Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 5th January 2018, 13:30   #48081  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 830
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
so you post stuff in the hope it get's ignored?
you're clearly knowledgeable and have posted some really useful stuff for people, there is no need to pick apart everything others say, you are bordering on troll territory.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2018, 13:31   #48082  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,824
i'm not aware of any of these issues. maybe there are cards with PCIe 8x too sorry.

look for a benchmark that test the cooler i guess.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2018, 14:11   #48083  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
True, but you have to be careful for more than just that when selecting RX 560s, they are hard cards to shop for today.
I just bought that MSI card, it's not listed as a d/Pro chip in German price comparisons and mine got the XT chip accordingly (also tested 3DMark).
The 8 PCIe lanes are ugly when you don't have PCIe 3.0, with 3.0 it doesn't really matter (it was also that way with every RX 460 card).
Of course the card isn't optimal when you want best hardware decoding + nice NGU performance. I bought it as a cheap 4GB substitute for my defect GTX 1070 and because AMD is way better than Nvidia on Linux these days.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2018, 14:21   #48084  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 830
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
I just bought that MSI card, it's not listed as a d/Pro chip in German price comparisons and mine got the XT chip accordingly (also tested 3DMark).
The 8 PCIe lanes are ugly when you don't have PCIe 3.0, with 3.0 it doesn't really matter (it was also that way with every RX 460 card).
Of course the card isn't optimal when you want best hardware decoding + nice NGU performance. I bought it as a cheap 4GB substitute for my defect GTX 1070 and because AMD is way better than Nvidia on Linux these days.
interesting, i've only got a PCI express 2.0 board, would I get any benefit from tracking down a PCI express 3.0 board mainboard for my RX550 or is the main bottleneck for MADVR the card itself, and it wouldnt really add anything to the rendering path?
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2018, 14:31   #48085  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
I just bought that MSI card, it's not listed as a d/Pro chip in German price comparisons and mine got the XT chip accordingly (also tested 3DMark).
The 8 PCIe lanes are ugly when you don't have PCIe 3.0, with 3.0 it doesn't really matter (it was also that way with every RX 460 card).
Of course the card isn't optimal when you want best hardware decoding + nice NGU performance. I bought it as a cheap 4GB substitute for my defect GTX 1070 and because AMD is way better than Nvidia on Linux these days.
does UHD 60 FPS copyback work without major performance issues?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2018, 17:31   #48086  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,713
No, performance hit is obnoxious. But this is not related to 8x PCIe 3.0 bandwidth limitation, but to AMD's sorry excuse of a Windows driver, since it does work fine on Linux with vaapi-copy...
It btw. wouldn't be an issue if madVR had D3D11VA deinterlacing.

I btw. have to use Crimson 17.11.4 to avoid nasty stuttering in Firefox or when moving windows, there is no way to fix that, except of using workaround tool ClockBlocker.
(On Linux, I can simply force full clocks with a setting, which unfortunately is also required for best result in mpv.).
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2018, 17:38   #48087  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 830
cheers, i'm still on 17.10.2 as find that more stable that later drivers, I get random system lockups with later drivers for some reason.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2018, 17:52   #48088  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
No, performance hit is obnoxious. But this is not related to 8x PCIe 3.0 bandwidth limitation, but to AMD's sorry excuse of a Windows driver, since it does work fine on Linux with vaapi-copy...
It btw. wouldn't be an issue if madVR had D3D11VA deinterlacing.

I btw. have to use Crimson 17.11.4 to avoid nasty stuttering in Firefox or when moving windows, there is no way to fix that, except of using workaround tool ClockBlocker.
(On Linux, I can simply force full clocks with a setting, which unfortunately is also required for best result in mpv.).
well this is the madVR thread so linux doesn't really matter here and and working hardware deinterlancing is not the only thing that benefits from copyback.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2018, 18:03   #48089  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,713
Only other realistic usecase would be AviSynth, which can be mostly avoided with madVR's own filters, and probably is too complex to use for even most madVR users anyway.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2018, 18:25   #48090  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,824
detelecine. peak nit measurment. black bar cropping... and more stuff :-)
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2018, 18:29   #48091  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,713
Peak nit measurment works with D3D11VA without copyback.
You're apparently right regarding detelecine, forgot about that (I don't consider it important for myself). Black bar cropping could be also done on the GPU. Well, madshi and many users were more interested in new video filters (ofc. absolutely legit)...

Last edited by aufkrawall; 5th January 2018 at 18:34.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2018, 18:43   #48092  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,824
SVP and other such stuff needs it too.

and everything of this could be done on GPU but it isn't.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2018, 19:55   #48093  |  Link
Plutotype
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 234
Guys, is madvr doing automatic gamut conversion? UHD BDs are in BT.2020 (P3), my display is REC.709.
__________________
__________________
System: Intel Core i5-6500, 8GB RAM, GTX960/GTX1060, 55" Sony Bravia KDL-55HX850 @ 1920x1080 24p, Yamaha YSR-1100 surround bar
Setup: Win7/Win10 Pro, madvr/JRiver 24
Plutotype is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2018, 20:07   #48094  |  Link
mytbyte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plutotype View Post
Guys, is madvr doing automatic gamut conversion? UHD BDs are in BT.2020 (P3), my display is REC.709.
Yes. I think it by default assumes BT.709 gamut and 2.2 gamma if calibration options are set to "disable..."
mytbyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2018, 15:55   #48095  |  Link
Plutotype
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 234
Did some comparison between BD of Dunkirk and UHD BD of Dunkirk with madvr SDR to HDR conversion at 226, 255 and 280 nit setting. Compressing the HDR highlights was set to OFF.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1d1e...ew?usp=sharing

The nit setting is a kind of tricky, because SDR displays are calibrated to 100-120nit, but here you can see, that going below 200 nit setting would clip the bright highlights unnaturally. In this shot, nit setting around 250-260 generates very close result to SDR blu-ray.
__________________
__________________
System: Intel Core i5-6500, 8GB RAM, GTX960/GTX1060, 55" Sony Bravia KDL-55HX850 @ 1920x1080 24p, Yamaha YSR-1100 surround bar
Setup: Win7/Win10 Pro, madvr/JRiver 24

Last edited by Plutotype; 6th January 2018 at 16:11.
Plutotype is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2018, 17:24   #48096  |  Link
Sm3n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sm3n View Post
Yep USING it. But now I think it's all good I don't know how or why but I could change and save the "optimized" setting for the 23fps. I succeeded to achieve more than several days reaching the "no frame drops/repeats expected" sometimes.

Thx again for pointing me this new tutorial and for your time.
Hi again,

Unfortunately I don't know why but now - and I didn't change anything - my frames are stucked @ 1 frame per 3 minutes.

I restarted my custom mode from scratch but can't figure what the issue could be and the result is the same everytime.

Last time, the same day I asked for help I updated my nvidia driver - can't say if it was before or after - could it be the reason?

I'll keep trying to fix it but if someone has got an idea please share it

Last edited by Sm3n; 6th January 2018 at 18:01.
Sm3n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2018, 18:07   #48097  |  Link
jkauff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sm3n View Post
Last time, the same day I asked for help I updated my nvidia driver - can't say if it was before or after - could it be the reason?

I'll keep trying to fix it but if someone has got an idea please share it
When you updated the driver, did you do a "clean install" or use DDU to remove the old driver? If so, go into the Nvidia Control Panel and make sure the power setting is "Adaptive" and that Vsync is turned on.
jkauff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2018, 19:02   #48098  |  Link
Sm3n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkauff View Post
When you updated the driver, did you do a "clean install" or use DDU to remove the old driver? If so, go into the Nvidia Control Panel and make sure the power setting is "Adaptive" and that Vsync is turned on.
Nope, no clean install or DDU but adaptive and vsync is activated. Do you think I should properly reinstall?

There is one thing I'm not 100% certain I'm doing well is the first step during the "define timing parameters" selection.
EDID is recommanded in both the tutorial and the window but I noticed in some case I have to select a CVT v1, v2 or CRT. Does it matter? I think that depending of what I choose, later I can or can't switch the "optimized pixel clock" mode.

Here is my native modes:


Last edited by Sm3n; 6th January 2018 at 20:37.
Sm3n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2018, 02:22   #48099  |  Link
Magik Mark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 541
Is there a way to save the refresh rate optimized values only?

I do refresh of madvr setting from time to time and the optimized values get refreshed as well. I would like to prevent this from happening
__________________
Asus X99 Sabertooth - Xeon E5 2695 - Asus Strix GTX 960 4G - DDR4 16GB Predator - Pioneer KRP 600M (isf calibrated) - Yamaha A3030 - Windows 10 x64 - Kodi with DSplayer - Lav - MadVR - XYsubtitle
Magik Mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2018, 02:56   #48100  |  Link
psyside
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 46
Hi guys, can anyone help me with a decision for budget gpu?

What is the best and why?

I will use it for 4k mobile phones clips in madVR, i got an S8, and i want them to look the best possible, my monitor is U2414h IPS, calibrated decently.

So, GTX960 vs GTX750 ti 4gb vs RX460/5604gb vs GTX950 2gb?

GTX750 ti i can get for 90$, GTX960 for 160$, RX460/560 around 130$, and GTX 950 around 100$, which is best for the money, and why? what is the difference from this cards in terms of features? should i also look into 1050 2gb? thanks.
psyside is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.