Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 9th December 2019, 02:11   #58081  |  Link
DMU
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
How exactly did you achieve MADVR in OS mode?
Just turn ON Windows HDR switch.
__________________
R3 2200G / Vega8 / Samsung UE40NU7100
Win10Pro 1909 / 4K RGB 59Hz / AMD 20.1.3
MPC-HC 1.9.1 / madVR 0.92.17 / FSW / 10bit@59Hz
DMU is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2019, 02:14   #58082  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,006
scrap that, user error, it works fine in OS mode, not sure if I prefer OS HDR or tone map to SDR, my TV is bare HDR at max 450 nits so there isnt much difference to be honest.

At last I have some choices while I log a fault with AMD.

cheers
__________________
OLED 4k HDR EF950-YAM RX-V685-WIN10 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX 580 19.12.2 KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.17/0.74.1 - 3D MVC / FSE:On / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2019, 02:19   #58083  |  Link
QBhd
QB the Slayer
 
QBhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 492
I have a LG C8 OLED... and I too wasn't able to get HDR to work properly with Windows OS HDR turned on, but I also only tried it out to see the difference and when it wasn't working I just went back to what worked, non OS HDR and letting the AMD HDR 10 trigger the TV. Even though that isn't always a smooth transition as I stated above.

QB

edit: maybe I just need to do something different to get it to work and quit since it was already working the other way...
__________________
QBhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2019, 02:39   #58084  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,006
ive never had issues with HDR before getting this card, HDR was working perfectly with MADVR and KODI DS for ages, i've owned RX 480, 460, 560 and 580, none of these cards had issue, all were pretty rock solid for AMD API HDR.

I got mine working fine now with OS HDR, i've created some shortcuts to turn windows HDR on and off easily so that will do for now.

When using HDR with AMD cards in the past i've always used FSE until very recently, have you tried that, which player are you using, some are more reliable than others, KODI DS is still the best IMHO even though it hasnt been updated for ages.
__________________
OLED 4k HDR EF950-YAM RX-V685-WIN10 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX 580 19.12.2 KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.17/0.74.1 - 3D MVC / FSE:On / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2019, 02:52   #58085  |  Link
Asterra
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 14
Might anyone have some insight as to why any HDR content played through MPC-BE (latest) / madVR (latest) will cause severe flickering when in fullscreen? Were I to attempt to elaborate, it looks like it's letting the video play and replacing every other frame with pure black, so about a 12Hz flicker, which makes me feel like I'd get epilepsy from staring at it. The screen's refresh rate doesn't make a difference, and this doesn't occur with non-HDR content.
Asterra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2019, 03:01   #58086  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,064
FSE is problematic with windows 10 try without.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2019, 03:02   #58087  |  Link
Asterra
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
Good idea, but be sure to be and also stay polite, even when the person you are talking may not know about all that stuff you know. Just explain what what is 4:4:4 compared to 4:2:0 and then let them to some tests.
We had a chat. The support person was not knowledgeable but I let them go through the motions. They had me install remote desktop software and I watched them hunt desperately for a way to blame the issue on Nvidia, including trying to update my drivers without bothering to ask me. (The drivers were already fully updated, which saved me a "gotcha!") In the end, I was told that I should be getting an email from somebody who would have a better idea of what they're doing.

Now, here's the interesting part.

Have you tried this yet? Tell your TV that the device on your PC's port is actually a "Game Console".

It was mentioned to me that when this was done for an AMD-based PC, the guy then told his PC to output 4:2:0, the reason being he knew his driver software had a bug that would result in it actually outputting 4:4:4. And what he got as a result was 4:4:4 color resolution, no zooming bug, and, just as an extra bonus, all of the features that Samsung arbitrarily disabled for PC input, such as the "Movie" and "Natural" Display Modes.

Well I changed my port to Game Console and made no other changes, PC side or otherwise. And all of the above worked. 4:4:4 color, 23,24,25,50 Hz without zooming, and access to restricted modes.

I see no reason why this solution can't be regarded as potentially universal. Needless to say, I have the TV's auto updates turned the hell off, as I don't feel like rocking this boat now that this chapter seems to be closed.

Edit: Not quite out of the woods. There's a catch. Putting the port in Game Mode caused crosshatch dithering to appear. It's kind of subtle and kind of not. However. I then switched the port back to "PC" and... I can still change to 23,24,25,50 Hz without causing the zoom issue, and the other refresh rates no longer exhibit crosshatch dithering (they still have vertical dithering, as always). The downside is that 23,24,25,50 Hz do still exhibit crosshatch dithering, so even with this hack, there's room to hope they'll get things sorted out better in an update.

Last edited by Asterra; 9th December 2019 at 03:56.
Asterra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2019, 03:16   #58088  |  Link
Asterra
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
FSE is problematic with windows 10 try without.
It's not enabled. At least not in madVR under General Settings. There's no black-screen delay when going fullscreen, such as might be expected when using FSE.
Asterra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2019, 08:29   #58089  |  Link
Alexkral
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 144
@mclingo & @QBhd

Are you both using the same version of MadVR? Because the latest beta does strange things, for example if I select "tone map HDR using pixel shaders" and "don't measure HDR frame peak luminance" the output is all black, except if I also select "compromise on HDR tone & gamut mapping accuracy ".

In any case, all these problems with black levels and saturation seem to be related to the way MadVR interacts with the AMD API.
Alexkral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2019, 10:42   #58090  |  Link
DMU
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
ive never had issues with HDR before getting this card, HDR was working perfectly with MADVR and KODI DS for ages, i've owned RX 480, 460, 560 and 580, none of these cards had issue, all were pretty rock solid for AMD API HDR.
This is strange. I think that your TV somehow intervened and fixed the issue. Why this is not happening now - I donít know.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
I got mine working fine now with OS HDR, i've created some shortcuts to turn windows HDR on and off easily so that will do for now.
I have an executable file that turns on Windows HDR mode. It can be put in the madVR profiles to automate the process.
__________________
R3 2200G / Vega8 / Samsung UE40NU7100
Win10Pro 1909 / 4K RGB 59Hz / AMD 20.1.3
MPC-HC 1.9.1 / madVR 0.92.17 / FSW / 10bit@59Hz
DMU is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2019, 12:17   #58091  |  Link
QBhd
QB the Slayer
 
QBhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 492
@Alexkral

I'm using the latest test build 112b. Isn't the point of the tone mapping to measure the peak to know what the algo should do? Anyway, I have always run madVR with ALL trade quality boxes unchecked.

There seems to be some confusion, I currently don't have a problem with levels or saturation. The only oddity I have is the AMD HDR 10 not always triggering the TV properly, easily fixed by skipping to another file in my playlist and then back again.

QB
__________________
QBhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2019, 12:46   #58092  |  Link
Alexkral
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 144
Yes, but mclingo has that saturation problem with an RX 5700 just like you, so...

And of course it's better to have all that unchecked, but having it checked should not result in a black screen.
Alexkral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2019, 13:08   #58093  |  Link
QBhd
QB the Slayer
 
QBhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 492
Again... just to be clear. He has a Navi based AMD card like me, I don't see a saturation problem.

QB
__________________
QBhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2019, 14:03   #58094  |  Link
oldpainlesskodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by DMU View Post


I have an executable file that turns on Windows HDR mode. It can be put in the madVR profiles to automate the process.
Hmm, why is this producing a totally different image than the AMD API or the OS HDR toggle? It's like HDR gone overboard? - everything is so bright, on my rig anyway.
__________________
Sapphire RX 5700 XT (20.1.4) Ryzen 7 3700x, PRIME X570-Pro, Win 10 x64 (1904.1), Silverstone LC13B-E, Onkyo TX-NR686, Philips 55PUS6753/12, Mission M35i speakers, Kodi Dsplayer 17.6 X64

Last edited by oldpainlesskodi; 9th December 2019 at 14:13.
oldpainlesskodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2019, 15:32   #58095  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,006
whats more wered is that its only doing it with VEGA and 5700 cards, but maybe not for everyone either, i've tried several different versions of MADVR back to .14, nothing changes.

I'll maybe have another play tonight,
__________________
OLED 4k HDR EF950-YAM RX-V685-WIN10 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX 580 19.12.2 KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.17/0.74.1 - 3D MVC / FSE:On / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2019, 16:08   #58096  |  Link
jasonwc18
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 19
I set madvr to output 10 bit color to my JVC RS600 and utilize DX11 Full Screen Exclusive mode to achieve this. I'm noticing that about 50% of the time, it is using DX11 Windowed mode instead, limiting output to 8 bit color. I turned on debugging and discovered that the culprit was the Application Frame Host service. After killing this service in Task Manager, DX11 Full Screen Exclusive mode (10 bit) worked. The computer is dedicated to HTPC usage with Kodi Dsplayer w/ madvr. The only applications that start on boot are the Nvidia display panel and software to start Kodi with a short delay. I have two questions:

1) Will madvr automatically output at 8 bit if DX11 Windowed mode is used? I want to ensure that the GPU isn't dithering the 10 bit output to 8 bit, which would clearly be worse than madvr doing the dithering.

2) What can I do to prevent the Application Frame Host service from interfering with DX11 FSE mode? It's a Windows service and I see no way to disable it in the list of services.

Last edited by jasonwc18; 9th December 2019 at 16:16.
jasonwc18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2019, 18:02   #58097  |  Link
KoKlusz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexkral View Post
@mclingo & @QBhd

Are you both using the same version of MadVR? Because the latest beta does strange things, for example if I select "tone map HDR using pixel shaders" and "don't measure HDR frame peak luminance" the output is all black, except if I also select "compromise on HDR tone & gamut mapping accuracy ".

In any case, all these problems with black levels and saturation seem to be related to the way MadVR interacts with the AMD API.
Are you enabled "Ignore measurement files" under configuration>files & folders? Because latest builds broke that functionality, and Madshi didn't have time to fix it yet.
KoKlusz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2019, 19:16   #58098  |  Link
Morgin187
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 18
quick question with mad vr up scaling either chroma, picture, or luma have a very slight ghosting effect. only view able in fast scenes? similar to if the frame rate wasnt matching or low? tried all sorts of settings even custom resolution with framerate at 23.976 in control panel. Cant work out if its madvr mpc hc or just the video being upscaled.
Morgin187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2019, 19:47   #58099  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,006
to be clear about this HDR issue with 5700 navi cards, ive tried much older version of MADVR that worked fine on my RX580 and saw the same issue, its defo an issue with this card, what I dont understand is what is different in QBhd's setup.
__________________
OLED 4k HDR EF950-YAM RX-V685-WIN10 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX 580 19.12.2 KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.17/0.74.1 - 3D MVC / FSE:On / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2019, 20:25   #58100  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,006
ive created an SDR comparison of roughly what i'm seeing when I compare ATI HDR vs Windows HDR, even though this is SDR the colour difference it fairly close.

https://1drv.ms/u/s!AgvFafeelEBij75e...ll3yw?e=zfC3Zs
__________________
OLED 4k HDR EF950-YAM RX-V685-WIN10 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX 580 19.12.2 KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.17/0.74.1 - 3D MVC / FSE:On / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.