Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 20th November 2009, 10:41   #10561  |  Link
snyders6dogrecipe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by tetsuo55 View Post
Dynamic range settings are also in the renderer settings section of the options, set it to 16-235 or 0-255 to match your display
Yeah, I tried that, but it didn't change.
snyders6dogrecipe is offline  
Old 20th November 2009, 13:44   #10562  |  Link
tetsuo55
MPC-HC Project Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by snyders6dogrecipe View Post
Here is the graph when using the synch video to display function in the goth sync build...it's pretty far from a straight line

Code:
http://a.imagehost.org/0407/mplayercgssync_video_to_display.png
thats a very good result for non matching refresh rates, see this page for detailed explenation on judder: http://www.ostrogothia.com/
Quote:
Originally Posted by snyders6dogrecipe View Post
Yeah, I tried that, but it didn't change.
Thats very strange.

EVR outputs RGB to the videocard, which means the levels are defined before hand.

Is your display full or limited range?
there is also a thread about this issue here: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=143689
__________________
MPC-HC, an open source project everyone can improve. Want to help? Test Nightly Builds, submit patches or bugs and chat on IRC

Last edited by tetsuo55; 20th November 2009 at 13:48.
tetsuo55 is offline  
Old 20th November 2009, 14:26   #10563  |  Link
snyders6dogrecipe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 25
When I set Dynamic Range to "Full (0-255)" in the Nvidia CP it only makes a dfference when using certain renderers, not including default renderer, or the one windows media player uses. Strange, but unfortunately true.
snyders6dogrecipe is offline  
Old 20th November 2009, 14:31   #10564  |  Link
tetsuo55
MPC-HC Project Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by snyders6dogrecipe View Post
When I set Dynamic Range to "Full (0-255)" in the Nvidia CP it only makes a dfference when using certain renderers, not including default renderer, or the one windows media player uses. Strange, but unfortunately true.
At its base its very simple:

Your display supports one or both of the options (16-235 and 0-255)

Your videocard, depending on the connection, supports one or both (16-235 and 0-255)

Finally the renderer, based on selected settings, converts from or to either.

all 3 settings have to match to get the correct image.
__________________
MPC-HC, an open source project everyone can improve. Want to help? Test Nightly Builds, submit patches or bugs and chat on IRC
tetsuo55 is offline  
Old 20th November 2009, 14:32   #10565  |  Link
mark0077
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,055
Maybe your clip was incorrectly made. Obviously all pieces of software try to "Auto" detect which field comes first, and whatever they are reading as being first is incorrect in this case, its not the softwares fault really.

Maybe you could make clip again and set first field correctly so then Auto in things like ffdshow will work, giving you smooth video.

Quote:
Originally Posted by avivahl View Post
Alright... tested your clip w/ a few filter combinations:
1. WMP12 + Microsoft's DXVA H.264 Decoder - Non deinterlaced video. Very distorted.
2. MPC-HC + Microsoft's DXVA H.264 Decoder - Same as #1.
3. MPC-HC + Internal DXVA H.264 Decoder - Same as #1.
4. MPC-HC + Internal Software (ffmpeg-based) H.264 Decoder - Better, but deinterlacing seems to be a bit wrong. Non-smooth video.
5. MPC-HC + ffdshow w/ "Set interlace flag" set to OFF - Same as #1.
5. MPC-HC + ffdshow w/ "Set interlace flag" set to Auto/Auto - Same as #4.
6. MPC-HC + ffdshow w/ "Set interlace flag" set to Auto/Top-Field-First - Best. Smooth, properly-deinterlaced video.
7. MPC-HC + ffdshow w/ "Set interlace flag" set to OFF, ffdshow's Deinterlacing filter set to CubicInterpolation/yadif/TomsMoComp (all w/ default parameters) - Same as #6.

Geforce 8800GT (forceware 195.55 w/ default options).
Windows 7 Ultimate 32bits.
MPC-HC 1.3.1345.0 (by alexis) w/ EVR-CP and default options.
ffdshow rev3130.
Haali Media Splitter.
mark0077 is offline  
Old 20th November 2009, 14:42   #10566  |  Link
snyders6dogrecipe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 25
Is it ok that the graph shows about 24 sync glitches a second?
snyders6dogrecipe is offline  
Old 20th November 2009, 14:49   #10567  |  Link
tetsuo55
MPC-HC Project Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by snyders6dogrecipe View Post
Is it ok that the graph shows about 24 sync glitches a second?
if the video and display refreshrate do not match this can be considered normal.
__________________
MPC-HC, an open source project everyone can improve. Want to help? Test Nightly Builds, submit patches or bugs and chat on IRC
tetsuo55 is offline  
Old 20th November 2009, 15:09   #10568  |  Link
gngn
the hedgehog
 
gngn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by avivahl
3. MPC-HC + Internal DXVA H.264 Decoder - Same as #1.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark0077 View Post
Maybe your clip was incorrectly made. Obviously all pieces of software try to "Auto" detect which field comes first, and whatever they are reading as being first is incorrect in this case, its not the softwares fault really.
Maybe you could make clip again and set first field correctly so then Auto in things like ffdshow will work, giving you smooth video.
i'm now 99% sure i messed something up and that it's not MPC-HC's fault :P
and it's probably related to the scan order, as you say, but i have no idea how to set this up correctly. will have to google a bit more ....
Thanks for the input!

later edit: using the x264 version with the nal-hrd & interlace patch will give a interlaced material that MPC-HC will deinterlace properly. without it only Arcsoft TMT3 somehow manages to get the right field order.
__________________
Athlonx2@2,9Ghz,2G DDRAM2@800Mhz,WinXPSP3 x86,GF8600GTS-256M,Nvidiadrivers 295.73
latest MPC-HC (MVS2010 SP1, GCC 4.7.1)
VMR9renderless+VMR9MixerMode+YUVMixing,VSync+AccurateVSync,all GPUflushes on

Last edited by gngn; 20th November 2009 at 16:15. Reason: added stuff
gngn is offline  
Old 20th November 2009, 15:52   #10569  |  Link
snyders6dogrecipe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 25
in regards to the goth sync branch of mpc, what does the control +/- setting in the synchronization section do?
snyders6dogrecipe is offline  
Old 20th November 2009, 18:02   #10570  |  Link
matthew_eli
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by tetsuo55 View Post
You need to update that ancient driver: http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Deta...=2973&lang=engDynamic range settings are also in the renderer settings section of the options, set it to 16-235 or 0-255 to match your display
Sorry Tetsuo, but the problem still persist with this updated driver; I'm doing some tries to evaluate the goodness of the Windows 7 DXVA encoder that seems to not have the same problem of the internal MPC-HC DXVA encoder...
matthew_eli is offline  
Old 21st November 2009, 00:33   #10571  |  Link
vask
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthew_eli View Post
Sorry Tetsuo, but the problem still persist with this updated driver; I'm doing some tries to evaluate the goodness of the Windows 7 DXVA encoder that seems to not have the same problem of the internal MPC-HC DXVA encoder...
I have reported this problem on numerous occasions to one of the developers in private conversations. It still exists in the latest builds. BTW this does not occur when using the microsoft's dvt/dvd decoder (win 7). In fact, I see no reason to use the internal mpc decoder as the microsoft's one is better quality, has no obvious glitches and is slightly faster too.

EDIT: Microsoft's decoder also manages to play all mkvs I throw at it with dxva, while the internal one would skip dxva acceleration for some of those mkvs.

Last edited by vask; 21st November 2009 at 00:41.
vask is offline  
Old 21st November 2009, 04:27   #10572  |  Link
kieranrk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 713
Quote:
Originally Posted by vask View Post
I have reported this problem on numerous occasions to one of the developers in private conversations. It still exists in the latest builds. BTW this does not occur when using the microsoft's dvt/dvd decoder (win 7). In fact, I see no reason to use the internal mpc decoder as the microsoft's one is better quality, has no obvious glitches and is slightly faster too.

EDIT: Microsoft's decoder also manages to play all mkvs I throw at it with dxva, while the internal one would skip dxva acceleration for some of those mkvs.
That's pretty unsuprising considering Microsoft wrote the DXVA specification and has the cooperation of all GPU manufacturers. Having said that they do still have some unfixed issues.

Compare that to us where we have one developer for DXVA and limited manufacturer cooperation.
kieranrk is offline  
Old 21st November 2009, 09:56   #10573  |  Link
matthew_eli
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 50
The strange things is that this artifacts problem occurs always in the same part of the movie, and it is like this:

matthew_eli is offline  
Old 21st November 2009, 10:03   #10574  |  Link
tetsuo55
MPC-HC Project Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthew_eli View Post
The strange things is that this artifacts problem occurs always in the same part of the movie, and it is like this:

Can you try this:

Rightclick menu > renderer settings > reset to default settings
And if that does not help
Rightclick menu > renderer settings > reset to optimal settings
__________________
MPC-HC, an open source project everyone can improve. Want to help? Test Nightly Builds, submit patches or bugs and chat on IRC
tetsuo55 is offline  
Old 21st November 2009, 10:42   #10575  |  Link
Steveo08
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthew_eli View Post
The strange things is that this artifacts problem occurs always in the same part of the movie, and it is like this:



which graphiccard are you using?

because in your picture i see under dxva2 that you are yousing the h.264 bitstream decoder with clear video.
Steveo08 is offline  
Old 21st November 2009, 10:51   #10576  |  Link
matthew_eli
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveo08 View Post
which graphiccard are you using?

because in your picture i see under dxva2 that you are yousing the h.264 bitstream decoder with clear video.
I'm using Intel g45 (X4500MHD) graphic card
matthew_eli is offline  
Old 21st November 2009, 10:56   #10577  |  Link
matthew_eli
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by tetsuo55 View Post
Can you try this:

Rightclick menu > renderer settings > reset to default settings
And if that does not help
Rightclick menu > renderer settings > reset to optimal settings
Same problem too: I tried also latest driver but the problem still persist

EDIT: I can confirm: with Microsoft DXVA decoder ther is no prob

Last edited by matthew_eli; 21st November 2009 at 11:04.
matthew_eli is offline  
Old 21st November 2009, 11:00   #10578  |  Link
tetsuo55
MPC-HC Project Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthew_eli View Post
Same problem too: I tried also latest driver but the problem still persist
allright, please create a bug report on trac and add one of the broken samples

instructions on creating the bug report in my signature under "checklist"
__________________
MPC-HC, an open source project everyone can improve. Want to help? Test Nightly Builds, submit patches or bugs and chat on IRC
tetsuo55 is offline  
Old 21st November 2009, 12:56   #10579  |  Link
matthew_eli
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by tetsuo55 View Post
allright, please create a bug report on trac and add one of the broken samples

instructions on creating the bug report in my signature under "checklist"
Sorry Tetsuo, could you indicate me a Software to edit (cut) mkv files to upload a sample in the Ticket? Thanks

EDIT: done, using Avidemux; thanks anyway

Last edited by matthew_eli; 21st November 2009 at 14:13.
matthew_eli is offline  
Old 21st November 2009, 13:53   #10580  |  Link
snyders6dogrecipe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 25
matthew_eli, this happened to me too. It involved a crappy external hard drive. When I would copy a video over to it, every now and then during the video there would be a bunch of artifacts, and always in the same part, even if I copied the file again. I just had to use a different drive to stop having the problem.
snyders6dogrecipe is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
dxva, h264, home cinema, media player classic, mpc-hc

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.