Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 28th July 2007, 20:05   #61  |  Link
froggy1
ffx264/ffhevc author
 
froggy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,512
no problemo
froggy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2007, 20:27   #62  |  Link
dansus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: london
Posts: 104
11 did the trick, good sync, crop working, nice quality and twice as fast as 8-10.

12 was fast too, quality ok, sync ok... crop bad. Black bars are back.

11 will work for me.

Thanks for your speedy responses and efforts.

ps mediainfo dies on 11 + 12.

Last edited by dansus; 28th July 2007 at 20:35.
dansus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2007, 21:58   #63  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
mediainfo failed even before... but i haven't added any message

try this update http://www.64k.it/andres/data/a/AutoMen13.exe

fixed: modified the new algo of cropping with dvr-ms
fixed: better mp4 muxing

tell me if crop problem are gone

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2007, 23:04   #64  |  Link
dansus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: london
Posts: 104
The crop is fine with 13, but now its spitting out tiny files.

I tried with two sources, i set the output to 60mb and 250mb, I got a 10mb and 55mb file. I retested with 11 and that seems ok.

Strange.

Last edited by dansus; 29th July 2007 at 04:44.
dansus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2007, 07:52   #65  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
i have encoded the long sample (77mb) to xvid with 2 pass (7' tick) aiming for 30MB and i got a 30.5MB final file

are you using what quality level and what profile ?

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2007, 09:07   #66  |  Link
Schrade
Registered User
 
Schrade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzqw View Post
I'm getting a 404 on that...
Schrade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2007, 09:51   #67  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
thanks! fixed

retry the download

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2007, 00:22   #68  |  Link
killerhex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 389
is there an option for hardcoding subs to the video
killerhex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2007, 01:37   #69  |  Link
dansus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: london
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzqw View Post
i have encoded the long sample (77mb) to xvid with 2 pass (7' tick) aiming for 30MB and i got a 30.5MB final file

are you using what quality level and what profile ?

BHH
Xvid, 7 or 8, cant remember for sure, Autocrop only.

It seems to be inconsistent, happens sometimes but not every time.

On a side thought, is it possible to make the size slider more sensitive, its really hard to get certain sizes ie it jumps from 29 to 59mb.

Be great to be able to manually type in the number.

thanks.
dansus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2007, 02:00   #70  |  Link
glb
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dansus View Post
On a side thought, is it possible to make the size slider more sensitive, its really hard to get certain sizes ie it jumps from 29 to 59mb.

Be great to be able to manually type in the number.

thanks.
Just click on the slider and then use your keyboard arrow keys.
glb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2007, 02:03   #71  |  Link
dansus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: london
Posts: 104
edit. fixed.

Last edited by dansus; 30th July 2007 at 14:40.
dansus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2007, 02:04   #72  |  Link
dansus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: london
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by glb View Post
Just click on the slider and then use your keyboard arrow keys.
Ahha !

Thanks.
dansus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2007, 07:31   #73  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
update http://www.64k.it/andres/data/a/AutoMen14.exe

added possibility to specify Final Size

@killerhex

no.. i don't know (well haven't researched too much) how mencoder handle subs...
i am open to suggestions/hints/tips

@dansus
Quote:
Be great to be able to manually type in the number.
done... download the update 1.4

Quote:
Keep forgetting to ask, the drop down box, is that to tell it what it is or what i want it to be?
from the drop list you must select if your movie is
none = progressive or no need to deinterlace
Progressive NTSC (29.97->23.976) = mencoder must convert to 23.976 from 29.97 (decimate)
Interlaced = and mencoder will deinterlace (i used this options on your sample)
Telecine= and mencoder will telecine it
Mixed progressive and telecine AND Mixed progressive and interlaced are hybrid preset for soft telecine and deinterlace

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2007, 10:09   #74  |  Link
froggy1
ffx264/ffhevc author
 
froggy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,512
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzqw View Post
no.. i don't know (well haven't researched too much) how mencoder handle subs...
i am open to suggestions/hints/tips
MEncoder by default hardcodes subs. You have to select the sub you want with the -sid option where this option is a number. You can also alternatively choose the anti-aliasing method with the -spuaa option

if you want to dump subs, then use mencoder with the -vobsubout option, eg

mencoder dvd://1 -sid 5 -vobsubout subtitle_file_name

you have to use -sid with -vobsubout when dumping subs to select which one to dump

BTW, I checked the mencoder docs again, you were right, the harddup filter should be placed at the beginning, sorry for mistake, so use....

-vf harddup,scale=512:384,blablabla
froggy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2007, 12:51   #75  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
update 1.5 LINK on first post

fixed harddup
better bitrate handling
better use of denoise
better handling of unknow source

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8

Last edited by buzzqw; 30th July 2007 at 13:01.
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2007, 19:50   #76  |  Link
dansus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: london
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzqw View Post
update http://www.64k.it/andres/data/a/AutoMen14.exe

added possibility to specify Final Size

BHH
Sweeet, thanks.
dansus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2007, 00:36   #77  |  Link
gonwk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 164
Hi buzzq,

Just FYI ...

I just saw your application and was playing around with it ... and I noticed the following using a short VOB test clip:

1) I think the "MPEG2" application on "AutoMen GUI" does not work. It encodes and it shows the file size getting larger but at the end of conversion ... the converted file size goes to "ZERO" !?!?!

2) The MP4 conversion ... works fine as far as Video and Audio decoding ... but when it is muxed up the final AVI ... the Audio does not play back. BTW, this conversion yielded the BEST Video ... however, I don't care for H.264 since currently is not playable on stand-alone dvd players.

3) The .WMV conversion yields an "Unrecognizable" output ... since Windows Media Player or VLC can not play it back and it gives me error.

4) I tried the XviD ... and it worked Good. It did gave a AVI output that it was playable and sound & video were fine. However, even with Quality set at 10 (Max) ... the output Video was so, so.

I did not try the other stuff.

Thanks,
G!

Last edited by gonwk; 6th August 2007 at 00:49.
gonwk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2007, 02:03   #78  |  Link
dansus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: london
Posts: 104
mencoder keeps crashing with dvr-ms input now, was stable all week so i imagine its more to do with the source, but seems strange as im using the same cap card.

I converted it to mpeg2 and encoded to xvid but the output was unplayable and avi fixers would only produce a file that was 75% of the original length, so i guess it got corrupted around that point.

Last edited by dansus; 6th August 2007 at 16:15.
dansus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2007, 07:18   #79  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
@gonwk

i hope you have used latest version

1)
Quote:
think the "MPEG2" application on "AutoMen GUI" does not work
here is working well. so.. tell me what quality you have used and audio bitrate. also, from dos box launch mpeg2.bat and look at any errors

2)
Quote:
The MP4 conversion ... works fine as far as Video and Audio decoding ... but when it is muxed up the final AVI
the final file is the MP4 , the AVI is the file made by mencoder!

3)
Quote:
The .WMV conversion yields an "Unrecognizable" output
again... what quality preset ? and what audio ?
here the wmv is perfectly playable with mpc

4)
Quote:
However, even with Quality set at 10 (Max) ... the output Video was so, so
what bitrate ??? (look at xvid.bat)

@dansus

look here
Quote:
...\My Videos\TV R
ecordings\Encoding\F1.2007.Round11.Hungary.Race.mpg
isn't a dvr-ms files! since its extension is .mpg i don't use the special "-demuxer 35" option!

rename to dvr-ms and retry!

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2007, 16:13   #80  |  Link
dansus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: london
Posts: 104
oops, sorry that was the wrong log.
dansus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
automen, ffmpeg, handbrake, mencoder, x264

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.