Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-2 Encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 26th January 2013, 22:55   #1  |  Link
srfscenar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 487
MPEG2 encoding for SD assets in BD

Hi,

one, maybe silly question...
When you encode in Mpeg2 an SD asset for use in Blu-ray (like an extra clip) what is the average bit-rate you use?
I know it is of course a matter of duration and space, but do you usually set it as high as 25-35MBit or since its an SD resolution, it does not have to be that big?

Thanks.
__________________
" 2 minds are better than 1 "

Last edited by srfscenar; 27th January 2013 at 14:17.
srfscenar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2013, 14:34   #2  |  Link
TheSkiller
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 637
It doesn't have to be that much. SD in MPEG2 is pretty much maxed out at 15 Mbit/s with really really difficult footage (fast moving action with lots of sharp details and all interlaced).

You will be absolutely fine with DVD bitrates for SD MPEG2, i.e. <10 Mbit/s. In 95% of all cases you wouldn't even be able to hit a bitrate as high as 25 Mbit/s unless you do CBR with stuffing bits.
TheSkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2013, 15:23   #3  |  Link
srfscenar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 487
Thank you!

I will try it now!
__________________
" 2 minds are better than 1 "
srfscenar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2013, 15:29   #4  |  Link
srfscenar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 487
Like a charm!!!!!
__________________
" 2 minds are better than 1 "
srfscenar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2013, 19:17   #5  |  Link
srfscenar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 487
So actually, its the same settings like encoding it for DVD, with only change the profile which must be High, right?
__________________
" 2 minds are better than 1 "
srfscenar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2013, 20:51   #6  |  Link
TheSkiller
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 637
No, Main Profile is fine you can put the very same MPEG2 video you put on a DVD on Blu-ray.
TheSkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2013, 21:11   #7  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 795
Quote:
Originally Posted by srfscenar View Post
So actually, its the same settings like encoding it for DVD, with only change the profile which must be High, right?
Not exactly. The GOPs can be 1 or 2 seconds long , and the maximum bitrate may go far beyond 10Mbps of course.
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2013, 01:40   #8  |  Link
mp3dom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,021
And progressive video for primary video is not allowed, so if you have a progressive file, you can use restream to flag it as interlaced TFF without re-encoding.
mp3dom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.