Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 21st January 2010, 06:40   #2041  |  Link
totalz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: confusion
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
...
They are supposed to be empty. Their only purpose is to start the test pattern source filter. Only their file name is used. Just drag the ytp files to your media player after you've registered the madTestPatternSource filter...
The creator is here

For the ytp, I get this error with both MPC-HC & KMP:
madVR reports:
- reading 3dlut file failed

Would it because I couldn't choose the madTestPatternSource renderer in those players? I tried to force the renderer in potplayer, but it says file is empty...
totalz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2010, 13:32   #2042  |  Link
namaiki
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by janos666 View Post
1: The Source resolution -> Monitor resolution resize looks like it using the nearest neighborhood method. Any 480p and 720p movies look ugly in full-screen mode. 1080p source (and when I rescale 720p to 1080p with FFDShow) is nice.
Make sure that FFDShow Video is outputting YV12 and stop rescaling in FFDShow or you might be missing part of the point!!

MadVR's scaler is working correctly on my computer (what I love the most), so I would think you have something set incorrectly as it most certaily does not look like nearest neighbour (unless that is what you have set in MadVR settings).

Try delete the settings.ini file in the MadVR directory and make sure you do not have another copy of MadVR installed on your system somewhere.

My setup: CCCP 09-09-09(all default settings, except) MadVR set as directshow video in Media Player Classic-HC options. Well, Reclock as well, but that is not related here.
namaiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2010, 15:27   #2043  |  Link
janos666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 446
Quote:
Originally Posted by namaiki View Post
Make sure that FFDShow Video is outputting YV12
It is YV12, I am sure about that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by namaiki View Post
Try delete the settings.ini file
I tried. It would not help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by namaiki View Post
unless that is what you have set in MadVR settings
I kept the original settings. Here is my settings.ini (It saved it after I checked a box and unchecked it again and I hit apply...)

Quote:
[scaling settings]
luma upsampler=SoftCubic50
luma downsampler=Lanczos4
chroma resampler=SoftCubic100
[output settings]
video levels=0
use 3dlut=0
[trade quality for performance]
don't use dithering=0
use 10bit luma buffer=0
use 10bit chroma buffer=0
disable anti-tearing fix=0
I am still wonder about the correct file names for 3dlut files. But it can be another bug if the resize function is broken...


UPDATE: I disabled this in FFDShow output settings: Allow output format changes during playback. (with Connect to compatible filters only box).
It solved my problems! MadVR is using my 3dlut files and full-screen resize is working now.

Last edited by janos666; 21st January 2010 at 16:05.
janos666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2010, 01:10   #2044  |  Link
yesgrey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by flanger216 View Post
My display lets you select between a standard and a wide color-space mode. Though I highly suspect the answer is "no," would there be any benefit to enabling the wide mode on the TV, creating a custom LUT tailored to that color space, and using that LUT in madVR? Would such a setup yield more accurate color reproduction, or would I just be wasting time, or possibly even introducing interpolation inaccuracies and other such errors?
Yes, it could be better... give it a try, will not hurt...
yesgrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2010, 02:34   #2045  |  Link
mariush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 581
Is there some kind of debug version available?

I've downloaded the latest mpc-hc and selected madvr as renderer and it's not working right.

When I play VOB files where the decoded is Cyberlink PowerDVD 8's filter, it works but the output is kind of uglier than VMR9 imho.

However, with h264 or xvid content it works with some videos and freezes with most of them. For example it worked with Crowdrun 2160p but it fails with 320x240 25 fps xvid.. Tried disabling the internal dxva filter for h264, then the internal ffmpeg one, leaving coreavc to decode and it's no go.

When it works, it works with the regular internal ffmpeg filter...

seems like it crashes with resolutions close to 4:3 (for example crashes on a clip that's 736x512) but works on a clip that's 752x326

my system is windows 2003 standard (or advanced, i don't think it matters anyway, for all intents and purposes it's XP), radeon 4850, 4GB DDR2 and so on...

later edit... even with the same file, sometimes it works, sometimes it freezes...

Last edited by mariush; 22nd January 2010 at 02:43.
mariush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2010, 02:47   #2046  |  Link
iko417
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 16
is it still CPU hungry as it was few months ago
__________________
Hardware Reviews
iko417 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2010, 02:57   #2047  |  Link
namaiki
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,073
Was it ever CPU hungry? Not really GPU hungry either, but probably requires mid-level GPU depending on settings.
namaiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2010, 07:27   #2048  |  Link
roozhou
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by namaiki View Post
Was it ever CPU hungry? Not really GPU hungry either, but probably requires mid-level GPU depending on settings.
madVR is more GPU hungry than any other video renderer. What is a mid-level GPU? I cannot get smooth playback on my 8500GT. When you move, resize or pause, it blinks. The video is always off by several frames(easy to find it out via fast forward).

P.S. is there a minimum requirement for each of madVR's scaling algorithm?
roozhou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2010, 12:26   #2049  |  Link
namaiki
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by roozhou View Post
madVR is more GPU hungry than any other video renderer.
requirements:
- graphics card with full Direct3D9 hardware support
- at least 128MB of dedicated graphics card memory

IMO, MadVR is just very video RAM hungry. My 256MB card can just play 1920x1080.

Quote:
Originally Posted by roozhou View Post
What is a mid-level GPU?
Some people appear to be able to use MadVR on Geforce 9400. That is what *I* would consider mid-range.

Quote:
Originally Posted by roozhou View Post
I cannot get smooth playback on my 8500GT.
What resolution and how much video ram do you have? Use GPU-z 0.3.8 to check how much is actually being used. If you are trying to play a resolution that requires more video ram than you have, then there will be major lag.

Quote:
Originally Posted by roozhou View Post
When you move, resize or pause, it blinks.
It does that, but what is the effect/problem/issue?

Quote:
Originally Posted by roozhou View Post
The video is always off by several frames.
It might appear/be that way because there is a 4 frame queue/buffer of some sort.

Quote:
Originally Posted by roozhou View Post
is there a minimum requirement for each of madVR's scaling algorithm?
Try use GPU-z 0.3.8 to find out how taxing each scaling algorithm is on your GPU core and GPU RAM/bandwidth.

Last edited by namaiki; 22nd January 2010 at 12:48.
namaiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2010, 12:43   #2050  |  Link
tetsuo55
MPC-HC Project Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by flanger216 View Post
Couple quick theoretical questions:

My display lets you select between a standard and a wide color-space mode. Though I highly suspect the answer is "no," would there be any benefit to enabling the wide mode on the TV, creating a custom LUT tailored to that color space, and using that LUT in madVR? Would such a setup yield more accurate color reproduction, or would I just be wasting time, or possibly even introducing interpolation inaccuracies and other such errors?

My display chain also supports xvYCC. I again suspect the answer is no, but is this useful or usable by madVR in any way?

Finally, my LCD display has a 10-bit panel. I know the new EVR-custom renderer in MPC-HC supports 10-bit surfaces and output; can madVR be setup in a similar way, to dither to 10-bits instead of 8?

Sorry about all this... I'm usually pretty good with figuring this stuff out, but the exact interrelationships between color spaces, gamuts, color bit-depths, surface bit-depths and LUTs remain utterly overwhelming for me
The wide colorspace usually does not help, all it does is make the colors look wrong, if you can configure wide to be rec709 accurate though, do it.

As far as xvYCC goes, now thats very interesting, it can only work on windows 7 and you'll need a hdmi 1.3 videocard.
What it does is increase the number of colors available within the existing rec709 limits, suddonly instead of 255 reds you have 40xx reds, which could result in a much more realistic picture.
madVR could use this to not only actually display very accurate video but maybe even dither the existing values to look even more realistic phycovisually(at the cost of pure mathematical accuracy ofcourse).
__________________
MPC-HC, an open source project everyone can improve. Want to help? Test Nightly Builds, submit patches or bugs and chat on IRC
tetsuo55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2010, 15:39   #2051  |  Link
Andy o
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 928
As far as I can tell, 30-bit Deep Color is up and running already on Windows 7 machines with ATI 5000 cards (like mine). My display (Pioneer KRP-500) reports it's receiving 30-bit too. Windows though only can be set to 32-bits (24+8 alpha), just like Vista and XP, so I wonder if it's doing anything at all.
Andy o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2010, 16:12   #2052  |  Link
yesgrey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy o View Post
As far as I can tell, 30-bit Deep Color is up and running already on Windows 7 machines with ATI 5000 cards (like mine). My display (Pioneer KRP-500) reports it's receiving 30-bit too. Windows though only can be set to 32-bits (24+8 alpha), just like Vista and XP, so I wonder if it's doing anything at all.
It's only available via DirectX. Within the desktop we will continue to have 8 bit per channel at most.
yesgrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2010, 20:52   #2053  |  Link
somy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 177
I've beening following this thread for some time, and I've been used MPC-HC+ffdshow+MadVR for 2 months now.
I'm very surprised by the superb image quality rendered, however I notice some problem when I play 24P(framerate 23.976) movie with refresh rate 23.976HZ. I expected to get smooth playback, but the playback isn't smooth at all, in fact I noticed serious judder during the movie. When I switch to Sync render in MPC-HC, the playback becomes more smooth.
Is this due to my stupidity or it's a known issue with MadVR?
somy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2010, 11:25   #2054  |  Link
Alante
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by somy View Post
I've beening following this thread for some time, and I've been used MPC-HC+ffdshow+MadVR for 2 months now.
I'm very surprised by the superb image quality rendered, however I notice some problem when I play 24P(framerate 23.976) movie with refresh rate 23.976HZ. I expected to get smooth playback, but the playback isn't smooth at all, in fact I noticed serious judder during the movie. When I switch to Sync render in MPC-HC, the playback becomes more smooth.
Is this due to my stupidity or it's a known issue with MadVR?
You just brook some video physics law. Playing a video file at same refresh, is suppose to give absolute SMOOTH PLAYBACK... or at least this is the notion presented by some from above that consider themselves specialists when it comes to video. Surprisingly even linked to some professionals (that work in this domain) with slightly similar notions... So who should we trust, what we see with our eyes, or what this specialists theorize?

Don't know what to think about that ,but in my world "the theories should apply in practice" and since they didn't, as in NO judder at 60 Hz with a Video rendered at 24/25/50 FPS it's kinda obvious that something's not right here. Maybe my VGA has some hidden feature that forces refresh rate at same rate of the video, and then their theories would be true - but don't know nothing about that. Until somebody can clear the air, I'll can only threat those theories with sarcasm, would kinda stupid to threat them seriously when they don't apply in practice (all the time).
Alante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2010, 12:12   #2055  |  Link
pirlouy
_
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: France
Posts: 628
@Alante: why don't you open your own thread to explain your ideas ? Even if we all think you're wrong, you have the right to have your ideas, but not to spam this thread.

This thread is not the place to discuss smoothness and refresh rate utility and it's obvious you'll be banned in 1 or 2 posts if you continue here. Not a threat, just an advice...
pirlouy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2010, 12:48   #2056  |  Link
somy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alante View Post
You just brook some video physics law. Playing a video file at same refresh, is suppose to give absolute SMOOTH PLAYBACK... or at least this is the notion presented by some from above that consider themselves specialists when it comes to video. Surprisingly even linked to some professionals (that work in this domain) with slightly similar notions... So who should we trust, what we see with our eyes, or what this specialists theorize?

Don't know what to think about that ,but in my world "the theories should apply in practice" and since they didn't, as in NO judder at 60 Hz with a Video rendered at 24/25/50 FPS it's kinda obvious that something's not right here. Maybe my VGA has some hidden feature that forces refresh rate at same rate of the video, and then their theories would be true - but don't know nothing about that. Until somebody can clear the air, I'll can only threat those theories with sarcasm, would kinda stupid to threat them seriously when they don't apply in practice (all the time).
Well, if I use Sync renderer, everything looks smoother. And it also works when I play 25P with 50HZ refresh rate.
somy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2010, 12:50   #2057  |  Link
somy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 177
BTW, my projector (Panny AE3000) has frame creation feature, so even with 24P input it should be smooth.
somy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2010, 13:07   #2058  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by somy View Post
when I play 24P(framerate 23.976) movie with refresh rate 23.976HZ. I expected to get smooth playback, but the playback isn't smooth at all
because you need to use Reclock to force Windows to behave...the A/V clocks are desynchronized on a PC, and nothing but Reclock can change that.
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2010, 13:20   #2059  |  Link
somy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by leeperry View Post
because you need to use Reclock to force Windows to behave...the A/V clocks are desynchronized on a PC, and nothing but Reclock can change that.
Thanks for your suggestion. I tried ReClock, but it seems to work best when the audio stream is decoded to PCM. I prefer to passthrough bitstream to my AMP
somy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2010, 17:11   #2060  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by somy View Post
I tried ReClock, but it seems to work best when the audio stream is decoded to PCM. I prefer to passthrough bitstream to my AMP
Reclock's job is to resample the audio(up to 192kHz oversampling to keep the sound as clear as possible) to perfectly match the video hardware refresh rate...you can't resample S/PDIF packets.

you could let it resample in PCM then do AC3 encoding on top to send it over S/PDIF...depending on how high your SQ expectations are, or transport resampled PCM over HDMI or analog cables. there's no free lunch here
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.