Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Old 19th May 2010, 17:56   #1  |  Link
bartel75
Used Registerer

Looking for an "all-purpose" avisynth script

I've been converting DVD videos for a couple of years now, and I've used lots of different combinations of resize, deinterlace, denoise, etc. filters.

Because I don't want to spend (a lot of) time finetuning the avs script for each individual conversion, I tried creating some "standard" settings.

This is what I currently use (relevant lines only):
Code:
Mpeg2Source("H:\mymovie.d2v")
TomsMoComp(-1,5,1)
GaussResize(712,528,8,0,-0,-0,p=60)
ColorMatrix(d2v="H:\mymovie.d2v")
hqdn3d(2)
TTempSmooth()
Is there any way I can improve this script? Might some filters be outdated, and/or have better alternatives? Or maybe there is something wrong with how these filters will interact?

Some (possible important) remarks:
- I always encode to x264, mostly using crf 22, or sometimes crf 20
- quality is important, but also: decent conversion speed, and relatively small file size (say, about 1200 kbps)
- TomsMoComp: when working with video that is clearly not interlaced, I skip this step, of course
- GaussResize: evidently, the values are variable, depending on the source. Please note that I don't resize; I just use this for cropping...
- ColorMatrix: not sure if I really need this, but I suppose it's fast, and it doesn't hurt

So, my question: any chance I could improve this "standardized" script?

Thanks a lot for your help!

(BTW, I haven't found any threads related to standard avs settings, but if I'm mistaken, my apologies, and thanks for pointing me in the right direction)

Last edited by bartel75; 19th May 2010 at 18:06. Reason: Additional info
bartel75 is offline   Reply With Quote