Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 27th December 2014, 17:58   #27901  |  Link
a8213711
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by a8213711 View Post
I have a problem: my tv (Samsung) doesn't set the appropriate refresh rate (25Hz) even if supports it.
I have in MadVR
http://i58.tinypic.com/dqr89e.jpg
and I tryied with 2 different files:
http://i60.tinypic.com/n4ws4i.jpg
http://i59.tinypic.com/28ujwbm.jpg
- one put the tag Display on 59.94, infact the tv goes on 59Hz
- the other shows Display on 50, tv on 50Hz.
in control panel there are:
http://i61.tinypic.com/259lg1l.jpg
http://i59.tinypic.com/10ifk8w.jpg
Any tips?
Also in the last image it isn't shown I support 25 29 30 (int) too, should I add in MadVR all the modes my PC can support and rely to its decision?
After I took these screen I added in MadVr 1080p29 and 1080p30 too, and then tried 2 files:
- 30fps -> 60Hz
- 29.9fps -> 59.9Hz
Any help?
a8213711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2014, 18:19   #27902  |  Link
Ceremony
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdl View Post
I use MPC-HC as an external player in Kodi and my remote controls both with no problem.
What are you using? Im going with an android smartphone for controlling it.
Ceremony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2014, 18:34   #27903  |  Link
6233638
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,019
Quote:
Originally Posted by a8213711 View Post
Any help?
Use ReClock. (or JRiver VideoClock)
Enable 1080p 24/50/60
Drop 1080p 23/25/30/59.

"1080p 25/30" is actually a 1080i 50/60 output.
6233638 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2014, 09:51   #27904  |  Link
Hprd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by BetA13 View Post
hy there,

i dont know whats happening, but i think since i installed teh newest Nvidia Driver i have artefacts while playing with madvr..

Driver version: 347.09 (gtx670)

doesnt happen with other renderer. im clueless about now, tried different settings, downclocked my GPU, etc..
anyone also has this? its hard to get an pic of it..
ill try and add it later..

i hope someone can help me, this drivers me crazy. its so obvious i cant watch movies with madvr now, and teh quality loss without it, is, well, aaarrgh.....

greetz

edit:

got some screens....
this happens about 2 - 3 times per second, sometimes more , sometimes less, but its pretty disturbing..



greetz

edit:

happens on every source material..mp4, h264, xvid, etc..
tested a bit with MPDN PLayer since it uses a bit of madvr, but no artefacts there..

im totally at a loss why this is happening..
I get the same thing, but it seems only if nnedi3 is used, either for chroma and/OR image doubling/quadrupling. Looks fine using jinc3 for example for both.

Think I'm going to revert to an older Nvidia driver, as I've never seen this before. Don't see how it's madvr's fault.

EDIT: Reverted to 344.75 WHQL drivers, and everything's perfect again.

Last edited by Hprd; 28th December 2014 at 10:23.
Hprd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2014, 10:05   #27905  |  Link
zerowalker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,114
In an update to the slow seeking i have.

I notice that if the content is MPEG-2 it's fast like EVR, but with H264 it's much slower.
The decoding should be slower of course, but i can't think that it's that much slower as EVR uses the same decoding as MadVR (which is software for me as i don't use DXVA or QS).
zerowalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2014, 15:19   #27906  |  Link
trandoanhung1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 38
I have a question with LAV and madVR.

I noticed in LAV, there's already a Random Order Dithering option. Should I disable dithering in madVR?

Same with deinterlacing. I already have Adaptive Deinterlacing enabled in LAV, should I disable it completely in madVR?

What's the difference in quality/performance between them?
trandoanhung1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2014, 15:48   #27907  |  Link
Shiandow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 752
Quote:
Originally Posted by trandoanhung1991 View Post
I noticed in LAV, there's already a Random Order Dithering option. Should I disable dithering in madVR?
You should use MadVR's dithering. Dithering should be done as the very last step. LAV only has dithering for when it needs to convert to a different colour space, but it's generally better to let MadVR handle the conversions.
Shiandow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2014, 18:28   #27908  |  Link
digitech
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by digitech View Post
Anyone have recommended settings for sd content using neddi, i have no clue what combination to use, 90% of my sd content is animation and i love to use SVP with it but if i have to sacrifice SVP for better image quality i will, im on nvidia gtx 760, Intel i5 4670k, 16 gb ram, win7
Any help?
digitech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2014, 18:38   #27909  |  Link
a8213711
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6233638 View Post
Use ReClock. (or JRiver VideoClock)
Enable 1080p 24/50/60
Drop 1080p 23/25/30/59.

"1080p 25/30" is actually a 1080i 50/60 output.
Sorry, but this won't take more cpu/gpu load?
I have a low budget laptop, and since I see that when fps and Hz are the same I don't get any dropped frame (infact everything is smooth), I was thinking that if my TV was able to set the same refresh rate I could get a smooth playback without changing quality.
Now that I think about it I get (many) dropped frames per second especially on .wtv files (Windows Media Center recording) which show this: http://i60.tinypic.com/n4ws4i.jpg .
Next week I will try dropping those rates, if anyone have more to add, I'll be glad.
a8213711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2014, 21:08   #27910  |  Link
michkrol
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by a8213711 View Post
Sorry, but this won't take more cpu/gpu load?
I have a low budget laptop, and since I see that when fps and Hz are the same I don't get any dropped frame (infact everything is smooth), I was thinking that if my TV was able to set the same refresh rate I could get a smooth playback without changing quality.
Now that I think about it I get (many) dropped frames per second especially on .wtv files (Windows Media Center recording) which show this: http://i60.tinypic.com/n4ws4i.jpg .
Next week I will try dropping those rates, if anyone have more to add, I'll be glad.
Unfortunately changing refresh rates won't help you with dropped frames. It depends mostly on scaling factor and framerate.
Those files are interlaced, so simplifying you get 50 frames that need processing from 25 input frames - twice as much as from progressive files.
To get smooth playback your average rendering stats (45ms on screenshot) need to be lower than movie frame interval (20ms on screenshot).
I would suggest you create profiles for your settings with rules below
if (srcInterlaced) "nice"
else "fast"

That way you can have nicer settings for progressive files and smooth playback (lower settings) for interlaced files.
Or you could create separate profiles for playback on laptop's screen and TV.
michkrol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2014, 23:03   #27911  |  Link
BetA13
cosmic entity
 
BetA13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: outside the Box
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hprd View Post
I get the same thing, but it seems only if nnedi3 is used, either for chroma and/OR image doubling/quadrupling. Looks fine using jinc3 for example for both.

Think I'm going to revert to an older Nvidia driver, as I've never seen this before. Don't see how it's madvr's fault.

EDIT: Reverted to 344.75 WHQL drivers, and everything's perfect again.
thanks, going back to the older driver fixed it..
but i also had teh artefacts with image doubling , etc..

so it was ether, older driver or using Jinc.
nnedi3 looks much better. so back to the driver..
i guess im gonna open an Nvidia Ticket and hope for the best..

greetz

edit:
happy now again with nnedi3 and the C1C3 Stream from the CCC in germony....
MadVR and LAV work awesome with MPCHC and teh streams. never had so good picture quality in a stream..yaaayyy

greetz

Last edited by foxyshadis; 29th December 2014 at 07:12. Reason: removed link
BetA13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2014, 23:31   #27912  |  Link
Anima123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 463
Which nVidia driver version is the most stable so far? I am using 340.52 whql.
Anima123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2014, 00:25   #27913  |  Link
BetA13
cosmic entity
 
BetA13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: outside the Box
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anima123 View Post
Which nVidia driver version is the most stable so far? I am using 340.52 whql.
well, for me and my gtx670 its the 344.75 WHQL one..
But i guess its best to test yourself if u encounter errors..

greetz
BetA13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2014, 01:02   #27914  |  Link
braddock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 8
I'm getting dropped frames every few minutes on a 1080p movie that's 4:2:2 instead of the usual blu-ray 4:2:0

GTX 750ti
i5 3570k
16gb ram

Is my GPU?
braddock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2014, 02:55   #27915  |  Link
baii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by a8213711 View Post
Sorry, but this won't take more cpu/gpu load?
I have a low budget laptop, and since I see that when fps and Hz are the same I don't get any dropped frame (infact everything is smooth), I was thinking that if my TV was able to set the same refresh rate I could get a smooth playback without changing quality.
Now that I think about it I get (many) dropped frames per second especially on .wtv files (Windows Media Center recording) which show this: http://i60.tinypic.com/n4ws4i.jpg .
Next week I will try dropping those rates, if anyone have more to add, I'll be glad.
Turn off smooth motion, it is taxing for lower end gpu.
If you are playing 1080i25 material, 1080p50 refresh rate setting is correct. And that will in turn make smooth option off.

Some option you can try
Cpu deinterlacing using lav
In madvr, check use half frame rate in trade quality for performance.


Sent from my 306SH
baii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2014, 06:45   #27916  |  Link
JarrettH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 842
Why does madvr still contain decoders? Are there benefits I am unaware of? I think with LAV being bundled now it's no longer necessary.
JarrettH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2014, 08:06   #27917  |  Link
romulous
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by JarrettH View Post
Why does madvr still contain decoders? Are there benefits I am unaware of? I think with LAV being bundled now it's no longer necessary.
LAV may be bundled with some players, but it is not bundled with madVR. Anyway, to answer the question - convenience, and troubleshooting. Convenience - if you don't want to (or can't) use another third party decoder, you don't have to, just use madVR's built in decoder. Troubleshooting - not sure if the issue you have is due to madVR, or the third party decoder? Disable the decoder and use madVR's decoder. That will tell you.
romulous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2014, 17:11   #27918  |  Link
a8213711
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 31
Thank you everyone, but I still can't use the laptop right now, so I will properly change its settings afterwards.
But meanwhile I want to ask something.
My GPU is capable of i25 (see http://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php?...ostcount=27887 for details), is there a way to understand if my TV is capable too?
Shouldn't my laptop be able to playback easily a file if source and output are the same? (adding in madVr all the interlaced I support)
Also let me clarify that I never use the laptop screen, and that I disabled Smooth Motion long ago; in case someone is wondering, I have this APU: http://www.notebookcheck.net/AMD-A-S...r.74885.0.html
a8213711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2014, 23:05   #27919  |  Link
baii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by a8213711 View Post
Thank you everyone, but I still can't use the laptop right now, so I will properly change its settings afterwards.
But meanwhile I want to ask something.
My GPU is capable of i25 (see http://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php?...ostcount=27887 for details), is there a way to understand if my TV is capable too?
Shouldn't my laptop be able to playback easily a file if source and output are the same? (adding in madVr all the interlaced I support)
Also let me clarify that I never use the laptop screen, and that I disabled Smooth Motion long ago; in case someone is wondering, I have this APU: http://www.notebookcheck.net/AMD-A-S...r.74885.0.html
The screenshot say it is on, I think you need to disable it for every display device iirc.

Sent from my 306SH
baii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2014, 06:33   #27920  |  Link
StinDaWg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 216
What is the minimum Nvidia gpu required for 720p60->1080p60 NNEDI3 image doubling? 750ti can't do it, so what's next in line that won't break the bank? I'm thinking of getting a 4K tv, and I don't think any AMD cards can do 4K @ 60hz yet over HDMI. Any idea if this can be updated via firmware like what happened to the Nvidia cards?

Also, can any of them NNEDI3 quadruple from 720p to 4K, or double from 1080p to 4K?

Last edited by StinDaWg; 30th December 2014 at 06:35.
StinDaWg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.