Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th April 2008, 03:22   #1221  |  Link
deets
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: london, england
Posts: 509
im awake so ill give your questions a go

1. no, 2 pass is only for making it fit a desired file size. If you are not concerned with the end file size you can try CRF mode which is one pass.
2. it wont make any difference to encoding time, the raw video file is the same in either mkv or mp4
3. maybe so, i only encode for PSP and i think it takes longer for higher bitrate, but i could be completely wrong
deets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2008, 05:55   #1222  |  Link
--PlayStation3--
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
Reinstall AviSynth
Reinstalling AviSynth didn't work. Now I get a different error.

  Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2008, 08:09   #1223  |  Link
deacon crusher
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 14
TrueHD to AC3

Atak or anyone else.

I'm very close to getting this great app to work perfectly for me, but I've got a couple of questions.

I'm trying to rip blu-ray movies to play on a Sage media extender. Doesn't seem to handle the full bit rate of m2ts files so want to encode to mkv as it seems to handle those well. I've done one encode that worked for the first 20 minutes of the movie (I'm using spiderman3 for my tests) but after about 20 minutes the audio stops altogether and the video plays at about 2x speed. I've read a bunch of this thread and figure this might be a codec pack I had (klite) so uninstalled that.

So, first question, what settings should I use to maintain the highest quality as file size is not that big an issue?

EDIT
I tried Blu-ray profile with CQ of 24 or 26 whichever is highest. That gave me a smaller file size then 20 or 22 whichever I tried first, so next time I'll go CQ with 16, that should give me least recompression, correct?
END EDIT

Second and this is the biggy, Spidey has TrueHD and a 5.1 uncompressed 5.1 sound tracks. I'd like to use either of these to create a 5.1 AC3 sound track. Is this possible? That sound track will work if I playback through my dolby digital (but not dts) decoding receiver, or if I dump straight to my TV via hdmi as my Sage extender will down convert for me to 2 channels.

If this is possilbe what's the right way to do it?

EDIT
Watched the process a little more closely this time and I think I've figured out that ripbot is actually converting the LPCM track to flac and then when I choose aften 5.1 it's changing it back to AC3, correct?

So, if that's right how does ripbot know which sound track to use? I guess the LPCM one has only one version and is English.
END EDIT

NEW QUESTION
Last question, so this next try even with smaller file size and my better understanding still created an MKV that has the audio die about 15 to 18 minutes into the movie (exact same point.)

Some way to fix this??

Also, should it take 45 minutes or so for Rip Bot to parse through the audio files and do the flac conversion before you get to make your mkv choices and start the re-encode??
END NEW QUESTION.

Thanks very much and again, great tool.

thanks

Last edited by deacon crusher; 25th April 2008 at 04:37. Reason: updating questions and own thoughts/info
deacon crusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2008, 13:05   #1224  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,328
--PlayStation3--
Remove all codec paks from your system and then use Ajax installer.
Atak_Snajpera is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2008, 21:36   #1225  |  Link
IYG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
--PlayStation3--
Remove all codec paks from your system and then use Ajax installer.
I did do it and I got the same problem with PlayStation3
IYG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2008, 22:04   #1226  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,328
Quote:
I tried Blu-ray profile with CQ of 24 or 26 whichever is highest. That gave me a smaller file size then 20 or 22 whichever I tried first, so next time I'll go CQ with 16, that should give me least recompression, correct?
Lower value means better quality (bigger size). If I were you I would stay with CQ22.

Quote:
Last question, so this next try even with smaller file size and my better understanding still created an MKV that has the audio die about 15 to 18 minutes into the movie (exact same point.)
I had the same problem with Casino Royale DVD. I will try to find solution.

Quote:
So, if that's right how does ripbot know which sound track to use? I guess the LPCM one has only one version and is English.
User chooses track from the list not ripbot

Quote:
I did do it and I got the same problem with PlayStation3
When this error occurs show me also getinfo.avs

Quote:
Also, should it take 45 minutes or so for Rip Bot to parse through the audio files and do the flac conversion before you get to make your mkv choices and start the re-encode??
If your source is huge (bluray) with many soundtracks and your HDD is not very fast...Why not.

Last edited by Atak_Snajpera; 25th April 2008 at 22:09.
Atak_Snajpera is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2008, 22:39   #1227  |  Link
Sarreq Teryx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Between a clown and a mime, holding an uzi to each head.
Posts: 79
I'm using 1.9.2 and so far it's a nice program, but I'm finding a few things either broken or lacking.
broken:
  • decimation - it seems to be disabled no matter what. I'd have to guess it's something you're still working on.
    sorry, it seems to just not like certain frame rates, very odd. it works fine for 29.976 video, but there's only the choice to decimate to 23.976. this is most definitely an odd case, but I have a 120fps video, and I'd like to be able to decimate it to 24, but no-go
  • subtitles - MKVs can hold SRT, SSA or ASS, but the only option available for "mux in container" is SRT
lacking:
  • saving new profiles - how? I'd like to save my custom profile, but there doesn't seem to be an option for it.
  • free-form bitrate control for the video - why be stuck with a drop down list of bitrates?
  • audio format and bitrates - 6 choices??? why not make a chooser between ogg, aac-lc and aac-he, and have a slider for either cq or bitrate?
  • normalizer - 100% or 200%? what if someone wants to normalize somwhere below, inbetween, or above those marks?
  • 3-pass encoding - why not?
__________________
And as I walk through the Valley of the Shadow of Death, Lord, thy balls and shaft, they comfort me, you annoint my head with oil, some salt, a dash of pepper, a sprigg of parsley......Lord?............Lord??? What dost thou intend to do with that fork???

Last edited by Sarreq Teryx; 25th April 2008 at 23:12.
Sarreq Teryx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2008, 23:15   #1228  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,328
It looks like you didn't do your homework very well

Quote:
lacking:

* saving new profiles - how? I'd like to save my custom profile, but there doesn't seem to be an option for it.
* free-form bitrate control for the video - why be stuck with a drop down list of bitrates?
* audio format and bitrates - 6 choices??? why not make a chooser between ogg, aac-lc and aac-he, and have a slider for either cq or bitrate?
* normalizer - 100% or 200%? what if someone wants to normalize somwhere below, inbetween, or above those marks?
* 3-pass encoding - why not?
1) Modifiy name (in codec settings) and click ok. Profile always shows in Profile directory. Is it that complicated ???
2) Did you even bother to enter bitrate manually???
3) Simplicity Amigo, Simplicity. Tell me Who encode for instance AC3 audio at 345kbps???
4) What is point to normalize audio below 100%??? 200% was added ONLY for PSP users. It helps a little bit to increase audio volume but it is not RECOMMENDED in other task.
5) Huge waste of time!!! Human being won't see difference between 2-pass and 3-pass. Unless you are cyborg.

Quote:
* decimation - it seems to be disabled no matter what. I'd have to guess it's something you're still working on.
* subtitles - MKVs can hold SRT, SSA or ASS, but the only option available for "mux in container" is SRT
decimate is available ONLY if source has 29.97 fps or 59.94fps!
SRT subs are alot more popular than SSA or ASS.

Last edited by Atak_Snajpera; 25th April 2008 at 23:17.
Atak_Snajpera is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2008, 00:20   #1229  |  Link
IYG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post

When this error occurs show me also getinfo.avs
I think the problem comes from the source.
http://www.mediafire.com/?axsx4dbabfi
IYG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2008, 00:22   #1230  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,328
Send me source then.
Atak_Snajpera is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2008, 01:09   #1231  |  Link
IYG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
Send me source then.
It's 300Mb
Do you want to download it?
IYG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2008, 02:12   #1232  |  Link
Sarreq Teryx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Between a clown and a mime, holding an uzi to each head.
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
It looks like you didn't do your homework very well

1) Modifiy name (in codec settings) and click ok. Profile always shows in Profile directory. Is it that complicated ???
o0 sorry, that wasn't obvious, usually there's a "save profile" button. thanks
Quote:
2) Did you even bother to enter bitrate manually???
>_> whoops…
Quote:
3) Simplicity Amigo, Simplicity. Tell me Who encode for instance AC3 audio at 345kbps???
not anyone sane, I didn't mean for encoding that high or or arbitrary a bitrate either, but I think limiting the choice to 64HE, 96LC and 128LC is a little silly, I'd just like to be able to use 112kbps or 192 in both profiles at least. neither profile are limited to those bitrates are they? I know Vorbis isn't.
Quote:
4) What is point to normalize audio below 100%??? 200% was added ONLY for PSP users. It helps a little bit to increase audio volume but it is not RECOMMENDED in other task.
below 100%: if the source audio is too loud, you'd want to lower it
between 100 and 200%: if the source audio is too quiet, but not so quiet that you'd want to boost it by 200%
over 200%: ya got me, the hard of hearing?
Quote:
5) Huge waste of time!!! Human being won't see difference between 2-pass and 3-pass. Unless you are cyborg.
I'm not quite a cyborg, but I do notice little slight differences, I know most people don't see them, but I do. it's not a major thing, I would've liked the option though.
Quote:
decimate is available ONLY if source has 29.97 fps or 59.94fps!
is that a limitation of AVISynth (or something else ripbot uses)?
Quote:
SRT subs are alot more popular than SSA or ASS.
maybe that doesn't apply to anime subbers, since I've only ever seen SSA or ASS used in them. but besides that, MKV is still compatible with all 3 (and USF, I wish that wasn't abandoned), why limit people to one format? if MP4 or BlueRay are limited to SRT, limit those, but MKV isn't and shouldn't be.
__________________
And as I walk through the Valley of the Shadow of Death, Lord, thy balls and shaft, they comfort me, you annoint my head with oil, some salt, a dash of pepper, a sprigg of parsley......Lord?............Lord??? What dost thou intend to do with that fork???
Sarreq Teryx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2008, 07:48   #1233  |  Link
Usa1955
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 23
Is it somehow possible to convert avi files with FLV1? When I try to open one generated from FLV extract Media Player classic opens displaying that FLV1 is not supported. Is it somehow possible though?
Usa1955 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2008, 08:17   #1234  |  Link
jamd1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 102
Atak_Snajpera - thx again for the app. Having made a few rips with it now - experimenting with different bit rates and resolutions and working out conversion times. There is a big time saving using 1280x720 over 1920x1080 - more significant than using the same resolution with half the bitrate.
So "generally speaking" would i get a better picture with a 1280x720 file with 8192 Bit rate compared to a 1920x1080 file with 4096 Bit rate? Or am I better off with the full HD resolution at the lower bit rate.
Thx for any advice.
jamd1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2008, 11:56   #1235  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,328
Quote:
It's 300Mb
Do you want to download it?
50 mb is enough

Quote:
but I think limiting the choice to 64HE, 96LC and 128LC is a little silly, I'd just like to be able to use 112kbps or 192 in both profiles at least. neither profile are limited to those bitrates are they? I know Vorbis isn't.
AAC is very efficient codec. 128kbps is comparable to 192 mp3 so i see no reason to use higher bitrate. The same rule applies to ogg as well. I also see no reason to use 112kbps. 128-112=16. You would save whole 16kbps Silly

Quote:
below 100%: if the source audio is too loud, you'd want to lower it
between 100 and 200%: if the source audio is too quiet, but not so quiet that you'd want to boost it by 200%
over 200%: ya got me, the hard of hearing?
200% = always distorted sound. You increase audio volume above scale.
If your source was normalized above scale lowering volume won't fix that. Audio will always remain distorted.
Lesson for: 200% for PSP ,100% for rest.

Quote:
I'm not quite a cyborg, but I do notice little slight differences, I know most people don't see them, but I do. it's not a major thing, I would've liked the option though.
I doubt

Quote:
is that a limitation of AVISynth (or something else ripbot uses)?
Read this: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Telecine#2:3_pulldown

Quote:
maybe that doesn't apply to anime subbers, since I've only ever seen SSA or ASS used in them. but besides that, MKV is still compatible with all 3 (and USF, I wish that wasn't abandoned), why limit people to one format? if MP4 or BlueRay are limited to SRT, limit those, but MKV isn't and shouldn't be.
next version will support SSA and ASS...

Quote:
Atak_Snajpera - thx again for the app. Having made a few rips with it now - experimenting with different bit rates and resolutions and working out conversion times. There is a big time saving using 1280x720 over 1920x1080 - more significant than using the same resolution with half the bitrate.
So "generally speaking" would i get a better picture with a 1280x720 file with 8192 Bit rate compared to a 1920x1080 file with 4096 Bit rate? Or am I better off with the full HD resolution at the lower bit rate.
Thx for any advice.
If you did your math you would know that Full HD footage has ~2 times more pixels to encode therefore it requires proportional higher bitrate. HD should have 4Mbps and FullHD should have 8192.
Conclusion is that 720p at 8Mbps will always look better than FullHD at 4Mbps!

Quote:
Is it somehow possible to convert avi files with FLV1? When I try to open one generated from FLV extract Media Player classic opens displaying that FLV1 is not supported. Is it somehow possible though?

Last edited by Atak_Snajpera; 26th April 2008 at 12:06.
Atak_Snajpera is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2008, 12:35   #1236  |  Link
IYG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
50 mb is enough
Where do you want me to upload it?
BTW, may you reenable the option "deinterlace" next version?
Because, most of my videos are interlace.
Thank you.
IYG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2008, 12:45   #1237  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,328
www.mediafire.com
Atak_Snajpera is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2008, 17:22   #1238  |  Link
Sarreq Teryx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Between a clown and a mime, holding an uzi to each head.
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
OK, while one of the more important forms of telecine, 2:3 pulldown isn't the only form of frame decimation. I actually wasn't kidding about the 120fps video I've got (119.88, to be exact, it was probably interlaced 59.94 originally)
__________________
And as I walk through the Valley of the Shadow of Death, Lord, thy balls and shaft, they comfort me, you annoint my head with oil, some salt, a dash of pepper, a sprigg of parsley......Lord?............Lord??? What dost thou intend to do with that fork???
Sarreq Teryx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2008, 17:49   #1239  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,328
Send me sample and I will see what I can do. OK?
Atak_Snajpera is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2008, 19:41   #1240  |  Link
Sarreq Teryx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Between a clown and a mime, holding an uzi to each head.
Posts: 79
here you go, 37.5MB, 1280x720x119.88fps divx6.8 mp3
__________________
And as I walk through the Valley of the Shadow of Death, Lord, thy balls and shaft, they comfort me, you annoint my head with oil, some salt, a dash of pepper, a sprigg of parsley......Lord?............Lord??? What dost thou intend to do with that fork???
Sarreq Teryx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
264, 265, appletv, avchd, bluray, gui, iphone, ipod, ps3, psp, ripbot264, x264 2-pass, x264 gui, x264_64, x265, xbox360

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.