Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VapourSynth

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th January 2016, 14:11   #201  |  Link
speedyrazor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 194
All good, thanks, working now.
Just checking, but using QTGMC, it is going to be staying in 10 bit?
speedyrazor is offline  
Old 24th January 2016, 19:24   #202  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinnarps Chair
Posts: 2,574
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedyrazor View Post
All good, thanks, working now.
Just checking, but using QTGMC, it is going to be staying in 10 bit?
Yes, it should stay in 10bit. I would however recommend doing all processing in 16bit. You're wasting a lot of intermediate precision by not using it.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline  
Old 24th January 2016, 20:49   #203  |  Link
speedyrazor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
Yes, it should stay in 10bit. I would however recommend doing all processing in 16bit. You're wasting a lot of intermediate precision by not using it.
Hi Myrsloik, thanks for the suggestion, and sorry to ask, but using the below script as a 'typical' example, what commands would I need to add / change to process everything in 16 bit?

Code:
import vapoursynth as vs
core = vs.get_core()
ret = core.lsmas.LibavSMASHSource(source=r"F:/Interlaced_Test.mov")
ret = core.yadifmod.Yadifmod(ret, edeint=core.nnedi3.nnedi3(ret, field=1), order=1)
ret = core.fmtc.resample (clip=ret, w=720, h=576, css="444", kernel="spline36")
ret = core.fmtc.matrix (clip=ret, mats="709", matd="601")
ret = core.fmtc.resample (clip=ret, css="422")
ret = core.fmtc.bitdepth (clip=ret, bits=10)
ret.set_output()
Kind regards.
speedyrazor is offline  
Old 25th January 2016, 03:11   #204  |  Link
HolyWu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 392
Simply insert ret = core.fmtc.bitdepth(clip=ret, bits=16) below LibavSMASHSource.
HolyWu is offline  
Old 25th January 2016, 07:26   #205  |  Link
speedyrazor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by HolyWu View Post
Simply insert ret = core.fmtc.bitdepth(clip=ret, bits=16) below LibavSMASHSource.
So it would look like this:
Code:
import vapoursynth as vs
core = vs.get_core()
ret = core.lsmas.LibavSMASHSource(source=r"F:/Interlaced_Test.mov")
ret = core.fmtc.bitdepth (clip=ret, bits=16)
ret = core.yadifmod.Yadifmod(ret, edeint=core.nnedi3.nnedi3(ret, field=1), order=1)
ret = core.fmtc.resample (clip=ret, w=720, h=576, css="444", kernel="spline36")
ret = core.fmtc.matrix (clip=ret, mats="709", matd="601")
ret = core.fmtc.resample (clip=ret, css="422")
ret = core.fmtc.bitdepth (clip=ret, bits=10)
ret.set_output()
So convert to 16 bit, do the processing and force it back down to 10?
Does this have much processing / speed implications?

Kind regards.
speedyrazor is offline  
Old 25th January 2016, 07:32   #206  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,753
No need to go back to 10 bits so you can remove the "ret = core.fmtc.bitdepth (clip=ret, bits=10)" line. Depending on the encoder you are using to produce the final result, you may need to tell it that you are inputting a 16-bit source.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline  
Old 25th January 2016, 07:53   #207  |  Link
speedyrazor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
No need to go back to 10 bits so you can remove the "ret = core.fmtc.bitdepth (clip=ret, bits=10)" line. Depending on the encoder you are using to produce the final result, you may need to tell it that you are inputting a 16-bit source.
I am piping into ffmpeg, is it better for ffmpeg to do the convert, or VapourSynth?
speedyrazor is offline  
Old 25th January 2016, 19:21   #208  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,753
What codec do you use inside ffmpeg?
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline  
Old 25th January 2016, 21:22   #209  |  Link
speedyrazor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
What codec do you use inside ffmpeg?
Mainly Prores HQ, but also H.264 and Mpeg2.
speedyrazor is offline  
Old 25th January 2016, 21:43   #210  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,753
At least h.264 (x264) should have the input depth parameter, don't know about the others.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline  
Old 25th January 2016, 21:48   #211  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,565
x264cli has automatic dithering, that's different from the libx264 integration of ffmpeg. Either way, I don't see any reason to favor ffmpeg's/x264cli's dithering over the one of fmtconv.
sneaker_ger is offline  
Old 25th January 2016, 22:50   #212  |  Link
speedyrazor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneaker_ger View Post
x264cli has automatic dithering, that's different from the libx264 integration of ffmpeg. Either way, I don't see any reason to favor ffmpeg's/x264cli's dithering over the one of fmtconv.
Thanks for the advice.
speedyrazor is offline  
Old 5th February 2016, 16:31   #213  |  Link
sl1pkn07
Pajas Mentales...
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Spanishtán
Posts: 496
only for history record, anyone have the r1, r2 and r3 zips/.py?

greetings
__________________
[AUR] Vapoursynth Stuff
[AUR] Avisynth Stuff
sl1pkn07 is offline  
Old 5th February 2016, 19:29   #214  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinnarps Chair
Posts: 2,574
Speaking about history. Is there any chance I could convince you to use github for hosting and history too?
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline  
Old 5th February 2016, 20:13   #215  |  Link
sl1pkn07
Pajas Mentales...
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Spanishtán
Posts: 496
the history is here https://www.nmm-hd.org/newbbs/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=941
__________________
[AUR] Vapoursynth Stuff
[AUR] Avisynth Stuff
sl1pkn07 is offline  
Old 9th February 2016, 16:22   #216  |  Link
HolyWu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
Speaking about history. Is there any chance I could convince you to use github for hosting and history too?
Done.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
Could you consider porting SRestore to Vapoursynth? It's a monster of a function but quite slow in Avisynth as it doesn't like multithreading much.
Could you or anyone provide a small sample clip with blending problem? I need to do some experiments and make sure the result is correct.
HolyWu is offline  
Old 9th February 2016, 16:26   #217  |  Link
sl1pkn07
Pajas Mentales...
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Spanishtán
Posts: 496
i have zips since r4, if you want add in the history

http://sl1pkn07.wtf/havsfunc
__________________
[AUR] Vapoursynth Stuff
[AUR] Avisynth Stuff
sl1pkn07 is offline  
Old 9th February 2016, 17:17   #218  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,753
Quote:
Originally Posted by HolyWu View Post
Could you or anyone provide a small sample clip with blending problem? I need to do some experiments and make sure the result is correct.
Sure, I'll try to find something for you off my HDDs. I have at least one concert video readily available but it's tricky to get a good scene for testing.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline  
Old 9th February 2016, 17:59   #219  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,753
Here you go: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bze...ew?usp=sharing

The original frame rate is 25 fps.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline  
Old 17th February 2016, 19:11   #220  |  Link
BakaProxy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 47
Do you actually intend on implementing the different prefilters from the avisynth version of smdegrain? prefilter 3 and 4 that is.

Thanks in advance.
BakaProxy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.