Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Subtitles

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 31st October 2020, 02:11   #1221  |  Link
Atlantis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 460
Quote:
3. "Please in nOCR spell check window add a button for inspect nocr matches for current image"
For what? Click twice with the left mouse button on the selected line in the [Subtitle text] window and the required window will open.
For that you have to abort to come back and do it. I want Start OCR to continue without quitting. It's for the same reason that Binary image compare already has this with a button named "Edit image db". Why does it have that?
Atlantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2020, 02:14   #1222  |  Link
Atlantis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 460
Quote:
Do not write several posts one after the other, use "Edit".
Thank you. I know how the forum works. I have been here for 18 years. How long have you been here? 6 months?!
Atlantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2020, 04:21   #1223  |  Link
Janusz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atlantis View Post
... I have been here for 18 years. How long have you been here? 6 months?!
Give it up.
Your argument is completely misguided.
__________________
Sorry for my mistakes - I'm using a translator.

Last edited by Janusz; 31st October 2020 at 04:50.
Janusz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2020, 01:40   #1224  |  Link
loninapleton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 37
Hello,

This is a new topic in this continuing thread. Is there any knowledge here on how to demux or in any way extract subtitles from a TS file? I have converted this TS once to MKV and tried to use MKV extract or Inviska but I see no way to extract.

Just a google search turned up a thread on Videoehelp here:

https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/...nd-change-subs

Can anyone give some insight on it?

My email notification is turned on.
loninapleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2020, 20:37   #1225  |  Link
Janusz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 71
@loninapleton

Where is your ts file coming from? What format are the subtitles in the file in?
If they are bitmaps, for example: DVB-sub as in digital TV DVB-T - i.e. pictures - no conversion to mkv will help.
In that case you can use Subtitle Edit to import the subtitles directly from the ts file
and use the OCR methods available in the program to convert images into text.
You won't do it otherwise. If you don't want to do OCR, you can use one session of the program
to preview images with captions, and in the other to translate these captions.
__________________
Sorry for my mistakes - I'm using a translator.

Last edited by Janusz; 5th November 2020 at 21:27.
Janusz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2020, 08:30   #1226  |  Link
Nikse555
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mars
Posts: 328
@loninapleton: It may not be completely intuitive, but just use File -> Open subtitle... (or Ctrl+O) and choose your .ts file.

Opening a ts file should show this dialog, if the .ts file has more than one subtitle:



In the choose subtitle dialog, you can also right-click on the subtitle to export to some other format:


SE can (in latest) version also handle batch convert (Tools -> Batch convert...) of both teletext and images in transport streams.
Nikse555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2020, 11:48   #1227  |  Link
von Suppé
Registered User
 
von Suppé's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 271
Hi Nikse555,

I'm encountering an issue with exporting ASS --> SUP.
When the ASS style has its alignment set to "Bottom/right", the vertical offset is not honoured to the image of that line in the exported SUP.

"Bottom/left" and "Bottom/center" work fine. Can you confirm this needs a fix or am I doing something wrong here?

Cheers
von Suppé is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2020, 20:58   #1228  |  Link
Nikse555
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mars
Posts: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by von Suppé View Post
Hi Nikse555,

I'm encountering an issue with exporting ASS --> SUP.
When the ASS style has its alignment set to "Bottom/right", the vertical offset is not honoured to the image of that line in the exported SUP.

"Bottom/left" and "Bottom/center" work fine. Can you confirm this needs a fix or am I doing something wrong here?

Cheers
I think this was fixed recently... does latest beta work for you?
https://github.com/SubtitleEdit/subt...leEditBeta.zip
Nikse555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2020, 22:00   #1229  |  Link
Nikse555
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mars
Posts: 328
Also, SE 3.5.18 is out a few days ago: https://github.com/SubtitleEdit/subtitleedit/releases

A few entries from the change log:
  • Add "Center, left justify dialogs" to export images - thx Benjamin
  • Improve ASSA/SSA preview - thx Mounter81
  • Allow for .mpg/.mpeg transport stream file extension in "Batch convert"
  • Fix crash in export image with font tag - thx Jake
  • Fix batch convert of Blu-ray sup file to VobSub - thx John
Nikse555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2020, 13:22   #1230  |  Link
von Suppé
Registered User
 
von Suppé's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 271
I was using SE version 3.5.17.

A few tests show the issue persists in version 3.5.18 and the beta you linked.

I'll do more tests for Upper-left etc to be complete.

Edit: Okay, tested all Bottom and Top positions quickly with version 3.5.18.

I found that with "Top/right" positioned ASS, the right offset is not hounoured. Vertical offset is okay.

So, this one and the vertical offset issue for "Bottom/right" need a fix, IMHO.

I will go testing further for the "Centered" posotions.

Last edited by von Suppé; 16th November 2020 at 13:48.
von Suppé is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2020, 16:25   #1231  |  Link
Janusz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 71
@Nikse555
It should be noted somewhere that the 3.5.18 version of the program is not compatible with the 3.5.18 NEXT beta version
because for the same settings in the program, different names for these settings are used in the system.ini configuration file.
Code:
3.5.18
     <SubtitleFontSize>10</SubtitleFontSize>
     <SubtitleFontBold>False</SubtitleFontBold>
3.5.18 NEXT beta
     <SubtitleTextBoxFontSize>12</SubtitleTextBoxFontSize>
     <SubtitleTextBoxFontBold>True</SubtitleTextBoxFontBold>
I don't know if this is intentional.
In any case, alternating between the stable and next beta versions will result in resetting these parameters to the default value each time.
__________________
Sorry for my mistakes - I'm using a translator.
Janusz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2020, 17:49   #1232  |  Link
Nikse555
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mars
Posts: 328
@von Suppé: I just tested with all nine alignments (like {\an8}), and they all worked fine for me...

@Janusz: yes, it is intentional with the bigger bold font, the rename was made to ensure people got the new settings.
Nikse555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2020, 10:49   #1233  |  Link
von Suppé
Registered User
 
von Suppé's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 271
The alignments work, that's true. Bottom/right shows at bottom-right. But the vertical offset, or "Margin vertical", as it's called in the ASS style window, is not honoured when exporting to SUP.
Again, only with bottom/right the vertical offset issue exists.

Name:  ASS Bottom_right vertical offset 144.png
Views: 56
Size:  51.0 KB
von Suppé is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2020, 20:29   #1234  |  Link
Nikse555
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mars
Posts: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by von Suppé View Post
The alignments work, that's true. Bottom/right shows at bottom-right. But the vertical offset, or "Margin vertical", as it's called in the ASS style window, is not honoured when exporting to SUP.
Again, only with bottom/right the vertical offset issue exists.
Thx, should be fixed via this commit: https://github.com/SubtitleEdit/subt...4cae7452e2d51c
(I had switched right margin and bottom margin for bottom-right... dough)

Beta updated: https://github.com/SubtitleEdit/subt...leEditBeta.zip

Last edited by Nikse555; 17th November 2020 at 20:33.
Nikse555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2020, 07:57   #1235  |  Link
von Suppé
Registered User
 
von Suppé's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 271
Yep, looks good on the beta. I see you also took care of the right offset issue for Top/right. Great!

Thanks for the fix, Nikse :-)
von Suppé is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2020, 09:19   #1236  |  Link
arestarh
Registered User
 
arestarh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 32
Hi,

Guys, could you please tell me whether we have possibility to adjust timecodes of blu-ray .sup without OCRing it ?
I've looked through "Batch converter", but didn't find the way how to do this.
arestarh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2020, 08:27   #1237  |  Link
darksen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 25
Someone else is having problems selecting text? I'm using the latest beta and most of the times, like 8/10 when I try to select text from right to left (I mean from the end of the line to the left) only a part of the last word is selected and then it gets dragged to wherever I move the cursor, and sometimes, when this happens and then I click on an empty space of the text box I can't write anything, I have to click again to be able to edit.

See this video for what I'm talking about (the first part): https://gofile.io/d/cE4RTx

Also, is there a way to be able to select, just as before, parts of a word/sentence with precision instead of the whole word getting automatically selected? This is more annoying with italic tags, I want to only select the tag but SE automatically selects the whole tag plus one more char. See this video: https://gofile.io/d/AFIjx8

Thanks.
darksen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2020, 19:24   #1238  |  Link
Janusz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 71
@darksen
Disable the new [Use syntax coloring] option in Settings / Font / UI Font / Text box - that came out in beta.
By default, this option is enabled. When turned off, selecting works as before - no problems.
My version is 3.5.18 NEXT, beta 135.
If you don't want to disable this option, use SHIFT + left / right arrows for precise selection.
__________________
Sorry for my mistakes - I'm using a translator.

Last edited by Janusz; 26th November 2020 at 20:07.
Janusz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.