Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 28th November 2006, 12:33   #1  |  Link
ossosso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1
Megui Profles

Hi everyone!
I have an .avi video compressed using MSU Screen Capture Lossless Codec, I've captured this video using the open source version of CamStudio. Alright.
The video is
-1024x768;
-8min;
-44mb;
-Video: MSU Screen Capture Lossless Codec;
-Audio: Mpeg-Layer 3;

Now I'd like to compress it (also 'cause the MSU Screen Capture Lossless Codec works only under Winodws System, and not MacOs or Linux), and I started MeGui; I've updated it and I red somewhere in this forum that the "1P Max Speed" profile is the fastest and adapt for live captured video; this is exactly what I need: I needn't a video with a good quality, 'cause it isn't a film, it's just a video tutorial of a software, so I need low quality and really low dimension (the video will be put online).

Even If I've choosen "1P maxspeed" profile under the "Queue" tab I saw these job:
1- Job1-1, input: audio file, mode: ABR;
2- Job1-2, input: .avs file, mode: 2 pass 1st pass;
3- Job1-3, input: .avs file, mode: 2 pass 2nd pass;
4- Job1-4, input: .mkv file, mode: mux;

I put into the option of encoding a bitrate of 500kbps, but the output file was a .mkv file of 333mb, and it doesn't run really well when I open it with VLC.

That's all. Please, help to understand what's wrong.

Thanks a lot.
ossosso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2006, 13:15   #2  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
1p max speed is for real time capturing not for re-encoding an already captured source.
also your seem to didnt specified a bitrate for the encoding...
so first thing you should do is
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.