Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 7th May 2012, 13:53   #11621  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,575
Interesting. I've never seen anything but WAV uncompressed PCM audio.

Then, that leads me to this question... why put DTS compressed data into a WAV file? I'd just leave it as a DTS file.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2012, 15:57   #11622  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilomambo View Post
But, I assume from your explanation, that much of the DTS info is replicated to create the 6 CH WAV, and that's why the file is so much bigger, isn't it?
The audio data in DTS is encoded (compressed like a zip) the audio data in WAV file is decoded (uncompressed PCM data)

Quote:
I just looked in another song I have in DTS 5.1 WAV format
A dts_5.1_wav is not a correct WAV file because the header don't show the content. The fake header show a PCM 2.0 44.1KHz just to lies a burner and burn a CD-Audio.

Quote:
I just wanted to wrap the DTS file in WAV format, not to convert it.
Then you want burn CD-Audios 5.1
Try spdifer, a AC3Filter tool.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
Then, that leads me to this question... why put DTS compressed data into a WAV file?
Like you can read, only to burn a CD Audio.
Some CD players can send the DTS 5.1 and play surround.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2012, 17:11   #11623  |  Link
ilomambo
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Then you want burn CD-Audios 5.1
Try spdifer, a AC3Filter tool.
tebasuna51, you are the man!



spdifer worked like a charm! I got my WAV file 5.1ch, at the same size as the DTS original file !!

... and I learned something about DTS and WAV files.
ilomambo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2012, 16:17   #11624  |  Link
RazvanuZu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: RO
Posts: 14
I get an error when I try to use eac3to with SurCode DVD–DTS v1029. Is this a problem with eac3to or SurCode DVD–DTS v1029? I mean, is eac3to incompatible with SurCode DVD–DTS v1029?
When I use SurCode DVD–DTS v1021 I get no error.

The error sounds like: "Pressing the Surcode "Encode" button didn't seem to work", but when I directly use SurCode DVD–DTS v1029 I don't get any errors at all.

What is the latest compatible version of SurCode DVD–DTS?

Thanks.
RazvanuZu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2012, 17:09   #11625  |  Link
ramicio
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: PA, US
Posts: 684
I wish there was a way to have eac3to in Linux without wine. I don't have a GUI installed, so I can't do wine. I run eac3to on my Windows machine to rip discs, but sometimes I forget something and need to fiddle with large files after I've written them, and my disc is across a network. Being able to have it on my Linux would speed things up quite a bit. I would only need basic libavcodec functionality.
ramicio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2012, 00:05   #11626  |  Link
Furiousflea
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 696
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
No matter the source/decoder or encoder, when you downmix 6.1 to 5.1 with eac3to need use:

-0,1,2,3,5,6,4 -down6
Is this still needed, may I ask. Changelog mentions a bug fixed in version 3.21...

Quote:
fixed: 6.1 DTS decoding with ArcSoft resulted in wrong channel order
Many thanks.
Furiousflea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2012, 00:25   #11627  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,614
The decode is OK, only need a remap when downmix 6.1 to 5.1
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2012, 11:59   #11628  |  Link
Furiousflea
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 696
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
The decode is OK, only need a remap when downmix 6.1 to 5.1
Thanks for confirmation
Furiousflea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2012, 15:55   #11629  |  Link
Joniii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 284
I have previously converted 25.000 fps audio to 23.976 with -slowdown switch, how do I convert 25.000 to 24.000?

I have import Blu-ray with strange 24p (not 24.000/1.001) h.264 and DTS. I'm trying to add AC3 audio into it from my older PAL DVD.
__________________

Windows 10 Pro with Media Center (2x DVB-C, 14TB HDD), MPC-HC (MadVR, LAV Filters, XySubFilter)
Sony Bravia 55XBR8/55X4500
Yamaha RX-V659
Yamaha Piano Black NS-777/555/C444/

Last edited by Joniii; 20th May 2012 at 16:35.
Joniii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2012, 17:08   #11630  |  Link
ramicio
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: PA, US
Posts: 684
Are you even sure the audio is going to line up? What is the fixation with the audio from the DVD?

Anyway, you would first add the "-25.000" switch, to tell it to assume the material is 25 FPS, and then "-changeto24.000".
ramicio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2012, 10:35   #11631  |  Link
Joniii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramicio View Post
Are you even sure the audio is going to line up? What is the fixation with the audio from the DVD?

Anyway, you would first add the "-25.000" switch, to tell it to assume the material is 25 FPS, and then "-changeto24.000".
I've always adjusted the delay after conversion. I'm adding dubbed audio from DVD to import blu-ray for my 3 year old.

I've thought you need to convert audio with -slowdown not -changeto switch?
__________________

Windows 10 Pro with Media Center (2x DVB-C, 14TB HDD), MPC-HC (MadVR, LAV Filters, XySubFilter)
Sony Bravia 55XBR8/55X4500
Yamaha RX-V659
Yamaha Piano Black NS-777/555/C444/
Joniii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2012, 13:13   #11632  |  Link
ramicio
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: PA, US
Posts: 684
I still don't get it. Slowdown is deprecated, and only for 25 to 23.976 conversion.
ramicio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2012, 11:01   #11633  |  Link
Revgen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Near LA, California, USA
Posts: 1,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by dream88 View Post
Hi can someone please confirm for me what exactly the bug is with different versions of Arcsoft DTS Decoder, ?

Is it 1.1.0.5 or 1.1.0.0 for 6.1/6.0 audio and 1.1.0.8 for anything else ?
Some people claim that 1.1.0.0 is the best for 6.1/6.0 but others claim 1.1.0.5 is best because 1.1.0.0 lacks many bug fixes ?
I found the following pieces of information around doom9 forums but i'm still confused to which version to use to avoid any bug ?

- 1.1.0.0 can decode DTS(-HD) 6.1/6.0 but can't decode non-standard 7.1
- All versions above v1.1.0.0 do not accurately decode 6.1 DTS tracks with eac3to.
- 1.1.0.8 can't decode DTS(-HD) 6.1/6.0 but can decode non-standard 7.1
- Both decode DTS(-HD) 1.0 correctly, unlike 1.1.0.7.
lossy DTS
1) 1.1.0.0 and 1.1.0.1 always decode lossy DTS as 24 bit, and their decoding results differ from each other.
2) 1.1.0.5 and up decode in proper bitdepth.
3) Versions 1.1.0.5 and up decode lossy DTS identically.
4) 1.1.0.1 and 1.1.0.5 decode 24 bit lossy DTS identically.
5) Decoding of 16 bit lossy DTS was changed from 1.1.0.0 to 1.1.0.1 and from 1.1.0.1 to 1.1.0.5.
6) 1.1.0.7 and 1.1.0.8 decode 6.0 without back center channel.

The conclusion : for lossy DTS is 1.1.0.5. It decodes all configurations, in proper bitdepth, and decoding algorithm didn't change since this version (except 6.0 bug in .7 and .8).
Just to add to your list. I have 1.1.0.0, 1.1.0.5, 1.1.07, and 1.1.0.8. Only 1.1.0.8 seems to work with DTS MA 1.0 files. I don't know about 1.1.0.1 since I don't have it.
__________________
Pirate: Now how would you like to die? Would you like to have your head chopped off or be burned at the stake?

Curly: Burned at the stake!

Moe: Why?

Curly: A hot steak is always better than a cold chop.
Revgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2012, 09:29   #11634  |  Link
xkodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by dream88 View Post
- 1.1.0.0 can decode DTS(-HD) 6.1/6.0 but can't decode non-standard 7.1
- 1.1.0.8 can't decode DTS(-HD) 6.1/6.0 but can decode non-standard 7.1
i don't know why the same wrong information is continue spreading, when there are enough facts proving that's completely wrong statement about 1.1.0.0 vs. 1.1.0.8 regarding non-standard 7.1 (i.e. "strange setup") tracks:

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...63#post1471763
xkodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2012, 10:06   #11635  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hollola, Finland
Posts: 4,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revgen View Post
Only 1.1.0.8 seems to work with DTS MA 1.0 files.
Is it the only one that can decode such files or what is the issue with other versions?
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2012, 10:55   #11636  |  Link
Revgen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Near LA, California, USA
Posts: 1,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
Is it the only one that can decode such files or what is the issue with other versions?
It's the only version that works that I know of.

I have 2 Blu-Ray discs with DTS MA 1.0 tracks. The Big Heat (1953) and The Big Trail (1930). 1.1.0.0, 1.1.0.5, and 1.1.07 give errors everytime I try to decode with eac3to. I also can't play the DTS MA 1.0 audio in TMT either unless 1.1.0.8 is in the codecs folder. I don't have version 1.1.0.1, so I can't comment on whether that version can decode DTS MA 1.0 or not.
__________________
Pirate: Now how would you like to die? Would you like to have your head chopped off or be burned at the stake?

Curly: Burned at the stake!

Moe: Why?

Curly: A hot steak is always better than a cold chop.

Last edited by Revgen; 26th May 2012 at 10:58.
Revgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2012, 04:37   #11637  |  Link
pasadena
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7
HD-DVD Roy Orbison Black and White Night Cannot Remux TrueHD track

Hi All,

I'm trying to convert this into a blu-ray structure ISO for playback on my media player.

I have no problems extracting all the files using either evodemux or HD-DVD steam extractor but cannot remux this particluar TrueHD track.

I've spent the past week trying to work out issues that exist with remuxing TrueHD tracks.

I tried to convert the TrueHD track to DTS but it comes up saying that it does not support the sampling rate.

Here's an ouput log:

eac3to v3.24
command line: "D:\Converter Programs\HdBrStreamExtractor_0.8\eac3to.exe" "D:\Black and White Night" 1) 4:"D:\bwnight\1_4_audio.dts" -progressnumbers
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
EVO, 1 video track, 3 audio tracks, 1 subtitle track, 1:04:34
1: Chapters, 18 chapters
2: h264/AVC, 1080i60 /1.001 (16:9)
3: E-AC3, English, 5.1 channels, 3024kbps, 48kHz, -66ms
4: TrueHD, English, 5.1 channels, 96kHz, -66ms
5: E-AC3, English, 2.0 channels, 1023kbps, 48kHz, -66ms
6: Subtitle (DVD), Japanese
[a04] Extracting audio track number 4...
[a04] Decoding with libav/ffmpeg...
[a04] Applying RAW/PCM delay...
[a04] Writing WAVs...
[a04] Creating file "D:\bwnight\1_4_audio.L.wav"...
[a04] Creating file "D:\bwnight\1_4_audio.R.wav"...
[a04] Creating file "D:\bwnight\1_4_audio.LFE.wav"...
[a04] Creating file "D:\bwnight\1_4_audio.C.wav"...
[a04] Creating file "D:\bwnight\1_4_audio.SR.wav"...
[a04] Creating file "D:\bwnight\1_4_audio.SL.wav"...
[a04] The original audio track has a constant bit depth of 24 bits.
Encoding DTS <1536kbps> with Surcode...
Surcode DTS Encoder doesn't support this samplingrate. <ERROR>

I use evodemux to get the THD file but I can't do anything else with it. Tsmuxer bombs out saying it can't detect stream type so it can't read and import it

Eac3to cannot convert it to thd+ac3.

eac3to v3.24
command line: eac3to demuxed.thd output.thd+ac3
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
TrueHD, 5.1 channels, 96kHz
Decoding with libav/ffmpeg...
Encoding AC3 <640kbps> with libAften...
Initialization of the AC3 encoder failed. <ERROR>
Aborted at file position 262144. <ERROR>

I've also used a program called pcm2tsmu which converted the TrueHD track to an LPCM stream sampled at 96KHz which tsmuxer was able to use and process. When I created a BD structure through Tsmuxer and played it through my media player, the audio cames out as white noise.

Is converting a TrueHD track to an LPCM stream going to be inferior in any way?

If anyone has this disc, can you please let me know if you had any luck successfully converting this to blu-ray with the TrueHD track intact.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Cheers

Last edited by pasadena; 30th May 2012 at 08:32.
pasadena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2012, 15:40   #11638  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,614
@pasadena
- With THD track: I don't know if this can work because I can't test with a THD 96 KHz, but try this:

"D:\Converter Programs\HdBrStreamExtractor_0.8\eac3to.exe" "D:\Black and White Night" 1) 4:"D:\bwnight\1_4_audio.thd+ac3" -resampleTo48000 -progressnumbers

- With DTS-MA: you can't use Surcode because don't support 96 KHz and DTS-MA, only standard DTS is not recommended.
If you have DTS-HD Master Audio you can extract the monowavs and after encode to DTS-MA

"D:\Converter Programs\HdBrStreamExtractor_0.8\eac3to.exe" "D:\Black and White Night" 1) 4:"D:\bwnight\1_4_audio.wavs" -progressnumbers

- With LPCM, same quality than THD but biger size.
You have two options:

1) Decode to w64 (tsMuxeR must accept PCM in w64 container):

"D:\Converter Programs\HdBrStreamExtractor_0.8\eac3to.exe" "D:\Black and White Night" 1) 4:"D:\bwnight\1_4_audio.w64" -progressnumbers

2) Decode to special PCM format for tsMuxeR with pcm2tsmu:

"D:\Converter Programs\HdBrStreamExtractor_0.8\eac3to.exe" "D:\Black and White Night" 1) 4: stdout.pcm -progressnumbers | "YOUR-PATH-TO\Pcm2Tsmu.exe" - "D:\bwnight\1_4_audio.pcm" -s 96000
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2012, 17:32   #11639  |  Link
pasadena
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7
@tebasuna51

Thanks for getting back to me.

I'll give these a try in the morning and let you know the outcome.

Much appreciated.

Cheers.
pasadena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2012, 12:54   #11640  |  Link
Vasch the stampede
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
There will be any chance that eac3to become multithreaded?
Vasch the stampede is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.