Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 19th June 2018, 22:11   #51461  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 654
Latest AMD drives including 18.5.3 and 18.6.1 disables auto HDR switching in MADVR for me, guessing its something to be with being optiimised for windows 10 1803, i've had to go all the way back to 18.2.2 to find a stable fully working driver.


Anyone else on win 10 1709 using latest AMD driver 18.6.1 can HDR autoswitch on their TV?

Anyone else with win 10 1803 using latest AMD driver 18.6.1 can HDR autoswitch on their TV?

Last edited by mclingo; 19th June 2018 at 23:23.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2018, 02:34   #51462  |  Link
ultrahd_hdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 8
I have tried 18.6.1 on 1803 and it's not working,only 18.2.1 and 18.2.2
ultrahd_hdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2018, 10:38   #51463  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 654
thanks for that, this isnt good, add this to the long list of other problems with 1803

Good to know its not just me though, i'll look at logging this with AMD, dont know is MADSHI needs to investigate as well though?
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2018, 10:59   #51464  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 654
I've logged this with AMD but also popped a bug on MADVR just in case MADSHI wants to have a look, there might be a workaround as HDR can still be toggled in windows itself using the HDR on / off toggle in display settings.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2018, 16:48   #51465  |  Link
mrmojo666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 73
in my opinion are the amd drivers the problem, this hdr auto switch missing is started happening some months ago upgrating drivers > 18.2.1. It stopped working also with winvideo player not just in madvr with recent drivers
mrmojo666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2018, 17:23   #51466  |  Link
giulianoprs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 21
I have a perplexity, I'm using madvr recently, today I tested with mpc-be + madvr, vlc and kodi17.6 with a 1080p file of the tv series "the walking dead", I chose this tv series because it presents in the video a lot noise, a kind of small dots that swarm, here with mpc + madvr the image was not better than vlc or kodi, indeed it had more noise, video noise, this is the dithering? but madvr did not have to improve the general picture of the image?

am I wrong in my settings?
-artifact removal- reduce banding active arrtifact, all the other off.
-image enhancements in default, off!
-scaling algorithms,
--chroma upscaling-super-xbr -sharpness 100, activate anti ringing filter ACTIVE.
-image upscaling -JINC -anti-ringing filter ACTIVE.
-upscaling refinement, default, all off.
--dithering- error diffusion-option 1 !!!
--trade quality for perfomance-all disabled

Thanks and bye
giulianoprs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2018, 17:58   #51467  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,956
This is probably old news but I wanted to report it anyway. With v0.92.14 I'm not able to render subtitles in JRiver MC24. Going back to v0.92.4 fixes the issue so I'm not sure when it started.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I7 3770k, GTX 1060, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
Laptop: MSI GT70 Dominator (Optimus)
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2018, 18:29   #51468  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 181
For the noise you see, use 'reduce compression artifacts'. Helps to map the feature to your remote control and toggle the intensity 1-10.
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10v1803 X5690 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 8bit Desktop @60Hz 8,10,12bit @Matched Refresh Rates
KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD DVDFab
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2018, 18:54   #51469  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 888
Quote:
Originally Posted by giulianoprs View Post
I have a perplexity, I'm using madvr recently, today I tested with mpc-be + madvr, vlc and kodi17.6 with a 1080p file of the tv series "the walking dead", I chose this tv series because it presents in the video a lot noise, a kind of small dots that swarm, here with mpc + madvr the image was not better than vlc or kodi, indeed it had more noise, video noise, this is the dithering? but madvr did not have to improve the general picture of the image?

Thanks and bye
Definitely not dithering. The image has compression artifacts and/or film grain and madVR is doing a faithful representation. Such is life with bad sources. As brazen said, try reduce compression artifacts. Also try using NGU image upscaling. It should do a better job of ignoring the noise, but it won't remove it. Reduce banding artifacts might even leave some noise in these scenes where it removes the banding. This is usually the case with dark scenes with debanding set to medium.

Reduce random noise might also be worth trying.

Last edited by Warner306; 20th June 2018 at 19:04.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2018, 19:38   #51470  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 181
Fyi, bad compressed sources are not the only cause of noise. Many, (too many imo) titles have excessive grain. Personally, I don't like any and find myself running to RCA to process the crap out of it. I know it's subjective but I can't stand it tbh. Even at the expense of detail loss, removing grain looks better to me. If I had more processor and memory, I'd sharpen it up after removing as much noise as possible. So glad madshi created it for us!

This is why I prefer video over film. Modern video rarely has grain or noise that I notice. I wish everything was created in video. Instead of burning frames to nitrate (I mean come on, this is the standard since motion pictures was developed), capture it straight to the digital chip. Clean, fast real time, and post processing a breeze. No more waiting for film to be developed. No guess work how the scene is going to look after processing. Etc. TBH, I think the only reason film is still around is to keep cinematographers and colorists employed. Perhaps some editors. With video, I don't think we need them and their old school expertise. Sure would cut down on production costs too. If the savings were passed to consumers (yeah sure) perhaps a movie ticket and/or a disc price would become realistic. Few are willing to break the chain imo. Hollywood is in constant fear of heads rolling and no one dare rock the boat. Politics, all of it. I think those that prefer this antiquated film and voice it anytime someone has something to say contrary, is shaking in their boots.

What's that saying? No grain..... no pain?
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10v1803 X5690 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 8bit Desktop @60Hz 8,10,12bit @Matched Refresh Rates
KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD DVDFab
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D

Last edited by brazen1; 20th June 2018 at 19:41.
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2018, 19:58   #51471  |  Link
Quiet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 4
Cube LUT

Is it possible to use this kind of LUT's (.cube) in madVR by converting or directly:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ezzdqrvjsj...elut.cube?dl=0
Quiet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2018, 21:18   #51472  |  Link
starlight2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 26
Hi, i have a projector FullHD and gtx 970. I watch only mkv 1080p you could advise me the best setting for the boost image quality? I have to use only chroma with ngu? what else do you recommend?
Thank you
starlight2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2018, 21:40   #51473  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 654
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmojo666 View Post
in my opinion are the amd drivers the problem, this hdr auto switch missing is started happening some months ago upgrating drivers > 18.2.1. It stopped working also with winvideo player not just in madvr with recent drivers
if i'm honest i'm not 100% sure, I am sure 18.5.2 was working the other day and now it isnt, i'm only back to 18.2.2 though because later drivers have been unstable for me, random freezes mainly using RDP conections to my machine from work.

18.2.2 is very stable for me, everything works as it should as far as I can tell.

EDIT, I have the blown out reds issue again after going back to 18.2.2, I need to look into this further.

Last edited by mclingo; 20th June 2018 at 22:16.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2018, 23:01   #51474  |  Link
giulianoprs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 21
ok, I try this way, thanks to everyone, although I believe that with those filters set I will put a strain on my gpu, sorry my english not correct, hello and good evening !!!
giulianoprs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2018, 23:18   #51475  |  Link
Quiet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 4
Just here to say that grain is life.
Quiet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2018, 23:30   #51476  |  Link
jmone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 599
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
This is probably old news but I wanted to report it anyway. With v0.92.14 I'm not able to render subtitles in JRiver MC24. Going back to v0.92.4 fixes the issue so I'm not sure when it started.
Related issue is that on BD Menus some of the Button Text is drawn off screen.
jmone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2018, 01:33   #51477  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmone View Post
Related issue is that on BD Menus some of the Button Text is drawn off screen.
Hadn't seen that yet but it's likely due to the overlay issue Nev told us about, yes. madshi is aware but I just wanted to post it here in case others weren't. Thanks for the info.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I7 3770k, GTX 1060, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
Laptop: MSI GT70 Dominator (Optimus)
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2018, 09:39   #51478  |  Link
mrmojo666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
if i'm honest i'm not 100% sure, I am sure 18.5.2 was working the other day and now it isnt, i'm only back to 18.2.2 though because later drivers have been unstable for me, random freezes mainly using RDP conections to my machine from work.

18.2.2 is very stable for me, everything works as it should as far as I can tell.

EDIT, I have the blown out reds issue again after going back to 18.2.2, I need to look into this further.
opsss

in my system the only driver that desn't have any kind of issue is 18.2.1, all the further have some glitches
mrmojo666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2018, 09:48   #51479  |  Link
Dorohedoro
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quiet View Post
Just here to say that grain is life.
Only is if the grain is the result of the director's intent.
Dorohedoro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2018, 10:55   #51480  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 654
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmojo666 View Post
opsss

in my system the only driver that desn't have any kind of issue is 18.2.1, all the further have some glitches
Same here, all drivers above 18.2.2 had stability issues for me, 18.5.2 was the first version to remain stable for me but I must have forgotten ti test HDR when I put it in.

However, i'm now up and running on 18.3.4, all is working except i'm having to calibrate MADVR to BT2020 to deal with blown out reds which I can live with as everything else is working perfectly.

have a go with 18.3.4 but use DDU to wipe you system first so you're starting with a clean registry.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.