Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VapourSynth

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th October 2019, 04:21   #21  |  Link
Cary Knoop
Cary Knoop
 
Cary Knoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Newark CA, USA
Posts: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by poisondeathray View Post
lower sec / frame means it 's faster
Oops, my mistake, I thought I read frames per second.
Cary Knoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2019, 00:18   #22  |  Link
Cary Knoop
Cary Knoop
 
Cary Knoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Newark CA, USA
Posts: 245
It would probably be useful to add installation instructions for portable Vapoursynth installs as well.
Cary Knoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2019, 23:13   #23  |  Link
AlphaAtlas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cary Knoop View Post
It would probably be useful to add installation instructions for portable Vapoursynth installs as well.
It works the same in the VS Fatpack for me. Just open a console window wherever python.exe is, and then install all the dependencies with pip the same way.

Unfortunately CUDA isn't portable, so that part needs a system install.

Last edited by AlphaAtlas; 27th October 2019 at 23:16.
AlphaAtlas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th October 2019, 01:50   #24  |  Link
Cary Knoop
Cary Knoop
 
Cary Knoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Newark CA, USA
Posts: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaAtlas View Post
It works the same in the VS Fatpack for me. Just open a console window wherever python.exe is, and then install all the dependencies with pip the same way.
It's looking for the Vapoursynth installation path.
Cary Knoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2019, 20:08   #25  |  Link
PRAGMA
Registered User
 
PRAGMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cary Knoop View Post
It's looking for the Vapoursynth installation path.
VSGAN doesn't care where or how you have VapourSynth installed. All it cares is you have installed it via pip and that you have all dependencies especially PyTorch installed.
PRAGMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2019, 20:31   #26  |  Link
Cary Knoop
Cary Knoop
 
Cary Knoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Newark CA, USA
Posts: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by PRAGMA View Post
VSGAN doesn't care where or how you have VapourSynth installed. All it cares is you have installed it via pip and that you have all dependencies especially PyTorch installed.
That was my whole point if you have an install (not through pip) it fails.
Cary Knoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2019, 21:47   #27  |  Link
brucethemoose
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cary Knoop View Post
That was my whole point if you have an install (not through pip) it fails.
AFAIK it's not really practical to install without pip, if that's what you mean.

To be clear, what I do with the vapoursynth fatpack is call "C:/pathtofatpack/VapourSynth64/python.exe -m pip install vsgan". You have to specify the portable python path, otherwise you'll call pip in a python setup that doesn't have access to VS.

On Linux, you can also set the PYTHONPATH environment variable in the terminal if you have multiple Python installs.

Last edited by brucethemoose; 11th December 2019 at 21:52.
brucethemoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2019, 23:02   #28  |  Link
Cary Knoop
Cary Knoop
 
Cary Knoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Newark CA, USA
Posts: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by brucethemoose View Post
To be clear, what I do with the vapoursynth fatpack is call "C:/pathtofatpack/VapourSynth64/python.exe -m pip install vsgan". You have to specify the portable python path, otherwise you'll call pip in a python setup that doesn't have access to VS.
That would work.

I merely wanted to point out that not everybody will know this.
Cary Knoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
esrgan, gan, upscale, vapoursynth

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.