Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 9th October 2018, 01:51   #53061  |  Link
YGPMOLE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
I actually dont use MADVR refresh rate switching as there is a bug with AMD cards with it
No problems at all here: clean instal of Win 10 x64 1809, last madVR and LAV Filters, AMD RX 480 Nitro+ 8GB and last AMD driver.

Only difference, this driver appears to be a little bit darker than the previous on the desktop, like the brightness level is minor.

Nothing better than a format to solve all the problems: at the end, you will lose less time than try to understand where the issues come from, and what causes them, and you are certain that nothing is related to the previous installation and/or unclean driver unistall.
__________________
Best Regards! Leo!
YGPMOLE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 10:59   #53062  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 837
Quote:
Originally Posted by YGPMOLE View Post
No problems at all here: clean instal of Win 10 x64 1809, last madVR and LAV Filters, AMD RX 480 Nitro+ 8GB and last AMD driver.

Only difference, this driver appears to be a little bit darker than the previous on the desktop, like the brightness level is minor.

Nothing better than a format to solve all the problems: at the end, you will lose less time than try to understand where the issues come from, and what causes them, and you are certain that nothing is related to the previous installation and/or unclean driver unistall.
Hi, the refresh rate swithing bug is a minor issue and you'll only see it in one circumstance.

You will only see it when you stop playing a 1080p 3D MVC movie where it drops back to a 4K KODI DS gui or 4K desktop GUI if you are using MPC-BE or MPC-HC.

if you put your desktop in 1080p mode first before starting the movie is works fine, the bug seems to be MADVR cant go from 1080p to 3840 with 3D, it can go the other way fine as the movie starts and plays fine.

I've had this for a long time through two clean installs of windows and on two different machines, it only does it with MADVR refresh rate switching, if I use KODI or MPC refresh rate switching its fine so I know its a MADVR bug.
__________________
OLED EF950-YAMAHA RX-V685-Win101809-4K 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX580 19.9.2
KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.14/0.74.1 - 3D / DIRECT3D11 / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 13:36   #53063  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,285
I wonder if it's an order thing where it tries to change the res first then turn off 3d and it breaks because 4k 3d didn't work.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 14:20   #53064  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 837
could be yeah, genuinely no idea though, that it works if my TV is in 1080p mode suggests MADVR is doing something wrong with the 1080p to 4k switch back but MADSHI says not and that its a driver issue, , dont see how it can be a driver issue if its only affecting MADVR refresh rate switching.
__________________
OLED EF950-YAMAHA RX-V685-Win101809-4K 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX580 19.9.2
KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.14/0.74.1 - 3D / DIRECT3D11 / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 14:36   #53065  |  Link
nussman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 211
Or could be timing issue that triggers a driver bug only in this special situation? Or something different ...
Imho its not clearly a madVR bug like you are telling us over and over again.
nussman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 15:07   #53066  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 837
the special situation seems to simply be MADVR
__________________
OLED EF950-YAMAHA RX-V685-Win101809-4K 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX580 19.9.2
KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.14/0.74.1 - 3D / DIRECT3D11 / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 17:32   #53067  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 227
I don't think so. Using nVidia there has never been a refresh rate/resolution switching problem when exiting 3D. It must be your preference in GPU's and/or its drivers.

That said, this was an issue with KODI v.18 (a beta development) as I've reported many, many times. Just recently I installed a new nightly after upgrading everything I use to latest offerings including both MPC players nightlies, LAV Filter nightlies, PowerDVD, Windows 1809, nVidia v.416.16, and madVR v0.92.17. The problem no longer exists. This WAS my only niggle with v.18. Now it's my daily driver. All this perfect with HDR, SDR, and 3D frame packed MVC.
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 @Matched Refresh Rates 8,10,12bit
KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD19 DVDFab 3 & 5
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D

Last edited by brazen1; 9th October 2018 at 18:24.
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 17:52   #53068  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 837
I tend to agree its something to do with the AMD chain, its just odd its only with MADVR RRS, I was hoping that MADVR was doing slightly something different to MPC and others and that MADSHI could at least point me in the direction of something that was doing wrong at my end.

Also, so few people use 3D nowadays that its hard to find anyone with the same problem.
__________________
OLED EF950-YAMAHA RX-V685-Win101809-4K 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX580 19.9.2
KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.14/0.74.1 - 3D / DIRECT3D11 / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 18:28   #53069  |  Link
NoTechi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by brazen1 View Post
That said, this was an issue with KODI v.18 (a beta development) ... The problem no longer exists.
I had an issue that only one external player was possible like half a year ago and switched back to Kodi 17. Looks like you got it working for multiple external player so I might give it another try. Are the playercorefactory.xml settings for external players the same as in 17?

NoTechi
NoTechi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 18:32   #53070  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 227
You might give FSExclusive vs FSWindow a try. If I'm not mistaken, your front end prefers FSW. Mine, FSE. Have you tried without a front end involved at all and run it solo through Explorer? This would allow you to try FSE and FSW without the front end preference interfering since it's out of the equation.
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 @Matched Refresh Rates 8,10,12bit
KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD19 DVDFab 3 & 5
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 18:41   #53071  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 227
There was also that problem months ago with KODI v.18. Subsequent playbacks using different players insisted to only use the player used on the first playback and didn't allow changing (manually or as assigned by default according to PCF.xml rules). That was addressed fairly quickly and has not been problematic for months thanks to the dev who fixed this (afedchin I presume). Yes, the PCF.xml is the same although with advancements or declines in all the components, my configuration is different. I encourage you try. I could use the feedback.
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 @Matched Refresh Rates 8,10,12bit
KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD19 DVDFab 3 & 5
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 18:49   #53072  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by brazen1 View Post
... your front end prefers FSW. Mine, FSE.
Sorry, but I want always learn - front end??
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 19:32   #53073  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 837
Quote:
Originally Posted by brazen1 View Post
You might give FSExclusive vs FSWindow a try. If I'm not mistaken, your front end prefers FSW. Mine, FSE. Have you tried without a front end involved at all and run it solo through Explorer? This would allow you to try FSE and FSW without the front end preference interfering since it's out of the equation.
I've tried every combination I can think of, I need FSE to get 3D at all though, if I dont use FSW when any movie closes I have problems, If memory serves it drops back to little window 1080p in size on my 4k desktop.

I may spend some time looking at this again at the weekend, thanks for your input though, its appreciated.
__________________
OLED EF950-YAMAHA RX-V685-Win101809-4K 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX580 19.9.2
KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.14/0.74.1 - 3D / DIRECT3D11 / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 19:46   #53074  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 227
Yep, that was a KODI problem. And only v.18. None prior. I hate to say it, and not start any beefs but, DSP is getting outdated. Other things are advancing and if DSP doesn't advance with them, the other things aren't going to digress to accommodate DSP. If you really want to know if your GPU or madVR compatibility with it, or anything else is the culprit... just for testing (unless you come to favor it) try my method. Either it works or it doesn't. This may cure your 'red/magenta' problem too if it still exists, or any other gremlins. Provided you system image prior, reverting takes 10 mins or so should you choose.

Front end - the software you use to catalog and launch playback from. KODI is front end. JRiver is a front end. Windows Media Center used to be a front end. Etc.
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 @Matched Refresh Rates 8,10,12bit
KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD19 DVDFab 3 & 5
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 21:31   #53075  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 837
just had another look at this, tried a few things, few things of interest with win 10 1809. I can now get MVC 3D in KODI DS windowed mode every time no issues at all without FSE or windows mode in MADVR or KODI SD, ive never been able to do this before, this is new.

Problem with not using FSE though is that its not stable for me, when I stop a movie KODI drops back to none windowed 1080p screen on a 4k desktop, this seems to happen if I use KODI RRS or MADVR RRS.

EDIT

Tried KODI DS and MPC, still getting black screen on stop on 3D regardless of how I set this up, FSE / Window etc if I use MADVR RRS. What I did find though is I also get a black screen and loss of HDMI if I dont use FSE.

another thing I found though is that if I turn 3D in windows off then on again I can get HDMI back by doing a devcon reset, this required a reboot before, no idea what that means though.

The only stable method of 3D MVC playback stop/start with no issues is KODI / MPC RRS + FSE - this is 100% solid so I can live with that even if I cant use the prefferred MADVR RRS.

Nothing seems to fix the colour sat issue unless I turn off DIRECT3D11 or calibrate for BT2020, so no change there, I could setup a profile to turn this off though I guess but as calibrating for BT2020 just works i'll live with that.
__________________
OLED EF950-YAMAHA RX-V685-Win101809-4K 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX580 19.9.2
KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.14/0.74.1 - 3D / DIRECT3D11 / MADVR 10bit

Last edited by mclingo; 9th October 2018 at 21:57.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 22:32   #53076  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 227
Since recently switching to KODI v.18 (now that it works fine regarding resolution change from 1080p to 2160p when exiting an external player), I am interested in a skin that works besides Estuary. I am learning some SKINS are prone to the problem and some are not. Aeon NOX 5 by silvo works. None of the Titans do. A few things are for sure, madVR is not part of the problem, nor is KODI v.18, any external players, or anything else and I suspect AMD and it's drivers are not either. I suspect KODI DSPlayer is behaving like a skin and more than likely the source of your continued resolution change problem. I wouldn't cement that statement until others confirm elsewhere. I am 99.9% sure madVR has nothing to do with any of it.
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 @Matched Refresh Rates 8,10,12bit
KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD19 DVDFab 3 & 5
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 23:00   #53077  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 837
ill probs go external again if KODI DS gets so old that something stops working.

Just wondering again about my colour sat problem, oddly it goes away when I set MADVR to 8 bit panel, if I leave MADVR on 10 bit panel but and set AMD driver to 8 bit or 10 bit it changes nothing, this seems odd to me.

On my OSD when i'm playing an SDR 8 bit movie, when MADVR is set to 10 bit panel D3D11 exclusive shows 10 bit and I have massive over saturation, when I set MADRV to 8 bit D3D11exclusive shows8 bit and I have no saturation issues.

why does it show 10 bit when its an 8 bit movie, Is the problem that MADVR thinks everything i'm playing is 10 bit HDR or as usual do I not have a clue what I’m talking about?

MADVR set to 10 bit panel:
https://1drv.ms/u/s!AgvFafeelEBigP8ii7GYWMS7_nRvPA

MADVR set to 8 bit panel:
https://1drv.ms/u/s!AgvFafeelEBigP8jRMs5o-zY9SgcrQ
__________________
OLED EF950-YAMAHA RX-V685-Win101809-4K 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX580 19.9.2
KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.14/0.74.1 - 3D / DIRECT3D11 / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 23:29   #53078  |  Link
nussman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 211
madVR uses a higher bitdepth for internal processing (16bit/32bit imho) and dithering to 8/10bit output.
So your colour sat problem for SDR content appears by sending 10bit to the driver? Imho this doesnt look like a madVR bug too ...
nussman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 23:35   #53079  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 837
this still doesnt sound right to me, MADVR should be reporting 8 bit for an 8 bit movie even if the MADVR is set to 10 bit panel?
__________________
OLED EF950-YAMAHA RX-V685-Win101809-4K 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX580 19.9.2
KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.14/0.74.1 - 3D / DIRECT3D11 / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 23:37   #53080  |  Link
nussman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 211
Why? 8bit movie => 32bit processing => dithering to 8/10bit
nussman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.