Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th October 2016, 11:53   #39821  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlar42 View Post
What's AR?
Anti-ringing.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2016, 13:48   #39822  |  Link
adhara
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by adhara View Post
Hi all,

This is about RGB output levels with a 10 bits display (so dithering 10bits and more activated in MadVr).
I know this is not a new question but I would like a clear explanation as we can read everything and its opposite arround this subject.

Basically there are 3 options:

Setup 1 :
GPU outputs 0-255
MadVr outputs 0-255
Display expects 0-255

Setup 2:
GPU outputs 16-235
MadVr outputs 16-235
Display expects 16-235

Setup 3:
GPU outputs 0-255
MadVr outputs 16-235
Display expects 16-235

Problems:
-There is no way on my UHD (10 bits) TV to select limited or full range.
- Graphic Card GTX 1070: When output is set to 2160p(4k) - RGB Full range, bitdepth is limited to 8 bits / To have 10/12 bits outptut on the GPU, I have to lower outptu level to limited range (16-235).

So what is the best setting for my own use (4k) ?

Madvr (0-255 / 10 bits) --> GPU (0-255 / 8 bits) --> Display

OR

Madvr (16-235 / 10 bits) --> GPU (16-235 / 10 bits) --> Display

OR

Madvr (0-255 / 10 bits) --> GPU (16-235 / 10 bits) --> Display

OR (other ?)

Thanks
madshi, warner306, ... others that know the answer, any idea ? thanks
adhara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2016, 13:58   #39823  |  Link
Sunset1982
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by adhara View Post
Hi all,

This is about RGB output levels with a 10 bits display (so dithering 10bits and more activated in MadVr).
I know this is not a new question but I would like a clear explanation as we can read everything and its opposite arround this subject.

Basically there are 3 options:

Setup 1 :
GPU outputs 0-255
MadVr outputs 0-255
Display expects 0-255

Setup 2:
GPU outputs 16-235
MadVr outputs 16-235
Display expects 16-235

Setup 3:
GPU outputs 0-255
MadVr outputs 16-235
Display expects 16-235

Problems:
-There is no way on my UHD (10 bits) TV to select limited or full range.
- Graphic Card GTX 1070: When output is set to 2160p(4k) - RGB Full range, bitdepth is limited to 8 bits / To have 10/12 bits outptut on the GPU, I have to lower outptu level to limited range (16-235).

So what is the best setting for my own use (4k) ?

Madvr (0-255 / 10 bits) --> GPU (0-255 / 8 bits) --> Display

OR

Madvr (16-235 / 10 bits) --> GPU (16-235 / 10 bits) --> Display

OR

Madvr (0-255 / 10 bits) --> GPU (16-235 / 10 bits) --> Display

OR (other ?)

Thanks
I think 2106p60, 10 bit, RGB444 is not possible with current HDMI 2.0 a/b connection because of bandwidth limitations.

So you have to decide to go 2160p, RGB 444, 8 Bit or 2160p, 422, 10 bit.

I use 2160p, RGB 444, 8 Bit with my RX480 on my 4K TV with Setup Nr 1 (all 0-255)
__________________
Intel i5 6600, 16 GB DDR4, AMD Vega RX56 8 GB, Windows 10 x64, Kodi DS Player 17.6, MadVR (x64), LAV Filters (x64), XySubfilter .746 (x64)
LG 4K OLED (65C8D), Denon X-4200 AVR, Dali Zensor 5.1 Set
Sunset1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2016, 14:02   #39824  |  Link
CarlosCaco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Brasil, SP, São Paulo
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by adhara View Post
madshi, warner306, ... others that know the answer, any idea ? thanks
Man the second settings are wrong
If tv is expecting limites the right is

Madvr 16-235 gpu 0-255 tv 16-235

Also you can try

Madvr 0-255 gpu 16-235 TV 16-235 this can be a good choice for 10 bit on your system
__________________
Desktop, i5 2500, 8GB, N570 GTX TF III PE/OC
Asus X555LF, i7-5500U, 6GB Ram, Nvidia 930m/HD 5500
Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Last edited by CarlosCaco; 24th October 2016 at 14:04.
CarlosCaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2016, 19:25   #39825  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlosCaco View Post
Madvr 0-255 gpu 16-235 TV 16-235 this can be a good choice for 10 bit on your system
I would say there is no point to sending 10-bit out of madVR if you then have the GPU compress 0-255 to 16-235.

Personally 10-bit or 422 subsampling is an easy choice for me. 8-bit 444 is always preferred. 10-bit is for that little extra improvement after everything else is perfect. Using the GPU to halve the color resolution and letting the TV up sample and do another color conversion is not perfect. Untouched properly dithered 8-bit RGB directly out of madVR is much better.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2016, 20:10   #39826  |  Link
pirlouy
_
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: France
Posts: 692
Quote:
Originally Posted by foozoor View Post
Did you look at this archive?
There is everything, even the deringing algo!
Wow. Indeed, I didn't read it carefully. With this tool, it looks like you can't protect your shaders. Don't know if it's a flaw.

Last edited by pirlouy; 24th October 2016 at 20:22.
pirlouy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2016, 20:25   #39827  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,127
These are your options:

HDMI 2.0a/b (maximum output - 3840 x 2160):

- 10-bit RGB/Y'CbCr 4:4:4 at 30 Hz
- 10-bit Y'CbCr 4:2:2 at 60 Hz
- 8-bit RGB/Y'CbCr 4:4:4 at 60 Hz

Last edited by Warner306; 24th October 2016 at 21:02.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2016, 20:30   #39828  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,996
i'm not going into the details but there are a lot of wrong numbers in there.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2016, 20:37   #39829  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,127
madVR 16-335 -> GPU 0-255 -> TV 16-235

Messes up the desktop but the signal is untouched from madVR.

madVR 0-255 -> GPU 16-235 -> TV 16-235

Desktop remains accurate but GPU must do a color conversion. This is the simplest solution.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2016, 20:38   #39830  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
i'm not going into the details but there are a lot of wrong numbers in there.
This is from the official HDMI spec page:

HDMI 2.0a/b UHD Support:

Black fonts indicate formats supported by HDMI 1.4.
HDMI 2.0 supports 4:2:0 at 4K60.


*Cable lengths of 15' or greater require the use of an active HDMI cable to support 18.0 Gbits/s signals.

Last edited by Warner306; 24th October 2016 at 20:53.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2016, 20:46   #39831  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 310
I currently use the JVC X9000 with the Lumagen Pro and MadVR.
I have never tried to use any 4K upscaling on my setup but would like to try...
Currently I use image doubling on everything set to always. Using the 1080 video card.

To try this out, do I set both the PC and Lumagen Pro to 4K, or just the Lumagen to upscale 1080p from the PC?
What is the resolution I should use 2160 x ???

I take it I turn off Image Doubling in MadVR with a 4K setup, is that correct?
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2016, 21:32   #39832  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by 70MM View Post
I currently use the JVC X9000 with the Lumagen Pro and MadVR.
I have never tried to use any 4K upscaling on my setup but would like to try...
Currently I use image doubling on everything set to always. Using the 1080 video card.

To try this out, do I set both the PC and Lumagen Pro to 4K, or just the Lumagen to upscale 1080p from the PC?
What is the resolution I should use 2160 x ???

I take it I turn off Image Doubling in MadVR with a 4K setup, is that correct?
1080p -> 2160p is 2x, so you want image doubling.

Set the PC desktop resolution to 3840 x 2160.

You don't use display mode switching, so nothing needs to be changed in madVR.

I'd experiment with NNEDI3 luma doubling. This should do a better job than the Lumagen.

Last edited by Warner306; 24th October 2016 at 21:35.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2016, 22:18   #39833  |  Link
kuchikirukia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Looks like they don't even know what they're talking about IMO. Waste of time.
This. They don't even know what the word "derivative" means.
kuchikirukia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2016, 22:33   #39834  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
1080p -> 2160p is 2x, so you want image doubling.

Set the PC desktop resolution to 3840 x 2160.

You don't use display mode switching, so nothing needs to be changed in madVR.

I'd experiment with NNEDI3 luma doubling. This should do a better job than the Lumagen.
But do I set the Lumagen to 3840 x 2160 also?
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2016, 22:48   #39835  |  Link
sauma144
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by kuchikirukia View Post
This. They don't even know what the word "derivative" means.
The most valuable post is from madshi, the original madshi not the clones.

Now the leak or dump seems to be legit and they already ported the enhance detail sharpener.
I hope this will not delay the release of the new version.
sauma144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2016, 11:23   #39836  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 659
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelGraves13 View Post
Change from Optimal to Adaptive for Power Management.
Where?
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2016, 11:34   #39837  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 659
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Anti-ringing.
As a SuperRes refinement, you mean? on 0.90.24 I have only super-xbr with or without anti-bloating under Image Doubling. Anti ringing is found in the regular Image Upscaling section. So, are you referring to SuperRes or, maybe, to AdaptiveSharpen/LumaSharpen with anti-ringing?
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2016, 11:56   #39838  |  Link
Ver Greeneyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 447
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlar42 View Post
Where?
In the "Manage 3D settings" tab of the NVIDIA Control Panel. You can even make it a per-program setting by adding your media player of choice in the Program Settings tab.
Ver Greeneyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2016, 12:13   #39839  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlar42 View Post
As a SuperRes refinement, you mean?
No, just super-xbr AR for chroma. Bang for buck it can't be beat. Bicubic, Jinc and NNEDI3 are good alternatives though depending on your preferences.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2016, 17:49   #39840  |  Link
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlar42 View Post
Where?
NVIDIA Control Panel
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.