfile.mkv"
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v51.0.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is offline  
Old 12th November 2009, 14:18   #1237  |  Link
LeXXuz
17 years and counting...
 
LeXXuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 295
LeXXuz is offline  
Old 12th November 2009, 14:50   #1238  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 3,911
Just as an explanation why I wrote "use mkvmerge and not mkvinfo" even though it is somewhat counter intuitive. mkvinfo is supposed to be a tool for verbose reporting of the whole Matroska structure. mkvmerge on the other hand is also supposed to be queried by mmg when the user adds a file to mmg. mkvmerge's output for that query is designed to be terse and right to the point. Furthermore mkvmerge's output lists the track IDs that can be used on mkvextract's command line whereas locating those in mkvinfo's output is slightly more difficult.
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v51.0.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is offline  
Old 14th November 2009, 09:57   #1239  |  Link
fangorn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 42
Hi,

I have a problem muxing h.264 (x264 encodings, controlled by mencoder) with DTS audio again. Streams get muxed, but Multimedia in container has shorter length than the source AVI container. File is also much smaller than the video and audio streams combined.

Is there a known issue that I have missed?

Problem does not occur when audio is AC3.

In more detail:
I am encoding HD video with DTS audio to AVI containing h.264 video stream and MP3 audio. Then I am ripping DTS audio streams to external files. Then I mux, dropping the MP3 audio from the AVI. This is necessary to prevent sync issues and worked for quite some time and now fails for >80% of the sources containing DTS.

ATM I don't know where to look for this problem. Is it the source (unlikely, for the pure number of sources failing), the encoding chain (x264, mencoder from GIT/SVN in several versions over the last months), my scripts, mkvmerge or an unfortunate combination of all of this?

Has someone else reported such a problem?
fangorn is offline  
Old 18th November 2009, 07:51   #1240  |  Link
fangorn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 42
Forget it.

It seems to be an interaction of x264s mbtree feature, mencoder and converting DTS to 2channel MP3. I deactivated mbtree and it produced a flawless DTS audio mkv so far. (HD movies are not the best source when it comes to testing a script ;-) Even my slightly OCed Core i7 920 takes quite some time to encode a 2 hour movie in 1080p.)
fangorn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.