Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 29th September 2016, 00:23   #39601  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ver Greeneyes View Post
Deblocking would be great, yeah.
It's surprising how blocky some frames of video can be even at 720 or 1080 resolution.
It's the lower quality videos that require the most help from madVR. Still a lot of lower quality content being watched out there and onboard GPU's are really starting to stretch their legs now.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2016, 05:06   #39602  |  Link
CarlosCaco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Brasil, SP, São Paulo
Posts: 153
I have some internet rips that are taged as variable framerate... what the purpose of this? How media player and madvr handle this? Why the ripper want to make a rip with a variable framerate...
Should I expect to see judder, glitches, frame drops on this type of file?
__________________
Desktop, i5 2500, 8GB, N570 GTX TF III PE/OC
Asus X555LF, i7-5500U, 6GB Ram, Nvidia 930m/HD 5500
Windows 8.1 Pro x64
CarlosCaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2016, 05:19   #39603  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlosCaco View Post
Should I expect to see judder, glitches, frame drops on this type of file?
I'd guess that depends on what your refresh rate is. If you have Smooth Motion enabled it shouldn't be an issue.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2016, 06:30   #39604  |  Link
CarlosCaco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Brasil, SP, São Paulo
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
I'd guess that depends on what your refresh rate is. If you have Smooth Motion enabled it shouldn't be an issue.
No... its on my 23.976 mode but the files have a minibus and a maximum framerate...
Why someone doe that?
__________________
Desktop, i5 2500, 8GB, N570 GTX TF III PE/OC
Asus X555LF, i7-5500U, 6GB Ram, Nvidia 930m/HD 5500
Windows 8.1 Pro x64
CarlosCaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2016, 08:37   #39605  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,058
because the source is VFR. that's the only correct treatment you can do to some sources.

there is a lot of content that has 23p scene and 29p scene put in 59i or 59p. the only solution is a VFR encode.

smoothmotion can handle VFR BTW.

Last edited by huhn; 29th September 2016 at 08:52.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2016, 12:08   #39606  |  Link
ShiftyFella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by JarrettH View Post
Why isn't this activating for 60 fps?

if (srcWidth <= 800) "SD"
if (srcWidth >= 801) "HD"
if (fps = 60.000) "Live Stream"

Can someone simply fix this? Thanks

I've tried reordering it too (assuming it looks for 60 fps first)

if (srcWidth <= 800) "SD"
if (fps = 60.000) "Live Stream"
if (srcWidth >= 801) "HD"

Somehow it needs to not activate HD before looking at the fps

if (srcWidth <= 800) "SD"
else if (srcWidth >= 801) and (fps = 60.000) "Live Stream"
else "HD"

This doesn't work either. Is something bugged?
srcfps option never worked for me, try using deintFPS >=50 instead as 1st rule, this will obviously screw settings for files that do require deinterlacing and are not live sports but most of my files that require it are, so no issue for me. you can always try switching profiles manually tho

Last edited by ShiftyFella; 29th September 2016 at 12:14.
ShiftyFella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2016, 20:09   #39607  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,127
deintFps works for me as a profile rule. The source doesn't need to be deinterlaced.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2016, 02:43   #39608  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by JarrettH View Post
Why isn't this activating for 60 fps?

if (srcWidth <= 800) "SD"
else if (srcWidth >= 801) and (fps = 60.000) "Live Stream"
else "HD"

This doesn't work either. Is something bugged?
I would suggest:

Code:
if (srcWidth <= 800) "SD"
else if (deintFPS > 59) "Live Stream"
else "HD"
The "else if" will only be evaluated if the first statement is false so you don't need to check the resolution again. Never use an = sign for fps, the real value has higher precision than 60.000 and is usually something like 59.94005994005994, your 60.000 was probably something like 60.000001 fps.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2016, 08:12   #39609  |  Link
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 239
Is there a way to tell madvr to use double expanded range for a specific file every time? I've heard you can add something into the filename, but what about a header in the mkv or a tag?
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2016, 09:20   #39610  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,058
that's the file name thing: levels: levels=PC|TV|fullrange|limited|doubleExp|tripleExp *range= is synonymous

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=171787
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2016, 13:10   #39611  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by pose View Post
This guide is terrible honestly. The worst guide ive seen in a while. Ive spend a lot of time and still couldn't make it work.
I don't want to pick a fight or anything but still... you say it's terrible and yet you haven't posted asking for help. I (and hannes69) have invested a lot of time to write it, hoping for it to be clear enough. If it isn't I've openly stated that I'm all for changing it for the better (and I have done so upon suggestions received).

Hannes69 has worked on a program that will simplify some of the calculations needed and streamlines the process. We are currently testing.

But really, if anyone finds the guide too complicated or is in need of help, please post there. I will gladly help to the best of my ability.

Thank you.

Edit: also, for ryrynz, the fact that you have a working starting point doesn't mean you'll have perfect playback. Check the stats in madVR. The point of the guide was not to have an "okay" setting, the point of the guide is having a perfect setting. One that moves the drops/repeats outside the normal usage range (once you reach... 5 or 6 hours, chances are you'll never experience one, considering the material we watch usually).

Last edited by ashlar42; 30th September 2016 at 13:14.
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2016, 14:49   #39612  |  Link
CarlosCaco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Brasil, SP, São Paulo
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlar42 View Post
I don't want to pick a fight or anything but still... you say it's terrible and yet you haven't posted asking for help. I (and hannes69) have invested a lot of time to write it, hoping for it to be clear enough. If it isn't I've openly stated that I'm all for changing it for the better (and I have done so upon suggestions received).

Hannes69 has worked on a program that will simplify some of the calculations needed and streamlines the process. We are currently testing.

But really, if anyone finds the guide too complicated or is in need of help, please post there. I will gladly help to the best of my ability.

Thank you.

Edit: also, for ryrynz, the fact that you have a working starting point doesn't mean you'll have perfect playback. Check the stats in madVR. The point of the guide was not to have an "okay" setting, the point of the guide is having a perfect setting. One that moves the drops/repeats outside the normal usage range (once you reach... 5 or 6 hours, chances are you'll never experience one, considering the material we watch usually).
For me it's only guide that have real important content... i really like it and I glad you for the hard work...
if people be persistent certanly the guide will bring good results
__________________
Desktop, i5 2500, 8GB, N570 GTX TF III PE/OC
Asus X555LF, i7-5500U, 6GB Ram, Nvidia 930m/HD 5500
Windows 8.1 Pro x64
CarlosCaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2016, 18:25   #39613  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelGraves13 View Post
Is there a way to tell madvr to use double expanded range for a specific file every time? I've heard you can add something into the filename, but what about a header in the mkv or a tag?
You can add it to the directory name too, if you don't want to have to edit a lot of file names.

No header or tag for mkv, it would be an odd custom one and double expanded isn't something that should be part of normal video spec, imo.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2016, 18:43   #39614  |  Link
JarrettH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 842
Thanks ShiftyFella and Asmodian
JarrettH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2016, 20:55   #39615  |  Link
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
You can add it to the directory name too, if you don't want to have to edit a lot of file names.

No header or tag for mkv, it would be an odd custom one and double expanded isn't something that should be part of normal video spec, imo.
Yes I know but Texas Chainsaw Massacre remake has incorrect mastering of black levels.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2016, 23:36   #39616  |  Link
Stereodude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Region 0
Posts: 1,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSeries View Post
Is it possible to add profiles for 3dluts? Or maybe a keyboard shortcut to switch them? My plasma calibrates completely differently at different refresh rates so this would be very useful.
It already can be done. I have a different 3DLUT for 24Hz when my Plasma uses a 96Hz refresh than I do when it's refreshing at 60Hz. You can create a profile rule based on refresh rate and change between them automatically.
Stereodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2016, 00:50   #39617  |  Link
Uoppi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
You can add it to the directory name too, if you don't want to have to edit a lot of file names.
I don't know but it seems I am the only person on the planet who never got this to work, for whatever reason (in Kodi + DSPlayer).

The tag for double expansion is doing absolutely nothing at all (I posted about it here a few months back) but fortunately the black and white level tags DO work, so that I am able to achieve a similar result. So all is well but it is an odd thing for sure.

Last edited by Uoppi; 1st October 2016 at 00:53.
Uoppi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2016, 06:29   #39618  |  Link
robl45
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 157
Weird problem tonight maybe due to win10 update. Half the time I would play movie it would show queue for render and present at 1-2 instead of 11-12 or whatever. It was also randomly picking 24 Hz or 23.976 when it always picked 23.976 before and my queues were always near full. Anyone else have this or have any ideas?
robl45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2016, 06:59   #39619  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by robl45 View Post
Anyone else have this or have any ideas?
First thing I'd do is reinstall the graphics driver.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2016, 13:06   #39620  |  Link
Kotik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlar42 View Post
I don't want to pick a fight or anything but still... you say it's terrible and yet you haven't posted asking for help. I (and hannes69) have invested a lot of time to write it, hoping for it to be clear enough. If it isn't I've openly stated that I'm all for changing it for the better (and I have done so upon suggestions received).

Hannes69 has worked on a program that will simplify some of the calculations needed and streamlines the process. We are currently testing.

But really, if anyone finds the guide too complicated or is in need of help, please post there. I will gladly help to the best of my ability.

Thank you.
I did follow the guide and i am very happy with the results, i don't find the guide complicated. People tend to confuse the guide with the procedure itself. The guide is fine, people have to understand that the nature of the procedure is complicated, yes.... sometimes in our lives we have to press more than one button to get what we want.

Thanx for the guide and sorry for the off topic.
Kotik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.