Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th June 2019, 07:36   #56681  |  Link
VAMET
UTAVATU
 
VAMET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Gdynia, Poland
Posts: 47
Dear ryrynz

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Don't waste your time, just use Windowed mode.
...but I will lose my 10 bit in Windowed Mode.

Sincerely
__________________
VAMET

ALLEGRO BLOG FACEBOOK
VAMET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2019, 07:48   #56682  |  Link
oldpainlesskodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by WontonNoodle View Post
What is the work around?
https://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php...&postcount=400
__________________
Sapphire RX 5700 XT (19.7.5) Ryzen 7 3700x, PRIME X570-Pro, Win 10 x64 (1903), Silverstone LC13B-E, Pioneer SC-LX501 Elite D3, Samsung UE55KS8000, Mission M33i speakers, Kodi Dsplayer 17.6 X64
oldpainlesskodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2019, 08:16   #56683  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by VAMET View Post
...but I will lose my 10 bit in Windowed Mode.
Windowed Fullscreen allows 10 bit.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2019, 22:50   #56684  |  Link
Michael2907
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 1
Hi,

Wäre can i find the latest Beta of madvr?

Gesendet von meinem SM-N960F mit Tapatalk
Michael2907 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2019, 23:16   #56685  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,894
here: http://madshi.net/madVRhdrMeasure86.zip
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2019, 01:03   #56686  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
Is this the current most accurate detecting version ?

And can someone explain the brightness settings in detail ?
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2019, 03:19   #56687  |  Link
alps006
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 22
I have tried most of madVR beta versions, and eventually went back to official version 17 as it is the best version that gives me very good results.
alps006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2019, 05:29   #56688  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 223
@tp4tissue

Well it is the latest one, they are still working out the quirks, best bet is to read the forum that these are on, but I for one have no idea on the majority of the settings and use what the testers use. As for what they all do, no idea, and I think a lot will be hidden on a final build, its all gone quiet at the moment as madshi works on the ENVY by the looks of it.

@alps006

If you are talking about HDR to SDR then I think you will be mistaken as they have put a lot of work into the later test builds, but if you are happy then who can argue.
__________________
Windows 10-1903 | i5-3570k | GTX 1070 Windforce OC Rev2 8GB : 430.64 | Yamaha RX-V377 | Philips 65PUS6703 - 65"
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2019, 08:00   #56689  |  Link
VAMET
UTAVATU
 
VAMET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Gdynia, Poland
Posts: 47
Dear Friends

I have found a problem, why there is no Bitstreaming just Multichannel PCM. It was not a problem with Fullscreen Exclusive Mode/Fullscreen Windowed Mode. The problem is related with madVR 0.92.17 with display modes. If I have empty field "list all display modes madVR may switch to:" and I play any movie I have got DTS:X, Dolby Atmos etc., but when I enter for example: 2160p23, 1080p23 etc. and when I launch movie file and there is a change from for example: 2160p30 to 2160p23 or 1080p60 to 2160p23, I have got Multichannel PCM instead of Bitstreaming.

It's always during changing of display modes. There are two audio devices in hardware of Lenovo Ideapad 320: Intel HD Audio (HDMI to AV Received up to 7.1 with Dolby Atmos) and Realtek HD Audio (for notebook speakers only Stereo 2.0). After display change is made by madVR, something is going wrong, because LAV Audio lists Realtek HD Audio, but sound is going thru AV Receiver not notebook speakers. When I disable Relatek HD Audio in Windows Hardware Manager and leave only Intel HD Audio and then I play movie, LAV Audio shows errors and there is no sound only video. When I disable display modes in madVR by not entering any values, there is no problem at all.

I don't have idea, why this is happen and if the problem is with audio hardware Intel HD or Relatek HD or madVR, LAV Audio or other not mentioned.

Do you have any idea, what is the problem and how to solve it? Of course I can manualy change to 2160p23 and then play movies which are 23.976, but I would like to use madVR's display modes.

Sincerely
__________________
VAMET

ALLEGRO BLOG FACEBOOK

Last edited by VAMET; 25th June 2019 at 08:04.
VAMET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2019, 08:22   #56690  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,495
@VAMET
I wonder if this is similar to the problem here? (See post #480 and clsid's answer post #481)
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2019, 08:30   #56691  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,894
sounds like yet another optimus issue.

it may switch the GPU to the nvidia in the FSE process and so losing the intel HDMI device in the process stopping bitstreaming.

if you have win 10 go to display settings -> graphics settings -classic app (it's a program windows...) -> browse add mpc-hc64.exe -> set it to power saving intel HD try again.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2019, 08:41   #56692  |  Link
VAMET
UTAVATU
 
VAMET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Gdynia, Poland
Posts: 47
Dear Friends

Quote:
Originally Posted by sneaker_ger View Post
@VAMET
I wonder if this is similar to the problem here? (See post #480 and clsid's answer post #481)
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
sounds like yet another optimus issue.

it may switch the GPU to the nvidia in the FSE process and so losing the intel HDMI device in the process stopping bitstreaming.

if you have win 10 go to display settings -> graphics settings -classic app (it's a program windows...) -> browse add mpc-hc64.exe -> set it to power saving intel HD try again.
I will try your both solutions later (c.a. 8 hours from now), when I back from work to home. I will let you know about results.

Sincerely
__________________
VAMET

ALLEGRO BLOG FACEBOOK
VAMET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2019, 15:27   #56693  |  Link
VAMET
UTAVATU
 
VAMET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Gdynia, Poland
Posts: 47
Dear Friends

I have tried:

1. sneaker_ger solution - doesn't work
2. huhn solution - doesn't work
3. I have uninstalled NVIDIA Drivers for GTX 940MX - doesn't work
4. I have disabled discrete GPU (GTX 940MX) in BIOS - doesn't work
5. I have installed Kodi and... - doesn't work, but when during playback I toggle other audio track the bitstreaming is working for this new track, and when I back to the first track for example DTS:X or Dolby Atmos it's also working
6. I have tried the same in MPC-HC, change to other track during playback, but it doesn't work

I have no more ideas, only manualy changing to 2160p23 and then playing movie is working with Bitstreaming.

PS. Sorry for post under post...

Sincerely
__________________
VAMET

ALLEGRO BLOG FACEBOOK
VAMET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2019, 20:51   #56694  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 537
It's an issue with the Intel HDMI: the audio device 'disappears' when the display resyncs (like when changing modes, or powering on/off), so the audio renderer loses the connection. This problem was encountered by MediaPortal users and IIRC unfortunately the workaround was to implement a device-specific fix in the player.
Here is a link to the bug ticket and associated forum thread: https://issues.team-mediaportal.com/browse/MP1-4941
(I don't use Intel HDMI audio with MP so can't tell any more details, sorry)
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1809, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2019, 04:57   #56695  |  Link
alps006
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 22
@madjock, Yes, I do talk about HDR to SDR. I agree with you. They have done extensive efforts to make it more perfect, specially Manni and NeoXP are doing a great job by testing the new builds. But after the build madVRhdrmeasure45, madshi is adding a lot of tweaking options to new test builds that may work for some people but not for others. I eventually gave up and went back to version 0.92.17 which is in turn giving me a good balanced image without too much clipping. My 2 cents...
Quote:
Originally Posted by madjock View Post
@alps006 If you are talking about HDR to SDR then I think you will be mistaken as they have put a lot of work into the later test builds, but if you are happy then who can argue.
alps006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2019, 05:26   #56696  |  Link
nsnhd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 88
I'm currently using madVRhdrmeasure40 with the MadmeasureHDR Optimizer 3.8.7 from Soulnight.
The lastest versions of madVRhdrmeasure live algo seem too complicated for me, I'm waiting for the final release.
nsnhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2019, 08:47   #56697  |  Link
Charky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by nsnhd View Post
The lastest versions of madVRhdrmeasure live algo seem too complicated for me, I'm waiting for the final release.
Just use Neo-XP's settings. They work just fine
__________________
Charky

"Rule #1 : If it works, don't change anything."
Charky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2019, 03:29   #56698  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charky View Post
Just use Neo-XP's settings. They work just fine
Are neoxp's settings for projectors, or is it universal ?
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2019, 03:35   #56699  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,297
If you're doing HDR->SDR, neoxp's settings are a very good starting point. People are getting beyond excellent results with that build and those settings. If you have an SDR, or low nit, device that's definitely the way to go.

Personally, I use measurement files and I've had excellent results with that. But I'm outputting HDR and setting a target nit level right around the max of my C8 OLED (~750 nits). The idea being that you want madvr to do the tone mapping to compress HDR to fit within your max nit level so that your device doesn't have to do its own tone mapping.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2019, 05:36   #56700  |  Link
nsnhd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
People are getting beyond excellent results with that build and those settings.
NeoXP has several builds and settings, could you pls link to that best ones ?Thanks
nsnhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.