Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 6th July 2010, 22:31   #10301  |  Link
AnryV
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 42
Quote:
TrueHD/AC3, 5.1 channels, 48kHz
(embedded: AC3, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48kHz)
Extracting TrueHD stream...
Removing TrueHD dialog normalization...
Decoding with libav/ffmpeg...
Writing WAVs...
[libav] Substream 0 parity check failed <WARNING>
[libav] Substream 0 checksum failed <WARNING>
[libav] Substream 0 length mismatch. <WARNING>
The libav decoder reported error -1 while decoding. <ERROR>
Aborted at file position 262144. <ERROR>
Quote:
eac3to v3.22
command line: eac3to.exe "F:\T4\fre.thd" "F:\T4\fre.wavs" -nero
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
TrueHD, 5.1 channels, 48kHz
Disabling DRC for Nero (E-)AC3 decoding...
Decoding with DirectShow (Nero Audio Decoder 2)...
The DirectShow audio decoder didn't accept the input stream. <ERROR>
Aborted at file position 262144. <ERROR>
It was under w7...

Under Windows XP SP3:
Quote:
TrueHD, 5.1 channels, 48kHz
Disabling DRC for Nero (E-)AC3 decoding...
Decoding with DirectShow (Nero Audio Decoder 2)...
DirectShow reports 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 48kHz
Writing WAV...
Creating file "fre.wav"...
The original audio track has a constant bit depth of 16 bits.
Superfluous zero bytes detected, will be stripped in 2nd pass.
Starting 2nd pass...
Reading WAV...
Stripping zero bytes...
Writing WAV...
Creating file "fre.wav"...
eac3to processing took 9 seconds.

Done.
The decoding by libav under XP failed too.


What this can be?


Sample - http://multi-up.com/301756

Last edited by AnryV; 8th July 2010 at 13:43.
AnryV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2010, 21:29   #10302  |  Link
mr.duck
quack quack
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 259
eac3to cannot fully demux my TS files (from DVB-T, UK).

Unlike other programs like tsMuxeR, eac3to at least recognizes that there are subtitles there. But -demux only extracts the video and audio.

Also when I -demux some <path>\video.ts, it extracts the audio and video to the same folder as eac3to.exe, not the video file folder and no other way of setting the output to another folder. Pretty annoying.
mr.duck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2010, 00:54   #10303  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Is a problem for eac3to (at least DTS tracks, AC3 seems ok).

PC players tested without problems: mpc-hc(Haali), vlc and KMP

Standalone player tested without problems: Xtreamer

BTW, I don't know how can compress AC3 headers. There are different values in headers: CRC's, RF protection, DRC values, ...
hm can eac3to please be fixed that way that demuxing these know problematic filetypes from .mkv files works normally again? (video streams (avc/h264, vc-1, mpeg2, flac, dts, ac3, .ass subs)

otherwise there could be problems when muxing e.g. hdtv stuff and then deleting the .ts source afterwards only to find out that you then cannot demux one of those streams from the .mkv when you need to.
thanks!
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2010, 02:08   #10304  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
hm can eac3to please be fixed that way that demuxing these know problematic filetypes from .mkv files works normally again? (video streams (avc/h264, vc-1, mpeg2, flac, dts, ac3, .ass subs)
+1
But the the change only is for:
* mkvmerge: enhancement: mkvmerge uses header removal compression
by default for AC3, DTS, MP3, Dirac and MPEG-4 part 2 tracks.

Quote:
otherwise there could be problems when muxing e.g. hdtv stuff and then deleting the .ts source afterwards only to find out that you then cannot demux one of those streams from the .mkv when you need to.
thanks!
We always can use MkvExtract.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2010, 13:17   #10305  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,171
Ive had it in the past that flac tracks extracted by mkvextract could not be recognised by eac3to afterwards. so if this problem has been fixed, I wouldnt mind to use mkvextract.
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2010, 16:28   #10306  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,701
With old versions of MkvExtract the flac tracks was extracted in ogg container by default. Now is not extract in ogg container.

2010-05-28 Moritz Bunkus

* mkvextract: feature removal: Removed support for extracting FLAC
tracks into Ogg FLAC files. Instead they're always written into
raw FLAC files. The option "--no-ogg" has been removed as well.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.

Last edited by tebasuna51; 10th July 2010 at 16:34.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2010, 16:37   #10307  |  Link
Midzuki
Unavailable
 
Midzuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: offline
Posts: 1,477
MKVmerge can be used for copying a FLAC track to a .mka file.
Midzuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2010, 20:27   #10308  |  Link
73ChargerFan
Registered User
 
73ChargerFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post
I have a Blu Ray disc of a tv show (Supernatural Season 1, Disc 1). The disc has the first 6 episodes of the tv show. When I run the disc through eac3to (using Clown_BD and/or Ripbot) eac3to only picks up 3 playlists (the 1st playlist is of all episodes, the 2nd playlist is of episode 1, and the 3rd playlist is of episode
Cool show, I just watched all of season 5 last week.

Use BDInfo to identify the playlists for each episode (it can sort by time.) Then you can use eac3to on each.

Or, if you don't care about chapter times, you can demux the m2ts directly (sort by file size).

IIRC, eac3to is supposed to show playlists longer than 15 minutes, so this is probably a bug.
73ChargerFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2010, 13:05   #10309  |  Link
deathlord
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by 73ChargerFan View Post
Cool show, I just watched all of season 5 last week.

Use BDInfo to identify the playlists for each episode (it can sort by time.) Then you can use eac3to on each.

Or, if you don't care about chapter times, you can demux the m2ts directly (sort by file size).

IIRC, eac3to is supposed to show playlists longer than 15 minutes, so this is probably a bug.
You can also run eac3to on the playlist files, like
eac3to xyz.mpls
This way you see, which playlist corresponds to which .m2ts file.
The bigger Problem is, you don't know the right order for the episodes, i.e. you can't tell which ist the first.
There is no guarantee that either the .m2ts file name of the .mpls file name helps you there. I have not found a satisfying solution to this problem.
deathlord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2010, 20:39   #10310  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,362
Quote:
Originally Posted by deathlord View Post
You can also run eac3to on the playlist files, like
eac3to xyz.mpls
This way you see, which playlist corresponds to which .m2ts file.
The bigger Problem is, you don't know the right order for the episodes, i.e. you can't tell which ist the first.
There is no guarantee that either the .m2ts file name of the .mpls file name helps you there. I have not found a satisfying solution to this problem.
If you want a manual way to do it, install MPC-HC and open each MPLS in that. You should quickly see which episode corresponds to which MPLS. It's a pain, yes, but, it should work.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2010, 23:18   #10311  |  Link
73ChargerFan
Registered User
 
73ChargerFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 518
There are dozens and dozens of playlist MPLS files on some blu-rays. BDInfo will load the disk structure show immediately which mpls files are of interest.
73ChargerFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2010, 01:27   #10312  |  Link
Snowknight26
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,394
How does eac3to know how much gain to apply after clipping's been detected?

Quote:
a05 Applying -0.27dB gain...
Seems a bit strange to apply only a .27dB gain.
Snowknight26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2010, 12:23   #10313  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowknight26 View Post
How does eac3to know how much gain to apply after clipping's been detected?

Seems a bit strange to apply only a .27dB gain.
Internally the samples value are managed with float values and can overflow the max value (lossy encoder/decoder imperfections, samplerate/mix operations, ...).
The second pass restore the max peak found to the max value allowed.

When only decode (only lossy encoder/decoder imperfections) I use -no2ndpass because this overflows are always errors (can't be present in original source) and are imperceptibles. But is your choice.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2010, 16:56   #10314  |  Link
deathlord
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
If you want a manual way to do it, install MPC-HC and open each MPLS in that. You should quickly see which episode corresponds to which MPLS. It's a pain, yes, but, it should work.
How do I see which episode is which? Almost no show has a text encoded in the image: "Episode 1: ...", in particular not at the very beginning of the episode. The only way I see is to start each episode from the BD structure in TMT/PDVD, start the .m2ts files in MPC and compare visually. I find this extremely unsatisfying.

Sometimes, the .mpls files are in the same order as the episodes (the .m2ts files hardly ever are). However, in some shows, you can apparently not even play each episode seperately. Example: Terminator: TSCC Season 1 in TMT, there is not a playlist for each episode, only one for all three in a row. (However, there *is* a .m2ts file for each episode.
deathlord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2010, 16:59   #10315  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,362
Quote:
Originally Posted by deathlord View Post
How do I see which episode is which? Almost no show has a text encoded in the image: "Episode 1: ...", in particular not at the very beginning of the episode. The only way I see is to start each episode from the BD structure in TMT/PDVD, start the .m2ts files in MPC and compare visually. I find this extremely unsatisfying.

Sometimes, the .mpls files are in the same order as the episodes (the .m2ts files hardly ever are). However, in some shows, you can apparently not even play each episode seperately. Example: Terminator: TSCC Season 1 in TMT, there is not a playlist for each episode, only one for all three in a row. (However, there *is* a .m2ts file for each episode.
For a show you've not seen before, this would be incredibly difficult, yes. I'm not sure if there's any easy way to determine what order to use "programmatically" as it were. The idea of loading each MPLS into MPC-HC to see what episode it is only works if you know the order they should be in and can recognize them by the first few seconds of watching it. Admittedly, this does suck. I don't know of a better way.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2010, 17:31   #10316  |  Link
deathlord
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
For a show you've not seen before, this would be incredibly difficult, yes.
I usually wait for the shows to be released on blu-ray...

Quote:
I don't know of a better way.
Does anyone?
deathlord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2010, 18:27   #10317  |  Link
TinTime
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by deathlord View Post

Quote:
I don't know of a better way.
Does anyone?
No, I'm in the same boat as you. I just stick the blu-ray in my PS3 and note down the run times of anything I want to rip. Not ideal but I can't think of any other way to do it. I then run a batch script which runs eac3to against all the playlists on the disk and outputs a text file with all the playlists and run times on it so I can select the right ones easily enough.

I say bring back HD DVD. They have nice xpl files with title and chapter names in them
TinTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2010, 18:43   #10318  |  Link
dbone1026
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by TinTime View Post
No, I'm in the same boat as you. I just stick the blu-ray in my PS3 and note down the run times of anything I want to rip. Not ideal but I can't think of any other way to do it. I then run a batch script which runs eac3to against all the playlists on the disk and outputs a text file with all the playlists and run times on it so I can select the right ones easily enough.

I say bring back HD DVD. They have nice xpl files with title and chapter names in them
The easiest method I had when eac3to doesn't correctly display each episode is to use MakeMKV which so far has always picked up each episode individually. Once the mkvs are created I then play the beginning of the mkv and cross reference it against TVDB to figure out the actual episode. A little manual but gets the job done.

Another option, I think a program like DVDFab you can use to rip individual episodes to mkv. Each episode in DVDFab will have a Title# which you should then be able to match off using a player like PDVD to figure out which title# is what episode (this is what I do for SD DVD tv shows)
__________________
Cheers,
Damian

Blog - http://www.adigitalhomeblog.com
MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net
dbone1026 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2010, 02:28   #10319  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
Guys, dunno if it's a known issue but i can not use Nero audio decoder with eac3to anymore. (with my Seven 64)
I have hd patch of Nero 7 but i can't see Nero audio decoder2; instead nero audible decoder appears.

And when i try to decode any thd with eac3to and i force it to decode with nero, here is what madshi says:

Code:
eac3to v3.22
command line: eac3to\eac3to  C:\pcm\try.m2ts 3: C:\pcm\audionerothd.pcm -nero
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
M2TS, 1 video track, 2 audio tracks, 0:05:00, 24p /1.001
1: VC-1, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
2: RAW/PCM, English, 2.0 channels, 24 bits, 48kHz
3: TrueHD/AC3, English, 5.1 channels, 96kHz, dialnorm: -27dB
   (embedded: AC3, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48kHz, dialnorm: -27dB)
[a03] I'd like to use the Nero decoder, but it doesn't seem to work.  <ERROR>
What's up?

EDIT: I forgot libav is the default decoder for thd because of the nero's channel limitation. But anyway eac3to had to work with nero when it's forced? I'll give it a go with ac3 and eac3 which nero supposed to be default for them.

EDIT: Yes i gave it a go with an ac3 file and eac3to couldn't decode it with its default decoder Nero and forcing it to use nero gave the same caution: "I'd like to use the Nero decoder, but it doesn't seem to work."
eac3to can not recognize Ne.Audible.ax- fake nero audio decoder2 on Seven.


Shall we forget nero anymore?

Or is there any hack?

_ _ _ _ _

Last edited by rica; 21st July 2010 at 02:14.
rica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2010, 04:09   #10320  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
BTW, this is an "how to" guide for arcsoft decoders on Seven or Vista SP2.
Somebody may be interested:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...postcount=3065



_ _ _ _ _ _
rica is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.