Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 25th March 2016, 22:02   #37181  |  Link
iSeries
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
You need to use really high values. SuperSampling is not great for that reason alone. Image enhancements applied to a 1080p source will do more to improve the image.
I should say i have zoom small black bars away so a 1.85.1 film fills the screen (so not technically 2x supersampling but close). However the upscaling enhancements have zero effect, no matter what i set them to, and render times do not change. Reverting back to .15 and it works fine, render times go up and image changes.
iSeries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2016, 23:59   #37182  |  Link
fedpul
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 94
I have made an album with some comparisons of chroma and doubling algos. By now I have uploaded just 4 images and they are based on a DVD release of the movie Howl's Moving Castle.

The link of the album is: http://imgur.com/a/eRXn8

My intention was to compare the new SXBR with NNEDI3 which is considered the best algorithm.

Please feel free to comment!

Last edited by fedpul; 26th March 2016 at 00:42.
fedpul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2016, 01:17   #37183  |  Link
perlita.pajares
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 3
Problem playing 3d bluray

I cannot deal with playing 3D bluray content. I have a i7 4700mq with Intel HD4600 and dgpu Nvidia GTX765M with optimus. When playing 3d I cannot use the nvidia GPU due to the HDMI port is attached to the HD4600 card.

I am using MPC-HC with LAV filters and MADVR, always the latest nightly builds of them. The problem is that even setting madvr to the lowest settings (nearest neighbor in chroma and the rest deactivated), the player (MPC-HC) unexpectly stop and back me to desktop after 30 sec of playing without more information. I have used DVXA copy-back, native and Intel Quicksync without a successful result. MADVR with and without FSE and with D3D11 and D3D9, all possible combinations.

Do you have any sugestion or solution?

PD: no problem with powerdvd.

Thank you so much in advance.
perlita.pajares is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2016, 02:49   #37184  |  Link
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSeries View Post
I should say i have zoom small black bars away so a 1.85.1 film fills the screen (so not technically 2x supersampling but close). However the upscaling enhancements have zero effect, no matter what i set them to, and render times do not change. Reverting back to .15 and it works fine, render times go up and image changes.
You probably have "disable scaling if image size changes by only" in Zoom Control.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2016, 11:02   #37185  |  Link
Georgel
Visual Novel Dev.
 
Georgel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
destroy it your self: http://abload.de/img/00004.m2ts_snapshot_0wju9u.png

sharp edges and line thinning are for sure not hiding aliasing.
I had tested again and again to be able to reproduce your results.

I found out how.

For me, ET + ES + AB150 + AR will eliminate aliasing that WAS there.

Here is the trick: If I am rendering to a 1080 screen, I must use either upscaling refinement if the video is under 1080 OR image enhancements if the video is 1080.

Upscaling refinement takes significantly longer to process (rendering time) because I have it set to apply after every 2X step, but produces perfect results.

Same can be said about image enhancements, if used only when video is already the same resolution as display.

At such high values, there will be *small* distortion, but it still better than without those algorithms.

There are anime that are already over-smooth, and those would be distorted. On this same note, I seriously think that the reason I like ET + ES + AR + AB at such high values is that I personally have either bad encodes, or anime that were drawn too fuzzy for these resolutions. I checked with some more, especially new anime, and it works magic for half, while it distorts the other half, inducing aliasing and distorting objects.

@madshi Is there any possibility of inducing an aggressive anti aliasing algorithm?
Georgel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2016, 11:12   #37186  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
here a sample with a 3D LUT.
http://www.file-upload.net/download-...nissue.7z.html

i can't trigger this issue without using native UHD. zooming in at 1080p doesn't trigger it.
I couldn't see the difference either.

Quote:
Originally Posted by perlita.pajares View Post
I cannot deal with playing 3D bluray content. I have a i7 4700mq with Intel HD4600 and dgpu Nvidia GTX765M with optimus. When playing 3d I cannot use the nvidia GPU due to the HDMI port is attached to the HD4600 card.
Is it also the case with 2D content? (I don't have a 3D capable display.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlosCaco View Post
was micro sttuter on some random scenes, some are reporterd presentation glitche s some not
like 7 presentation glitches on 50 minutes playing...
testing more i solve this checking the option use a separate device for presentantion... and mpc-hc internal audio renderer exclusive mode
now the movies are very smooth with some normal flickering
It didn't solve it on my system.
Madshi, have you seen my edited post regarding to this? http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...45#post1761445
Tell me if you need a debug log or anything else.
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2016, 11:18   #37187  |  Link
Presco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1
Hello
when you set a scaling level of personalized office 125% I can not access some options madVR.

Thank you for making the window of adjustable madVR.



Presco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2016, 12:15   #37188  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by Presco View Post
Hello
when you set a scaling level of personalized office 125% I can not access some options madVR.
Already reported, the options will change in future and will be fixed in due course, consider current builds new features to be a WIP.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2016, 13:05   #37189  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Georgel View Post
I had tested again and again to be able to reproduce your results.

I found out how.

For me, ET + ES + AB150 + AR will eliminate aliasing that WAS there.

Here is the trick: If I am rendering to a 1080 screen, I must use either upscaling refinement if the video is under 1080 OR image enhancements if the video is 1080.

Upscaling refinement takes significantly longer to process (rendering time) because I have it set to apply after every 2X step, but produces perfect results.

Same can be said about image enhancements, if used only when video is already the same resolution as display.

At such high values, there will be *small* distortion, but it still better than without those algorithms.

There are anime that are already over-smooth, and those would be distorted. On this same note, I seriously think that the reason I like ET + ES + AR + AB at such high values is that I personally have either bad encodes, or anime that were drawn too fuzzy for these resolutions. I checked with some more, especially new anime, and it works magic for half, while it distorts the other half, inducing aliasing and distorting objects.

@madshi Is there any possibility of inducing an aggressive anti aliasing algorithm?
and why don't you post a screen than?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2016, 13:55   #37190  |  Link
XMonarchY
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Wow! With earlier versions of madVR I was unable to force 2x SuperSampling for Luma Doubling NNEDI3 32n + Chroma Upscaling NNEDI3 32n in 1080p videos without severe frame drops, but now I can. However, it only works fine in Exclusive FullScreen mode. In windowed mode, I still get bad frame drops. Why is that? Maybe SuperSampling does not actually work in Exclusive FullScreen mode???
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2016, 13:57   #37191  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,372
maybe start with an OSD screen?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2016, 14:26   #37192  |  Link
iSeries
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelGraves13 View Post
You probably have "disable scaling if image size changes by only" in Zoom Control.
That option doesn't seem to change the behaviour. If I untick 'automatically detect black bars', upscaling enhancements work fine with supersampling, clear difference to picture and render times shoot up to around 35ms. As soon as I tick 'automatically detect black bars' render times drop dramatically and the upscaling enhancements 'crispen edges' and 'superres' no longer have an effect, even though the image is still being doubled and then downscaled by setting '2x supersampling' in image doubling.
iSeries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2016, 14:55   #37193  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,372
@iSeries

sound like a bug.

do you have steps to reproduce the issue maybe even from default settings?

i will check it out too.

you can backup your settings file if you don't want to lose your current settings.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2016, 15:59   #37194  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,475
I think AB is too strong in the new sxbr options, I'm afraid an additional knob would be very much needed there

I got some 720p videos that give a dark pixelated look when NNEDI3 is used for luma only, I'll try to find what triggers it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anima123 View Post
Somehow, unlike some others in the thread, I prefer SSIM 1D than 2D for 576p -> doubler -> 1080p chain, 1D seems more neat for my taste.
Fair enough, I guess we have a choice between the softer 1D with a higher strength and the sharper 2D with a lower one......at this point it boils down to the sharpness of the source material, how sharp your doubler is, how your display reacts and indeed personal preference. Bicubic also hides defects Jinc makes obvious.

But good point, I'd rather get 1D to work at it seems less demanding and as much as my 7850 can do all I want(FRC/SR/RS/SSIM/NNEDI3) on SD that's a no-go on 720p@1080p so I'm gonna have to either cut corners on doubling or downscaling.
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2016, 16:07   #37195  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 429
madshi, always appreciate your continued development of madVR.

Considering the tons of options you now offer, I hope that sooner or later, when you reach the 1.0 milestone, you'll create complete and proper documentation for madVR. I know that, personally, that would make me extremely happy about buying a commercial release of it.

Thanks again. Keep up the good work.
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2016, 16:32   #37196  |  Link
BluesFanUK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by XMonarchY View Post
Wow! With earlier versions of madVR I was unable to force 2x SuperSampling for Luma Doubling NNEDI3 32n + Chroma Upscaling NNEDI3 32n in 1080p videos without severe frame drops, but now I can. However, it only works fine in Exclusive FullScreen mode. In windowed mode, I still get bad frame drops. Why is that? Maybe SuperSampling does not actually work in Exclusive FullScreen mode???
I can't, most of my vids are shot in 1080p/60fps. If I even attempt x2 Supersamling I get horrendous frame drops, and I have a Palit 980ti Super Jetstream using just a 1080p monitor.

Same when I try to use Reconstruction for Chrome Upscaling. It takes my GPU usage right up to 100% and drops loads of frames to the point it bogs the PC down.
BluesFanUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2016, 16:58   #37197  |  Link
perlita.pajares
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros View Post
Is it also the case with 2D content? (I don't have a 3D capable display.)
No problem with 2D content, only with 3D.

Does someone have any idea?
perlita.pajares is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2016, 18:42   #37198  |  Link
Dclose
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 50
There's been a lack of love for Spline, so I thought I'd add some. At least for much of the stuff I watch, it works well, and doesn't use a lot of power.

It's like a slightly less sharp Lanczos or strong Bicubic, but with fewer artifacts and smoother macroblocking/noise. It uses less power than Jinc. I don't recall as I'm typing this, but I think it's sharper than Jinc. And much sharper than SoftCubic.

It uses noticeably less GPU than Jinc. madVR can do impressive things at full throttle, but it's good to also have settings that don't push the GPU and wattage and heat. Spline uses more power than certain settings, but barely more.

I've been going back and forth between Spline, Bilateral, and Reconstruction Soft for chroma. Bilateral and RS tend to win out, but they're all good.

For cranking up the GPU more but still not wanting to go all out, Super-XBR in the upscaling tabs and in image doubling seems to be great most of the time. Turning on image doubling even with Super-XBR basically doubles my GPU usage, but still uses less than power-hungry NNEID3.

Just adding some Spline love so it hopefully stays around.
Dclose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2016, 20:23   #37199  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,372
i did some test for super xbr anti bloat

FHD -> UHD
source: http://abload.de/img/00004.m2ts_snapshot_0wju9u.png
spline3 AR: https://www.ezphotoshare.com/images/...3/26/TrvLI.png
super xbr 100 anti bloat: https://www.ezphotoshare.com/images/...3/26/TrXIA.png
super xbr 100: https://www.ezphotoshare.com/images/...3/26/Trl1D.png

HD -> QHD
source: https://www.ezphotoshare.com/images/...3/26/TrZLg.png
spline3 AR: https://www.ezphotoshare.com/images/...3/26/TrJlx.png
super xbr 100 anti bloat: https://www.ezphotoshare.com/images/...3/26/TrSpB.png
super xbr 100: https://www.ezphotoshare.com/images/...3/26/TrPdp.png

super xbr anti bloat is less sharp than spline 3 AR. which makes it really soft for upscaling.
the effect of anti bloat is looks useful. it has an very nice anti ringing effect. is it possible to use it with super xbr 125 or even 150 in the future?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2016, 20:29   #37200  |  Link
Anima123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 469
Where's the anti-bloating option for Super-xBR? I couldn't find one.
Anima123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.